224079 User submitted reviews online!!
Dash Point State Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (888) 226-7688
CGID3131

Dash Point State Park

Camp Information
Sites
118
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$39



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   5   7   8   7   7   9   9   7   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2014
$39
The only plus to this state park is the location close to Seattle. Beware - it is difficult for a big rig. We have a 38 ft 5th wheel and the road into the park was very windy, lots of tall trees, I would advise people to not try to navigate this in the dark or at dusk when towing. Park really needs to trim some trees if they want to make this big rig friendly. Our site was B49, right next to the ampitheather. Supposedly a pull-through site, but no way could we make the turn around the tree in the curved part of the site. We ended up backing in from the other side of our site. Verizon coverage was awful in this park, Sprint and AT&T was okay, but only with boosters, no coverage without boosting equipment. Park is a bit run down due to lack of funding. Not sure we'll ever stay here again even though we have friends to visit within 5 miles of this location. Way too expensive for the hassle. Day use fees are collected at this park and you can end up with a very long back up to get into the park. They do not have a separate lane in the entry area for those that are already checked in and paid. Waited in line 20 minutes one time, just to get into the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2014
$37
We stayed here only one night and this campground appears to be old and run down. Our picnic table was covered in green algae and had a chunk out of the corner. We had a pull through site so we did have privacy on one side but the spots are pretty close together. Dogs were barking, radios blaring, etc. We won't be back. Also, this park is set in the middle of a residential neighborhood which is kind of strange, and didn't exactly give me a feeling of safety. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$20
Nice small state park within 20 miles of the southern part of Seattle. I agree with the comments about the walk ins and the site board not being very helpful. Two sides to it by crossing the road separating the park. West side, camping and the shore front day use area. Winter use is great. Hard to find all years campsites sometimes. Looks like major upgrades to the utilities. Not our first time here and will stay again as a wayside. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$20
This is our second stay at Dash Point. We visit our daughter in Seattle and camp here because it is close to her. There are lovely shade trees here and the sites aren't too close together. The turns are quite tight in some of the campsites which is the only reason we gave it an 8. If you have a bigger RV, the B loop might be really tight for you. However, it is lovely and shaded and most pleasant. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$31
PROS: Good location near shopping and restaurants. Nice shady spots and decent-sized spaces (no problem putting out slides). Nice walking trails and good for dogs. Relatively quiet. CONS: Limited satellite reception, no Verizon Wi-Fi connection, limited AT&T cell. Some sites aren't level. Have to reserve on state park website with a fee. No laundry of course with a state park. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
To our surprise, the park had added sewer hook ups this last Spring (there was only water and electric sites) so it was nice to find that we would enjoy the added convenience without any added cost. We stayed here for three nights and had to deal with barking dogs, crying kids in the middle of the night, and loud talking/laughing way past the time for 'quiet hours'. No one is at the park to monitor after 8:00 p.m. The beach is across the road and quite a distance from the campground itself. The roads throughout the CG are narrow and sites are small. We were in Site #32 and there was minimal screening between us and the adjoining sites. It's located fairly close to shopping (within 5 miles). Perhaps we would consider staying here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
The only point lost is for how walk-ins are handled. Virtually everywhere else that we have been in SPs, when nobody is at the gate, reserved sites will have tags on the posts so that one can tell what is available & what is not. Not so at Dash Point. We set up at a vacant site, one of the few suitable for large rigs, only the have the person who reserved it show up just as we finished setting up in a little Scamp TT. They were only there for 2 nights vs our 6 nights but they were not about to relinquish the site & take a more size appropriate site which was available. We moved, squeezing ourselves into a back in much more suitable for the little Scamp. Oh well. Otherwise many improvements have been made at Dash Point since our last visit 3 years ago, including lengthening a number of sites along with new power and water facilities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$33
This was our 4th of 12 stops on our 28 day, 7 state camping adventure with wife and 2 kids. This was the 1st of 2 Washington State Parks and the place was beautiful! Located in Federal Way (20 minutes south of Seattle), it is a few minutes from town, but located in a very lush park/forest. They have trails going to Puget Sound. The kids absolutely loved it. Only downfall was that there was no sewer hook-up at campsite, but everything else was great! Would definitely return! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$27
We really liked this park but it is not for larger rigs. We are only 36' and had some tight turns to make in order to get into the site we chose online (#48). We had to pull past the sited and back into it. The trees are not trimmed back from the road which makes it difficult for full body paint. Overall once we did get in and set up we loved it! The hike to the beach is beautiful whether you go on the trail or the road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2009
$25
Camp hosts were friendly and accommodating. The park itself is very poorly maintained. Paths to the restrooms are sometimes not marked, and some that are marked lead through a swamp. The restrooms themselves were in such a state of disrepair that they were very close to the disgusting category. I mean, come on, I realize that all States have budget problems, but can we not purchase a new shower curtain to replace the one that is shredded from top to bottom in 4 places? Back in sites have not been updated to accommodate larger vehicles for many years. We have a 26' travel trailer towed with a Suburban, and I was thankful that there was one pull through site left. It would have taken a long time to get my trailer in one of the back-in sites if at all. My backing skills would fall into the reasonably competent category. I would not stay here again under any circumstances. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$20
Typical state park set up with fire ring and table. Only 28 sites have water and electric and these are the most popular. All the remaining sites are dry. Bathrooms were clean but old and very basic. Reservations are available (at a cost) and recommended if staying during the summer or holidays. We raked our own site to get rid of cigarette butts and nut shells. Great location to visit Tacoma...don't miss the glass museum! Free parking and free, fast tram service to downtown. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2006
$23
Definitely not for larger units, site are not meant for maneuvering anything over 20' long. The staff were great, very helpful and friendly. The hike to the beach is a fair distance, crowded once you get there with the local urban youth (not very pleasant) If your going to Wild Waves this is probably a one of the better places to camp. Would not make this a destination campground - quite busy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$22
Nice shaded park. Lots of hiking trails and small beach area. Most sites are private, small, lots of dirt and no grass. Picnic tables in very poor shape. They dont keep good track of how many people they allow per site. One site had 4 tents and about 12 people, caused for lots of traffic and people around. The location to the city is great. Within in 10 minutes you can be at Wild Waves, Se Tac Mall and Tacoma. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2003
$22
This is a truly beautiful wooded park. The park itself has not been updated to accommodate modern motorhomes. Roads are very narrow which restrict entry into sites. Made reservation 6 months prior to visit with service who claimed to be familiar with park. They could not have picked a worse site for a 40' motorhome. Park is designed for tents, trailers and small motorhomes. Would not advise anything larger than about 32 feet. Tow vehicle cost another $10.00 a day for a parking permit. That made the camping fee $36 after paying the reservation fee. No wonder park was only 60% full on a hot June weekend. The area around the park has grown up so park is no longer "in the country". Felt security was needed 24 hrs, not just in the night hours. The camp hosts were the friendliest and most helpful I have ever met, but were given no ability to make decisions. The park ranger who showed up after dark was the rudest & most unfriendly I have ever met. He spent his time advising people that hadn't stopped for a stop sign at the dark and closed entry shack! There are trails around park that even go to the beach. There is no trail map and trails are unmarked with many Y's. After 2 hrs we were unable to find the beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com