214755 User submitted reviews online!!
Shenandoah Valley Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 88 user reviews. Phone: (540) 248-2267
CGID3091

Shenandoah Valley Campground

Camp Information
Sites
195
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   4   8   10   3   9   9   9   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$38
The camping sites are very close together here. The RV sites are slightly bigger, but we saw where some tent sites were in a middle row, which is basically in between two driving lanes, and they are sectioned off with wood to make a square spot for a tent. They were very small tent sites and they appeared to be directly in the middle of the road, and I would not recommend those sites to anyone. Our site number was 95 which was the second to last near the exit/entrance. The site is a pull-through site, but it is a slight incline, and we could not get our trailer to be completely level because of the incline. The campground offers activities; DJ, karaoke, etc, which is nice, and the staff seemed friendly enough. However, when we checked in, there were 6 people behind the counter, and one person was helping another customer and everyone else just was standing around or talking to each other for several minutes before they offered to assist us. We were also 'policed' several times during the weekend because of noise. The staff stopped at our site several times during the evenings during the weekend to tell us we were too loud. We were camping with a group, so I know the guys can get a little loud, but we turned off our radio when it was quiet time, as we were observing their quiet hours. One day, the staff came to us during the day, before the sun even went down to tell us we were too loud, which was ridiculous. The campground is right next to a river, which you can tube down. It is considered a lazy river, very slow, good for all ages. The campground was OK, was clean throughout, and overall decent, but because of the very small sites and the constant harassment of the noise being too loud, we will not be returning here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2014
$42
The staff of the park are very friendly and helpful. We had an engine problem with our motorhome and they were very accommodating in changing our reservation and helping with roadside assistance. We stayed in site 82, which is considered a pull-through with water and electric, large enough to accommodate our 40 ft motorhome. The site was extremely tight as there are trees scattered throughout this section which one must navigate. When we left we needed to pull through the site in front of ours in order to navigate the turn. The sites are very close together, an urban camping experience. Given the tightness of the quarters, we will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$48
We had a long level pull thru site. Fair cable and good WiFi. No A&T cell svc. Several miles off I-81. Well stocked store. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$37
This park is very nice with amble space for all makes of RV's. There is a stocked pond for fishing along with a waterfall at the river. The restrooms and showers are very clean. The staff is super friendly. They have activities for children and adults. This is a family owned campground. The owners are wonderful. I camped here in a Class B. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2013
$38
Short sites, close together (typical old KOA). The picnic table of the next site was under our slide out. Muddy gravel site, felt like we were in a parking lot. Loud camping group in next row. We chose to get a refund and not stay here. The staff was friendly & gave us a refund. If sites were updated to fit today's RVs would be OK but no plans on returning here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$45
Excellent CG. Office staff is very friendly and helpful. We were assigned site 2 which did not require any leveling. Enjoyed our visit once again. Love the wild rabbits roaming the CG. We will be back when the opportunity presents itself. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$48
This is a great family campground. The store is clean and well-stocked. The bathrooms are clean and the sites are well placed although some are a little tight. We have camped many times at this park and love returning. Look out for the bunnies - they're everywhere in the park. They are wild cross-bred with tame rabbits, and they will come into your site and eat whatever you're willing to share. Host is a gem, and always makes us feel welcome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$45
This is a great family oriented campground. All the staff are friendly and helpful. They have a river you can go tubing on, you can either bring your own tube or rent one. Also a pool and hot tubs. Formally a KOA, but switched to Good Sams. Very clean park. The road in is a bit windy, but not too bad. We camped in a 36 foot travel trailer with 3 slide outs. We were able to get into site and have all slides outs open with out any problem. They also offer rental trailers and cabins that both looked clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$51
Narrow road with low hanging branches that will mark up a tall 5th wheel trailer or motorhome. The pull thru sites were a little shorter than I would have expected for big rigs. The shorter sites allowed them to add extra rows but this causes difficulty getting in or out of sites. Overall we liked the campground which was extremely well maintained. There was plenty to do for families and one of the key attractions was the river rafting right on their property. I would recommend this campground to all but the biggest rigs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$40
Stayed one night. Was KOA. Staff friendly. Store and take out on site. Lots were level. Scenic trails in park which were great for dog walking. Very picturesque park. Park is clean and family friendly. Road into park is narrow with lots of turns, maybe hard to manoeuvre in a large bus. We had no problem with 5th wheel. Would recommend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2013
$50
We stayed at this park for a Halloween 2012. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Park was clean and well groomed. Nice lake to fish and the waterfall is a nice back drop! The sites are close quarters and can be a challenge to navigate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2012
$42
It was very difficult to get through the trees to park, and it was very hard to see the road because it was covered with so many leaves (first part of Sept). It was pretty hard to squeeze in between so many trees. It is an older, former KOA. This park has very limited Cable TV, and it is virtually impossible to use a Dome Satellite. When you are driving into this campground you will be on a very curvy road. Be VERY careful to watch for on coming traffic/rigs. Our Garmin GPS brought us to the entrance, but entrance is on left not on right. The staff were very nice, but it was very difficult to navigate through the trees, and crowded with trees, so most likely we would not stay at this campground again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$46
