219007 User submitted reviews online!!
River Country Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 48 user reviews. Phone: (256) 543-7111
CGID31

River Country Campground

Camp Information
Sites
210
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   9   8   9   8   7   8   10   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2014
$40
I really liked this campground, though it was near impossible to maneuver my 45' rig into a spot. With some excellent guidance from staff and the watchful eye of my wife, we made it. Barely. The swimming pools are pretty nice (deep blue from a liner in the cement pond) one of which is an infinity pool. Sites are available on the river and the bay for $2/night more, and worth that little bit. The do niggle the prices a bit too much, but it's still relatively inexpensive. I had to leave one night early and no refund, but they tell me I will have a credit for the next time, which is reasonable. They need to make bigger sites. Yes, they give you two because one couldn't possibly fit a motorhome and a towed, but if they reconfigured to have fewer, larger spaces everyone would be happier. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$38
Gravel roads and sites, not much grass around. It is right on the river, so nice setting. Good water pressure and WiFi. The electrical power is towards the front of the site, but not a problem. Cable was good. We were escorted to the site and the staff was friendly and helpful. Would stay here again if ever in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$30
This is the second time we stayed here and it had improved since last year even though we loved it last year! The pool area is even more beautiful than before. The people in the office couldn't be nicer. I wish we had another day or so here. It has gravel roads and it's kinda messy when it rains but we still Love it! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$36
We have stayed at River Country several times. It is a nice, clean campground. The staff take you to the site and help you. We use this as a stop over to visit family. It is gated and secure. The management are upgrading different things and the grounds are looking great. We will continue to stay here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$37
Very nice, quiet, beautiful pools, and nice river views. Lots of good dog walking. There had been a lot of rain when we were there, but they were working hard to make everything right. Gated and seemed secure. Some road noise, but we were not bothered by it. Not sure on the rate but it was close to $35. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$38
My husband and I stayed here for three nights in October. I have mixed feelings about this park, weighing more to the positive. This park sits on a beautiful piece of real estate--surrounded on two sides by water, the Coosa River and Lake Black Creek. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. There were a couple of current construction projects to improve the park--a new pool and a new very long dock with at least 20 boat slips. The office area was nice and beautifully landscaped. I used the laundry facilities, which were neat and clean. There were five washers and I think five or six dryers, all of which were working. Unfortunately, there were a couple of negatives about the park...the roads were badly in need of repair. The sites are not paved, but pretty level. Because the park was not full, the manager allowed us to use an adjacent space for our tow truck, which we appreciated because we are not sure where we would have parked it otherwise. There were several, what appeared to be, long-term trailers that were not occupied--maybe used for weekends--some could have used some tidying up of "stuff" around the trailers. Also, the spaces were extremely close together. Luckily for us, there were lots of available spaces so we did not have anyone right next to us. Cable worked well as did the WIFI. Highway noise from I-759, but not horrible. With some additional improvements, this could be a gem of a park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$36
Nice park close to shopping and restaurants. Sites are gravel, long and level. Park is on the river, with a wooded area in the middle with a trail, great for walking dogs. This was just an overnight stop for us. We would certainly stay here again if we were in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$40
I have stayed there several times. Great staff and owner. Just added a 2nd large pool. Plenty of shade. Just a few steps to the river bank at most sites. Very convenient to everything. December the park is decorated with thousands of lights. Gated and safe. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$38
Location is one of park's best assets. Right off I-759, a couple blocks from all kinds of shopping/restaurants, yet on a dead end peninsula road with country atmosphere, medium lake and next to Coosa River with boating. Plus swimming pool, shallow pool, splash pad, playground. Roads paved, gravel level sites, many in trees so our roof satellite limited to where we could park NOT under trees. Clean restrooms & laundry although air conditioning was minimal in that part of building, which was not in keeping with quality of rest of park. Also has a large storm shelter. Enjoyed our short stay. Would definitely come back and stay longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$35
Gravel roads and pads. Roads not as smooth as they could be. Staff very friendly and helpful. Services reliable. The road in to the camppground is not well marked. Turn at the traffic light between the Waffle House & McDonalds on a road that says "no outlet". This little road really does go back to the campground. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$39
