214305 User submitted reviews online!!
Cloverdale Healdsburg KOA Camping Resort was rated 6 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (707) 894-3337
CGID311

Cloverdale Healdsburg KOA Camping Resort

Camp Information
Sites
98
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$65



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   5   4   8   1   7   2   5   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$65
This is a nice family park that offers great views and has a nice pool for kids and family alike. There is a hot tub for adults but this is not enforced. The folks that work here a friendly and helpful. The only drawback is if you go with family and they have to rent the lodges, it's $200 a night--ouch.This place is way off the beaten path, you may even think you are lost. Just follow the KOA signs and you'll make it. I was able to get satellite. The sites are dirt and some are shaded. I did see a few bigger A class RVs, but nothing over 35'. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$65
Great little campground at the top of a hill. We drove the summer bridge route in our toad but would not in our motorhome. Part of the route is a gravel road with a single lane temporary bridge. The other route is just fine if you take your time. The ladies in the office that checked us in could not have been nicer. The sites are decent size and many have lots of shade. There is a charge for wifi. Great wine tasting nearby. We will stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$60
As others have said, the road from freeway to RV Park is very narrow and low gear steep, took 45 minutes. We had site #3, nearly level with nice shade from big oak trees. Not for big rigs or overnight, way too much trouble. View beautiful, you are about 500-600 feet above the Alexander Valley. Staff, nice but a bit curt. Grounds need policing badly, lots of butts, paper, plastic, etc. It galls us to pay for Wi-Fi at all, let alone when paying $60 per night! We will probably not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2011
$71
The low rating is mostly for value. Poor Wi-Fi that gives you a short time free, then charges. No cable TV. The sites not very level. The road in from the north winds and twists. They say the road from the south is shorter, but open only seasonally: call first. There are some kid's activities, though it seems as though they charge extra for a lot. A decent park for about $30, for more than twice that is a rip-off. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$60
This is a great campground…..once you get your rig in there! We have a 35’ 5th wheel and had a heck of a time just getting to the park. From the highway, the drive there is a 2-lane road with plenty of low-hanging trees. The drive from the highway to the entrance took about 20 minutes. I suppose if the “summer” loop from the highway was open, it would cut that time by about 50%. Then there is the drive up a rather large hill with switchbacks to the park itself. Not a big deal until someone is coming down with their rig and figures they should be able to hog the entire roadway. The park itself is rather tight. I had called and requested an easy in/out site as we were just staying the night. We have plans to revisit later this year for a family event, so we figured we would check the place out while passing through on another trip. Fortunately, the staff put us in an easy access site near the entrance. Seems most of the larger rigs there are placed in sites 1-26. In my opinion, if your rig is over 30’ long, forget about sites 44-98. The roadways are already too narrow in my opinion, so just getting to these sites will be a frustrating experience. If you’re looking for a quick in/out, this isn’t the park for you. If you’re looking for big-rig or larger Class A friendly, this isn’t the park for you. OK, so getting there isn’t easy and navigating the park is challenging. However, once you get setup……..WOW! This place is FAR away from any highway/roadway and all you hear at night is nature! They advertise this fact heavily on their website and it’s true! You can see stars all over the sky and there are plenty of nice places throughout the park to sit and take in nature. The pond is a nice feature and adds to the charm of the place. Patience is required to get there and get parked. You need to allocate extra time for any trips to the local wineries as the highway isn’t “right there”. But all this is rewarded with something as close to a backpacking experience in your RV that not many other parks can provide. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
February 2011
$45
"NOT BIG RIG" friendly. We called on the phone after 5PM and had no idea what we bit off. Do not go to this park in the dark! The road is about 5 miles of very tight turns, some hair pins. The 5 mile trip took us 45 minutes at night. Once you get on the road you have no way out. Once at the park we took a look at some of the spots but didn't feel good about taking our rig into any of them. It was dark and the parking spots are gravel sites. They are very narrow, in the dark it was not possible to park. We parked next to the office with no hook ups. In the morning the office opens at 8AM, we hung around hoping to get a break on the $60.00 rate since we had no hook up/no Wi-Fi, and didn't use anything in the park. The owner gave us $15.00 off the full rate, what a deal! I would advise anyone with a rig of 35-45ft to go elsewhere. I know this was somewhat our own doing, but how would anyone know about the road or the management of this Park? Trust me, you won't find this information in the KOA book. My advise: keep on trucking down the road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$60
