215122 User submitted reviews online!!
Fort Chiswell RV Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 223 user reviews. Phone: (276) 637-6868
CGID3108

Fort Chiswell RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
92
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   7   7   8   9   7   8   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$33
A very nice RV park. The facilities are clean and well kept. All utilities worked as expected. Cable TV has 62 analog channels with just OK picture quality. The sites are somewhat small and some are a bit out of level. The park is just off I-81 about a mile with no road noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$33
Nice park located near the interstate but far enough away so no road noise. Very popular overnight park so you may want to call ahead. Generally starts filling up around 3 PM. Main road is paved, interior roads and sites are dirt/gravel. Large trees between each sites but did not impact rigs. Proper placement of our rig allowed us to get satellite signal. They do have one section next to the pool that has no trees. Good cable channel lineup and free Wi-Fi that is adequate. Spaces are almost all pull-through and most are adequate in length to hold big rigs. Spacing between sites is grass and gives you ample room. It can be a little tight on the inside spaces when you go to leave if the space in front is occupied. This is our second stay here and I would highly recommend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$24
If you are 40 ft or bigger and they put you on the sites with the concrete pads on the West side, you may want to back out of them. Some people were hitting their back hitches trying to pull out forwards. Too much of an incline pulling out forwards. If you look at the concrete slabs you'll notice scrapes. Nice campground otherwise and would return again. Rate reflects weekly rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$33
This is a well managed campground. Everything works as advertised even their street lights. The road into the park is on asphalt and has a large pothole so you will need to drive carefully. The interior roads and sites are on packed gravel. Most of the sites are pull-thrus and the utilities are in the appropriate place. There was 20/30/50 amp electrical service. The voltage was strong, hovering around 124. Most of the sites were fairly leveled. There were some long term residents but they were along the outer edge of the campground. The pool was nice – could have been a little warmer, but that is personal preference. There was a bathroom with 3 showers per sex. The office had a decent selection of camping needs plus a book exchange. The laundry room had 4 washers ($1.25) and 4 dryers ($0.50). WiFi was available but we did not use it. Verizon air card and cell phone worked well here. We would definitely come back to this campground if were in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$33
We liked this park and stayed 2 nights in a 33 foot 5th wheel. It was serene and bucolic, surrounded by farm land - cows included. Our site was a gravel pull through with a picnic table on a concrete slab - 50 amp, water (good pressure-used a regulator), sewer and cable TV. Very nice. The staff was friendly, it was tidy and quiet with easy access to the interstate. The bathrooms and showers looked very clean, although we did not use them. The laundry also looked very good. Our Verizon signal was good. Our only complaint was the Wifi. They have it and we saw at least 3 antennas in the park, but connectivity was very poor, intermittent and unreliable! It really is time for RV Parks to have decent wifi. It should be as important and as reliable as electric. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$33
This is an overnight park right off I-81. Easy in and out, nice competent professional staff. Decent sites. Nothing fancy, but for what it is, a great place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$36
Great overnight right off of I-77 and I- 81. Overnight 50 amp spots are concrete. Very quiet and nice area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$33
Good overnight park at I-81 and I-77 junction. Good utilities, pretty level gravel pads, open year round, quiet. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2014
$33
Great place for an over night stay. Convenient to 77 and we always use this park on our way to Florida. Nice level lots and we never unhook the rig. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$34
Long pull-through. Gravel-grass sites. Good electric, Wi-Fi worked good. Great for a easy in easy out overnight stay. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2013
$42
We stayed here for one night on our way south. Everything worked great, and our site was nice and level. The service associate who checked us in was very pleasant. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$33
There are nice level sites with good electric and a beautiful view of farmland on three sides of the campground. The hosts were willing to work us in, even though we got there on a busy night and didn't have reservations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$34
What a great overnighter! Very level, cement pads Excellent hookups, strong electrical, very strong Verizon Mi-Fi. Bathrooms would rate a 10, except women's showers had unappealing black stains in floor grout and rusty fixtures. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$33
We always stop at this campground going and coming from our winter destination. Close to the interstate, but no road noise. All pull thrus are in front part of the park. Sites and utilities are in good condition. We would like to package this park and take it with us in our travels. Would highly recommend this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
This is a great stop for an overnight. It's near I81 and I77. Wide grassy sites, shaded. Staff friendly. I don't think I'd stay there more than a night or two. But, it's meant to be a stopover. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
A very nice park. Not far from I-81, but no road noise as it is set back from the main road. Sites are long, level with ample space between each. Sites and roads are gravel with grass and a tree between most sites. Mainly an overnight park and it is a great value. Free Wi-Fi (adequate speed), cable TV, full hook-ups with nice pull thru sites. Park is nicely maintained. I would highly recommend as a stop over while on I-81. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
Decent place to stop for the night. Site was a little un-level front to back, but we were able to park without unhooking. Kids said the pool was warm.  Electric voltage allowed plenty of headroom to run water heater.  Wi-fi was not very reliable. Would definitely spend night here again, even if it's not a destination park.  We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$36
Easy from I-81. Everything clean and well-maintained. Sites level. Good cement drives and gravel sites. Nicely mowed areas for pet walking. Country setting by farms, but very convenient for travel stopping, or staying in area. Lovely pool. Full hookups, all pull throughs, cable and Wi-Fi. Definitely will stay here again if coming through the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$33
This is a great overnight facility. Nice sites, pull thru, and can even leave your tow vehicle hooked up if needed. We have camped here 2 years in a row while traveling. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$34
Our 2nd time staying at this park because of its amenities and convenient location. Everyone else must think so too because they fill up fast -- call ahead for a reservation. Level sites, modern hookups, clean and modern laundry. We will stay here whenever we're in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$33
Great place. Concrete pad. Full hookup. Didn't use facilities. Nice little store. Surprisingly quiet for close to freeway. Will happily stay here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$33
This RV park is easily accessible off I-81, but far enough away to avoid all traffic noise. Reservations are easily made via telephone and no advance deposit was required. This park is clean, has many pull through sites with satellite access from many of the sites. WiFi weak but acceptable for emails. Main roads are paved, some sites with some concrete pads while others are gravel. Each site has a concrete pad for picnic table. Heated pool. This is not a fancy "resort", but is a highly functional RV park and is a great place for an overnight stop or longer. Be aware that the Flying J at the RV park I-81 exit does NOT have RV islands and is not easy to get into or out of with an RV/Trailer. There is another Flying J just 3 miles south west on I-81 that has full RV access and fueling islands. We stayed here twice this month and will do so again if our travels take us this way. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$33
We stopped here on our way to myrtle beach just for the night. You really can't ask for much more. Concrete pads that are level. Full hookups, heated pool, and a very friendly staff. I will definitely remember this CG for future travel. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$33
This park is a mix of long term/permanent RVs and one night stops. Not a lot to do locally, and only fast food outlets available. If you want to eat out you need to drive 10 miles for Ruby Tuesdays and Applebee's, not many other options. Our cable TV picture was mediocre quality. Staff were friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$32
Nice park, only stayed the night in route to home. Friendly staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$30
Conveniently located right off I-81 and easy pull through sites for large rigs. Easy In, Easy Out. Wi-Fi was good and included in the fee. Nice area to walk your dog over the little creek. Nothing fancy but friendly people and a great place for a one nighter. We will definitely stay here again next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$33
We've stayed at Ft Chiswell several times, and we've never been disappointed in either the sites, the services, or the staff. This time, the water on one side of the park was turned off due to freezing weather, and we were given a choice of a water or no water site. Since our fresh tank was near full, we chose a no water site hoping it would be a bit more private with no close neighbors so we could sleep later in the morning. We were not disappointed. As other reviews have said, this park is close to I-81, but just over a ridge that blocks the road noise. The free WiFi is good, and the Verizon cell signal is strong. It's a great spot to stop for a night or two, although there is little in the area in the way of attractions. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$33
