215256 User submitted reviews online!!
Wytheville KOA was rated 6 out of 10 based on 71 user reviews. Phone: (276) 228-2601
CGID3109

Wytheville KOA

Camp Information
Sites
115
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   4   9   7   7   9   7   8   9   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2013
$45
What to say, first we reserved two sites next to each other so we could camp awning to awning. We were given site numbers with our reservations. When we got there, the campground had four units in it but our site was given away. So they stuck us in two tight sites that were all dirt. WiFi dropped out all the time and some of the staff was rude and others were great. Luck of the draw depending on your need. Playground for the grand kids was just OK. They did like the sluice but that is 7-10 dollars a bag so keep on adding is in place again. The arcade was nice since it rained all weekend and we had the only kids. The batting cage was a value the rest the normal ripoff. Will not stay there again but it is a fine place for an overnight if you are traveling thru. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2013
$42
They are apparently under new ownership as evidenced by all their PR materials. This place has fallen considerably since the last time we stayed here 2 years ago. Then the grounds were immaculate and the bathrooms spotless. This year, there was bare ground where beautiful landscaping/flowers once were. The bathrooms and showers were absolutely filthy. Granted we stayed here on 7/6, the Saturday after the 4th, so it was very busy. You had your typical "holiday" campers in the park with little to no respect for other people's sites. We never hold that against a campground as they can't control people's manners/etc. What we do hold campground's accountable for is cleanliness. When we checked in I counted 4 staff members sitting around a desk off to the side eating while a young male sat next to the check-in counter eating out of a styrofoam take out container using a cooler or something as a table. The young lady checked us in quickly and was nice enough. I remarked to my wife that there was plenty of help in the park, maybe for the holiday occupancy pressure. Throughout the evening we watched them ride around on golf carts and a John Deere Gator, assuming they were really taking care of the facilities. That was until we walked into the bathrooms. The upper bathhouse was deplorable according to my wife as she took our daughter up there. We assumed that it was because of it being near the tents and there being a LARGE group of kids (probably late teens/early 20's) sleeping in tents operating out of a box trailer and it being nearly impossible to keep on top of it. The next morning, however, we went to the bathhouse connected to the office. It was deplorable as well. Cigarette butts on the floor, toilet paper on the floor, the trashcan overflowing and used washrags left on the floor of the shower stalls. They also apparently maintain their once a day cleaning schedule. This obviously works in the off season, but when you have pressure of a holiday weekend, you need to clean more often. They had plenty of people in KOA uniforms standing/riding around; apparently none of them were the cleaning staff. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$40
This park is off the highway so it is nice and quiet. The sites are gravel with full hookups, a picnic table and cable TV. There is a pool and a Family Run Center for kids. The office building includes a store, TV room, a laundry room and a bath house. The park is an older KOA so for the $40 rate including tax and using our KOA Camp Card for a 30 amp site it is a little overpriced. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$46
Do NOT follow your GPS to Hummingbird Lane, turn at Blue Sky road. Roads and sites are gravel. I just got my 37 foot m/h in, width OK. Park is clean. Water, power, and cell (AT&T) were good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$43
Used for an overnight on our way home. Very friendly staff. A lot of rain prior to our arrival, so area was really wet. Sites were gravel and not as level as they could have been. Manager apologized in advance for this, but we were able to level up with jack pads. Would stay here again under similar circumstances. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
We've stayed here several times before and it remains one of my favorite overnight stops in the US for price, convenience, maintenance, and overall friendliness. This time we arrived just after a torrential downpour but were met at our assigned site by a employee that immediately directed us to a dryer venue. Can't comment on longer stay potential. The pool looks first class, however. East/West or North/South layover point - this campsite is the one. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$36
Very well located campground. Clean park with a big pet area. My dogs loved to run around off leash here. Some of the sites are a little bit close together but there is still enough room for slide-outs on both sides. Free WiFi. Lots of trees and grass areas. I would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
Very pet friendly with goodie bags for the dogs. Dog runs are nice size and clean. Friendly people. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$45
