219004 User submitted reviews online!!
Coloma Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 36 user reviews. Phone: (530) 621-2267
CGID314

Coloma Resort

Camp Information
Sites
96
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$46



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   8   10   10   7   10   8   7   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$46
We had a river site. The site was a back in, flat, level, dirt site with water and electric. There are no sites with sewer on the river. Getting across the one way bridge, with a 13'6" height limit from Highway 49 was the toughest part of the drive. Verizon is the only cell carrier that seemed to work in the park. Parts of the park were closed for periods of time due to school programs and a wedding. There was a dump station available when leaving. WiFi was free, and slow, but it worked. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$49
Drive across the one-way bridge and turn right for entrance. Back-in site was dirt and needed leveling, full hook-ups. Picnic table, some shade, fire pit. Each site had an awning for additional shade, nice touch. Staff was friendly. Swimming pool was not heated, very cold, and the kids playground was only a slide and some tires to climb. River sites don't have sewer, but the park has a dump-station. Popular park - very busy. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$45
Used this as a lay over between Mammoth and Sacramento to explore some of the gold country. The park is very crowded with people accessing the river. Their quiet time is from 10:00pm to 8:00am, but that did not stop a lot of people from breaking this rule. The quiet hours were not enforced. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. They had an ice cream social that we enjoyed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$45
Peaceful getaway spot and the sound of the river ensures a good night sleep. Riverfront sites are awesome with easy access to river. Beautiful grounds to take nice walks or swim in the river. Great campground to bring tubes and kayaks to launch straight from campsite. Owners provide exceptional customer service and staff are so friendly. Big rigs take hwy 50 and exit Shingle Springs to Lotus Dr. Much easier than Hwy 49. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$45
We have stayed here twice now, and it has become one of my all time favorites. The river side spots are large, and they let you pull in in any direction to optimize space when camping with multiple RV's. They are also tent friendly and have rental bunk house tents available. The area surrounding the park is a state park with lots to see and do, gold panning for example. They have a trash can in every site that they empty everyday, and sunshades are provided. There is lots of shade, but it does get hot in summer. You can raft down the river from one end of the park to the other, and they rent the supplies locally. When we arrived the initial vibe was they were rule happy, but we stayed up till the wee hours and were never bothered. Try it; you'll like it if you like a nice family camping park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$51
What we liked: many sites right on the American River, lots of trees, close to state park and Gold Discovery site, very nice helpful staff. What we didn't like: no cable TV and no broadcast stations at all, very weak WiFi signal that disappeared when an RV moved into the adjacent site, and overpriced for what was delivered. Some sites were large, but others were quite small. Our site had lots of dried dog waste that nobody cleaned until I did, indicating that the sites are not inspected enough between guests. Finally, it's not the park's fault, but the roads in and out are quite challenging and steep (14% grade in places) with tight turns and no shoulders. California Route 49 is inadequate and in my opinion unsafe, so use the alternate routes suggested by the park instead of GPS routes. Even those are hard for bigger RVs, even for a guy who used to drive 18-wheelers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$40
This place was amazing, we felt so lucky to have found it. We had a huge site right next to the American River and the closest RV was over 400 feet away (place was not busy). There were sites next to us and all around, but the place was seemingly empty. The fire pit was close to the river and you could hear the river all night long. Lots of shade under huge trees, very clean facility, great little hike and climbing on rocks to the nearby rapid. No fishing though. You can walk to Sutter's Mill and the nearby town. Great place to stay a night or two, with VERY friendly and helpful people too! One of the nicest places we've stayed. One problem, WiFi wasn't in range where we stayed (site 63). We needed to walk about 200 feet closer to get reception and that bummed the kids out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$56
This is a clean park and well managed. The staff was polite and helpful. Charged an extra $7 dollars per child per night, turned out to be $58 per night which is a little steep. Big rigs like ours (37') have minimal choices on sites we can fit. If you want sites right on the river, you'll need to book a year in advance. The bridge across the river to the campground is narrow and pretty scary to cross in a big rig. Was awesome to be so close to Coloma and walk to historical sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$45