Great place. Beautiful landscaping. User friendly. We loved it. It appeared that this nice place was being upgraded. It's nice to see a park that is cared for! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$40
We loved this campground for several reasons beginning with the friendly, helpful staff. We had concerns about "small" sites but were assured that we would have plenty of room and we were given options of where we would be more comfortable. The atmosphere of this campground is fantastic with views of the water everywhere, swings overlooking the river and a beautiful park in the middle. This is a must stay if you love fishing, relaxing and being in a great location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$36
After reading previous reviews, we weren't sure whether to stay here or not, and it was one of our favorites of our month trip through Alabama doing the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail. The owner was extremely nice and helpful. Because we read about tight spots, we mentioned that to him, and he gave us and our traveling friends spaces side by side with an empty spot between us so we'd have enough room. Along the river and the walking trail, he has wooden swings. Lovely for sitting and watching the sunset. It was a bit dusty because the roads are not paved, but there is a lovely grassy area in the middle of the park. The landscaping is very nicely done. He's even added a new storm shelter in the event of a tornado. That's another nice touch for the park. There are quite a few restaurants in the immediate area. It's about 20 minutes to the Robt.Trent Jones Golf Trail. My husband hadn't been there more than 20 minutes when he pulled out his fishing gear and pulled in a couple of VERY nice sized bass. I heard no road noise, but we were on the "bay" side of the river. If you're going to camp near a river, you'll hear boat noise. To complain about that seems a bit much, but that's just my opinion. I loved this park and would definitely like to go back. We travel in a 45 foot coach, so if it seemed tight to some, I'd suggest getting a site near the water, as we found it fine, even if there had been a coach between us and our friends. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$31
A nice park spaces small. Staff are VERY nice and helpful. I would stay again. My wife wants to give a 10. You are in the middle of a Christmas light tour. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$36
This is a lovely park located on the Coosa River. The park has a variety of pull through and back in sites. Many of the sites are very close together with just barely enough room to put the slides out. We stayed here for 2 nights on our way back home so the sites were OK. If we were staying here longer, we would have asked for a back in site on the river. They are the larger sites. The staff is very friendly and escorted us to our site. The cable and Wi-Fi worked well. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$34
Nice park for a few nights - it sits below the interstate bridge so there is some noise, but not enough to keep you awake at night. The most noise came from the speed boats who left early in the morning for whatever reason. Host was congenial and helpful. Site was gravel and level - grass needed mowing. Overall a good place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$34
This is a very nice campground for an overnight stay. The lake is beautiful, and there is a nice walking path around it. The office staff is especially helpful and friendly. There are a number of permanent residents, but most units are well kept. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$38
Easy access from US431, if you know where you're going. Interior roads and sites are gravel with little grass. Most sites have a little shade. Free Wi-Fi, but runs slow with limited bandwidth. Office staff friendly and will escort you to site. Little roads noise from nearby busy road. Nice walkway around the park to take a stroll. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$34
Easy in and out. Owner friendly. Site was not the most level and electric pedestal was in the way of full wall slide, but since leaving next day did not look for more appropriate site. Worked as an overnight and would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$32
Great location down by the river. Don't worry about the highway noise. It's not bad. Beautiful park and lots of water frontage. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
Nice campground. We stayed for a night on our way to Gatlinburg. Pool was very clean along with site. Nice place to stay a night or a few days. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
Very clean, attractive, well-landscaped CG almost surrounded by water. Nice views from many sites. Peaceful trail traces the shoreline. Strong cable and Wi-Fi. Single major drawback - very narrow sites (17') - barely enough for a slide-out and awning. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$32
This is a beautiful, well maintained park, with killer river views. There is a walking trail around the property, with wooden swings along the path where you can relax and look at the river and hills. The cable TV is good, also the WiFi. Someone spent a lot of time and effort in planting flowers in beds along the river. Very nice. Staff is friendly and amenities all in good shape. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$32