Close to I-81 but there is no noise from it. Have used this park several times and owners are always improving it. All utilities were good. All sites are pull-through. There is a food store within 1 mile, Flying J about 1/2 mile. Would return again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2012
$33
We stopped here overnight on our way south. Great setting - surrounded on 3 sides by hilly pasture. Hills cut highway noise. Clean restrooms. Friendly manager. Some supplies. Level pull-thru sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2012
$33
Site was deceivingly unlevel towards the front, fifth wheel could not stay connected to the truck, but motorhomes would probably be OK without having to unhook towed vehicles. Noticed others were assigned level sites, some with concrete pads. Close to the highway, very easy access to and in the park with our larger RV. Quiet at night. Good for an overnight stop, albeit a bit pricey for the off-season and no amenities other than full hookups, but it is convenient to I-81 and I-77. We would stay again as an overnight stop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$33
This is a very pleasant campground. Sites are level and setting up was easy. Utilities and Wi-Fi worked well. We really enjoyed walking around the campground and our dog enjoyed the huge pet area where she could get acquainted with the cows at the fence. Staff was efficient and friendly. We stayed overnight. This is a Good Sam park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$33
Not much I can add. The place was neat and clean, the folks in the office were very nice and helpful, easy access to the interstate. We planned to stay two nights and liked the campground so much we stayed two extra nights. Nice place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$33
Great country setting surrounded by cow pastures. Sites were nice and level. Park has gravel roads and pads. Sites are a little tight to get out of because of trees at the end of them. Would recommend water filter. I filled up a few bottles before leaving and they had a fine brown soot at the bottom when they settled. Very nice staff. Easy on and off the interstate with a nice Flying J gas station. Cable TV had 52 stations and Wi-Fi was good. Overall a great stay! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$30
This is a very popular campground for RVers heading south. We were here 4 days and every afternoon rigs were coming in. Very convenient to I-77 and I-81, but far enough off the highway for a quiet night's rest. The restrooms and showers are modern and spotless. The cable TV is fine, and the Wi-Fi is okay most of the time. Sites are gravel and reasonably level, with enough space between sites. A majority of sites seem to be pull-throughs. No issue here with seasonal campers, at least in mid-October. Staff was friendly, but no escort to sites, but I didn't think an escort was needed. Overall, this is one of the best campgrounds among the hundreds we've stayed in. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$33
This park is easy to access from I-81 and I-77. The sites are long and level. The cable is good and the Wi-Fi works okay. The laundry room is very clean, and even though it was too cold for us, the pool looked clean and inviting. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$35
This park was clean, friendly, and a great stop-over. Bathrooms were very clean. Some parks may be fancier but this one provides good sites, quiet, and relaxed staff. I would stay here again and wish we could have stayed longer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$33
Outstanding park! Everything is great. Terrific location close to many areas in the mountains you might wish to visit. Safe. Excellent restrooms, showers, laundry. Near highway but VERY QUIET. Awesome summer climate! No AC required at night! Super stable electrical, cable TV, & water connections. Excellent free Wi-Fi. Well stocked store. A top notch friendly staff who are available - but not too in your face! Just the right balance (unlike many "dictator"-like run parks)... It was so nice in fact, decided to stay an extra three nights. Parks main inhabitants are BIG RIG mega Class A RVs with toads in tow. Perfect safe harbor for them, easy in and out. Come early on Fridays, as it seems to be VERY popular on summer weekends. Rating: EXCELLENT - 10! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
Very nice park with level, gravel sites. Park is located close to interstate but is over a hill so there is no noise. Wi-Fi was very weak and slow if you are not close to the office. We spent a week here while playing in a golf tournament. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$33
This is an OK overnight stay. Easy on & off interstate. Sites are gravel. We stayed on an end pull through and had plenty of room for our 45' & tow. Staff was friendly and helpful. Bathrooms are dated but extremely clean. We would stay here again for one or two nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
What a pleasant surprise this campground was. We just planned an overnight stay but it was so pleasant and relaxing parked under a nice shade tree and watching the cows graze on the hillside. Very well kept grounds. Neat as a pin. Nice winery in the area to visit too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$33
This was a nice overnight stop on our way to Alabama. The gentleman at the office had no record of our reservation (made 2 months prior by phone), but there was plenty of space. Their printed site map indicated our site was 30amps, but he said that all of the sites had been upgraded to 50amp sites. The pool was clean-ish but heated; with the heat of the day, this was generally NOT welcome, but it was nice to take a dip before dinner. The site was a convenient pull-through with plenty of room for our 42' FW and almost level. I'd gladly stay here on a drive south again, it was very convenient to the highway with no road noise whatsoever. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
Our second visit to this park. People are super friendly and the park is very clean. Pool felt great after a long day on the road. Level sites with full hook ups. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$33
Quite simply put, this is a nice stop and go. Park is on the older side of life, and on weekends can feel like a RV sales lot as sites are TOO close together. Lots of families for the weekend and pool was always full. Still not a bad park for the money, I just wouldn't call it a resort. We would stay here again if I needed a overnighter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$34
Great staff. Nice level campsites with a heated pool and open land around. Great spot for a night stay over traveling on I-81. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$33
Just looking for a "getaway" weekend, we chose this park due to its reasonable distance (~90 miles) from home and its positive reviews. Spent two nights, Good Sam rate $30 per. Friendly, helpful hosts. Considering its proximity to I-81, park is very quiet. Easy in-and-out, plenty of space. Our site was level, and others nearby appeared to be. Easy hookups. Three-year-old grandson greatly enjoyed pool and large grassy field (we didn't utilize playground or catfish pond). Restroom and shower facilities spacious and clean. As for "cons" - not an abundance of trees/shade, but weather was mild enough it didn't matter. Exit 80 on I-81 is very cluttered, but navigable. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$36
This park is in a very peaceful, quiet, and beautiful setting. Staff was friendly and access to our pull-thru site was easy and the site quite ample for our 40' rig. The pool was very nice. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$33
The staff was very friendly and the sites were pretty much dead level. Easy access on and off highway. The pool was heated and very nice. Great place to stop while traveling, but not a destination campground. Restrooms were spotless. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$33
What a great over-nighter. Well maintained grounds: i.e. grass, paint, signs, picnic tables. The bathrooms are very clean and neat. The staff was real friendly. Easy access off I-81 but be warned: my GPS had me going 7 more miles past the entrance. But don't worry, their signs certainly give you enough notice. The only drawback was my site (#10) was pitched up and required ramps to level it. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$37
Good power, pull through sites that are great for overnighting. Very convenient to Flying J for diesel. Very close to the I-81 yet the hill blocks a lot of the noise. Good cable, power, and water. Wi-Fi was slow. Lot of grass to walk the dogs. We were in the more open sites for satellite, others have more trees. We would stay here again if we needed to overnight in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$33
Pleasant park with nice facilities. Shady level sites and nice walk and small lake. It was helpful having a Flying J right across the street to help get an early start. Would stop again for ease of overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$33
An outstanding stopover location. Clean, comfortable, well maintained. Pleasant folks at the arrival desk and an easy in and out overnight stop along a busy byway. We will definitely be back here again. Sites not perfectly level, but definitely workable. We were able to pull in, get level enough and be on our way the next day without disconnecting, or a major set up event. Cable TV and Wi-Fi were great. Nice areas to walk and play with our dogs. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$33
This park was a very nice park. We have a 45 foot trailer and it was very easy to maneuver this park. Plenty of pull-throughs that are fairly level. They also have a very nice, large dog area that you can let your dogs off leash and run. A creek runs through the dog area empties into a pond that you can catch catfish in. They also have a large play area for kids. Very close to the freeway but little to no freeway noise. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$32
Very nice campground located a short distance off I-81. The interior roads are gravel and dirt but are in good condition. Very peaceful setting. Had a good selection of cable channels but the Wi-Fi was weak at our site. Satellite is usable at a lot of the sites. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$33
This is our first visit, and we can see why it is well liked. The rate is for 50 amp pull-through with Good Sam. It is easy on and off and the greeter was super friendly. Interior roads and most sites are gravel. They vary in size, and are long enough for most not to have to unhook. Ours was sloped enough, we chose to. They also are wider than most in private parks. Big rigs will have no trouble navigating. Hookups were in a good location. Satellite would work in most sites, but 52 good cable channels are included in the price. Verizon and wi-fi worked well. The shower stalls were very large, and the restrooms were nicely decorated and among the cleanest we've ever seen. There is a nice grocery store 1/2 mile south of the park. Fuel is available at the exit, but it is very crowded. We chose exit 77 for much easier access. This is a great overnight stop, so it fills quickly. We will get reservations during peak travel season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$33
