220198 User submitted reviews online!!
Rest-a-While RV Park was rated 5 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (360) 877-9474
CGID3136

Rest-a-While RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
92
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
no
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   1   2   1   1   5   7   1   7   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  no  no  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  no  no  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2014
$45
Our Group had shown up the 15th of July small and had to wait 45 minutes for the New Asian Owner to decide to finally show up to check us in. Now it has been 10 years since our group had visited this R.V Park and the old management was still the owner then. Had we known it had changed hands and known about the sad conditions of the place we certainly would have stayed some where else. The new owner has an issue understanding the English language, he also needs to be more respectable to those that rent from him, there are no set rules to the place any longer just the ones he decides to enforce when he chooses. The camp grounds were in terrible condition, old and tired to say the least, some folks that were farther in the back were both loud and rude. Most of the trailers there were either very old Mobile Homes, or shabby older R.V's one person who has potted plants clustered around the front of his Older dingy 5th wheel in the back was extremely rude and nosy while we stayed here. The Manger did not seem to know much about the running or the rules of the place though he did drive his flat bed truck around the place all hours of both night and day, I guess he thought he was acting as the places security guard. The female staff was not much help either when it came to aiding us with our electric issues which kept tripping the meter we were set up on. So all in all this once thriving R.V Park has fallen to its knees, old tired and out dated in both the internet as well as the electric, its new owner needs to put some money into restoring it to be able to attract future renters if he expects to ever recover half of the six hundred thousand he said he purchased it for. If I were to rate this place it would fall way below standards. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2014
$45
Was never so let down in a place that the Website lied about. First of all the entire place was so run down, the grounds were unbelievably shabby compared to the others we stayed at around the area. All the sites had very old electrical outlets and the Wi Fi was never reliable, we were for ever talking to a Man who referred to himself as the "Manger" that was walking around behind a Wheel Chair. He explained that the place had only just changed ownership and that there were going to be amazing changes this summer to up grade the grounds. We were upset about the two Pit bulls that were tethered to some old boat moorings they challenged our little dogs every time we walked around the landing. One day one of the dogs broke the rope it was tied to and charged one of our Members, I said something to the Man who proclaimed to be the Manger about this and he informed our group that nothing would be done about it because the Owner of the R.V Park was good friends of the people who owned the two dogs. The other side of this Camp Ground is larger than the waterside but it is in worse shape by far, how can someone who owns a R.V Park charge the rates he does when the place is so beat up and run down. Next to the Office is a very old and run down Motor Home that has a smaller R.V parked along side with a very rusted top, ( it appeared to not run ) this place stank of decay and liqueur. The one trailer next to it was not as bad but it to was clearly beat up also, is this a R.V Park or Mobile Home Park for the Homeless?. We did how ever notice one single smaller older Trailer up front that the person clearly cares enough to place a nice little wooden fence around it. This so called Rest a While R.V Park really needs to not worry so much about renting the place out until the Owner steps up and up grades it. We will not be back and will be informing many other Groups about the poor condition of the place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2014
$45
This once great park has really fallen on hard times. I believe the new owner (As of Oct 2013) is trying to bring the park up, but its really needing a lot of TLC. Electrical issues on the water side needs to be addressed. The boxes are OLD and rusty. Some of our members had breakers go often. Talking with another RV group it appears this new owner is trying to restore it, but He needs to invest in the grounds big time. Needs to get rid of the "Full Timers" with seedy rigs and seedier jobs (IE Ladies of the night). I will wait for a year to see if it improves but as it sits now I doubt I will recommend the park. Especially with the Price they charge .. $45 a night water side and $40 a night park side is really steep for the condition its in. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2014
$45