This was a great site for the kids. They have a water slide at the pool, mini golf, batting cages and an arcade. They did a flashlight candy hunt at dark and they also hosted karaoke, which was fun. The sites were level and shady. It was a good location, right off of the freeway, but not close enough to hear it. We used this as a stop on our way from TN through VA. We stopped at the Natural Bridges on our way out, only 2 hours away, which was worth the stop and nicely located near the park. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$43
Typical KOA, sites were a little cramped, all utilities worked fine, the campground was well maintained. The kids playground was a miss match of old Playschool slides and a metal swing set. This area could really use improvement. Restrooms were not the cleanest, spider webs, etc. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$40
We stayed here overnight while heading to the beach. Nice place, close to restaurants and clean bathrooms. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$31
Despite a storm the previous night that knocked out power and water at a lot of their sites, the staff ensured we had a good site. Very spacious, level sites with lots of trees. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2012
$30
We stayed here on our way home. Staff were friendly. We were lucky with our site and not having anyone next to us, but those in the front of the campground were practically touching each other. I couldn't believe how tightly packed they were. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$40
Stayed here one night on our way south. Very nice CG, clean, easy in and out. It was winter and mostly one night people there. We arrived late but all information was on the office door. Will stop here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$36
Quite nice. Plenty of pull throughs. They like to put overnights in the first row behind the office, but the next two rows are better, so go for them. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$39
Nice park to stop at when on I-81. It's very clean and has a friendly staff. However, the pull through sites are a little SHORT. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$33
Stopped here for an overnight stay on our way to Myrtle Beach. If there is a level spot in this campground, you are gonna have to find it, I couldn't. Spots are VERY, VERY tight. While it is nice to have trees and shade, they need to do some clearing to enable access to the sites. Some are near impossible to get into. This place is probably the worst KOA I have stayed in as far as site size and accessibility and ease of leveling. The owners definitely made sure they used EVERY INCH of this property. If they thought there was enough room to wedge another motorhome/TT in, I am sure they would do it, but the current "buddy site" arrangement barely leaves enough room to walk between the back sides of the trailers and only one of you will get your awning out. We are not high maintenance people, but on the way back home, we will not be staying here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2011
$36
Everything worked and the park is very clean and well taken care of, but the sites are just too close together. The pull through sites alternate the direction so that your front door is facing someone else front door. There is no privacy when the park is crowded, like it was when we were there. We do not plan to stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2011
$43
Very tight sites. They gave us 2 choices of sites neither which we could get on although other sites were available. If you camp here you may not be able to open any slides and you will literally be nose to nose with your neighbors. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$37
Stayed here overnight to pass through the mountains. We had a water/electric primitive site (by choice) in the back of the campground. From what I saw, all of the lower full hook-up sites were level and fairly large. The primitive sites were not very level, but nice and quiet. There is a lot offered at this campground, including two fenced in dog parks, a large game room including an arcade, batting cage, and toys for little ones to play on. There is indoor/outdoor mini golf, a small playground, and a nice pool with a waterslide into it. All of the facilities were well maintained and the staff was friendly. The camp store was a typical KOA camp store offering your essential foods and some trinkets. It was very quiet the day we were there, but that might be due to it being a Sunday only. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2011
$37
First, the positives. Staff was very friendly and the park is well maintained. For smaller campers, this is a good place to stay. Now, the negatives. I understand why when I made reservations online I was required to pay for full stay, rather than the normal deposit. They know that if you have a larger camper, you would most likely look elsewhere. I would have left the first day if not for losing my money. I was first put in spot 18. There is no way you can get level on the site. They were nice about moving me (when finally someone showed up). Now if you like to be close to your neighbors, this is the place. You can reach out the windows and knock on your neighbors windows. In all seriousness, there could not have been been more than 2 or 3 feet between campers. On top of that, there is little room to park. I don't know the times I had to move my truck so someone could get in. For larger campers (50 amps) I have never been in a place so tight and close. We would only use this park as a last resort. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$32