Pastural setting. Great dog walking area with lots of green grass and kept clean. Bathrooms clean and spacious. Park was very quiet and easy access to I-77 and I-81. Close to several gas stations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$38
Beautiful park. Quiet and serene. Set in hillside and easy access from freeway. Staff was very friendly and store had many things to offer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$33
Third stay here. Very good park for overnight stay. Well located off I-81 and I-77, close to Flying J. A little distance to restaurants in Wytheville. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$30
First time here for us, but we loved this place. It is in a beautiful country setting, conveniently located off the interstate. The pull-through sites are easy in and out and long enough to accommodate big rigs. Wi-Fi worked great, and there were multiple dog walks. The grounds were immaculate; they were mowing lawns and filling the swimming pool while we were there. There were several truck stops at the exit for refueling. If in the area again, we would definitely stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$32
Rate is daily rate for 50 amp FHU pull through site with GS discount. Paved entrance road is well marked with signs as to where to turn from the highway. Older section has trees, newer is more open. Pull through sites are assigned by length of RV: ours was long enough we did not need to unhook toad. Restrooms were modern, though there are only curtains in the shower area rather than doors. Excellent Verizon cell and 3G reception, park Wi-Fi is very fast. This is great park to relax at after a hard days travel on the Interstates, and I have to echo the other reviews regarding how accommodating the owners of the park are. We will definitely stay here again if traveling through the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$30
Terrific place for a one night stay over. Easy in and out and convenient to fuel and interstate. The host are very pleasant and accommodating. I would highly recommend this to any length vehicle. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$35
A simple, no frills, excellently maintained campground right off I-81 exit 80, adjacent to rolling hills with cows in the pasture. Very easy pull through for any size, very clean facilities, this RV campground deserves the high reputation is apparently has had for many years. Their store has RV accessories and Propane fill up. Word to the wise, year around it starts to fill up by 3pm and empties out again by 10am. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$31
This park is the ideal site for travelers on I-81 heading north or south. It is easy to access, off the main highway and has easy access pull throughs. It is even nice enough to stay for a few days if you are staying in the area. Owners are used to the rush to check in and handle it well. Would stay again if traveling in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$31
This was a convenient stop off I-81 for our travels toward TN. Nicely laid out with easy in and out, level and packed gravel sites with good grass between with cement pads for picnic tables. Nice countryside all around with huge pet walking areas that are well kept. Cable and Wi-Fi worked well. Laundry had 2 out of 3 dryers not working, so we went 1/4 mile up the road to a nearby laundromat. Nice grocery store a mile of so up the road and a very nice winery 3 miles farther. Most units came in for an overnight so there was a lot of movement in and out morning and afternoon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$32
Located at 312 Fort Chiswell Road Mad Meadows, VA 24360. About ½ mile off I-81. Full hook up, pull through site. Site was level gravel with 50 amp electric. Picnic table at site. Most sites are pull throughs. Nice clean laundry with 4 washers and dryers. Has cable TV and good Verizon service. Dog friendly with a lot of area to walk a dog. Amenities: just used for an overnight so didn’t check everything out, but did note they had a pool and two small ponds for fishing. Summary: A good overnight stop off I-81. With Good Sam discount: $38.68, a bit pricey for an overnight. Only discount is Good Sam. We only hooked up electric and cable. Big rig friendly: yes, but the roads are a little narrow between rows. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$25
Our rate reflects the daily rate staying one week. This is a very clean park with nice people at the desk. We are amazed at how many people arrive each afternoon. As it is less than 1/2 mile from Interstates 81 and 77, that is understandable. In October it is almost full each night. Would suggest asking for sites 1 to 27 as they are much wider. All other sites are very close together - the only drawback. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$33
One of our best stops. All pull throughs. Level sites and easy access to I-81 and I-77. One thing is this place always seems to fill up every time we stop. Would highly recommend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$32
This is a very nice RV Park. Sites are long enough for our motorhome and car. The sites all have a wide space with a picnic table. Good for sitting outside. Entire park is very clean and well taken care. 50amp, water, sewer, good cable & wi-fi included. Located over the hill and about a mile from I-81 at exit 80. (Several gas stations located at this exit, including a Flying J).) We have used this park as an overnight when traveling north or south on I-81 and occasionally stay here for a couple of days as we find it relaxing. Although close to the highway, it's very quiet. Nice scenery, close to Wytheville and surrounding mountains. Fills up fast; would recommend making a reservation in advance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$31
This is a great campground with easy access to I-80 and I-77. Sites are wide and long with the majority being pull-throughs. Satellite was accessible on sites in northern area and on the western side of southern area rows. Staff was very friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
We have stayed several times at this RV park. It is very easy to get to from the interstate and it is always clean. The workers are very nice and helpful. The sites are long and wide. We love this park. Even though it is close to the interstate, you do not hear much of the traffic noise. Will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$32
A nice stop-over near I-81 and I-77, but far enough away to be very quiet. Clean and well-maintained. We arrived at a busy time, so the office person appeared flustered. But all went well. Would stop here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
Wonderful, wonderful place to stop on an overnighter when trekking north or south on I-81. All the services work great, nice level gravel big lots with lots of room for slides and tow vehicles. We use this resort all the time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$33
Easy access from I-81 exit 80 and I-77. Very nice park. Sites are level, assigned site 12, no leveling required for a Class C. Adjacent sites appeared to require minimum leveling. This cg is well maintained. Nice scenery around. Only stayed one night but plan to return to explore the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$31
If I were going to build, or buy, an RV park it would be high on my list to mimic this one to a large degree. Sites were well planned, some just a little out of level but within reason. Large pull throughs (although the south end had shorter ones that they placed the shorter rigs into). Water pressure was good, sewer hooks were great, electric was good and voltage good, pool was there well maintained and heated (although the heater broke while we were there and it cooled a bit). Bath and showers were cleaned daily, laundry was nice and tidy (although hours could be extended a bit - early close and late opening them). The folks owning and operating this campground were great friendly people - went out of their way to help and make you feel comfortable. Would, will, stay there again in a heartbeat - we spent a week with them beginning August 10 and then again returning home on the 22. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$32
A very nice park, clean and quiet. Sites are average size, and since the park was not busy, the staff spaced the campers to add more privacy. Everything was clean and well kept. Wi-Fi was good. Site had shade, much appreciated as it was very hot when we were there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$27
Exit 80, Interstate 81. Easy access from interstate. Long, fairly level pull through. Narrow strip of grass between sites. Good for an overnight stay but too crowded for longer term. Site width is approximately 25 feet which leaves about 8 feet between you and your neighbors. Free Wi-Fi and cable TV. The park is very neat and clean, well maintained. On Friday and Saturday nights this park fills up with overnights. On the other side of the interstate is a good restaurant, Judy‘s, serving southern style food. Across the street from the RV park is a decent Laundromat with double and maxi load size washing machines. A short distance past the RV park entrance is a small grocery store, Food City. Park is located 20 miles from Wythe Raceway (dirt track). Rate reflects weekly rate. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$33
Beautiful, well laid out park in a valley. Surrounded by large hills and cow pastures, quick to the highway, this is a great place to stop for a few nights. There was a good mix of ages and RV types. Large, secluded dog walk area with stream. Active pool. Nice laundry room. Wi-Fi worked well (slowed down a little in the evenings when everyone else was on.) Large, level spaces. Most gravel, some concrete. 50 amp spaces have shade trees. More trees sprinkled throughout the other spaces. Would definitely stay here again. Plenty of pull-throughs, but it does fill up on Saturday, so keep that in mind when making reservations. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$31
Sites a little tight. Good access to Interstate. RV wash in the truck stop. Will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
Third stay here. Great overnight spot. Easy access to I-81 and Flying J right at exit. Pull-thrus are long enough, but interior roads are a bit narrow, so that if there is a car parked in a site you may have to back out (as we did) or ask someone to move. Well stocked store, nice people. Facilities well maintained. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$32
