206626 User submitted reviews online!!
Cape Disappointment State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 44 user reviews. Phone: (360) 642-3078
CGID3138

Cape Disappointment State Park

Camp Information
Sites
250
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   10   8   8   8   6   9   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
We went into here along SR4 in Washington from Kelso and I-5, rather than the busier US30 in Oregon, which takes you through downtown Astoria on the way. I can't say this is the best campground ever, but it is nice. After Labor Day things were pretty quiet there, though there were no full hookup sites available online. They were 3/4 full on the weekdays we were there. As others state, it is a little confusing getting into the park because signage from the North is not the best. A sharp right turn in Ilwaco town center is tough in a big rig with a toad. Check-in folks aren't ever in a hurry, but once you find the site, backing in is easy, and most all the sites I saw were level and hard surfaced. A bit muddy over the campsite, but pretty good separation from your neighbors. And campfires were permitted, despite a burn ban over the rest of the state. Lots to see in the area, with trails and sights within the park ("no RV's" on some roads), sea fishing, Lewis and Clark stuff. Not far to Astoria with its superb Maritime Museum, and then beyond to Seaview and Cannon Beach if you crave company(!). North to Long Beach and Willapa Bay. Only downside is complete lack of signal for Verizon or ATT. I couldn't pick up a TV signal, but there were several radio stations. Not a bad place to spend a week. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$37
This is a wonderful State Campground. The RV sites are paved, level, and long enough to accommodate our 40 foot RV and toad. Most sites are within easy walking distance to the beach. There are less expensive sites without hookups, that are equally spacious. There is one negative: cell phone service, at least with Verizon, is not available at the campsites. We drove several miles to Ilwaco to get E-mail messages. One caveat: The campground is several miles from town on Route 100 Loop. Follow this road going straight out of town, an extention of the main road, following the Loop counter clockwise. Go about three miles, and there will be a fork in the road. Go right, following Route 100 Spur. About a mile you will enter the State park, and there, you will find signs directing you to the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$24
Spectacular! Incredible historical location. Great biking and hiking trails. Access to the ocean. Tide pools and light houses. Fantastic interpretive center. Private sites 20' or so between, but a lot of trees separating sites. Relatively level. Easy in easy out for bigger rigs. Arrived after office had closed, but Washington State had a phone to call for a site. I picked up the receiver and automatically the phone connected to a real person who signed us up. Would definitely would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$28
Absolutely awesome location!. Really nice if you like the sound of the ocean. Space was easy to back into and had adequate pavement for parking and walking around our motorhome. 50 amp service was excellent as well. The road into the campground is a bit long and very twisty, but overhead trees and branches were pruned sufficiently, just use care driving in. One note - a toad is really handy as RV's are prohibited on the access roads to the lighthouses, trail heads, etc. Would have rated it a bit higher only because for some reason (safety?) the loop closest to the beach was closed off this year (we stayed in it 2 winters ago). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$32
The rate reflects a three night stay with the reservation fee and the out-of-state fee that Washington State Parks charge.We had a full hookup site, which was nice. We were also lucky that we got a site that was open enough for satellite. The sites are not completely private, but OK privacy. When we were there the weather was quite bad so we did not get to enjoy all of the activities that we would have liked. Our Verizon cell phone did not work there, nor did our Verizon data card. We enjoyed the park and will definitely return when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
We dry camped here in a spot by the lake. It was grassy with tons of room to spread out, pitch a tent, and access the many trails this park has to offer. The restrooms in this part of the park are older and could use a refresh. The site we had was right next to the check-in but we hardly noticed any extra noise. We drove through the other campgrounds where most of the RV's were parked. Not much privacy, but some did offer views of the beach. This is a huge park, with so many things to do. It is just a quick trip over the Astoria bridge to several other fun parks for kids or a visit to Oregon beach towns of Seaside and Cannon Beach. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