This campground was clean and well maintained. Staff were very friendly and helpful with suggestions for making our stay pleasurable. This would be a nice campground for families with children. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$27
We stayed here for an over night off I-77. Arrived after hours; easy check in, though. The first site we picked was too narrow for my rig and was right on top of the one next to it. There were a number of pull throughs that are very narrow. Just pick the right one for you. Big rig friendly? Only if you get the right site. The bathroom & shower was very clean. Good water pressure. Our site wasn't real level, but I saw a number of them the next morning that weren't as bad. Pretty park, lots to do for the kids. Very little road noise; couldn't hear any inside. Employees were friendly. This is a great over night stop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2010
$45
Extremely tight sites, you can touch your slide and the neighbor's simultaneously. Overflowing sewage system, on two visits. Snotty staff. Drive a little farther. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2010
$33
Employees were nice but disorganized. First site assigned to us was already occupied. Pull-through campsite was not big rig friendly. Very small sites with little privacy. Cable TV was barely viewable. Had trouble with low voltage. On 30 amp system the voltage dropped to 107 volts when AC was running. Pool area seemed to be nice and I guess it was kid friendly, but we were just looking for an overnight stay. Will look for another place if we pass through Wytheville again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$33
Stayed overnight only. Friendly staff, clean bathrooms/showers, and was quiet. Large wooded campground, roads gravel, sites generally level, some with concrete pads. Nearby truck stop had lowest gas prices we encountered on our trip. We would not hesitate to stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$50
Easy on and off I-81/77. Check in was quick and easy, we had a nice back in site next to the pool, not much work to level up. We stayed overnight on our way to GSMNP. We would use this CG again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2010
$36
I would not recommend this KOA to anyone. We asked for a full hookup with a pull through. We checked in and receptionist said site was level and had enough room for 3 slide outs. None of that was true. It was very very close to the adjacent site. In fact the adjacent site the table outside was positioned over the sewer inlet. We went back and complained. The receptionist said her management told her to tell the guests that the site would be level. We definitely do not agree with KOA giving this location the 2009 President Award. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$39
Nice little KOA perfect for an overnight stay or two en route to/from Myrtle Beach or whatever, in a gorgeous setting. Nice wide/paved entry area, gravel campground driveways and sites. Well-kept store, clean restrooms, nice pool with a slide, so it's frequented by kids - I wouldn't be sitting over there with a drink, but hey, it gives the kids a good/safe time and tires them out! It appears that the sites aren't real level, but not a huge problem. This campground is 2 minutes off the highway, but we (in a hybrid) could not hear the highway. When I called 2-months in advance for reservations, a friendly "older" gentlemen took my reservation for two pull-through sites, took my name, and that was it - didn't get my phone number, deposit, etc. Well, we showed up and...no reservations. Luckily, they had two sites for us, even though they ended up fairly full that night. (Call back later and confirm your reservations!). One unusual thing that I've never seen - (some of?) the sites are arranged as "buddy sites" so that two curb-sides of campers face each other. That worked out perfectly for us, but I don't think I'd like sitting under my awning looking at strangers 30 feet away. Cable and FREE (thank you) Wi-Fi worked fine -- Wi-Fi was nice and fast. Hookups are modern, in good repair. Staff is friendly, polite, and helpful. On-site cafe will deliver burgers, etc., but not on Sundays. Papa John's, delivering right to the site, saved the (Sun)day! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$39
Not too many good points about this campground. The area with full hookups is cramped into two rows. It is very hard to navigate into the spots. The campers are parked every other way so your neighbor was facing you. There was barely enough room to open both awnings. The two spots side by side should actually be one spot. The sites were not very level. No room for a fire. This campground was a revolving door, seemed like it was more of an overnight stop through. The pool was open to locals so it was always full. The good points, the staff was extremely nice and there was a very large family fun center with indoor mini golf, arcade games, and a small cafe. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$39
Located with easy access to I-77 and I-81. It is very nice for kids with a nice pool, recreation barn including a small snack bar. Cable TV was fuzzy and the power dropped to only 105 volts. Pull-Through sites are very close and would be difficult for a longer stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
