214973 User submitted reviews online!!
Whispering Pines RV Park & Center was rated 8 out of 10 based on 27 user reviews. Phone: (509) 674-7278
CGID3124

Whispering Pines RV Park & Center

Camp Information
Sites
35
Date of Stay
March 2013
Latest Rate
$29



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   6   9   3   8   8   7   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$29
This is a small park with few sites suitable for big rigs, and although the interior road is a bit tight, with care you can maneuver into one of the two or three long grass and gravel pull-thrus. Lots of trees, but a fairly clear shot for the satellite, with fair Verizon cell and data reception. The free cable TV was extensive and clear. Fairly quiet, with a few long term RVs and friendly owners/hosts and a large store. Considering that there are no sewer hookups or WiFi, the nightly rate is at the top end of what we would expect for a park with few amenities. Anyone with a rig over 32' should probably call ahead for reservations since the larger sites are few. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$27
This is a great park for an overnight stop. There are only a few pull throughs that will accommodate larger rigs. There is lots of shade and its very nice camping among the trees. We enjoyed the river walk and did a loop around. You can also walk into town from the campground. Friendly, helpful staff at this park. Will stay again on our travels. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$27
Nice location well off the highway, with great access to Cle Elum. Very friendly, honest folks. Facilities were clean, but not sparkling clean. Sites were very narrow, had to dodge trees to walk around the trailer, but the good news is that there is shade. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$27
I made a reservation at this park for five days. I stayed for eight. For the last two I dry camped since I didn't have reservations for those days, and the park was full. There are limitless spots for dry camping. Just pick an open space and park. I chose a space on the lake shore. This is a smaller park, and trees are plentiful. It just smells good, like a pine forest. Lots of room and privacy at each spot. The owner and the manager are most accommodating. At the back of the park you will find a path along the Yakama River. One is tempted to wade in. It's crystal clear, and moves fast, but I'm sure it's quite cold. There were a few people fly fishing from the bank. The store at this park surpasses any park store I have encountered. It's more like a small dedicated RV store. Cle Elum brings memories of 1940s-1950s mid-America. Here are some points of interest that deserve your time. For excellent Wi-Fi visit Stella's. It's a small restaurant, opened for only three weeks when I was there. If you are health conscious, this is for you. All vegetables are local. All meat is unprocessed. The ice cream alone is worth a visit. There is buffalo chili on tap. It is so tasty. When you leave the park for town, at the first traffic light turn left. Thirty yards prior to the next light, Stella's is on the right, a few yards back off the street. There is bicycle shop next door. Next is the Cle Elum Bakery. Famous in the area. Turn right at the first traffic light after leaving the park. Go 4 tenths of a mile. The bakery is on the left, on a corner. You will be amazed at the selection of goodies. The third POI is across the street, Owens Meats. Think 1940's neighborhood butcher shop. If you are a meat eater, well, it's the realization of a dream. Lastly there is Beaus. I had dinner there the night before I left. Nice variety on the menu. If you like beer, try the Roslyn local brew. From the light, turn right. It's about three blocks on the SW corner. Enjoy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2012
$27
This is an OK campground for a night. There is no sewer or wi-fi, and there are nicer parks in the area. Having said that, it's OK for a night, and they have an RV store should you need something. We stayed here for one night. Also, there is a train that goes by often. Our rate reflects Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$26
Good starting point for us. Very friendly people. They have an RV store with just about every item you'd need to replace. Propane available. You have a concrete patio at your site, but you set up on gravel. Good shade and privacy. Great walking path along a beautiful river. The only negative for us was the traffic sounds from I-90. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$27
Very friendly and welcoming staff. Nice sunny spot but yet trees give privacy. Some sites right on river with trail to walk. Close to town. Clean restrooms. We will stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$25
Most sites do not have sewer hookups. There is a dump. Most sites have a concrete pad for the picnic table, ours did not. Lots of shade and along the Yakima River. Good cable TV. Some freeway noise, but not bad. Very clean showers/restrooms. Overall a nice place to stay and we would definitely stay here again. Sewer hookups and a little brushing and more slabs would give it a much better rating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$29
Lovely park set among trees and bushes. I would have rated an 8 or 9, but they changed my reserved site without my knowledge. I arrived and the office was closed, so my paperwork was outside. On it, our old reserved site number was crossed out and I discovered we had been reassigned to what is probably the smallest, worst site on the grounds. It took us several drives through the loop to even find it, as it was wedged behind another site. I had to ask the somewhat uncooperative camper parked in that site to move his truck to allow us to back in through his site to get into our small site. It's a great campground if they honor your reservation. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$27