Great RV sites with level pads, lots of privacy, trees, and convenient access to beach. The interior of the park is clean and the bathrooms are great. Beach had lots of trash. bathrooms charge you $.50 for 3 minute shower. No trails from the campsites to the hiking trails which requires you to drive to hike (design flaw?). Park apparently doesn't have a mosquito abatement program and they were thick. No cell coverage and no TV. All in all it was a nice park, but I won't go back because the mosquitoes were unbearable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$28
Cape Disappointment State park is a very nice Washington State Park. All the roads and sites are paved and are all level. Most sites are lined with trees or bushes which offer some a little privacy on many sites. The sites are spaced about 25-30 feet apart so that they are not right on top of each other. The showers are $.50 for 3 minutes so bring lots of quarters for that long hot shower. Showers were okay but you will want to wear your showers shoes as the shower floor is just concrete. There is no Verizon 3G service or phone service at all so do your email and make your phone calls before arrive at the park. There is a pay phone if one needs to make a call. There is no cable TV but I was able to get three very fuzzy TV stations from Portland on my batwing antenna. Many sites are not satellite friendly so the TV might have to stay off while at this park. The camping sites are over a mile from the gate where you check in and miles from the nearest town. We noticed a number of good hiking trails in the park and the beach is nearby for exploring. There is a hiking trail that goes to the nearby town of Itwaco that is a few miles away and a trail also goes out to the famous lighthouse. We stayed at this park 25 years ago and they have made many improvements since our last stay. The Coast Guard rough water rescue training unit is nearby. The Park Ranger that checked us in was very nice but when we extended a day the second Park Ranger had an attitude and was only there for the paycheck. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$28
This is a beautiful park! The beach is great and easy to get to and the sites are convenient and well maintained. Looking forward to my next visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$33
Pros: Full hookups, level large sites, large rig friendly, very near ocean beach, trees for shelter. Cons: Can be windy. Cape Disappointment State Park is one of our favorite camping locations. The beach is only a short walk from your campsite. The park is open all year. We spent New Years at the park this year and will probably go again next year. The Lewis and Clark interpretive center is nearby and there are two lighthouses in the park. Hiking trails abound and kite flying on the beach is always fun. Several great restaurants are located nearby. 42nd Street Café in Seaview and Pelicano in Ilwaco are restaurants you would not expect to find in a small town. A trip is always made to the bakery in Long Beach. Very family friendly. We took our children and grandchildren in July. Lots of space for outdoor activities. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$36
This is our favorite Washington State Park. The sites are level and paved and the area with the picnic table is gravel (so you don't have to walk around in mud if it rains) with plenty of room to have a canopy over your table and the awning out without fear of catching them on fire. We stayed in site 43. The walk to the beach is easy, there's one very small hill (literally a couple of feet long). The bathrooms are each in their own "room" as are the showers. They were regularly cleaned and restocked. The sites are set up in cul-de-sacs which are great for small kids to ride bikes around and not be out of ear shot and there's an "island" of trees and such where the kids can also play. The only problem we had with this park was with one of our neighbors who kept parking his extra vehicle out in the loop to load and unload and would leave it there for a long time. People couldn't drive around and it was hard to get the rangers or hosts to come when it was happening. But that is more dealing with an inconsiderate neighbor. There is a new wood-fired pizza place set up where the shuttle used to be and they deliver to the campsites which was fun (if you want Wi-Fi go eat there and they have it). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$28
There is easy access to RV site. Relative privacy for each site. Clean washrooms, but no campfire wood handy. Beach access was a little difficult, because of driftwood. Biking and hiking sites were excellent. We loved being able to get fresh clams and barbecue them. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$6
We had to wait till 4:30 PM till they finally let us in to the park. This was after we had to leave Grayland Beach at 6:30 AM because of the tsunami and reflects the care they take for their guests. The staff was very upbeat and the campground was very well kept up for this time of the year. Weather was not too bad and we met some really neat folks and that's one reason that I love state parks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$32
This is a great park. Nice space between sites. We had a water and electric site. The restrooms in our loop weren't well maintained or cleaned. There is a new bike path from just north of the campground all the way into Long Beach. It runs ~ 8 miles one way. It's paved level and runs right behind the beach in the dunes and grass. Awesome day trip with the kids. We will return here often. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$33