Older campground but very clean facilities and very nice staff. Only stayed one night enroute from Tennessee. Kids enjoyed the pool. Wooded area with waterfall was very pretty. Our pull through site was very uneven and required many lynx to get level. Could also use more stone on the site as I imagine it would have been very muddy during a rain. Hand dipped ice cream for our dessert, and we all enjoyed that. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$36
The rate is for a water and electric pull-through with a Good Sam discount. Well away from any traffic noise this is a well laid out park with very friendly staff. It appears to be very family with kids of all ages oriented. The sites are mostly under trees, side by side, a little narrow and short. Good level though and good hookup access. Perfect Wi-Fi. We had heavy (I mean it) rain during our stay and the staff immediately cared about new potholes in the campground roads. Though it is not to close to the Blue Ridge and the Skyline Drive we found it to be a very good location to explore Staunton and go for a couple of day trips on the Parkways. We would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$35
This used to be a KOA. Sites are a bit closely spaced but terraced to afford some privacy, and fairly level. We were there on a Saturday night, so there were lots of kids having fun, and this is a great place for that. There is a fishing pond stocked with trout, nice shaded picnic tables on a sandy beach for parents to watch their kids in comfort. Hot pizza, ice cream and a nice store, plus a game room, pavilion and shaded deck area and playground make it easy to keep kids and teens amused. There's a lovely waterfall across from the tent camping area, and the river is available for canoes, kayaks, and wading. There is a dedicated dog walking area. There is a colony of multicolored semi-tame bunnies living on the grounds. People were great, not carousing all night, and observing quiet hours. The bathrooms and showers were clean. The men's shower ceiling ventilation louver was detached and hanging from the ceiling and filthy. Other than that maintenance need, everything else was okay. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$38
Great spot. Yes, lots of kids having fun, but isn’t that what camping kids are here for? There is a curfew so it does quiet down at night. Beautiful waterfall! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$38
Sites are gravel with trees separating sites. Clean bathrooms and showers. Nice, quiet location near river, easy in and easy out. We stayed overnight and would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$43
We stayed here for three nights while leaf-peeping in the area. They are getting ready for a big Halloween festival over the weekend and are full, so we have to move on. There are lots of activities for children, which we don't have! This would be a great place in the summer since there's tubing right at the campground, and a nice swimming area at the waterfall. Their power and Internet are good. Bathrooms are clean. Lots of tame bunnies running all over! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$45
We stayed here during the first Halloween festival. The campground was very clean and quiet. The kids really enjoyed the Halloween activities (Trick or Treating, costume contests, donut on a string, etc.). The staff was very friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$35
The weather was terrible when we arrived. There were not a ton of people so we were able to have some privacy. If it were crowded however, it would have been very tight. They offer a great huge pool and hot tubs which was something we have never seen before. They do have a waterfall and a river to view. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$34
We loved this park! The sites were very nice, the staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. There are precious bunnies hopping around, very cute. The sites were shady and clean. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
We stayed here on a totally unplanned overnight stop, due to a mechanical problem. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We had stayed once before, 2004 when it was a KOA. The campground was very quiet (Sunday eve). Our pull-through site had lots of space. Everything was clean. The hot tubs were a great extra after a long day. Pool clean. We didn't have a chance too be on the river as last time, but took a walk down to the waterfalls at the end. We even enjoyed the rabbits on the grounds. We would definitely return here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$43
Very nice laundromat on-site. Cable TV reception not good at all. Wi-Fi works fine. Fishing in river and on-site lake. Very quiet during the week. Playgrounds and pool available for the kiddies. Would return and use this CG as a destination CG. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
Nice, friendly small park. Family friendly. All of the kids rode their bikes around and met other children to play with. Lots of weekend activities. We went tubing on the river. It was a little low but fine for the kids. The bathrooms were constantly being cleaned and the staff is very friendly. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$43
This park is not worth the charge. The $43 includes Good Sam discount. Sites are extremely tight and even the "Big Rig" full service sites are very tricky to maneuver. The cable TV is not good. The 50 amp electric is iffy. The grounds are spotlessly clean with a river nearby that kids innertube in. The pool looks lovely even though we did not go into it. There are a lot of things for kids to do including nightly PG rated movies and other activities on the weekend. Mini Golf. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
Got to be in my book one of the worst campgrounds I've ever stayed in. Too many campers in a park. Sites are about 10 feet apart and very short. Cable TV is poor, unlevel sites. Lots to do for kids is why I gave it a 2. And the locals must love it for some reason because it was packed. Guess I just don't like my neighbors being on top of me. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$43
The Owners of this Camp ground are top notch. I've never seen staff at any other park work like the staff here. We enjoyed the waterfall and the movies during the week at night time. Plenty to do and quite enough to just sit around and do nothing. We will be returning to this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$46