We made an overnight stop here. Great campground. Very well kept. We had a large pull through site with full hook-ups. Owner is very courteous. Grounds are nicely maintained. Did not have any issues leveling. Would stay here for an extended time if there were activities in the area for us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$29
We spent one night here on a Saturday night while returning from a weeklong trip to Pennsylvania. This campground is located 6/10 of a mile off I-81, but is very quiet. As soon as you turn off the interstate, you crest a ridge and the campground is tucked neatly in the little valley below the ridge so you don't hear a peep out of the interstate. The view of the mountains in the distance is quite pleasant. The sites are plenty spacious, more so than a KOA, and the utilities are laid out perfectly for big rigs with multiple slides. The bath house was absolutely immaculate. It was without a question the most sparkling clean bath house I've ever seen. It was air conditioned and the floors are even waxed and buffed to a shine. All the utilities worked well. Cable TV and Wi-Fi are included. The cable has around 97 channels and works well. The Wi-Fi signal was strong throughout the campground, but was pretty slow. I ended up using my Verizon Mi-Fi hotspot. The folks running the campground appear to be octogenarians and are super nice. It's a shame this campground isn't closer to home, I'd be a regular if it were. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to others. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$29
We stayed here for a single night while traveling. Campground is aged and well maintained. Pull through sites worked very well. Wi-Fi was strong. Access off the interstate 81 was easy and well marked. Will definitely stay here again when traveling through area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$28
This is a very clean, well laid out campground with convenient access to I-81. We only stayed one night so the closeness of the sites really made no difference to us. Roads are paved with gravel RV parking sites. Would certainly stay here in the future if our route warrants it. Pull through sites were very easy to maneuver in and out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$32
Very nice people. Sites are easy to get to. Showers and bathrooms are spotless. I would suggest more garbage cans located throughout the park. There was one by the picnic area that was removed while we were there. The sweet gum trees are a nice touch and will provide shade in the future but will also be very messy and scatter thorny seed pods on the ground. I would stay here again on my way to somewhere. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$31
We used this RV park as a one night hold over location on our way to and from North Carolina. Very easy access from the interstate yet far enough to avoid any traffic noise. The lady at the office was extremely friendly and helpful. Sites were very level and good gravel pads, w/ a picnic table. We had no problem in a pull through site with a 40 ft 5th wheel. They have a very nice secluded dog walk area separate from the campers. Pool was empty due to the time of year we stayed. The bath house was very clean and well kept, we'd definitely stay here again, the rate we paid was Good Sam or AARP, they accept both. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$32
Very comfortable RV park. Very nice pool for the kids. Great area for the dogs to hang out too. Has a mountain stream right through their walking area. Nice roomy sites are to the right side of the park. All of these have 50 amp. The sites on the left side are a bit cramped and 30 amp. All things considered it is one of our favorite parks. We camp here often and tow a covered trailer behind a 37 ft class A. Haul the Harley's to ride in the mountains. We recommend it highly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$31
Stopped on our way north. All amenities worked 101%. Great campground for stop over or visiting area. We will be back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$29
Great park for an overnight stay. This was my third stay at this park in two years. Convenient location. Would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$28
We have only used this park for overnight stays heading to Arizona. We stay here every year. It suits us just fine for our purposes. I would recommend this park to anyone for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$35
It's December so no one is here. Needless to say, we had all the space we needed. On the other hand, when we arrived, the park was very icy which equates to slippery surfaces and falling on your behind a lot. LOL Overall, I'm giving it a 9. Not because it's icy but rather that there aren't a lot of things for kids to do here. They have a playground but it's located at the front of the park which is closer to the main road. Also, we parked our car in the next site and if I'd imagined there was another RV parked there, it would have been pretty close to ours. Also, if it had been warmer, they don't have a lot of trees (for shade) but I guess this is what you'd expect from an RV park located right off the highway (which I can't complain because it's easy to get to). We would stay here again for an overnighter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$32
Best Park on I-81. It is easy to get in and out. Great water, electric, sewer, cable, &wi-fi. Most sites are so level I don't even use my leveling jacks. I will be back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$32
This campground is OK for an overnight stay. The sites are close together and the park lacks refinement. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$32
Very good overnight stop. Good pull through spots for Motorhome and toad. Pleasant atmosphere. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$32
Perfectly acceptable overnight stop. We arrived 10 minutes before closing and left 10 minutes before the office opened, and everything got handled OK. Very easy for over nighting. Some traffic noise, but just fine. Not a destination stop, but the Flying J is right there and travel can easily continue. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$35
Great park, easy access, level sites. If you like to go out to eat you are in trouble in this area. Restaurants are basically all fast food. Cracker Barrel is ok, but after awhile one does need a change of pace. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$31
When we first drove in the sites looked like they would be unlevel because of the slope, but we pulled onto the site, and we were perfectly level. Park and sites were easy to get in and out of plus the power was good. Good satellite and cell phone reception. We agree with others this is a perfect overnight stop. The condition of the roads were good, and if it wasn't for the speed bumps we would have rated the park a 10. The park appeared to fill by 6 pm and would imagine during the busy time of year reservations might be required. We had made reservations online the day before and that required full payment. When we arrived the lady in the office had no knowledge of the reservation, but did not even want to see the paid receipt I'd printed off the internet. Apparently they don't get the information for a couple of days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$28
This is an excellent overnight or longterm park. We always stop here in the fall. Nice pull-throughs. I would recommend this park to anyone. Will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$31
This is an absolutely perfect overnight park! It's not a "destination" park with lots of activities; you wouldn't want to hang around the park for weeks on end. But it would also be a great base for vacationing in the surrounding area, if you want a spacious, well-kept place to return to each evening. Sites are super-long, level, not crowded. The bathroom is one of the cleanest and most attractively decorated I've been in. Friendly staff. It is close to the freeway (very easy in and out) so there is some noise; but a hill in between mutes a lot of it. We were able to sleep with the windows open. We would definitely return! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$33
The campground is very convenient to both 81 and 77 and is right down the street from a Flying J. It's a great overnight stop. The sites are gravel with some grass between sites. Many sites are on a slope. Most sites are pull through's with fairly easy access entering and exiting. Satellite worked well. Our 50 amp hookup worked well and all connections were properly placed on the lot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$30
Great overnight stop. Large sites. Clean restroom. Very friendly staff. Easy in and out; but watch for the speed bumps on entry road. We will stop back here next month and stay for 3 or 4 nights and explore the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$32
This is the perfect overnight campground to stay at. The bathrooms are really clean and have a nice fragrance to them. Plus, there is music piped in there as well. Has lots of grassy areas to walk your pets. This was the second time we stayed here and it won't be the last. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$32
This is one of the nicest RV parks we've stayed in. The staff is very friendly. The grounds are very clean and well-kept. The bathrooms and showers are excellent; they even have cloth bathmats by the shower stalls! The views are excellent all around. It's close to the freeway but just over the hill so you don't have much noise at all. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$31
Very nice sites. Easy in and out. Owners were very friendly. Would stay here again. Great place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$32
Nice park, easy on/off the free way. Long and wide pull through, hookups worked fine. Truck stop down the road. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$32
We really like this campground. Very peaceful and relaxing. It has all the services including 50 Amp. Wi-Fi and cable. The grounds and sites are very clean and well kept and the managers are nice people. The pull-through sites are long and wide with plenty of room to sit outside at the tables. It is easy to get here from 1-81 and is less than a mile to the entrance. The scenery is the Appalachian Mountains and surrounding hills. We have stayed here many times, sometimes just overnight and sometimes for 2 or 3 days. When traveling on 1-81 we will always try to make this one of our stops. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$31