We stayed in a full hookup site with our 40' motorhome and Jeep. We found that we could not hookup up to to sewer because of the overhead tree branches. We couldn't back up far enough because it was far in the rear. Verizon doesn't work here. The sites have ample space. The hosts didn't visit the camp areas to enforce rules - dogs barking and left tied up alone, parking on the grass, curfew times. The lighthouse "tour" was terrible. The gentleman stayed on the top and we were told to go up by ourselves. We've given lighthouse tours ourselves and know that this is a big safety concern. Once on top he rambled on about anything - very disorganized. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
Great park. Lots to do and see. It's very quiet. I will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$36
A great campground, we had site # 45, an easy back-in, with full hookups. We had an opening for satellite TV signal, but no Verizon cell/internet at all. It is a long way from the check in area to the full hookup loop. The beach access is an easy walk, and both lighthouses are just a short hike from their respective parking lots. The restrooms were clean, showers require $.50 for 3 minutes, so remember your quarters. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$31
We have stayed at least a week every summer for the past four summers. The first three years we were in a trailer, and this past year a 5th wheel. This is my most favorite park ever. The sites are spacious and the park is breathtaking. Park staff is wonderful, restrooms are clean, the beach is easy access from everywhere. The park has a summer concert series at Waikiki Beach, and this year had the addition of the pizza concession trailer (which will deliver to your site) and the burger/clam chowder trailer. We enjoyed it all. Also, new bike paths through the park. We rode all the way to Bolstad Beach in Long Beach from Beards Hollow. It was gorgeous and an easy ride for our group of 4 (we are all over 50). If the camp store doesn't have what you need (and they stock a lot- Washington wines and even green chillis) there is a store in Ilwaco, and even a better store in Seaview (Sids) with great produce and prices. Also, you don't want to miss the ranger shows. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$26
This is our favorite place to camp. The sites are easy to get into, the beach is easy to access and the sites are, for the most part, private. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$33
Park staff was very friendly. Lots to do at the park, hiking, walking the beach and very close to Long Beach. Campsites were very well maintained. Had a great time at this park and would visit again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2010
$28
No TV reception (via antenna), and Verizon cell phone and air card do not work here. Ah! Hence, the name "Cape Disappointment." Ok, all joking aside. This is a HUGE state park. The road up to the park is very winding. If you have a pet, it may get car sick (my cat sure did, poor thing). Unlike other parks in Washington State (where you get some "acreage" with your sites), the sites are kind of close together, but there are some trees to provide "separation." Each site gets a fire ring and a decent picnic table. The first 60 sites are full hookup (including sewer), the next 30 sites are water and electric only, and the rest are dry camping. The full hookup sites were on paved pads, NICE! Not sure if all the spots are paved. The sites are in lots of little circle loops called "pods." Each "pod" has about 10 spots. In each "pod," two of the 10 spots are right next to the "Beach access" trail. Not bad for April when I was here, but if it's "high season," you would get no privacy in those spots. Also, although none of the "pods" have any sort of ocean view, if you are in a pod that is close to the ocean, you will definitely hear it. Not an issue for me, but thought I would point it out. The rest rooms and showers were in a nice building. The restrooms were unisex, but they were private, each toilet in a separate room with a locking door. Same with the showers. Typical for Washington State, showers are 50 cents for three minutes. The park has a store, but if you aren't towing a car, it's a long long long walk (1.5 miles) from the campsites to the store. I did see a sign advertising "laundry available" but I didn't walk to the store to verify it. There are some hiking trails, and a couple of them lead to beautiful lighthouses. I wanted to mention, depending on the configuration of your RV, you may have to be clever with your water hose due to the location of the sewer hole. I had to use a long hose and drape and wind it around the perimeter of my site to keep it from crossing the sewer hose. Lastly, if you have one of those RV surge protectors, it almost fits at the connection box! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$34
Very nice state park! Roads within the park are roomy and easy to back into the site. Very short walking distance to the beach with views of the lighthouse and north jetty. Park is well maintained and good for biking and beaching (when it isn't windy!) Sites are paved and have a picnic table and fire ring. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$18