This is a "woodsy" park. Has very nice trails through the woods along the river. One also can walk to town. The pull-through sites do not have sewer connections (easily accessible dump station) so ask about it if you need one. The staff was friendly and helpful. The sites were nice. Had to downrate it as we had an encounter with 2 aggressive dogs running free in the campground. We told the manager and she said she has had trouble with this person (long term camper ??) before and would talk to them again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$25
If you need RV Repairs, this park is next door to an RV service & repair place! Can't beat that! However, I didn't use the RV service, so I can't comment on that. This park is in a great woodsy area. The slots are adequately spaced apart, not enough for privacy but enough to be "somewhat spaced apart." You check in at the RV store. The laundry rooms and restrooms have a security code. Laundry and rest rooms were clean, but had a funny smell to them. Showers had a charge,75 cents, so I didn't use them. Laundry was cheap! $1 to wash, $1 to dry! At those prices, wash anything you can find, even if it's just two pairs of underpants! Washer and dryer were average sized. Cable was decent. If they have Wi-Fi, I didn't use it, so I can't comment. Verizon Air Card kept dropping signal, but this is an issue with 4G versus 3G. Nearby Cle Elum has a few good restaurants, and a good grocery store. If you don't tow a car, you can walk to downtown. And, if you need to "lighten your load," there is a thrift store in Cle Elum where you can donate used goods. The rate I am showing is the Good Sam rate before taxes. Enjoyed a peaceful stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$27
Very pretty location right on the Cle Elum River with a few sites (we had one) that front the river. Trails run along the river in both directions. Sites are gravel among pine and cottonwood trees (the latter seem to do most of the whispering). Showers were hot, restrooms were clean. They have a nice rec center for group functions. Hosts very friendly and accommodating. Town of Cle Elum within easy walking or cycling distance. "The Mines Trail" from Cle Elum to Roslyn and Ronald leaves from downtown. Ridable on normal (no-suspension) bikes or walkable (4 miles to Ronald). RV store immediately adjacent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$37
This is a RV park in a rustic setting, but just a five minute walk over the overpass to town. Sites are next to the Yakima river with lovely walking trails. It is very well maintained. Only negative is constant roar of traffic from I-90. The office is a well equipped RV parts center. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
I called the manager early in the day on Monday August 22 to spend the night in my Truck Camper on the way to Ellensburg the next day. She made reservations for me on the phone, and I arrived early evening after 6pm.. She was very friendly, helpful and enthusiastic. Couldn't ask for anything better. On top of that, the restrooms and showers were very clean. There is a 75 cents charge to use the showers, so bring your quarters. Very pretty park near the Yakima River. Quick drive into the town of Cle Elum. Would gladly stay there again if the opportunity comes. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$27
Perfectly fine campground. 75 cents for showers, but most people don't read the instructions and leave, so you get a free shower. Nice staff, wide spaces. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$27
We have camped in every campground in the I-90 corridor from Easton to Ellensburg. This is our favorite. It has paved roads with level gravel sites surrounded by towering pines. It backs up to the Yakima River. Downtown is an easy stroll. 50 amp hookups were flawless. There are no amenities or Wi-Fi, but the bathrooms and showers were spotless. Traffic noise from the interstate is steady 24 hours a day. Also, their are one or two trains a day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$27
What the last reviewed didn't like, I found charming about this campground and would have given it a 10 if it wasn't for the slightly annoying road noise of I-90. This is a real keeper and not at all like the new sterile parking lot campgrounds you often find. This one has REAL mature trees and a natural landscaping, giving it the look of a park instead of a lot. The fragrance of pine was so pronounced, you found yourself breathing in the heady aroma often. Site spaces are wide and private, you won't be looking into your neighbors rig when you walk out side. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The cable was great. No Wi-Fi and even my air card didn't get a good signal, but that was okay. I think they do accept tents as the price was listed but I would call first, I didn't see any but there was a huge space by the lake in the back where folks could set up a tent. This is a great alternative to Ellensburg, it's a higher in elevation so cooler and out of the wind. A great side trip would be to Roslyn WA, where they filmed Northern Exposure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$31
This is an older park with a less manicured look to it than the newer ones. It has paved roads, gravel driveways and a paved patio. The edge back-in sites have tall trees between them and the central pull-through sites have shorter trees between them. The washrooms and the laundry are excellent but there is a continual roar of traffic noise from the interstate which is why I reduced the rating. There is no WiFi but a wide selection of TV channels. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$23