Not a place to stay, always check out the R.V reviews about this site before staying here. Though large and accommodating it is so old and out dated. We registered online at this place and when we came to get our sites the owner/manger had to be contacted by phone, very un-professional to say the least. Once here we had to wait 45 minutes for the owner to show up, then we were taken to our sites across to the water side. Was nice except for the two Pit bulls tethered outside of the Mobile home, very aggressive both towards people as well as our dogs, we complained to the Manager Ernie but nothing was done about it. He explained to our group that these people were friends of the owner so nothing would be done about the dogs, there are young children that play around here and soon a lawsuit will be laid at the owners door. As far as the condition of the other side? it was worse. The laundry does not offer enough dryers and washers, the restrooms were dirty and not kept stocked. Once in there is a Trailer and next to it a very old and abused Motor Home up front by the Office, the Alcohol and dirty clothes smell coming out of the open door was unbelievable, no one keeps the grounds up. There is no place for children to play safely, no playground offered like others provide, and the photos that are posted are the same ones that the previous owner used in 2004, not even in the same class. The owner is miss-representing this R.V PARK. All the Electric and internet is so old you never get clear signals from either, and the price is over rated for the quality of services offered, please check out this place before you place your reservations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2014
$40
We were greatly disappointed by the condition of the place, first the R.V park is really not that at all it is more of a run down Mobile Home Park. It was not maintained at all we were a large group of 30 and could not believe the un-kept condition of the grounds. The water side is the only part of this tired ole R.V Camp that is partly maintained, though clean on this side the entire place needs a complete facelift. The electric is out dated, internet kept failing due to old wiring, sites are old and run down, there is really nothing to do at this place other than walking across the road at the water. There is no place to walk our Dogs with out going into another's site which is rude to those camping. The showers were smelly, dingy and never very well cared for, the laundry room had only two washers and dryers for so many sites. There was one older Motor Home and Trailer on the right side of the road next to the Business Office that had household items around their sites along with a smaller older R.V that sat there also (not running), my husband was appalled at this and talked to our other members about the way the Owner of the place allowed such trash to be here. How sad to allow a place to host such people who clearly do not care how they live to be apart of his business, clearly anyone who permits this type of person to live that way has no business running a R.V Camp. Needless to say we will not be returning and will be sure to tell others about the place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2012
$34
The park was clean but old and in need of upgrades. Lots of year round residents. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$40
This park comes across as somewhat shabby. Of what appears to have been a fairly thriving diverse enterprise only the RV park was operating when we visited. We had a water side site which had a 50 amp and a 20 amp service. The 20 amp did not function. The cable and WIFI worked better than many places we have stayed. The water side sites are a little tight but paved, level and clean. We enjoyed the view. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2012
$38
The Rest-A-While should be put to rest. It is a big time "has been" place. Website looked good with waterfront sites, fresh fish market, marina, drive-in food, private clam and oyster beach, etc. When we arrived, we found that everything except the park's sites were closed up. Even the beach was posted as not safe because of some parasite infestation. They took a $20 deposit on even a fire pit, then didn't open the office until 10 am, which is after most rigs have left, thus, leaving the $20 for them. They charged our daughter and husband $7.00 per day per kid (they have 4), so that left a poor taste right there. Our sites were very old, but were overlooking the beautiful Hood Canal, which we did enjoy. All around, though, we won't return. This place is really an old relic that is all but dead. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$34
We are staying here for 5 nights. Our Bluebird group meets here every year. They have put in a few 50 amp hookups new this year. It's right on Hood Canal but not on the ocean. Some spots are right on the Canal. We are in site 19 with 50 amp full hookups. They also have sites across the road back in the trees. Place is pretty old, but the hookups are OK. Our group has been coming here for 8 years in the fall and we will continue to come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
Nice park, some sites are right on the water. Other sites located across the hwy, lots of shade. Call ahead to book sites on water as they fill up quickly. Very nice/helpful staff. Reasonable rates considering the location. Local shopping, gas and groceries within 2 miles. Stayed here last year and will come back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2009
$33