Stayed here for one night only as a stop over. It's close to the main highway of 81 and very accessible. Staff was friendly and the sites were fairly level. Only thing I wish they had: fire rings, to make it complete. But overall, a great/quiet campground. Would stop in again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
Nice campground. Easy access from I-81. Sites are fairly level, long enough for a "Big Rig". They do fill up, so if possible, make a reservation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
This was a clean, well kept campground. Several cows close by but no smell. Pool was clean. Not very many trees so that made it seem wide open. Was easy to maneuver in. Bathroom and showers were clean. Would recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$29
Agree with most reviewers, great campground! Even tho' they were extremely busy on the day we pulled in they still took the time to show each and every rig to its site. Easy in / easy out access. Plenty of room between sites. Good location and very quiet. We only stayed overnight but would definitely return in the future! They are affiliated with Good Sam Club. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$31
GREAT overnight campground, easy access, level sites, good WI-FI, will stay here again when passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$31
Beautiful campground, everything kept up nicely and clean. No nickel and diming for extra persons or pets. Pool very clean and kept open for us as we arrived late, just ask at the office they will be happy to help. Well situated off highway without any noise, between a grocery store 1/4 mile away and gas stations close by. We stayed later than usual just to enjoy on an overnight stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$32
This is a very nice place to stay overnight. The people were friendly when we called to see if they had a site for us, and very nice when we checked in. It is sandwiched between 2 beautiful fields with rolling hills and lots of cows everywhere. The sites are mostly pull throughs, there is some shade and more room between the sites than most private campgrounds. The restrooms are very nice and super clean with good water pressure, etc. It is very quiet in the campground, very peaceful and the scenery is beautiful. I would have rated it higher except for the fact that while we travel with our 4 sons, I only noticed 1 other group with children. The owners didn't have any restrictions against children but one of the office staff ran our boys out of the pool, closing it while they were still swimming and rudely questioning them about them being in the pool. Luckily it was dinnertime and we were ready to go get them out of the pool, but it was an unpleasant experience. My sons were treated badly when there was no reason for it, they weren't bothering anyone or being unruly or disruptive. I would have to think twice about staying somewhere that my sons are treated badly. The WiFi is completely useless, we never got it working at all on any laptop we owned, and we were only 3 campsites from the office. It should not be advertised if it is never working. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$32
We stayed here 5 years ago and remember this park as being a great place to stop over for the night. It is as nice as we remember. Easy access from I-81, friendly staff, long pull-throughs, good cell phone signal, good Wi-Fi, and some of the cleanest rest rooms and showers we've come across in 20 years of RVing. We will DEFINITELY stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$32
Camped in a 45 foot motorhome on site 47. Easy access from Exit 80 off I-77/81, but far enough not hear interstate traffic. Some interior roads paved. Most interior roads are gravel as well as sites are gravel and grass. Many long pull-through sites were available in the section we were in. Good Verizon digital signal and easy access to satellite TV. Few trees on some sites, so campers looking for alot of shade won't find much. 11Mbps WiFi was available and reliable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$32
Price includes Good Sam Discount. Great place for overnight. No interstate noise at all, yet it is close to the interstate. All lots are pull-throughs. Ours was level but could not vouch for the rest. It appears to be a well maintained RV park and not a low rent district. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$26
Very nice RV park. Check in was quick and easy, many sites were pull through. Overall campground was very clean and appeared well maintained and big rig friendly. Our site was adequate size for an overnight stay, some were larger. The price was very reasonable, we have paid more for much less in other areas. We would definitely stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$26
We stayed at this CG for a week and paid $186. While I did not use the showers and restrooms I did check them out. They were very clean with lots of light. Nice pool area and level sites. They have Wi-Fi but I used my own Internet service as the signal was stronger. We enjoyed seeing this part of VA and found it to be beautiful. Very good cable service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$32
Very nice park. Agree with previous review about "upper level" sites. They are somewhat close, but since we have a roof mounted satellite, we needed the upper level. The first site we were given was slightly unlevel, but owner let us change without any problem. We will stay here again, if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$32
No highway noises and this park has long, wide sites for big rigs. Friendly, helpful staff. Would camp here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$33
Sites are level and all are pull-throughs. Cable and Wi-Fi worked great. A small mix-up on reservations. The older couple that host the office are not too good at site changing requests. Even when the site that we requested to move to was empty. The owner was extremely friendly. Very nice CG. The pool stays at 82 degrees, all facilities were clean. The cleanest bathrooms around. When making reservations, make sure you ask for the lower section, otherwise they will put you up in the section where your awning will hit your neighbor's slideout. No kidding. It is extremely tight in the upper section. Otherwise, I would have rated a little higher. Also note, no campfires on the ground. We will visit again, only if they guarantee a certain site number range. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
The sites are level, and this is a good overnight stop. The cable is limited, and the WI-FI does not work well at all. This is the second time we've stopped here and the WI-FI hasn't worked. If you sit at the picnic table next to the tower it will work...intermittently. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$32
As mentioned by the others, this is a first-rate facility. The sites were spacious and level, the hosts gracious, the restrooms spotless, and the setting pastoral and serene. This is a great one night stopover or a wonderful home base to explore the surrounding area. We hope to return for a longer stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2010
$32
This is an older park. It is normal for this type of park to be hit or miss, for the site you get to fit a 43 ft, full wall slide and be level enough. It did this time, but the site I got 3 years ago would not. It is real close to I-81 and a Flying J, so it is handy and not a bad stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$32
Great spot to spend the night or extend your stay to enjoy the area. Very clean campground, sites are level and most are pull throughs. Has good cable TV and WiFi signal at sites. The staff is very friendly and helpful. LP is available at campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$26
Great park! It was easy on and off I-81. Sites are clean, well lit and wide. Staff is friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$32
This park makes a perfect overnight stop for those traveling I-77. It is easy off and on with a Flying J right at the end of the ramp. The park is buffered by large ridge, so the main noise is from the cows in the adjacent meadows!! The only negative: we found the free Wi-Fi to be virtually non-usable. We stayed here on 4/14 and again on 4/28. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$29
Stayed 2 nights, going south and coming back north on I-81. Easy access from highway. We left our 65ft rig hooked up with more then enough room to spare. Park is in a beautiful setting with mountains and farm all around it with cows visible from site (no smell though lol). Cable was good, hookups were great. Mostly over nighters, some seasonal sites. Would make a good stop for more then a night also. Restrooms and showers were spotless. Free wifi also worked well, and the owner...nicest person Ive ever encountered running a campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$27
Easy in and out, this park is close to I-81 but an intervening hill blocks the sound. Very nice setting, it is used mostly by through travellers. We stayed a week and rode around on our motorcycle. Very nice area. Will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$31
Great campground, easy in and out with any size rig. Great hookups and free Wi-Fi too. We stop here whenever we travel up or down I-81. The owners are always maintaining and improving their Park. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2010
$29
We have stayed here before and it was just as good this time. The cable and Wi-Fi were good. The sites are large enough for any rig. The staff is always pleasant. It is a half mile from the interstate and Flying J. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$28
You can't beat this place for a overnight or a few down days. Clean and quite with plenty of room on sites. Good cable or open enough for Satellite. Close to I-81 / I-77. Another plus is storage for your rig at 4.00 per with elect. Would certainly stop here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$29
We paid the Good Sam discount rate. This is a clean and well-kept but not outstanding park mostly used by overnighters from Interstates 77 and 81. We have used it several times over the years, and gladly return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$29
This is a great overnight park. Close to the freeway, but no traffic noise. Very large, level pull through sites. Tables, trees, and grass. Everybody with tow vehicles have not bothered to unhook for a quick start in the morning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$27
Perfectly suited for it's purpose as an overnight stop off I-81, this friendly campground offers level pull-thru sites with full hook ups and Wi-Fi. The climate-controlled bathrooms were clean and offered large showers with a comfortable dressing area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$29