Great park. Bathrooms/Showers are heated in the winter, very nice. Short hike to the beach and stargazing at night here is incredible. Sites are even and have a nice tree line between them for some privacy. Lots of things to do and plenty of hiking trails. Very popular park and fills up in summer. Seems impossible to get the sites closest to beach access but not much of a hike from any of the others. Great park for kids and bike riding. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2008
$26
For a state park this compares to any Oregon park, but costs you a few more bucks. But, a short walk to the ocean or a short ride into town. I love this place, and in October or early November you have it to yourself. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$29
This is truly an oceanfront campground. If you are lucky enough to have sites 1 to 20 you will have the ocean to lull you to sleep every night. You are within 100 feet of the beach. Sites are large, paved and well maintained. One of the best state parks we have ever stayed in. Lots of visibility of park rangers for security. We camp there yearly for the Washington State Kite Festival in Long Beach. Need to plan for this as the park is in high demand during the summer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$31
This is beach camping at its finest. Great park, great views, great lighthouse and beautiful beach with easy access. Also wonderful ranger programs. I plan to visit at least once a year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$26
Great park. Lots of trails, two beaches, two lighthouses, gun emplacements,and a great museum on Lewis & Clark. There is a small store and laundramat just before entering the main entrance. Some of the side roads in the parks don't allow RVs as no turnarounds. Adjacent Coast Guard station fairly active with a couple of helicopters flying in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$6
I thought this was a great park and even greater as we used the Washington State Park, Senior Citizen Off Season Pass and it only cost $6. a night for a Utility space. The roads and sites were paved, and well spaced so you didn't have to look in your neighbors window, the staff was friendly and we enjoyed the beach, hiking, the Lewis and Clark Interpretive Center and the lighthouses. Great place to go for Lewis and Clark buffs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$32
This is a great, clean family friendly park. The facilities are kept up much like a private resort. There is hiking and biking as well as all the normal beach activity nearby. It can get a bit windy so beware the awnings if you leave them unattended. There are summer concerts and other events that celebrate the park's role in the Lewis and Clark expedition. Even in bad weather this was a great stay. Paved pads, full hookups and plenty of space between guests. This met all our expectations. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$20
All new utilities and bathrooms in full hookup area. Very nice state park and close to local attractions! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2007
$26
They have finished the upgrades in the full h/u area and it is really first class.. We have camped here before and it's still a great place to go.. There is so much to do in the area and a lot of great places to eat.. For a great eating experience,I would suggest either the ARK or the Shoalwater, especially the latter.. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2007
$27
We love camping at the beach, and this park is on the beach. The park rangers were very polite, helpful and are apparently law enforcement officers since they were armed. The park is enormous with two beautiful and historic lighthouses and interpretive center. The Cape Disappointment lighthouse is more impressive than the North Jetty lighthouse, both require a hike - 3/4 mi. for Cape D. and 1/4 mi. for North Jetty. We would give the park a higher rating, except the restrooms were sometimes very dirty and the sites were fairly small and packed close together; which is really odd, since the park is enormous. All that said, we'll camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2006
$26
Serviced sites 1 through 60 have all new facilities to include new pavement, showers, heads, fire pits, picnic tables, and hookups. Many miles of trail, jetty, or beach hiking/walking available to those so inclined. There is also two accessible light houses and a comprehensive interpretive center for the history buffs all within two miles of the camp sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$22
This campground is at the tail end of a major overhaul. All hookups are brand new, new picnic table, new fire pit, and all sites have been repaved. There was a new shower/restroom facility near by but we didn't use it. Our site was unbeatable with a 200 foot path directly to the huge beach. Miles of trails in the woods or on the beach. There's also a restored operational lighthouse just a couple of miles away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2006
$27