This campground was gorgeous. This was the best kept up campground I have ever seen. There was a trail along the river/lake around the entire park with benches and tons of flowers/landscaping. It was really peaceful and quiet despite being minutes from the city and highway. The sites were mostly pull throughs and some smaller backup sites along the river: although from most sites in the park you have a view of the water considering almost the whole park is surrounded by water. Cable TV was great; didn't use the Wi-Fi. This is a great park; make sure you stop here! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$32
I have to agree with all of the previous comments. This is a very well maintained campground right on the Coosa River in Gadsden. The facilities are among of the best I've seen with private showers and very clean restrooms and laundry. The water and electric were good and the Wi-Fi was lightning quick. My only complaint is with the size of the sites. While my visit was just a stop over and it did not negatively affect me, this campground would be a "10" with larger sites and a less congested layout. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$32
We stayed here in the off season, so the park wasn't crowded. However, the sites are close together,so it may get crowded in the high season. It is well maintained and in a good location for a quick off and on the highway. The staff was very accommodating. There is a huge Christmas light display that is supposed to be fantastic. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$32
Campground is a bit quirky, but has a lot of character. Stayed overnight on way to Destin and enjoyed the brief stay. Management was very nice. Canceled return visit on day of arrival and was not charged. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
This is a excellent campground. It is extremely well maintained. The bathrooms and showers were probably the best I've seen at a campground. A very family friendly campground. We really enjoyed the pool; however it would have been nice if there had been a playground as well. Wi-Fi worked well as did all of the other amenities. The campground was almost full, but we were fortunate to get a spot right on the water. Not a lot of shade, but some great views of the river. It's right next to the downtown area so there is a lot of eating and entertainment close by. The spaces were a bit close but not to the point of being uncomfortable. We had a nice experience and would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$32
WOW, what a GREAT Rv Park - We've been on the road between places for several weeks staying in okay rv parks along the way. Park is well landscaped, many sites are close, but pleasing. Park is on the Coosa River and seems surrounded by water making it cooler in hot summer heat. They have lovely walking paths and a chapel in the woods, so pleasing. We've found a wonderful place to come to when we are in this part of the south and feel very at home. Bring your fishing pole, the water is lovely. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$32
This was a very nice campground. Lots of trees, we had a site very close to the office and facilities, as well as close to the water. It was grassy and had several trees. Really lovely. The only problem was that the campground is right by the Interstate, so there is road noise, but having the fan on in the camper during the night masked all but the loudest trucks, and it wasn't really a problem. They do have a very small dog walk area, but no one said anything when my husband walked the dogs around the water in the morning. Bathrooms were clean and nice, and the internet worked great! Sites were gravel but nice and level. Would definitely stay here again. Very convenient, and the people were nice! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$30
We did not stay on a water front site but it didn't matter, we still had a great view. We loved this campground and will visit again! Walking trail was very nice. The atmosphere was great. Staff was nice and very helpful. Sites are nice and level. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$31
Beautiful campground with lovely flowerbeds and swings throughout. Decorative outdoor lighting was more than adequate. The bathrooms and showers were spotless. The campground worker (Butch) was very nice and helpful. We will definitely return and highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$32
We stop at this campground whenever we are in the area. Our pull through was long and level with a good view of the river. There is a small chapel located in a grove of trees. Swings and a walking path are a nice feature in this area. There is also a river walk path. The grounds are landscaped and well kept. The staff is friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$33
Great place to stay. Staff was very helpful and the grounds were well cared for. Would have given the campground a ten , but the noise from road was a minor problem. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$30
We have stayed at this campground several times and find it very pleasant for one or several nights. The campground is beautifully decorated for Christmas. We look forward to staying here again and again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2007
$26
This is a nice campground with very beautiful scenery. The mountains in the morning light are worth getting up early to see. The staff was very friendly and escorted us to our site. They set us on a pull-through so that we didn't have to disconnect as we were here for only 1 night. This makes a nice stop-over or extended stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