Somehow they lost our reservation. Called in Feb. for a Memorial Day weekend spot & calling a week before arrival to confirm. We think they overrode our reservation w/someone in our same party w/the same last name. No apologies, etc. And they don't require deposits so I couldn't really prove that I ever called in the 1st place. Because of the Hood Canal Bridge closure, traffic on Hwy 101 in Hoodsport is up 63%, and it horrendous, ALL NIGHT long!! The way the hook-up's are, we had to have the bed in our 5th just feet away from 101 & it sounded like semi's were going to come barreling into us!! Plus, there's no privacy, not much for kids to do & Hoodsport doesn't offer much. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$33
Overall campground was nice. Sites are pretty close to each other; no privacy. No fire pits, you have to rent them. Sites are not level, wish they would spend a few dollars to properly grade each site. Strange that they had hookups on the wrong side, had to purchase more hose to connect. Campground is very quite considering you are right on Hwy 101. Host are very nice, they even help get you into your site. Would stay there again if I could get a different site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
We had a great stay here. I have ridden or driven by this place since I was a kid and never stopped. I have seen the cabins replaced with RV sites and never stayed here till now and it was a very pleasant experience all around. It is a bit old-fashioned as RV parks go as the sites run from short to stretched and some of them are kind of weird as to the hook-ups location. The front, beach, are kind of close, but since there weren't too many sites taken, they were more than adequate.. We have decided that since it's only 45 miles from home, we'll be doing some weekend trips this winter and we'll use the front sites. The restrooms are clean, nice laundry and a very nice meeting room. Oh, and it has a sling type boat launch and TONS of Oysters which you can either pick yourself or buy in the office. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$30
We had a great View of Hoods Canal from our water front site 28. They have a boat lift to lauch your boat. The oysters we picked on their beach for a very small fee where great. The only negative was the waterfront sites are a little close. The management and staff were very friendly. It's a place we'll visit again after the season rush is over. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$29
This is a nice place for a short outing. Stayed here one night in a waterfront space. The office was friendly and helpful. WiFi Internet signal was very strong. There were many TV channels on the cable connection. Most of the facilities such as the office, clubhouses, laundry, and rest rooms are on the other side of the highway from the waterfront. The waterfront spaces get the best view but one needs to take a short walk across the highway to get to the main facilities. For meals you can go to the Tides Restaurant next door or try the nearby Lucky Dog Casino, which looks like an inviting space. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$28
I camped here for a week with some friends. We chose Parkside as opposed to waterfront as the waterfront sites are mainly cement and very close together. But a great view of the canal. My site was close to the clubhouse and even tho there was a club meeting there that weekend the noise was minimal. The managers are very helpful and friendly. We had an issue with the septic tank backing up at one of the sites and their response was immediate. The owner happened to be there at the time and he also dug right in to help and deal with the cleanup. I really enjoyed my stay here and would definitely return again. The WiFi was one of the best I have encountered. There were 5 of us online (at our campsite) at the same time and still had reasonable speed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2007
$28
We stayed at a waterfront site with the weekly rate. There is no beach to speak of, not in a conventional sandy sense. At high tide the water is up to the wall, at low tide the gravel and vegetation beach is exposed. The beach front sites are feet from highway 101 with no sound or privacy barrier. Fortunately, the highway sees little traffic at night, so it wasn't too bad. Crystal clear cable with over 60 channels. WiFi is free, signal strengh was weak, but strong enough to connect and worked most of the time. We had the best camper neighbors at this park. I would, however, try a different park closer to the Port Thompson/Port Angeles area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$24
We had a good weekend here on a warm summer weekend. Our neighbors were all regulars for the most part and were all very friendly. Following a posted calendar, we were allowed to shuck oysters on the park's private beach. We stayed in the main park, but when we return, we'll try the water side of the park, you are just steps from the Hood Canal. Park is under new ownership, so hopefully will not go downhill. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$28
What a surprise. This was a real nice and restful camp ground. We had a ocean site and it was just wonderful. Room to setup our stuff and enjoy the sites of Hood Canal. Very friendly staff. I would stay here again anytime I'm headed this way. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2001
$22
Very friendly people and helpful, great view of Hoods Canal Groups get an oyster feed in season. We go here at least once a year We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com