Fabulous location and terrific staff. They went out of their way at check in to make sure everyone got settled and I was very impressed with how the staff helped anyone with special needs. We have a 36' fifth wheel and we talked to the staff prior to our arrival about the trees and drive - they alleviated our fears and we had no problem. The Asti shortcut was still closed. My only issue is that both bathrooms were clean on Friday but were not cleaned all weekend. It was so bad that by Sunday I ended up having to navigate the 6 miles to town so I could take my in-laws to the McDonald's bathrooms. I would return in an instant if I could insure that no one in my party had to use the restrooms. I did contact the staff during and post trip about the bathrooms but no response. If it were not for the bathrooms - this would be a 10. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2009
$60
Warning: this campground is 6 miles off the highway. You must travel on a very narrow, very winding, and very steep road, with many low hanging trees! You will be sorry if you take your big rig up here. I will not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$60
It is 6 miles off main road up a very winding, narrow road with many low hanging branches. Some sites are very narrow with low hanging tress on some sites. It provides a beautiful view however it is located some distance to local attractions. It is difficult to find your Site especially if you arrive after dark. There is no cable TV and on most sites a satellite will not work. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$38
This place is all about location. It's a pastoral setting with lots of trees and beautiful views of hills and vineyards. You can't beat it! Now, getting here is not for the faint of heart. The campground is 6 miles off and up from 101, most of which is on fairly narrow and winding roads with more than a few low hanging branches. Sites are nice, some shade, mostly level. And the staff is typical KOA cheery. We are very glad we enjoyed a beautiful weekend with a group. At full price, though, we're not sure we'll be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$60
We love to camp here. There is so much to do for kids or grandkids. The pool is clean and the staff is very friendly. We have family in the area, so we camp here often. Some spaces are a bit dusty, and with all the kids it is a bit noisy at times. However, the restrooms are clean, the showers are clean, and it is way off the main highway so nighttime is very quiet. No railroad trains or freeways nearby as with many KOAs. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$55
We stayed here on the 4th of July weekend. It is a very nice park, far from any roads or cities, with a lot of things to do - especially for families with kids. There was even some live music on one evening. Our particular site was inconvenient, since we had to pull-in to be able to hook-up. But even then, the sewer was almost too far from our RV to hook-up. And we always had to walk around the RV to get to the pick nick table. Wi-Fi is available in the park (first hour free). During the weekend, the restrooms and showers were not clean (maybe this was only because it was the 4th of July weekend?). Overall, we found the park to be a little too expensive for what it offered. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$45
Nice park for families. They have bike rentals, a fishing pond and a large swimming pool. They also have activities such as a band, movies or a clown making balloon animals at times. We have stayed here twice. The RV sites are not particularly nice. The ones in the back are crowded and are just dirt, not so flat, with water and electricity. The stargazing is great. We would come back for the family activities. The cabins are nice but quite expensive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2007
$61
We found this park to be poor value for our dollar. It was too far off of the main road. The access road was rough and narrow for about three miles and no way to turn around with our towed. The sites were dirt only. Our site, and others we viewed, were not very level. WiFi was pay. No cable TV. Not a fair value for the services available. We would not return to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$40
Spent a long weekend here in August. In the winter it's about a 3 mile drive off Hwy. 101, but thanks to the installation of a summer only bridge, it cuts that distance in half. Upon arrival, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The hookups at our site (#18) were a bit awkward to get to as they were positioned to rear of the unlevel dirt pad. A rig longer than 25' may have had trouble reaching the sewer connection without an extention. Our site was shaded as were most. Most sites had fire pits and/or grills. If your interested in either one of these, I'd make that clear when you make your reservation. Their General Store had plenty of food stuffs, but not much in the way of RV parts. They had some permanent residences occuping about 25 of the spaces, but for the most part, they were well kept and didn't detract from the overall enjoyment of the campground. This place had a TON of things to do, especially for the kids, which there were plenty of. This isn't the place to go for a quiet weekend in the woods, but overall a very positve experience. We won't hesitate to return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com