A very nice park, close to the freeway but far enough so there is no traffic noise. Level gravel pads and grassy space with picnic table and shade tree. Bathrooms, showers, and laundry are clean and bright. Large showers are a real plus. We have stayed there before and will in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$25
This park was easy on and off of I-81 / I-77 at exit 80. Because of this most of the people there used it for an overnight stay. We used it for a weekend get away to the Wythville area. It was very easy to get to the Wythville area because of the easy access to the interstate. The park had nice level, pull through sites that were OK size. They had an in ground heated pool (wasn't open because it was October) and a Catfish pond that was pay by the pound at $2.99/ pound. Staff was nice and friendly and the manager lived on site. Park was clean and family oriented, but definitely not a destination campground. Best suited for use for an overnight stay or as a home base to see the surrounding area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2009
$40
We only spent one night here and that was enough for us. The park is in a quiet setting but not far from the interstate, which was nice. The piece of property is large, lightly wooded with lots of open space. Roads and sites are gravel neither are well groomed or level, depends on the site. There are many, many full time residents here, lots of trailers and fifth wheels that look like they haven't moved in years. Lots of "stuff" around them. For a site here, with no sewer hookup for $40, I'd rather stay at a Wal-Mart. We will not return here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$29
We stayed here overnight during the week. When we first arrived, there was hardly anyone here but by nightfall, the place was full. It is close to the freeway with easy access, but far enough so that there is no traffic noise. The park is well maintained, sites are spacious and level and there is free cable and Wi-Fi. We would stay here again but not for more than a day or two. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$29
This is the second time we've stayed at this park. It is great for large rigs (we tow a dolly) and is easy on and off I-81. The sites are large, level, and well spaced. They are easy to get in and out of and great for a one night stay. The management is very friendly and the store is well supplied. The only drawback that we found was that the bathrooms and laundry room are dated. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$29
It is a great campground for an overnight stay. There is limited shade from Sweetgum trees! The sites were level, gravel and well spaced. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$29
Only stayed one night but it was a nice place. There's lots of grassy areas for walking the dogs. It has a very clean and large bath house. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
We were in site 64. Full hookups with 50 amp, table, gravel/grass. Lots of overnighters. Sites in the trees have more width and grass. Well maintained park and personnel are friendly and hopeful. Very quiet. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
Close to the interstate, but far enough away to be quiet. Paved entrance and gravel roads and site, which was mostly level. Site was of average width. Extensive cable TV selections; many sites good for satellite. Wi-Fi worked well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$29
We use this campground on our way to PA and back to GA. Very nice and easy in and out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$29
This is a very well maintained park and the location is very good for an overnight stop. We were in a pull thru site. The staff was friendly and there is a store that has quite a few items in stock. I would definitely stay here again as the access to the Interstate was great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$29
Our last night on the road following a 3633 mile trip. Great place to conclude a trip up I-81. Much better deal than the KOA one exit down. We found this campground in Woodall's. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
Stayed one night passing through for the third time. Will definitely return, and would stay longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$34
We have stayed here several times. Good clean campground. Lots of Interstate traffic is the only downside, someone always moving in or out. Will stay again this year also We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$29
We stopped here as an overnight stay on the way home to Ohio. It has very easy access in and out and is very clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The free Wi-Fi didn't work very well and we were fairly close to the office. We would definitely stay here again for an overnight stop but not any longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$26
I found this to be an excellent campground to spend the night or to stay at if visiting someone nearby. There were few shade trees and it was more like a campers' parking lot. I saw few people outside their rigs at fires or picnic tables. I didn't see any children. WiFi worked great, better than in most campgrounds. It was quiet, clean and we would spend the night there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
We agree with previous posts - this is a quality park with a reasonable cost considering facilities. The free WiFi actually worked very well, an unusual event since most parks advertise WiFi but seldom deliver. Although a great park, we were in site 8, which is next to a large security light. Along with the bright light, it buzzed loudly all night long, and was a significant irritant. Ask to stay in a site other than 7 or 8. The convenient location of this park (right off the interstate but quiet, with a Flying J next door makes it a location that we'll stay in again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
We really enjoyed this park on our trip from Florida to Pennsylvania. Very easy to find from Interstate 81, staff great, and great sites available for big rigs. It was located next to a large farm with picture-card scenery of green and rolling hills. On our way trip from Pennsylvania and continuing onto the Smoky Mountains, we made a reservation for another night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
Quiet, and separated from the Interstate by a hill. There are pull through sites and excellent wi-fi. The only negative was that it was extremely difficult to level. The nearby Flying J also has a Blue Beacon truck wash that did a great job on our RV for $35. Many campers were using the campground for just an overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
Very nice people in the office. Park is a little older, but the bathrooms were spotless. The park had a very charming atmosphere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
Stopped here on my way down I-81 on the basis of previous reviews. Found it to be as others here have stated: clean, quiet, and easy access. I used the on-line reservation system and did not get any kind of confirmation, but had no problem when I arrived. The night I was there, it was a very popular stop for big rigs with towed vehicles. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$29
This is an easy off I-81 North, less than 1/2 mile from the exit, easy back on and there's even a gas station right on your way back to the interstate on the right side and big rig accessible. Things only get better from there. Almost all the sites appeared to be pull through, clean sites, no fire rings, some trees for shade, sites were fairly large, although not too private. Full hookups, wifi, cable, clean, heated pool, well stocked camp store including RV supplies. Definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$28
Great overnight park. Cleanest bathroom and showers I have seen. Green grassy patch and young (5 yrs?) by each site, with very friendly staff and level sites. Quiet and convenient to I-81. Would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$29
Very convenient off I-81, clean and well kept. Only problem is most sites are a little short for a truck with 36' fifth wheel. They fit, but the nose of the truck is starting up to the drive which is bit higher, so the rig isn't front to rear level if you stay hitched. Close enough to be tolerable for one night but not several. Had the same problem on a different site a year ago. TV and Wi-Fi are fine. About 1/2 mile from Flying J - but DON'T go to the "RV/car" area for diesel. It's tight, slow and only one diesel pump. Go to the North side of the truck area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$30
Very quiet park in the middle of Virginia cattle-country. We had a nice, level site with good cable TV. Early in the season so the campground was only about 60% filled. We had a very pleasant walk around their pond/lake that you can fish for catfish (pay for your catch by the pound). There was only one staff member at the office who had to take care of our registration while handling multiple calls. He was able to help us quite well and even took the time to fill our propane tank for us. We will definitely stay here again when visiting the area just off I-81. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$29
We have stayed at this campground on at least 4 different stops and have never been disappointed. The place is immaculate! There is a clean laundry room, pool, restrooms, great WIFI and good pull through sites. The staff is friendly and the store is well stocked. It's perfect for an overnight stay. There are two good dog walk areas and pretty views abound. Also, we love the easy access to the highway and Flying J! This is a good halfway point from Ohio to North or South Carolina! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$29
Rate shown includes taxes and Good Sam discount. Great overnight stop, and proximity to Flying J is a big plus. Not all sites are level so be sure to ask. There are many pull-throughs which is convenient when you don't want to unhook the car just for overnight. Would definitely stay here again on the way through this area. Excellent free WiFi, and a good assortment of cable channels. Rate is fair for the level of service provided. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2009
$29
This park is very well maintained and clean. The restrooms and showers are also very well maintained and clean. There is a Flying J station right by the park on I-40 to fill up your rig after you leave. The pull-through sites are mostly level and the hookups are very close and easily accessible. The most noise I heard was from the cows mooing on the next property over. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2008
$27
Nice and close to interchange and Flying J. Decent roads in CG. Small restaurant within walking distance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2008
$30
Good park for an overnight stay. Pull-thru sites make for easy in and out. No reason to stay any longer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2008