We stayed for six nights at this campground. Staff was friendly and accommodating. All sites are situated under very tall, established pine trees. Campground was extremely well maintained. Campsites were level with fine gravel and pea gravel made up the rest of each site. I cannot comment on the bathrooms or showers as we did not use them. Pool was not open yet so cannot comment there, nor was the tubing open as the water was very cold. Campground provided fire rings and picnic tables. You may NOT bring your own firewood due to foreign pests. Camp store was pretty sparse and not well stocked at all. It looked to me like they had gone to the travel section of Wal-Mart and bought a dozen of each item and tripled the prices. But, it was early in the season. They had several "money making" machines that seemed to be like magnets to my children...one of which was that moving quarter pushing machine, which my son really could not pull himself away from. Having these kinds of machines are okay, I guess, but I personally felt like it was a bit off taste to have them...nothing like teaching young kids to gamble. Just my opinion though. Also, had a family movie playing every night in the shelter. This was a fun way to spend a couple of the nights...bring your own chair, blanket, snacks and take in a movie. Liked this a lot. We arrived on a Friday knowing the weather was supposed to be torrential rain all day Saturday so we planned accordingly with indoor games, etc. Saturday the weather cleared about 3 p.m. and we ventured out to Wal-Mart for a few things we forgot. Returned two hours later to a bit more rain and then got the news from the campground staff that we were being evacuated as the river was due to crest very high in the next few hours. The staff secured alternate sites that were above the flood stage for those campers that had reservations into the next week - which we were. We got settled into our new site just before midnight and went to sleep. The staff went the extra mile and came camper to camper on Sunday morning to tell everybody that they were making free breakfast for all campers! How nice - I didn't have to cook! When the water receded, we decided to move back to our original site as it had not been flooded and thoroughly enjoyed the remainder of our stay. Our electric jack broke during this second set up on our original site and the staff were very kind to lone us a car jack to use for the remainder of our stay...this was so nice and certainly above what we would have expected. We watched in amazement as all the staff set about cleaning up flood debris, bringing in new stone, leveling out damaged road, etc. By Monday afternoon, it looked like a brand new campground in the areas effected by the flood. It was like watching little elves getting ready for Christmas the way they were all scurrying around working! We finished out our stay and thoroughly enjoyed it. Hope to one day go in warmer weather and check out the pool and then tubing! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$39
Very nice well laid out RV park. Located about 3 miles off of I-81. We called the day before and made reservations. They could not have been friendlier. We arrived late in the evening, so the office was closed, but the roads were well marked and very wide. The sites were well marked and the transient area was completely open. We had the place to ourselves. My only issue was we wanted to have a clear access to the southern sky for Directv purposes, and the site we had was obstructed by trees. We moved from the assigned spot to one that give us a clear shot at the satellite which did not seem to bother anyone. Too bad it was pouring rain the next day as we would have liked to walked around and explored the camp, but the weather was terrible. You do have a short couple of miles to drive on a small road off of the interstate, but it's very manageable. First rate operation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$42
This is one our favorite local places to camp. Most spots are shady. We always camp by the water. We just back the rv in and the river is behind us. The kids play there all of the time. Very nice to put your chairs in the water when it is hot. We also went tubing and enjoyed that. This is a small cg, but staff is very friendly and helpful. Kids can ride their bikes all over the campground and always find someone to play with. The karaoke on the weekend is nice and the pool is small, but nice. There is mini golf and other activities to do. the bathrooms are always being cleaned and security runs around cg all night. We always meet nice people there. It is a very relaxing place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$44
Campground was scenic and pleasant. Pull-through sites easily accommodated us, and the staff welcomed us heartily. We spent only one night but would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$39
I agree with the other posters. Nice park, but way too expensive even with the Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$42
Nice campground: it's very family oriented and has alot to offer. The friendly staff are mostly young kids working the desk. We were in a 40ft motorhome and that's about the limit here. Very tight with trees, both for pulling in and for the slideouts. Fine for pop-ups, trailers and most fivers. Only has 30 amp service; cable TV was bad with 15 stations and not clear. There is no satellite because of the trees, even with a portable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$37
Nice park. Clean and well maintained. Arrived on a Saturday, park was full. Sites too close for my liking. Park cleared out on Sunday, making the rest of the stay quite nice. Beautiful natural setting. River a bit too shallow to enjoy the tubing, but maybe better at a different time of year. Convenient access from I-81. Plenty of shopping in nearby Staunton. We stayed here as a base camp for touring Shenandoah National Park. This park is located near the Southern gate of the National Park. It was doable, but a campground located nearer the center of the park would have been a better choice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
This is a wonderful family park on a long stretch of the Middle River (great for tubing if its not too low). While the CG is on the river, few sites are "waterfront" or even "view." Lots of tall trees, grass & gravel. Pond and river fishing (trout stocked). Very friendly staff. Wi-Fi is good, Cable is OK, cell phone coverage poor. Lots of tourist activities in neighboring Stanton. A definite destination CG. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
WOW! This is a beautiful campground! Our pull through site backs up to a beautiful river which includes a waterfall. The river is not actually visible from the site, but it's only 20 feet away. The sites are level, packed down gravel and are wide, and the entire area is very treed. I couldn't use my satellite, but the cable was adequate. Verona, VA, is where the Skyline Drive becomes the Blue Ridge Parkway, and it's a great location for touring both. If I'm ever back in this area I will definitely stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$40
This is one beautiful park. We loved the over all appearance of the park. Plus, families really enjoy this park as there is some much to do,etc. It seems they are in the process of up dating some things. They had recently added a lot of gravel to the lower part of the park. The upper part where our sites was located could use a lot more gravel. There is not many 50 amp services and our 30 amp service showed low voltage on my voltage meter. We would camp at this park again... We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2010