The road to the park was small and went through a quaint housing addition. There were low hanging wires but they weren't a problem. The park roads were tight for big rigs and they should really trim up the trees. Shady sites were on a hill but we were ok in our 38ft 5th wheel with 4 slides. It rained hard during our stay but we were ok on the hill. If in the area, we'd stay here again. The Staff was nice. There is a small pool with a slide was nice for the kids. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$44
Restrooms and showers are clean but in need of updating. Good for an overnight stay, only. The RV emergency repair person recommended by the park could not re-wire a 7/4 wire electrical connection with tow car; even though certified. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$39
This KOA campground beats all I have visited. It is in a huge farmlike setting, with a recreation hall with a snack bar, skeeball and video games, mini golf, and karaoke Saturday nights. There is also a fishing pond, basketball, shuffleboard courts, and a popular swimming pool. My favorite area was the fenced area for off-leash dog play. There are actually two areas: one for big dogs and one for small dogs. The restrooms and showers are clean; staff is friendly and helpful. RV supplies at the store are extensive; groceries are more scanty. My campsite was #48; though all of the campsites have shade, I thought my small row was the best. The big rigs were crowded into two rows that looked cramped. One complaint: for some reason, the sewer dump pipe in my campsite was uphill from my trailer, so draining my tanks was tedious. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
Stayed here twice in April/May 2010. Very nice people and a nice, clean park that's very convenient to 77 and 81. Travel on the local roads to reach the campground are clearly marked: however, tight for a larger rig. We camped in a 42 footer with a tow and found the 50 amp sites to be very tight. Close together and difficult to get in and out of if the park is crowded. We stayed in a 30 amp site on the second stay and found the sites to be larger and more rustic; however, the slope was almost too much to level the coach. Would recommend and would stay here again but will carry some 2 inch boards to help with leveling. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$37
It is a nice campground but the sites are small and not level. The cable reception was bad. It is a good location for a over night stop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2010
$42
This is an older KOA. Could not open our slide outs (3). Tight turns into the campground. Staff was very friendly and kindly gave us a refund and directed us to Fort Stillwell. Would be nice campground for smaller RVs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2010
$35
I will give this campground some latitude since they had a lot of snow that resulted in significant roadway and campsite erosion over the Winter. However, this is one of the poorer KOA's that we've stayed at, and the pull through sites (we switched from #20 to #22 to get something that was semi-level) are neither level, nor well-drained. In addition, most pull-through sites are side-by-side that are so close together that awnings, if extended, would touch. On the plus side, the staff is very friendly and accommodating and they have a nice dog-run We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$41
Campground is away from the highway in a quiet setting with many shade trees. The restrooms and showers were clean and staff were friendly at check-in. The pull through site had easy access and accommodated our trailer and vehicle with room to spare. But, the pull through sites were packed fairly close together and the previous camper had left a mess at the sewer connection on our site. This was an overnight stay for us. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$52
Pulled in for an overnight stay on way home from Branson. Sites are awning to awning and units are crammed in like sardines in a can. Not sure if two units facing each other could have both awnings out, it was so tight. Luckily our neighbor did not have a slide so we were able to put ours out. Never encountered sites so extremely close before. Pool was nice, had a slide for the kids, but it closes early. Playground was lacking in equipment. Restrooms were ok, fairly clean. Would not stay here again simply because of the tightness of the sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2009
$52
This is the first poor review I have ever left. I called several times to get a reservation. Each time I got an answering machine. I left messages and never got a return call. I took a chance and stopped in person. They had water and electric pull through available and after traveling all day I took it. The roads in this campground are very narrow and poorly maintained. There are overhead tree branches that were very close to my trailer roof. The sites are poorly marked and I had to have my daughter get out and search for the correct site. The site way out of level and I had to pull my 5th wheel all the way to the front to get it level. This meant I had to unhook because my truck was out in the road. Because we were only spending the night I had hoped to stay hooked up. The electric, water, and cable hookups were all the way to the front of the site. My electric cables were short and I had to go down and purchase an extension cable. The staff was not friendly or courteous. At $52 I expected a lot more. We will never stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