This Washington State Park is over priced! The campgrounds are in round loops like a wagon wheel and dusty. No privacy what so ever. The wind howled all day and the trees didn't provide any shelter. I know now why they named it, Cape Disappointment! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$27
Space #22. There is alot of work being put into this park now. This site was a back-in, blacktopped with nice gravel area where the picnic table & fire pit were located. It says there was a tent pad but we could not see how a tent could fit into this space. Privacy is minimal in this park but the stay is for the beach and local towns and sights. We had early morning squals both nights we stayed and are not sure if this is normal for the area. They are building a new shower area and dump stations that were close to being finished. We enjoyed the kite flying and the town of Long Beach which is a must see. Did not have time to do much more. It is my favorite sandy beach park on the Washington Coast. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2005
$22
Within walking distance of beach. If you like dogs then this is the place for you! Some campers had 3-4 dogs and everybody takes their dogs to the beach. Some sites have 30 amp and water only and others have 20 amp, water & old sewer cast iron connections with no way to seal your hose. Washington state needs to upgrade this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$22
Beautiful, well maintained State Park. Large level sites, some privacy. Just a short 2 minute walk from our full service site to the absolutely gorgeous beach. Lots to see and do with 2 lighthouses, the Lewis & Clark Interpretive Center and the lovely small towns of Ilwaco and Longbeach. Great small secluded beach in a small bay at the entrance to the park. Good for young children, much smaller waves. Would recommend reservations especially for full service sites. Can't wait to visit again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2005
$24
A big state park right on the beach. Sites are out in the open and some are much closer to the beach. Our site only had 15 amp service. The restrooms were being painted each night of our stay and were closed a lot. There is a free shuttle during the summer months for the park and to the lighthouse and Ilwaco. The Lewis & Clark Intrepretive Center at Ft. Canby (in the park) is really neat and worth visiting. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2005
$22
State campground near the beach. Well run and secluded sites. Only 20 amp service. We would come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$22
Been going here every year since about 1999. Town of Long Beach, WA has a great fireworks display on the 4th of July and is only minutes from the the Cape Disappointment (Fort Canby). Free access and parking and it's right on the beach. Get there early and get a great spot but be prepared for a LOT of smoke and noise from the fireworks display. You can drive on the beach year round and the town (Long Beach) is tourist driven but clean, fun, and family oriented. This park books up fast when reservations become available (9 months in advance of your stay) so check online often at Washington State Parks web page. Actual state park is huge, has lots of flat places for bicycling and hills for hiking. Park is clean and has that very friendly feeling and atmosphere they should have. Rangers are polite and helpful. Has a "Ranger Rick" presentation at the outdoor amphitheatre during the summer months. Have camped here in everything from a 13' Scamp to my current 27 Ft Jayco travel trailer. We'll be here again 4th of July 2004 and have 4 spaces reserved in a great loop for the family and friends going. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$24
Stayed here in February, 2003. Greatest feature is the 2 minute walk to the beautiful beach. Sites are nice with some privacy. My only real disappointment was the pay showers. Seems cheesy. The Lewis and Clark Center was still being remodeled so we didn't get the full flavor but when done this will be a neat feature. The local town of Long Beach is also fun to visit. Good place for kids although no playground. We'll definitely be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2001
$30
What a wonderful campground! We had a one minute walk to the beach. Northhead lighthouse was the first thing we saw from the beach. Great for beachcombing, kite flying, or just sitting and admiring. Campground was great for bikes and rollerblades as well. Campground had great accessability to the Long Beach Penninsula and Astoria Bridge over to Oregon. We were very lucky to get a campsite, we started phoning to get a site in May for July. After 5 days of constant calling, we hit on a cancellation. Would go back in a Heartbeat. Loved the campground loved, Long Beach! Kudo's from Calgary, Alberta Canada!! We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2000
$19
Advise reservations as the CG fills nearly year round. Sites are level, paved, some pull through with fire rings and pcinic tables. Numerous hiking/biking trails lead to areas of historical significance including, old Fort Canby which was built to prevent the invasion of foreign forces. Another interesting side light is the accesability to the Columbia River Bar and the Pacific Ocean -- interesting to watch the freighters navigate the Channel to Portland. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com