$40
This is a nice, clean park. It took 3 days of telephone tag to get through to make a reservation: their system is not user friendly. Lots of trees make it extremely difficult for a 45 ft. MH to maneuver. They gave me a 30 amp site and didn't tell me they only had three 50 amp sites when I booked. Other than being able to use only one A/C, the wife is screaming about not being able to use her 220 volt dryer. When I asked if my satellite dome would be able to see the sky, I was told they had cable: HUH? What does that have to do with me wanting to use my own DTV service? So now we have the poorest quality cable TV ever: about 8 channels, of WEST COAST channels. That means the morning shows will be on 3 hours late and after we leave for the day. I really like this CG and it's in a neat location, but the staff seems so inept and insensitive to a camper's needs that I have a hard time recommending it to others. The guy next to me had the same experience. I'd say camp here at your own peril. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$42
Very clean sites. On gravel and stones full hook up. I was very surprised that when we pulled in the person across the street was using the cable TV hookup for our site. I unplugged the cable and the guy came flying out of his camper and said I am paying for that and we said yeah so are we so he went to the office and they gave him a splitter. That is my only complaint. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2010
$44
This campground is nicely kept, sites are close together and gravel and stone. My gripe is with the price. I think that $44/night for a 30 amp, W & S site is excessive. The road in from the highway is tight but doable. The staff is pleasant. We'll probably stay here again as we have family in nearby Harrisonburg. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$37
Park was easy to find and not very far from interstate 81. Park was spacious with plenty of treed sites and the park was very well manicured and fairly clean. Park was easy to navigate with Travel Trailer. The Staff was courteous. For sites without sewer connection, you could pay $5 per day to have the staff clean out with pump truck. Park was packed during our stay, but because it is so spacious, we did not feel crowded at all. Beautiful waterfall on the river with an even prettier giant home-made "STOP no trespassing" sign near the top...LoL Decent fishing as I caught Small mouth bass, rock bass and stocked rainbow trout in the river. Fishing lake is small and good for the kiddies and full of trout and bass. Playground equipment was a little shaky. My main concerns were with the bathrooms/showers...they were quite a distance from the the lower half of the campground and they were not very clean. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and we will visit again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$35
Pretty park in a well-treed setting with big, soft, fat, long-eared bunnies cruising around all over the place. Pond/lake on the premises. Sites are gravel or dirt and there are tent campers here as well. Staff is attentive and the place is well-cared-for. We'll stay here again on our way South. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$35
This campground is in a beautiful setting next to a small river. There are a lot of activities for families with kids, same as a KOA. The spots are a little tight, and there is no good place to turn around if you miss your turn down your row. We loved the quiet atmosphere and we were even here on a weekend when it was pretty full. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$35
Very nice park. We stayed Saturday through Sunday on a busy October weekend. Many families camping, but were courteous and quiet during PM hours. Previous comments to this website complained of small, congested sites. If you call and make reservations and are honest in what you are looking for, you will have no problem with this park. We are full-timers and my husband is experienced in handling our 35 ft. fifth wheel. We had no problem with trees or other campers when driving around this park. Would camp here again in the future. We very much enjoyed staying here and would come back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$35
This is an extremely busy campground, even in mid-September. On the weekend we were there virtually every site was filled; mostly with families who knew one-another. The favorite pastime here seems to be riding around the park in suped-up golf carts, beverage in-hand and renewing friendships. (One could almost see why they gave up their KOA affiliation, as they seemed to have so much local business that it was not needed. Curious, therefore, why they picked-up the Good-Sam relationship.) We felt a bit out-of-place in our 40 foot motorhome as our unit barely fit onto the site. It appears that this place is really designed for trailers and fifth-wheels. The sites are very close together, and the roads are really crowded when campers and vehicles are packed-in so tightly. In spite of these draw-backs, the campground was very well maintained, dog-friendly and had many great places to walk along the river. The staff was extremely helpful and accommodating. This is a great kids-campground. We would stay here again, but only during the week. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$45
This was our first camping trip in our new-to-us motorhome. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The sites are somewhat close together, but we are learning that this is the norm in private campgrounds vs. state parks. While our neighbors were close, we weren't really disturbed by them (although they did park their tow vehicle slightly on our site). We were able to bring all 4 of our dogs and particularly enjoyed the tubing on the river and playing in the waterfall. The walk down to the river was a bit difficult due to a steep incline. The bathrooms were adequate, but kind of small, dark and not always clean. We did late check out and enjoyed a quiet day on our last day here, after most of the other campers had pulled out of camp. The campground is close to several attractions (Shenandoah National Park & Skyline Drive) and the Green Valley Book Festival which we visited after we checked out. We will likely return in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$41
Nice quit campground during the time we spent there: Sunday- Wednesday, can't speak to the weekends. The staff was friendly and the pool area and hot tubs were nice. Pea gravel on the sites help keep the dirt down. Had no problem getting our 38' MH around the roads to our lower level, pull-through site. Only complaint: the roads are dirt and can get muddy after a rain. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$37