$27
This is a great park for an overnight stop. Close to both I-81 and I-77. Separated from the interstates by a nice-sized hill, traffic noise is minimal. Flat, long pull-through sites allow you to keep your toad attached when you set-up. Sites are gravel. There are a few trees but not enough to provide real shade although I was unable to use my satellite. No matter, as there were plenty of cable channels. Property borders on pasture land with plenty of cattle. There is a little pond for fishing and plenty of room to walk. There is friendly personnel in the office. Many restaurants and gas stations are within a few miles drive. Overall, this was a pleasant experience. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$30
We were given a nice end-spot, pull through site for our 3 night stay. Park has some grass, but has a lot of gravel and is a bit dusty. Staff was pleasant. While it has easy access to I-81 from the Ft. Chiswell exit (Wytheville is the mailing address, but the park is about a dozen miles north), the park is quiet. A Flying J truck stop is not far (but no noise from them, either). We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$29
This is one of the cleanest RV parks I have ever stayed in! Even though this park was just off of I-81 you could not hear the noise from the road as a hill, with cattle grazing, provides a sound barrier. The rest rooms are immaculate! Great place to stop off of I-81. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$21
There is easy entrance from highway and access to sites with adequate space. The staff is helpful. We camped here for seven weeks and spent our days traveling to jam sessions and food festivals in the area. This was a good central location for seeing attractions along the Crooked Road and the Blue Ridge Parkway. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$30
We use this campground for overnight visits. It is very convenient to the interstates and the sites are generally easy to get into and out of with our 43' motorhome. Some sites are shaded by trees and others are open - we choose open for satellite reception. Staff is friendly and the campground is maintained well. Even thought there is a FlyingJ truck stop close bye, there is very little road noise in the campground. We will continue to use this campground for overnight and short term stays. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$28
This is a great little campground. Nice people at the office, clean, well kept, grassy sites and best of all it's quiet. No trains, no truck traffic, no airport. We stay here everytime we pass through the Wytheville area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$27
Clean, friendly park. Owners and staff were very accommodating. We would certainly return, when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$26
Love this little campground. We will definitely come back here. Perfect location. Owners were really nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$28
This is our fifth year camping here. This is a very nice park, clean, nice workers, and a convenient location. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$25
This is a peaceful, countryside RV park. Very clean, sites are a little narrow and short for big rigs but worth the stay. A nice dog walk, very easy access, just over the hill from a Flying J. We schedule this park as a stop anytime we are on I81. If you want a quiet, restful spot to get off the road this is the place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$30
This was a very nice park with wide streets so it was easy to pull in, check in, and get to our site. We had a pull-thru that was reasonably level. We would stay here again anytime we were in the area. Very friendly person checked us in. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$28
One of the nicest, stay-the-night campgrounds we have stayed in. The people are friendly; sights are always clean, and there is great highway access. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2008
$30
Not a bad overnight campground. However, we were put on a row facing the main road into the park. Every RV that came in would stop right in front of us on the road and go check in (even at 11:00pm). Then, they all would unhook right there (not more than five feet from our tow vehicle) – even though they had plenty of room at their site. We even had one that took their dog out and let it use the bathroom right near our rig – don’t understand why they could not wait five minutes and use their own site. If you stay here – do NOT stay by the main road into the park. Other then that it was OK for an overnight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2008
$27
Very good overnight stop but not my type of park for any lengthy stay, not much room between rigs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2007
$28
We stayed in here twice. Both were just over night. This is one of the best run RV parks that I have ever stayed in. Sites are level and there is plenty of room. The bathrooms are clean. I would highly recommend this park for any length of stay. I will be back here this summer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$24
Gravel roads/sites with grass between sites with small concrete pad that picnic table sits on. Majority of sites are pull-thru and fairly level. Campground is mostly open with medium sized trees in between most sites. Big rig friendly. We stayed on site 27 and would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$27
Easy access from I-77/I-81. We also agree with other reviewers. Great for an overnight stop. There is a lot of movement in and out but it is set up for that. Well maintained grassy sites. Convenient access to utilities We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$28
Pros: Easy access. Friendly staff. Cable (which included HBO) and WiFi worked great. Cons: Close sites, not enough room to enjoy the outdoors. Overall we enjoyed our stay. The campground is great for the price. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$28
Great campground, but very busy. Located at intersection of 2 Interstates. Constant movement in and out. Would camp there again, in fact have reservations for next year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2007
$21
Quick check-in with very efficient staff. Good size pull through, but needed a lot of leveling as it was on a slope. Cable TV connection not good - picture very 'snowy'. Moved site after first night due to loud 'buzzing' noise near our bedroom window from the light outside. Owner helpful and said to choose whichever site we wanted. Good stopover location near to freeway and easy on and off. WiFi patchy, but OK. Roaming signal; no Verizon service. Would use this campground again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$24
Very nice campground. Easy access from I77/I81. We agree with other reviewers. Great overnight stop. Well maintained grassy sites. Convenient access to utilities. Very good WiFi connection. Excellent cable TV reception. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$28
Nice campground. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$23
This was a very nice campground. Very easy to get to off I-81. Owners were very friendly as well as all the other campers . The bathrooms and showers were very clean as well as the rest of the campground. This is great for an overnighter or longer stay. I will definitely stop here again if traveling through this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$21
The good include, great location near the interstate, fast wifi, cleanest bathrooms I ever saw, (in a campground). I asked the owner for a more private spot and got a pull thru all the way in the rear that was to die for. Very private and felt like I had 1000 open, scenic acres to myself. The bad, gravel sites in rear of property were not level and there were quite a few flies due to the surrounding cow fields. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$27
We live fairly close to this campground, and camped here to break in our new motorhome. This is a great stopover campground, as it is just off the interstate. You do not hear the interstate traffic though. The restrooms are immaculate. The sites are level, and the pool is well kept. There is a small fish pond, but we didn't use it. Dog walks are available as well. There isn't a lot going on around the campground, so it wouldn't be a great place for a long stay. However, if you are on I-81, and need a clean, quiet, easy access stop over, this campground is perfect for just that. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$27
A good park for overnight. This park is easy to access from I-81/77, but there is a large hill between the park and the freeway which blocks much of the freeway noise, making this a fairly peaceful location. Adjacent to a farm, the park has a small catfish pond ($), a pool (closes early -- we missed it the night we were there), a bathhouse with laundry and grills. The spaces are mostly pull-through, fairly close together but wide enough for slideouts with no problem. Interior roads are gravel, except for the entrance road. Leveling was easy. We'll stay there again for an overnight if we're in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$27
Nice park for an overnight. We were placed in site 68 which is at the very rear of the park. These sites have an upward slope that makes leveling the rig difficult. I decided not to run the refrigerator and did not pull out my leveling blocks as we were only over night here. The pool appeared clean but was not used as the temperature the night we were there dropped into the low 60's. It was very quiet even though we were minutes from I-77 and I-81. Very easy in and out. I would stay here again as an overnight stop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$28
Very nice park...super clean facilites and very quite. While we only stayed one night, we have stayed many times in the past and will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$28
Very nice, well maintained park. Mostly pull-thru sites, good wi-fi (free), shade trees, quiet, very easy access from major interstates, nice swimming pool and fishing pond, helpful staff. Negatives - some sites have concrete picnic tables which could not be moved under your awning, laundromat dated and has limited hours. There is a very nice, clean laundromat across highway from park that is open til 8pm each day as well as nice full service (deli/bakery) grocery store about 1 mile from park in Fort Chiswell. Best park within 75 mile radius of Blacksburg/VA Tech/Roanoke. Would definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$27