This was a very nice park with extremely friendly staff. The sites were gravel and level. The utilities were in good shape and well positioned on the site. There was standard cable TV with plenty of choices. There was plenty of grass between the sites and lots of shade. The sites were roomy and very easy to get in to. We had a pull-through site and had no problems positioning our 33’ fifth wheel. The restrooms were 5 star clean, air conditioned, and very well appointed. The pool was very nice with the clearest blue water we saw on our entire 17 day vacation. It was open late during our stay in mid July. We highly recommend this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$28
Nice park, people friendly. Not a great park because of gravel and dirt sites, but otherwise nice. I would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$28
Excellent park, clean and well kept. The sites are all easy to access and are level. The view is very nice from almost all of the sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2007
$28
Beautiful setting. Easy in/out and nice pull-through sites. Management was very nice and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$29
This park is about 5 miles off the main highway but has shopping plazas about .3 mile away. If one wanted to eat out, there were several options available almost within walking distance. The park sits on a lake and is very picturesque. We had a site on the end of a row which overlooked the water and fishing docks. It was very nice. However, many of the sunny sites were very, very close together. The people across from us had their awning only part way out so it wouldn't touch the camper next to them. Fortunately for them they were camping together. I would not have been happy with that setup at all. So, for us, I like what we got but if I were going to stay again, I'd call ahead to see what was available. The pool was not yet open for the season. We were there for only one night but enjoyed our short stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$35
Excellent stop. Easy to find. Very friendly and helpful folks and guide you to your site. Sites are level although not very wide. Not to many there so each side of us was vacant. Certainly would return here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2006
$28
Ok campground. Sites very close together. Under the interstate bridge on the river. You are taken to your site, the staff help you with backing in. The park is ok but we probably will not return because of the closeness of the sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2005
$30
One of my favorite places to camp. Very clean. Quiet. (security gates are locked after 10:00 pm) Daily trash pickup. Shopping mall across the street. I would recommend to anyone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$28
This is a very good campground. The host was very helpful & pleasant. I needed a part for my hitch and the host directed me to the nearest repair shop. The sites are small in width we couldn't put the awning out. It seem like the sites on the river were wider so we will pick one the next time we go there. There is lots to do in and around Gadsen, Al or you can just relax by the river. I have recommended this place to several friends to try. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2004
$26
The Christmas Lights through out the park are magical. The sites are gravel and level but very narrow. Owner/managers are friendly. They led us to our site after hours. The park has 4 club houses, some with fireplaces. The club houses varied in size for groups. There is also a large convention center available. You can fish off the few docks on the waterfront. This park is good for rallies. Shopping is just a couple of miles away with a trolley available to mall area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$23
River Country Campground is a great camp ground. I usually stay in State Parks so my public camp ground experience is limited. But I was impressed. Level lots, utilities are all under ground. Lots of pull throughs. Sites right on the Coosa River. Put your garbage at the front of your site and they pick it up for you. And they have "wireless" internet services. They have a small chapel, a walk around the park that borders the river, clean facilities, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Although most sites do not have grass it is still a very pleasant stay. I will go back and I recommend this site to anyone visiting that area or just passing through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2002
$25
A clean, well kept park, staff was friendly but not in any hurry. They didn't provide any information until prompted, then they gave more than needed. They escort you to your space, go slow as there's many speed bumps. The holiday season brings a really nice light show throughout the park. Is on the Coosa River offering boating and fishing but don't eat the fish. The river is contaminated from agricultural and industrial run off. Excellent fishery for Flathead Catfish. The reasons I gave them a 2 is because the spaces are right on top of each other. The picnic tables between my site and the others had to be moved because they would not fit between the RV's. I could barely squeeze between the slideouts on the 3 slide class A and my slide. On the weekends the place was full, and from 6 AM till 10 PM the kids were incredibly active and demonstrated their anunciation skills. The (nice) pool was so packed with kids, swimming was not an option. My biggest pet peeve is that there is no shade. They should remove every 2nd and 3rd space and replace with some trees. Just outside the entrance you may meet some not so favorable people. They do lock the gates at night and they did have people (security??) riding around in golf carts. If you like crowded weekend CG's this is your dream. It is a good place to stay for a night off the highway, just make sure you do it M-Th. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com