This is a clean campground with all the normal amenities. The pool was open and clean, but we did not use it. We loved having face to face sites. We went with 2 other couples and faced one of them. It makes going from camper to camper so much nicer. The game room was a little run down and really needed some new games, but ok for the short weekend we were there. The batting cage needs some work!! A face lift on it would be great. The staff was friendly and the sites were level. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$25
Park was winterized due to snow & cold weather, discount applied as water was turned off. Great bluegrass music in evening, sites are gravel but slightly sloped to one side even though the ground was covered in snow. Easy access from highway, but watch the overhead limbs turning into the park. Pet friendly, had 2 enclosed dog runs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2008
$38
The sites are not well cared for. Leveling our travel trailer was quite difficult due to loose gravel with soft substrate. We had to re-level twice in 24 hours due to settling. Otherwise an adequate location. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$32
A nice clean park. The pnly problem is that all of the full hookup sites are side by side, that is one RV faces one way next RV faces the other, leaving about 4 feet between units for both units hookups. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$60
Stayed here twice, once on the way down to Myrtle Beach and once on the way back. Stayed in the same site both times. Plenty of activities for the kids. Staff was helpful and kind. Activity center had a wide variety to chose from. Only reason it gets dinged is a) its kind of off the beaten path and not easy to get to with big rigs and b) the site was not that level, not easy to level the trailer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2008
$49
This KOA is one of the worst parks I have ever experienced. The pull through sites were no more than 20 feet wide and just long enough to hold a 40 foot motor home without the dingy. After slideouts were out on my unit and my neighbors, there was no more than 4 feet between us. There was no grass on the site. It was all dirt. Needless to say, due to the narrow site width, we could not extend our awning. At least 24 hours before I was to leave, I went to the office to request that two small limbs that were going to rub the top of my coach on departure be removed. They said they would "make note of it". They did not cut the limbs and I had no choice but to pull out under them. I am sure they rubbed my AC units as I moved out. If KOA had standards for the quality of their parks, this park would be out of business. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
Great family fun. Kids had lots to do in cg. Pool and waterslide were clean and fun. We camped in the back of cg, tent site,and it was a little bit dusty but had lots of shade. Better site in park are in the front, lots of grass and shade. Also, they are close to pool and playground. We wiil return soon! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$42
Nice campground. Lots of amenities. We stayed in site 48 with a 29' motor home and had plenty of room. Very large site with room behind it to tie out your dog away from the other campers. The very large fenced dog run is great. Plenty of room for exercising even the most active of dogs. Wi-Fi was AWFUL. The only way we could stay connected was to sit at the front desk in the office. Staff didn't have a clue how to fix it and didn't call for tech support despite repeated requests to get the Wi-Fi fixed. They just kept rebooting the system. This place would have rated a 10 if not for the Wi-Fi issues. If Wi-Fi isn't important to you and you have kids who want lots to do, this is a good campground. Pool with a water slide, nice large game room/activity building with indoor/outdoor mini golf, snack bar, arcade games, etc. Very family-friendly and dog-friendly. Office staff was very friendly. But, for us, due to the Wi-Fi issues we probably won't camp here again. No quicker way to ruin an RV trip than to have a teenager constantly complaining because they can't get online to chat with their friends back home. Too bad because, otherwise, we really like this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$30
We have a small class B with no bathroom, so it was great to get a spot across from them. We just needed a place for an overnight stay and everything was smooth and nice. We came in late, but it was obvious they had a lot of activities set up for the weekend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$34
Typical KOA. Sites are stacked on top of each other.. not where close to level. First site they tried to put me in would have had my truck either sticking out in the road or nose down about 10 degrees... asked to move to a more level site and while they did, they were not to happy to do so.. won't be back We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$43
Very helpful staff. Great playground for our dog. Shaded sites. Excellent cable and WiFi. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2008
$35
This KOA site gives new meaning to KOA. Don't waste your time. Gravel roads and sites: leveled by Helen Keller. If you love rednecks, this is the place to stay. This place is garbage. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$35