This park was wonderful for our overnight stay! When we first drove in, we thought it looked a little sterile because of the lack of mature trees. However, the management was extremely friendly and helpful! The camp store had plenty of groceries and RV supplies. The restrooms were immaculate and there were three dog run areas that were beautiful and well maintained. With two dogs, this was our favorite amenity!. The one we used had a small creek running through it and the grass was well mowed as it was throughout the campground! This was also a very quiet campground with pretty views. They had cement picnic tables and benches at the sites and we had no problems getting level. Despite a night of rain, our site was not messy, nor flooded. We did not use the pool, but it looked clean and nice! We would for sure stay here again as we were very impressed. For some reason, this campground is not listed in the AAA camp book. Lucky for us, we discovered it via this site! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$27
Great location, just off I-81, exit 80; great mountain views; and friendly staff. Sites are mostly level, except for the very front of the sites. While the gravel pull-through sites are long enough for a big rig and tow, we had to disconnect to stay level; not really an issue, and we will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2007
$28
The sites were fairly level and long enough, but narrow. The restrooms are very clean. The campground itself is not anything special. It is easy to get to from the interstate and is clean, so it is fine for a stopover. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$28
We only stayed here overnight, and it was just fine. The sites were gravel, reasonably level and plenty long. There was a picnic table at each site. The staff was nice; the showers were clean; good cable TV and Wifi. Their brochure listed several other amenities that we did not see because of our short stay. We would stop here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2007
$25
Okay for a "stop-over" park, but I wouldn't want to stay here. The sites are open and somewhat crowded, and there is really not much to do. They do have two "fishing ponds". You could fish in them if they weren't entirely covered in weeds. They are horrible. There are fish in them though. We tried to fish and I caught one small bass (very, very small). There were some huge catfish swimming at one end of one pond, but they wouldn't bite anything. Overall, the park has all the required amenities, and everything worked, but I wasn't impressed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$27
We stayed here on our stopover from Michigan to Myrtle Beach. All the sites are pull-thru. Very nice people run the campground. There is a big hill / pasture that blocks the noise from the interstate. The pastures around the campground are very nice with the cows mooing (no smell from the farms). Nice dog run areas around the campground. Pappy's Pizza across the street has the best pizza we've had in years. There is a Flying J at this exit also which is very helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2007
$27
Excellent campground for the overnight traveler. Staff is friendly and helpful. Access to the park and to the sites is easy. Departure is also easy. The bathrooms are always spotless. And the free WiFi is appreciated. The electric was good-we used 50 amp. The cable was a little fuzzy but not bad. I was at the farthest site from the office and still had a good signal. We actually went a little out of our way to stay here overnight on our return north. Just what you need after a long day's travel. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2007
$29
We just spent one night here passing through. We found the park to be very clean and the gentleman at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. Due to the cold weather, we did not hook up the water and used the bath house and showers. The facilities were spotless. We will definitely be back We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2007
$32
The front part of this CG looks to be designed for overnighters. All the sites in this area are pull-throughs. They are somewhat narrow. My 50 amp service did not work properly. My surge guard would not allow a connection. I also had a problem connecting to the Wi-Fi and the help at the desk said I would need to talk to the owner, the next day! Also, be careful if you gas up at the Pilot, I think it was a Pilot, just down the road. When we left the pumps, we dragged our rear on the egress. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$32
Nice park, the staff were very friendly, came to my site to see everything was good. Only an overnight but good experience. NO WiFi. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$27
This is a very nice campground and i stayed here 2 times and will stay again when I am in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$24
I stay at this park all of the time on the run from Florida to Ohio. Great staff and clean facilities. Near a Flying J for Diesel and propane also. Easy on and off access to the interstate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2006
$27
Easy access for a one night stay at this CG. Site was ok, fairly level and clean. Would stop here again passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2005
$35
This was the third time we've stayed at the Fort Chiswell RV Park. Clean, roomy, easy access. Employees are super nice. Sites are very roomy. We usually go out of our way to stay here when going to Va Tech games or on our way to/from Fla. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$27
Clean, orderly campground with wide gravel sites and very good ingress and egress. Big rig friendly. Very nice people running the park, and gorgeous mountain views. Good for an overnight or for a longer stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2005
$23
The sites 1 through 20 are very nice, level, shaded, large and easy into and out of. The sites on the hill, are small, crowded (no room to open your awning) and out in the open. It's like night and day between the two areas. Ok for overnight (espically in the first 20 sites). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$28
This is a nice little park. Clean, tidy and they have very nice staff there who are willing to work with you on problems. We found this park to be a nice little weekend get away and is simple to get to off I-81. Big Rigs will appreciate this place as its very easy to maneuver around as the park is laid out nicely. There are some shrubs, trees and the park looks out over a horse farm. The views are quite nice from there. We enjoyed this place. It isnt one of those parks where its loaded with kids activities but rather one of those parks where you can sneek away for a nice quiet weekend. We are heading back in November. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$32
Great location off I-81/I-77. Same exit as Flying J. Registration was easy. If you came after office hours, just find a site for the night & catch the office staff first thing the next morning. There was a small store in registration office. Only thing that I wish would have been different, was the pool hours. Closed at 7 pm. Great dog walks/very pet friendly. Grounds clean & well maintained. Fishing pond and looks like they were building small cabins. Good location for mountain sightseeing. Lots to do in local area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2005
$30
Very nice place to stay if you're just driving through. Easy access to I-81 and nice big open sites. Friendly employees and good store on site. We stayed 3 nights with a 16 month old, so we ended up going elsewhere for entertaining our child. Not a very good place for kids. They have a "playground", but all the equipment is rusty and not very safe. Still a nice place. A bit "parking lot-ish" but nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2005
$27
This was an easy park to get into and out of. It was a good stopping point for our trip to N.C. from Ohio. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$27
Very nice campground and the people were Great. Sites are nice size. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2005
$27
This is a great campground to use for an overnight stop. The staff is very friendly, and the campground is well-maintained. The bathhouse is the cleanest and roomiest we've ever used. Will definitely return if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2004
$25
Easy access from I81 and I77. Nearby Flying J always has cheapest gas/fuel on I81 in Virginia. Sites level, wide and easy access. Spacious showers and extra clean bathhouse. Nice area for walking pets. Nearby restaurant will deliver to camp site, menu available in office. Lack of trees was no problem in winter, but could be hot during summer. Excellent place for one night stop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$26
Stayed here on our way to NASCAR races in Charlotte. Like other reviews found the facility very clean and the staff friendly. The sites were good size and we found the place nice and quiet at night, even though it's just a minute off the freeway. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$24
I endorse this park as a place to over-nite. It is a simple and quick on-off from Interstate 77 and 81. 24 hour service stations are nearly adjacent to the park, but we noticed no excessive noise. As we do not unhook, an Italian restaurant is near enough to walk to or they deliver at no charge. We use the campground as a half-way stop, both going to Myrtle Beach and returning to our home. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$26
Very clean CG. Always a nice place to spend the night. Everyone is nice and helpful. Easy to 77 and 81. Grocery store down the road has decent food for a decent price if you are too tired for cooking when you get there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$24
Nice park,clean well maintained. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$25
Very nice campground to spend the night. The staff are very nice & friendly. Well stocked store& a beautiful view of the mountains. Been there before & will be back again when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$25
CG is close to I-81. Sites and roads are gravel and in good condition. Some road noise from I-81 and Hwy 52. RV store has a very good stock of everything. Two small fishing pond's on site. Staff was nice at check in. Things to do for the kids. Most people would be happy here. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2002
$26
Good clean travel camp ground. Nice place to take a break. Would not want to spend a vacation there unless I wanted to do nothing. Enough for the kdis for a day. Nice play ground and swimming pool. Very clean restrooms and showers. Friendly staff. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2000
$21
Easy access from I81. Exceptionally clean EVERYWHERE. Pastoral setting. Nice people. Camp store with good prices (had to replace a water pump, price $10 less than RV dealer across road.) We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com