Very, very busy campground. Some areas of the campground, especially near the river, had campers packed in like sardines. Former KOA. Nice hot tubs and pool area. Lots to do for the kids. A family campground, you must be watchful for children. Bathrooms and laundry areas pretty clean, especially given the volume of campers. We would stay here again, but not on a high-volume night like Friday or Saturday. Just too crowded for us to enjoy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$38
We stayed here for an overnight. We reserved our pull through site 2 weeks in advance, and when we arrived we could not fit in the space and were given another which was very tight. The entire park is congested, and I do not recommend trying to negotiate the narrow roadways with a big rig. Numerous tree scrapes are evidence that those before us had trouble getting through the tree lined roadways with vehicles overhanging, chairs, tents, etc. Everything is so crowded here. Satellite access is very iffy due to the trees. A great family campground with lots to do for kids. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
This is an amazing place to camp for a night or a week. There is a stream that runs threw the campground which people can tub on and it ends at a beautiful waterfall. Everyone is friendly! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
Great park for an overnight or for an extended stay. Very pretty and peaceful setting and lots to do. The park has a large pool, severaral hot tubs in an enclosed building, and tubing on the river. On site entertainment, food, shop, etc., make this an ideal stopover. Seems like nearly all sites are shaded and pull-thru. We camped mid-week and it was quite peaceful - but we heard it is fairly full on most weekends. We hightly recommend this park and will plan a longer visit when our travels permit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$37
Beautiful place with a nice waterfall into the Middle River. Owners were very pleasant. Even with the Good Sam discount, I thought it was a little pricy for the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$38
A nice campground! It's on a quaint river that was fun to tube down, also beautiful waterfalls. Lots to do and the sites were all wooded. There were lots of ducks and rabbits around and the kids loved it! We will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$38
We stayed here many years ago when it was a KOA. It is no longer a KOA, thank goodness. This campground has greatly improved. We were very impressed with the owners and the upgraded appearance of the park. The Wi-Fi is outstanding and the satellite TV is sufficient. We had one of the 50 amp pull-throughs close to the office and were very pleased with our site. We checked in on Memorial Day Monday for 2 nights and they had a band that first night and we were close enough we could sit in our RV and enjoy the music. Nice touch Shenandoah Valley Family! WOW has this place changed, I would highly recommend a stay here, it is quiet and peaceful. Kudos to the owners on a job well done! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$33
This is a beautiful park!! We found this park because we couldn't get into a park farther north. The directions are perfect even though you think you are lost, just follow exactly what they tell you. The river is great and the waterfall is beautiful. Even though it was Mother's Day weekend and we did not have reservations they were still able to put us into a W/E pull-thru. Originally planned on one night but liked it so well we stayed 2. There were a lot of kids and dogs but everyone respected the quiet hours. This is a definite "do again"! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$41
Stayed there for an overnighter early in the RV season and really enjoyed it. Lovely place to walk the dogs, found it to be very peaceful. Loved the rabbits!!! That was a lot of fun and very unexpected. I read some of the more unhappy reviews and can believe that there would be a lot of kids running around and making kid noises in the summer, if we had younguns at home, ours would probably be amongst those having the time of their lives at this CG. So for now, husband & I will restrict ourselves to the off season but we will definitely be going back because I love to be in a scenic park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$33
Verona is the best campground in the area. Duke and Tina are wonderful hosts, and will work with you regarding reservations and other needs. Campground is well-maintained, very family-oriented, and has lots of amenities. This is our favorite! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2008
$32
We were disappointed because the website really sort of overstates some of the amenities, or leaves visitors to the site with impressions that fall well short of reality. The "tubing river" was really a babbling brook, and the tubers had to get up and walk a good portion of the way because the water was so shallow that their butts dragged over the rocks and popped the tubes. The "river" was also so shallow and high-trafficked that we didn't see a single fish in it, so anyone coming to fish in it would be disappointed. They talk about fishing in their trout and bass stocked lake and have photos of large fish being caught, but they fail to mention that it is catch-and-release only. We were really disappointed about the pool and hot tubs - extremely restricted hours, and they seemed to be always overwhelmed by children - we never did get to go in the hot tubs because the little time they were unlocked it looked like a Chuck E Cheese party on Red Bull going on. At a minimum they should have some no-children hours, and increase the times that they are unlocked and available. Also, despite the curfew and "quiet time" rules, there was a lot of loud partying late into the night for the 4 nights we were there, and security was nowhere to be found. The group next to us left their radio blaring through the night. The one time we did manage to find someone from security, nothing was done and they later admitted that they never did anything about it because they went on break and forgot about it. The showers were TINY with nowhere to put your things where they wouldn't fall onto the muddy floors, and the cleaning of the bathrooms seemed to consist of dropping by and sweeping them occasionally. The handicapped shower/bathroom had NOWHERE to put things except in the sink itself. The floor in there was tiled and sloped, without handholds, and with the floor wet I went skidding down the slope and nearly took a header several times and wouldn't go back in there. There were hundreds of kids running wild 18 hours a day - pounding on shower doors harassing other campers, running through campsites, chasing animals, racing bikes into the paths of moving vehicles and into the sides of the parked ones. And those are just the ones who weren't going crazy behind the wheels of the golf carts - screaming down the roads with no lights on late at night. I realize management can't be 100% responsible for all the kids running wild, but they need to stress to people registering that they must keep their kids under control, that they won't tolerate certain