206561 User submitted reviews online!!
Rest-a-While RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (360) 877-9474
CGID3136

Rest-a-While RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
92
Date of Stay
September 2012
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   7   1   7   6   3   6   8   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2012
$34
The park was clean but old and in need of upgrades. Lots of year round residents. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$40
This park comes across as somewhat shabby. Of what appears to have been a fairly thriving diverse enterprise only the RV park was operating when we visited. We had a water side site which had a 50 amp and a 20 amp service. The 20 amp did not function. The cable and WIFI worked better than many places we have stayed. The water side sites are a little tight but paved, level and clean. We enjoyed the view. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2012
$38
The Rest-A-While should be put to rest. It is a big time "has been" place. Website looked good with waterfront sites, fresh fish market, marina, drive-in food, private clam and oyster beach, etc. When we arrived, we found that everything except the park's sites were closed up. Even the beach was posted as not safe because of some parasite infestation. They took a $20 deposit on even a fire pit, then didn't open the office until 10 am, which is after most rigs have left, thus, leaving the $20 for them. They charged our daughter and husband $7.00 per day per kid (they have 4), so that left a poor taste right there. Our sites were very old, but were overlooking the beautiful Hood Canal, which we did enjoy. All around, though, we won't return. This place is really an old relic that is all but dead. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$34
We are staying here for 5 nights. Our Bluebird group meets here every year. They have put in a few 50 amp hookups new this year. It's right on Hood Canal but not on the ocean. Some spots are right on the Canal. We are in site 19 with 50 amp full hookups. They also have sites across the road back in the trees. Place is pretty old, but the hookups are OK. Our group has been coming here for 8 years in the fall and we will continue to come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
Nice park, some sites are right on the water. Other sites located across the hwy, lots of shade. Call ahead to book sites on water as they fill up quickly. Very nice/helpful staff. Reasonable rates considering the location. Local shopping, gas and groceries within 2 miles. Stayed here last year and will come back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2009
$33
Somehow they lost our reservation. Called in Feb. for a Memorial Day weekend spot & calling a week before arrival to confirm. We think they overrode our reservation w/someone in our same party w/the same last name. No apologies, etc. And they don't require deposits so I couldn't really prove that I ever called in the 1st place. Because of the Hood Canal Bridge closure, traffic on Hwy 101 in Hoodsport is up 63%, and it horrendous, ALL NIGHT long!! The way the hook-up's are, we had to have the bed in our 5th just feet away from 101 & it sounded like semi's were going to come barreling into us!! Plus, there's no privacy, not much for kids to do & Hoodsport doesn't offer much. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$33
Overall campground was nice. Sites are pretty close to each other; no privacy. No fire pits, you have to rent them. Sites are not level, wish they would spend a few dollars to properly grade each site. Strange that they had hookups on the wrong side, had to purchase more hose to connect. Campground is very quite considering you are right on Hwy 101. Host are very nice, they even help get you into your site. Would stay there again if I could get a different site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
We had a great stay here. I have ridden or driven by this place since I was a kid and never stopped. I have seen the cabins replaced with RV sites and never stayed here till now and it was a very pleasant experience all around. It is a bit old-fashioned as RV parks go as the sites run from short to stretched and some of them are kind of weird as to the hook-ups location. The front, beach, are kind of close, but since there weren't too many sites taken, they were more than adequate.. We have decided that since it's only 45 miles from home, we'll be doing some weekend trips this winter and we'll use the front sites. The restrooms are clean, nice laundry and a very nice meeting room. Oh, and it has a sling type boat launch and TONS of Oysters which you can either pick yourself or buy in the office. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$30
We had a great View of Hoods Canal from our water front site 28. They have a boat lift to lauch your boat. The oysters we picked on their beach for a very small fee where great. The only negative was the waterfront sites are a little close. The management and staff were very friendly. It's a place we'll visit again after the season rush is over. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$29
This is a nice place for a short outing. Stayed here one night in a waterfront space. The office was friendly and helpful. WiFi Internet signal was very strong. There were many TV channels on the cable connection. Most of the facilities such as the office, clubhouses, laundry, and rest rooms are on the other side of the highway from the waterfront. The waterfront spaces get the best view but one needs to take a short walk across the highway to get to the main facilities. For meals you can go to the Tides Restaurant next door or try the nearby Lucky Dog Casino, which looks like an inviting space. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$28
I camped here for a week with some friends. We chose Parkside as opposed to waterfront as the waterfront sites are mainly cement and very close together. But a great view of the canal. My site was close to the clubhouse and even tho there was a club meeting there that weekend the noise was minimal. The managers are very helpful and friendly. We had an issue with the septic tank backing up at one of the sites and their response was immediate. The owner happened to be there at the time and he also dug right in to help and deal with the cleanup. I really enjoyed my stay here and would definitely return again. The WiFi was one of the best I have encountered. There were 5 of us online (at our campsite) at the same time and still had reasonable speed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2007
$28
We stayed at a waterfront site with the weekly rate. There is no beach to speak of, not in a conventional sandy sense. At high tide the water is up to the wall, at low tide the gravel and vegetation beach is exposed. The beach front sites are feet from highway 101 with no sound or privacy barrier. Fortunately, the highway sees little traffic at night, so it wasn't too bad. Crystal clear cable with over 60 channels. WiFi is free, signal strengh was weak, but strong enough to connect and worked most of the time. We had the best camper neighbors at this park. I would, however, try a different park closer to the Port Thompson/Port Angeles area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$24
We had a good weekend here on a warm summer weekend. Our neighbors were all regulars for the most part and were all very friendly. Following a posted calendar, we were allowed to shuck oysters on the park's private beach. We stayed in the main park, but when we return, we'll try the water side of the park, you are just steps from the Hood Canal. Park is under new ownership, so hopefully will not go downhill. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$28
What a surprise. This was a real nice and restful camp ground. We had a ocean site and it was just wonderful. Room to setup our stuff and enjoy the sites of Hood Canal. Very friendly staff. I would stay here again anytime I'm headed this way. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2001
$22
Very friendly people and helpful, great view of Hoods Canal Groups get an oyster feed in season. We go here at least once a year We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com