We liked this park. Very nice owners, but they close up at around 6PM and if you need anything, there's no one there. The Wi-Fi wasn't working but it worked the other time we were there. OK place to spend a couple days. We'd stay there again. Small lots if you have a fair sized rig. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2007
$30
Easy access from interstate. This campground must be beautiful in the summer. There are plants all over the place. Sites are quite close together but there aren't a lot of campers in December so there was at least one space between us and another camper. Restrooms appear to have been redone and are sparkling clean. Pool and slide for during the summer. Very congenial and helpful owner is working on putting in new, larger sites and a pond. Other than current lot size, the only negative is that the dumpsters are some distance from the camping area. We will stop here the next time we're in the area. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$45
First, the good: Kids of all ages will love it here - from toddler through teens. Go carts a short distance from campground, as well as par 3 golf. Campground amenities include the bomb of all game rooms (huge arcade, batting cages, indoor miniature golf, and play area for toddlers and preschoolers); basketball court, horse shoes, volleyball area; and swimming pool with slide. All of these things are in wonderful condition. We first visited here in 2002 under the previous owners and then it needed updating. The new owners are doing just that and everything looks good. The bathrooms are clean (although, one more bath house would be nice). So, why not a perfect 10? The full hookup sites are really small and I mean small. Really, I think it would be better to put two sites into one and then they would be average size. True, they wouldn't be able to accommodate as many campers, but the campers would not feel like sardines. The employees were quite friendly and helpful. Even though we camped over a holiday and the campground was packed, everyone completely behaved and kept up with their pets. Yes, we will go back, but during a less crowded weekend. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2007
$38
Have to agree with other reviews - the sites are way too close. We could reach out our dinette window and touch the popup tent camper next door. I can only imagine what they heard. We shared a fire ring with our neighbor on the other side. If they closed down about half the sites, it would be a much nicer campground. The first KOA we stayed at that didn't escort us to our site, and the only one that really needed it. We will stay somewhere else next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$30
We used this KOA for an overnight stopover. Friendly staff at checkin. Park was very clean. Roads to the campground are well marked, but narrow and tight. The campground is located on the side of a hill, and we had a steep climb to our pull thru site, however, the site was level and long enough that we could leave our towed pickup truck connected, which was super convenient. Campground is not far from a busy part of I-81, but it was nice and quiet the night we were there. We would stay there again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2007
$30
When we first drove into this park, we got a positive impression. It's clean and nicely wooded. However, when we got to the site (one of the pull throughs near the office), it was barely big enough to squeeze our motorhome into. Once extended, our slide was about 6 inches from the neighbor's slide. One of the wheels is completely off the ground after leveling. The neighbor on the other side is facing the opposite direction so we had to share a picnic table. I would not stay here again if there was a decent alternative. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2007
$26
We camped here overnight in a 43 foot 2006 MH. We were not able to level our rig on the site, no matter what we tried. The girl in the office was on the phone and seemed too busy to answer our questions. We were told twice that wireless was available but we could not connect. They are in the process of renovating their store/reception area. Good for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$38
Staff very nice and helpful. Sites to close together. Very few septic hook ups and they were all close to the back of the office. Wi-Fi did not work outside of the building. We arrived with reservations and our friends were supposed to be across from us. We wound up on separate ends of the campground. Owner would not allow me to rent a golf cart next door to use even though there were a lot of other campers there with their kids driving theirs. On the plus side the restrooms were kept clean, witch we needed because the water pressure was to low, 10 psi on top of the hill. Lots of activities for everyone. Over all it is a nice park that needs upgrades and the new owners seem to be working hard on that. We like the place but won't go back as a destination but would use it for a stop over. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2006
$33