behaviors, AND THEN FOLLOW THROUGH AND ENFORCE IT instead of letting other campers feel trampled and forced to put up with other people's kids behaving badly. Also, the local attractions page on their website needs to be updated and corrected - Monticello and Luray Caverns are nowhere near as close as they indicate, and Cass Scenic Railway is NOT in Staunton - it's in West Virginia - a very big error. There may be more, but I stopped using it when I realized how inaccurate the information was. Lastly, (I hope) they advertise free Wi-Fi, but the only time we were able to get a signal at all was when we drove up, parked and used the laptop right outside the office. We were supposed to meet friends in the area, and were going to keep in touch and make final plans via IMs, but ultimately missed seeing them because the Wi-Fi that was advertised wasn't accessible unless we sat outside the office, waiting for the friends to come online, so we never were able to make contact. We feel that this Kampground looked really good online, but our actual experience was less than stellar because of all these things. We didn't have a totally bad time, but next time we'll choose another campground, hopefully more accurately advertised and managed better. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$40
We had a very nice stay at this KOA. Found it by accident (we were stopping at the Hardee's near the interstate for lunch, saw the sign and decided to check it out). Quiet campground along a river. Lots of riverfront sites. Easy access through the campground for big rigs, lots of pull-throughs. Wi-Fi was EXCELLENT! This is an important amenity for us (teenage son) and theirs was the best we've ever had at a KOA (high speed and didn't drop the connection). Great to see the wildlife being treated so well (rabbits and ducks strolling through the campground, food available at the office, signs warning of duck crossing and not to mistreat the wildlife). Staff was very professional and polite. Breakfast, pizza, and other fast-food type meals available at the snack bar in the office. It was such a pleasant experience, we decided to stay an extra night. FYI, we did receive an email confirming the $10 cancellation fee (mentioned in another review for this campground). Our $40 fee included a shaded, very level, full hook-up site, cable TV, Wi-Fi, fire ring and picnic table. Ample room to open our awning. The only thing this KOA is missing is a fenced dog run. If they had that, I'd have given it a 10. They do have an unfenced dog walk area and you can walk your dogs through the campground. If we travel through this area again, we'd definitely camp there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2008
$33
We made reservations in April for two nights of camping in July, one on the way to the shore, one on the way back. I received my credit card statement for April and saw that both nights' camping were already charged. I thought, I don't remember them saying they were charging it when I made reservations, but whatever. Then I called in May to cancel, due to a change in my husband's work schedule. I was told that there would be a $10 cancellation fee per night, which was supposedly in a confirmation email that I don't remember getting (the lady on the phone said she had a hard time hearing me...I wonder if she got my email address wrong). I was annoyed with the charges and talked to a manager. She heard me out and wasn't rude, but she basically said I was out of luck. She's got my money already, so there's not much I can do about it! I informed them they'd lost our business for our rescheduled trip, but once again, they didn't seem to care, because they got $20 for nothing. It seems like a lovely campground, which is why we made reservations there in the first place, but just be aware that you'll get charged if you cancel. I understand why campgrounds need cancellation policies, but seriously--like they're not going to re-reserve two Saturday nights in July within the next two months? That's unreasonable. I just hope my experience saves someone else some money, because my $20 is a lost cause! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$29
Large campground with many sites on a river. There's a short walk to a nice waterfall. There are some indoor hot tubs. There are a bunch of bunnies on the lawn surrounding the office who are very cute and tame. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$40
Interesting Place! Dozens of rabbits running around the place. Campsite was comfortable. Pond had fish. Other campers were friendly. I would come back again, convenient to several area trout streams. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$37
Quiet park in the trees by a river. We had WIFI from the park. Our cell phone, Dish and Aircard would not work. There was cable, but we didn't use it. The rig behind us had to come across the road to use our cable connection. We were here overnight and moved on, so have no real opinion of this park. It was good for an overnight stay and we would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2007
$36
Cable at our site was terrible. Showers were filthy. Bathrooms were ok. Cell service is spotty. Nice setting next to a small river. If you are in the area, this is an ok place for the night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2007
$39
We stayed here for one night on our way to Bristol, TN. The motorhome sites are tight, don't expect to be lounging around at your campsite. The tent sites near the river and waterfall are muddy and will flood if it rains - so tent campers beware! There are also sites (the pull-thrus without sewer) that looked liked they flooded when it rained as well. There are domestic bunnies everywhere which people seemed to enjoy, but I'm not all that keen on having domestic animals wandering around in the "wild". The hot tubs were nice (there are 4), but you cannot adjust the temperature - it is set at around 95 degrees. You must shower before using them, and the showers were pretty scary. Just... not all that clean. A good bottle of Clorox would do a lot of good in there. That and a 100 watt light bulb overhead. The pool was clean and was large and there were chairs provided. The miniature golf course was a joke, but we did play and enjoyed it despite it being rather hokey. I would not recommend this campground for a long stay but for an overnight or perhaps a weekend, it will work okay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$37
The park is neatly organized and in good condition as far as camp sites go. Most of the sites on the river seem to be for dry camping. We were given a more spacious spot on the top of the hill. Almost all of the sites are shaded. The weekend we went, the campground was completely booked. However, there was plenty of staff to help with the crowd. I did feel the lady cleaning the restrooms should have had about three more people helping her and they should have been cleaned three times a day due to the sheer volume of use. Perhaps this campground just needs another bath house. We all enjoyed the activities and with the exception of keeping dogs on a leash and cleaning up after their mess, most of the campers seemed to follow the rules. Had their been another bath house or cleaning done more often, I would have rated it higher. The bathrooms weren't atrocious, the cleaning lady just needed a little more help to keep up. We will go back. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2007