This was the 1st stop for us on a 6 month trip to Southern California. This park also has a parts and repair store. They do have some storage out in the open next to the repair shop. The RV park is small but there is a lot of ground toward a small lake at one end of the property. We got here on Sunday because of snow forecast in the mountains for Sunday night. The owners directed us to site 13 and said I could come into the shop on Monday to register. When I did, they did not charge us for Sunday. Sites are gravel and in the tall pine trees. Roads in the park are asphalt. The back of the park is along the river and have no sewer hookup. There is a dump site. Our site did have a sewer hookup. Restrooms are very clean. They are in a fairly new building along with the laundry. Showers are 75 cents for 9 minutes. Laundry is $1 each to wash and dry. There is a separate meeting building for clubs that stay here. There is a covered BBQ area associated with it. Town is close by with all the amenities. Sprint mobile broadband worked well. No satellite TV because of the trees. Park is quiet even though you can see the freeway from the park. We enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$27
The route from the eastbound interstate was confusing and there were no signs directing us. We had no sewer hookup, but the site was fairly level, easy to access even with lots of large trees and provided lots of welcome privacy. The nearby river is beautiful, but the traffic noise from the interstate was very loud. The restroom, shower and laundry facilities were clean. The showers charged about $1 for 10 minutes or so. Most of the exterior sites are occupied by full time residents, but all were well kept. We felt the rate was a little high for a site without sewer hookup or internet service, but we would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$28
Good Sam park. We agree with other's favorable comments. No fires or charcoal allowed while we were there (late July) due to high fire danger in area. Two attractive nearly new buildings; one rec hall, the other rest rooms and laundry. Paved interior roads with mostly level gravel sites. Earth appears to be largely river rock with thin soil. Grass is brown with occasional foot high weeds, but we decided we would rather have brown grass than sprinklers and lawn mowers. Lots of fierce mosquitoes. Dump station on a slant kept one of our holding tanks from draining properly. Significant freeway noise; one train in morning, one in evening. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$31
The staff was just cleaning up from a cold winter, and preparing for the spring crowd. We didn't see much of them. It was still pretty muddy, but we enjoyed the woods with our dog off leash. Catch & release fishing. No Wifi. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$24
We stayed in this park for one week and paid $125.00. This park has a very woodsy, rustic feel about it but still provides all the features that we look for. There are only about 10 sites that have sewer hookups due to the closeness of the Yakima River and if possible make a reservation in advance if you need a sewer hookup. While we were there a number of larger rigs, motorhomes and 5th wheels were there so they can fit in the bigger rigs. We did miss not having a way to access the Internet. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$24
This is nice park both as a destination or if you're passing through. It's a 15 minute drive to the town of Roslyn (of TV's "Northern Exposure" fame), and it's less than a five minute drive to the center of town (Cle Elum). You wouldn't guess it though. The park itself takes up a small portion of a large parcel of land alongside the Yakima river, and it feels a bit like you're on the edge of wilderness. Consistent with that, the park is a bit rustic, but the facilities are modern and in pretty good shape. Campfires are not allowed in individual sites, but there are a couple community fire rings with ample wood supply for those who want that. Not all sites have sewer hook-ups (we didn't), but some clearly do. I'm not sure how/if you can get one. They do have a good dump station, easily accessible by rigs of most any size, and with a real hose bib and good water pressure. Management is friendly, helpful and out-of-site but not unavailable. There is a well-stocked RV store on site -- a very nice benefit. No play facilities for kids, but there are trails throughout the woods surrounding the park. There is a pond on-site, with a small waterfowl family. The kids enjoyed that, but you'd want to keep toddlers and small children away from it. The main road through the park is paved. Some sites are paved, but most are gravel. They tend not to be entirely level, but not out of the ordinary. But it could bother those who are picky about that. Some sites are along the river -- ours were. An afternoon spent looking out over the river from your lawn chair is an afternoon well-spent. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2005
$20
A nice, compact, older RV park on the Yakima River near Cle Elum Washington. A great place to stop for a day or two to visit Roslyn WA. the home of "Northern Exposure" the tv series. If you stop here beware of the interior sites. They are long enough for many rigs, but are very narrow. Assigned a site on our last visit, I found it was not wide enough, because of trees and brush, to open our slides. In the future, we will forgo the pull thru central sites and back in to those next to the river with more width. Staff is very friendly. They do have a very well stocked RV store. We will stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$20
This is the park selected for the RVnet Spring Rally. We had 24 rigs and everyone was happy with their sites. We had everything from a class B up to a 40' MH. They have a nice rec room and provide gas BBQs. We understand that there will be a hot tub soon. It is within walking distance of the Yakima River and I was told the fishing was great. There is also a large overflow camping area, but it doesn't have hook-ups. The little RV center is well stocked and the shop looked really great. The management was very friendly and accommodating to us. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$20
A real nice, smaller campground on east end of town on the south side of I-90. You couldn't hear the freeway noise inside the RV, but you could hear the train whistle on the other side of the freeway loud and clear. Great place for a group gathering! Also has well-equipped RV parts store and service center. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com