This was an OK park for an overnight but I wouldn't consider it for an extended stay. It was a stopover for us between Michigan and Myrtle Beach. Convenient enough location right off the freeway and staff were all very friendly and helpful. Full hook-up sites were extremely tight, some of the smallest I've ever seen. Sites further back with just water and electric are nicely shaded but a bit unlevel. Facilities are a bit dated and need some work. Playground was pathetic, very outdated equipment. Fun center had several video games but many were out of order. Indoor batting cages were also not functioning correctly and were being worked on when we visited. Pool was closed due to some sort of incident earlier in the day, but we don't know the exact reason. Next time we will probably try Ft. Chiswell RV Park and see how it compares before staying here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2006
$29
We agree with previous posters that new mgmt seems really nice with big plans for the future. We also can understand that it's difficult to get everything fixed up from the previous owners right away. However, they really need to focus on three specific items. First, regrade the sites. They are too unlevel. Second, eliminate the side by side sites. There are two rows of the most crowded side by sides I've ever had to stay in. Since this KOA's wifi only worked in the side by sides we had to accept this crowded situation. Third, add a couple of extra towers so wifi can work in the much nicer, wooded sites further away from the office. When these three improvements are made it could get a 9 ranking, in my view. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2005
$37
This campground is a very good location for an overnight off I-77 and I-81. It is also a good home base for vacationing in the beautiful Blue Ridge mountains of southwestern Virginia. The new owners are friendly and helpful, and the campground is very clean. However, the big rig pull throughs are not very level, and they are so narrow that our neighbor could not put out his awning at the same time as we did. We spoke with several other campers who had the same problems with leveling and with the narrowness of the sites. Hopefully, the new owners will address these problems, as they seem to be mentioned frequently. We stayed for 8 nights, including Labor Day weekend, when the campground was packed. We hope to return to this area -- the hiking and biking were awesome -- but we will probably try out a different campground next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$33
The campground is under new owners and they have improved the cg. I talked at length with the new owner and he has plans to renovate and add to the campground, it will take him about a year to finish most of it. Very Friendly atmosphere. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2005
$43
This campground is under new extremely friendly management. There are some great activities for kids however the management will nickel and dime you on most of them ($2/day to use the pool slide). Pool is free. The site that I stayed in was great and was shaded with free wifi, free trash pickup, and free cable television. Management assures me that for every 2 sites now, the future will be only 1 site so the sites will become large. I think that this is a great place to stay with hiking on the appalachian trail just minutes from the site and a very nice Wal Mart/Lowes not too far as well. I would highly recommend this campground for all RV'ers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2004
$45
OK if you're passing through, but I wouldn't stay here more then a day. The crown jewel arcade building I spent 3.5 minutes in. There were horse rides which my daughter Loved! sites tight, weed patches everywhere, very unkept, building deteriorating, trash in the flower beds right outside the main office door. Plenty of other campgrounds along the I-81. Usually stay in a fifth wheel but was passing through and tried my first cabin, very nice but miss the bathroom comforts of my RV. We camped here in a Campground Cabins.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2004
$33
We stopped here on a return trip from the beach. The only reason we stopped here was because it supposed to be close to the interstate. After arriving here and paying the very high 33.00 fee for only water and electric we knew we would not be back for any reason. There are other options which are by far better and not as expensive. Also the sites are very close together. If the RV beside us let out their slide ours would touch and we probably could not let ours out all the way. They advertise .5 miles off the interstate which is not right. It may be .5 miles the way the crow flies but driving it is farther. They also advertise a night fee of 22.00. They fooled me once but never again. If it were my only option I would not stay here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$40
Adequate campground for one night stays. Close to interstate and a Flying J. Sites were a little close. Bathrooms adequate. I would stay here overnight again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2002
$30
Dirty back-to-back narrow sites where tv is available. Hard to access and impossible to level, even with levelers. A prime example of overrating of KOA campgrounds. The Fort Chiswell campground is vastly superior, if lower rated. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2001
$26
Sites were very close together. Roads were dusty making it difficult to sit outside when vehicles traveled in and out of campground. Lots of activities for the youngsters. Dinner could be ordered ahead and delivered to your site. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com