$33
It was a KOA. We camped in dirt, there were kids running and screaming all over the place, the bathrooms weren't all that clean. The walls of the shower were dirty and the shower never did get warm. There were rabbits, the domestic kind all over the place, and rabbit food available in the store. But I got tired of stepping in rabbit doo doo. They had a coffee machine which was out of order, and all in all just not that well kept up. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$34
This is a nice campground in the mountains. Positives include tubing down the river, nice pool, ability to purchase meals and snacks such as funnel cakes. Negatives include crowded sites, partying campers, and restrooms that were not cleaned early enough after a busy Friday night. Overall, this is a nice campground. It would be more pleasant during the week when you can avoid the party crowds during the weekend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$38
We loved this park! The natural scenery is beautiful and the sites were well spaced out. The pool was very big and there were nightly movies with a neat concession stand. There is also a general store. We were here only one night but wished we had time to spend a week. The river and waterfall are very pretty and there is good fishing in both the river and the stocked pond. The only drawback is the location of the bathrooms. You must climb a hill. The bathrooms could have used a little more attention. They weren't dirty, but just got a little messy from time to time. Overall, I highly recommend this park! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$37
Nice CG but electric service was low and my surge protector clicked off several times and so running the A/C was something of a challenge. Was crowded and sites are close but the camp is active and the staff/owners go out of their way to accommodate the campers. Wi-Fi worked well within my camper but we could not use the satellite dish because of the overhead trees. Their TV hook-up worked but not well. Nice pool, nice hot tubs and tubing on the river is a plus. Very nice family CG. We would stay here again but not during peak season. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$35
Very nice campground! Hot tubs are great after a long drive although they close fairly early at night. Pool was not opened yet for the season. Large tame rabbits roam freely around the sites. My kids and wife loved the bunnies! Rabbit food costs 50 cents at the camp store. All sites and roads are freshly graveled. No mud or dirt without grass. Clean fire rings. Scenic river sites and views with waterfall near the tent area. No highway noise. Stocked fishing pond with large trout. Staff was friendly, helpful and volunteered to give advice and assistance. They even lent me a ladder and caulk gun after I discovered a leak in my ceiling. We will return again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$35
Great place for short stays. Sites are a little close but easy in/ out. There is a store and small snack bar, which was not opened during our stay. Beautiful scenery, waterfalls, stream, trees, pond, and lovely walking paths. Met some of the nicest people here including the staff. We had good cable and wireless connection.Only problem that we encountered was a mix up in our need for a 50 amp site. We managed however, fortunately not needing air conditioning at this time of year. Would highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$38
Stayed over night to rest on our way back home. Thought sites were a little too close, especially the fire rings. The river was great for tubing. Beautiful waterfall. Nice putt-putt course. Wish we could have stayed longer (I have a 12 year old that really enjoyed the tubing and playing in the river). Watch out for the trees. Kind of hard to maneuver, we kept the fifth wheel connected to truck. Would definitely go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$31
This is a nice family campground. There are rabbits running loose on the upper part of the campground. Very friendly staff and well maintained campground. I will stay here again and have stayed here before. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2006
$31
We stayed in a river-front site that had a sharp drop-off to the river, which was disappointing because we were hoping to fish just behind our campsite. This site was not full hook-up. I recommend you go ahead and stay in a full hook-up site. The sites are a little close together but overall the park is nice. The waterfalls are pretty. If I were attending events in that area of the state I would probably stay there again, but if you are looking for peace and quite and to be spread out with a little privacy then I would not recommend this CG. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2006
$36
This campground is very crowded and difficult to find enough room to park tow vehicle with larger rigs. If the park has WiFi, they keep it a secret because on the information given to us by the office, they only have dial-up in the office. The sites were too close together for our preference and I didn't feel safe with the fire rings so close to the rigs. Another problem was that you lose cell phone service once you enter the park. The pay phone was out of order, so the only option was to drive to higher ground. This is definitely a family campground because there were many children running all over the place. This park is perfect for pop-ups and tents. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2005
$35
This is the second year in a row that we have been to this KOA for Halloween weekend and we have already made reservations for next year. We really enjoy all of the activities they offer for the kids (trick-or treating, hay rides, etc.), and the adults (pig roast and band on Saturday night). Some sites are very short or have the hookups situated so that you will need extensions for everything. We had a bit of trouble situating our hybrid trailer on site 19 so that we could get hooked up and wouldn't be blocking the road with our bunkouts or awning. The kids enjoyed feeding the many rabbits that roam the property. Oh, the campground sits down in a valley so forget TV reception and take along some movies for the kids. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2005
$34
This is a great park for kids. There are many activities to keep them occupied. We didnt see any bored kids around. It's also a great park for people who love to tube. The river is right there and is shallow and has a gorgeous waterfall you can stand under. The downside of this park is that its built with way to many sites. They are extremely small and they pack them in there like sardines. They would do well to remove a few sites and expand the existing sites outward. This is basically a tenters, pop up and travel trailers park. Because we have a motorhome, we won't be going back. It's simply to hard to navigate and the sites are so small that it makes it a chore to try and squeeze into one. Its a shame as this park has great staff and lovely grounds. Word to the wise, if its raining be prepared to get flooded. There is little gravel in the parking spaces and because this area sits in a low section it will get extremely wet and muddy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$33
Nice campground though sites close to the front end can hear highway noise. Near the waterfall is very peaceful. Lots of shade. My only complaint are the showerheads. They can not be adjusted and the shower hits and adult in the chest. Very difficult to shower young children. Quiet hours are late on weekends 11pm and they have a band or karaoke and was very loud which made it hard to get the children to sleep. Over by the waterfall not as loud. Waterfall was very scenic and we could play in the sand. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$35
Like this place. Sites are level but some are a little short especially if you're towing. Fishing pond and river behind campground which is good for fishing and tubing. Rental tubes available at office. A little tough to get to from I-81. Road is somewhat narrow but we saw Class As there. We were in a Class C. Lots of wild rabbits and ducks for the kiddies to look at. Good location to visit the attractions around Staunton. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2005
$31
This is one of the nicest campgrounds we have ever stayed at. Upkept and clean are not good enough words. Store was clean and organized, bathrooms and showers were very clean. They had 4 hottubs and nice size pool. Had lots of activities for the kids including mini golf, 2 playgrounds, vollyball, and pool. They have rabbits and ducks everywhere on the campground. Stauntan river runs along side and you can go fishing and tubing, and they have a pretty waterfall. We really enjoyed ourselfs here and will return in the future. We stayed during the free camp night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2005
$33
This campground located in Verona, VA officially calls itself Shenandoah Valley KOA. We called ahead to check on site availability for a long pull-through with 50amp service for at least 3 nights and we asked about an option to stay as long as 6 nights. We were told that a site meeting our requirements was not a problem. When we arrived a couple of hours later, the only site that they could offer us was a site that did not comfortably fit our truck and 38'RV, it was only 30amp and, in order to get a site for 6 nights we would have had to change sites in the middle of our stay. We decided to leave after 3 nights instead. While there, we found this to be an old-fashioned, old-type, family-oriented campground that is very popular with fishermen/women/children who all liked to take advantage of the river that runs behind the place. There are picnic tables, fire rings that get lots of use and plenty of tall pines for shade. They claim they removed 600 trees, but the trees are still very plentiful and, if you have a long rig like we do, you will still need to be somewhat cautious coming and going. Besides the fishing, a pool and hot tubs, they offer other activities. They offer a form of cable which they refer to as Satellite TV and they make 12 stations available. We were only able to pick up about half of them without using our own dish and, because the campground sits so low compared to the surrounding countryside, I'm sure an antenna would have been of little value. Cell phone service was also all but impossible. They do offer free WiFi. Staff are pleasant if not inefficient about getting the proper site info reserved. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$33
Looked to be an awsome park, but didn't follow through. Park layout was very cumbersome. One way roads that made you drive completely around the park to go anywhere. Dump Station was located just at the exit of several loops and caused traffic to backup, blocking exit of the loops. Laundry was expensive. (Twice of the previous campground we stayed at). Pool is quite a walk from the majority of sites and is situated such that driving is extremely inconvenient. Sites were small and fairly close together. Lots of trees though. Also inconvenient that cell phone service would die immediately upon entering park driveway. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$33
This is a fairly scenic campground situated along a small river with heavily wooded sites. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. There is a nice outdoor pool, indoor hot tubs, a small fishing lake and a game room. The campground advertises tubing in the river, but the river did not look very inviting to me. A decent country band performs live every Saturday night. Otherwise, it is a relatively quiet place with few planned activities. A significant downside is that the sites are very small and very crowded. The campground is close to I-81, making it a convenient overnight stop when travelling. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$33
Absolutely no complaints about this park. Very pretty, clean, friendly staff, great pool, well maintained grounds. We will be going there again for sure. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$36
One of the nicest KOA's we have stayed at. Friendly staff, small store. There are four hot tubs which are in an enclosed facility. There is a stream and a small waterfalls. We will be going back. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$40
Shenandoah Valley KOA has to be the cleanest and most beautiful campground I have ever been to. The campground is nestled in a quiet area not far from Interstate 81 in Verona, VA. The pool was very large with a kiddie pool and a large playground area located near the pool area. There is also a fishing pond and a sun room with four hot tubs to use. The best feature was the river that borders the campground and is popular for tubing. A spectacular waterfall that flows into the river is located near the end of the campground property and provides a nice wading area for tubers to exit the river. While items at the camp store were pricy and the check in staff could have been a little more friendly, the owners definitely put their heart and soul into this campground. We stayed here in a travel trailer in 2003 on our way home from the south. While it was approximately 75 miles out of our way for our usual destination route home, it definitely was worth the extra time to stay there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$36
Quite likely the most popular KOA in the state. Dynamite staff and facilities. Clean, well managed. New pool and bathhouse with hot tubs. 1.5 miles of the Middle River border the campground. Tubin and fishin adds to the family fun. Just minutes off of I-81 near Staunton. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com