This is a park that could be so much more, but they choose to use their location as main reason for visiting. They use the word "resort" but it is a campground. The park has 3 levels: River frontage with water/elec, the main level with full hookups, and the upper level with full hookups. The upper level looks like a quick after thought. Has basic sites, limited trees and not much to look at, though they do have a newer bathroom facility. The main level has sites up front with some bark and trees, sites in the middle with dirt, and sites along the back with grass (spring) or dried weeds (summer/fall) and trees. The riverfront is dirt, some are tricky to back into with the trees. Sites vary widely in capabilities, so make sure you ask as to how well your rig will fit. The pool is basic and seasonal, there is a small grass area and playground. The campground caters to campers, has stand alone cabins, tent cabins, rental trailers, and a small motel. They not only target campers but also large groups/organizations. It seems like they will try anything to see if it sticks, but never remove or update anything. The facilities are basic, but they do work, bathrooms seem over used and are only cleaned once a day. Road is paved to the grass area only, after that is dirt (and a dust bowl). Ignore the "resort" word, and come for the American River and camping. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2009
$44
The river front sites seemed nice but offered limited hook-ups. The park needs to be cleaned and updated. The full hook-up sites are very close together. The staff was friendly but did not enforce the quiet hours even after they were informed of a problem. A large group was very noisy and kept us awake most of the night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$44
Many waterfront sites. Narrow, but all have tables and shade trees. Waterfront sites do not have sewer. One-sided dump station can get busy at the end of a weekend. River access is at the upper end of the park only, and there is a steep bank from sites down to river. Large camp, with many permanent tents for school groups that come for wilderness training and ropes course. Do not trust your GPS directions from Highway 50. Get directions from the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$60
Excellent campground: very clean. I look forward to going back again next year. We happened to be here during a week when the campground was only perhaps 50% full, so it was very quiet and peaceful. I would highly recommend this campground to travelers in the California Gold Country. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$43
The park could use some updating. The sites are very narrow. Luckily we had no neighbors while we were there. River front spots are very scenic but have no sewer hook ups. Staff was friendly and the location is great, within an easy walk of historic Coloma. We would stay again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$35
This was our first time here and we loved it, being next to the river. It was cold and raining but it did not matter, the area is really beautiful and full of history. The staff here is very friendly. The park is large and there is a lot to do around the area. Will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$42
A nice location with great access to Gold Country attractions but it's a long and windy 8 miles from Hwy 50 in Placerville. The sites themselves are quite cramped. On a weekend the place fills up and overloads the restrooms and other facilities. Nice grassy areas for kids and dogs and of course the river can be a real treat! Well stocked gift shop and staff were friendly. Poor wi-fi service and virtually no cell service. Overall a good place to stay while visiting this wonderful area but by the end of summer there was quite a bit of deferred maintenance showing and the park was looking and feeling a bit tired, I guess. Overall, while an expensive proposition, we'd stay again but only on a midweek day. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$44
We visit this resort several times each summer. Our kids and grandkids love it there. They are able to put their inner tubes into the river at the top of the park, and ride down the river 1/4 mile to the bridge, get out, and do it again (life jackets required). There are also 1/2 and full day raft trips with professional guides at reasonable rates. Bike friendly. Nice pool and playground. Across the bridge is Marshall State Park, with a museum and several quaint shops that mark the site where gold was first discovered. Ice cream socials, gold panning and pancake breakfasts are some of the camp activities on the weekends. Several different venues for campers: there are rental cabins, rental trailers, rental tent cabins (with bunks for up to 10 people), tent sites and rv sites. There are outdoor kitchens, large covered dining areas for picnics, lots of grassy areas, lots of shade. The campground is flat and easy to navigate for people with disabilities, or older family members. Because of all of the above, we are planning a family reunion at this resort this summer, and the staff have been great in helping us with the logistics. Satellite reception is spotty, but it is possible to pick up in sites 18-22 and sites 71-72. Cell service not available except with Verizon, but pay phone at the store. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$45
Great place. Packed over Labor Day Weekend. Easy access to the American River. We are going back next Memorial Weekend. Can go river rafting, they pick you up at the campground. Always something going on. We were on the river. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$54
Our initial observation upon pulling in was WOW! For the first time, the website and the campground actually matched. We had a wonderful time at this campground and were pleased with the staff and the campground. Bathrooms/showers, though dated, were kept clean and stocked. River view campsites have electric/water hook ups only - no sewer. General store is well stocked. Family activities like an ice cream social ($1.00/scoop), wine tasting (for the adults - free) and panning for gold "clinic" for the kids were offered. Dropped a star because they charged extra after 2 people and the extra charge of $7.00 per person/per day was extreme in my opinion and it feels that we're being "penalized" for having 2 kids in what is a kid friendly resort. Other than that, we are already planning our return for next summer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$40
This is possibly our favorite campground we've stayed at. The resort is along the American River. They are directly behind Sutter's Mill and close to several other Gold Country activities. There are plenty of trees and they provide a shade awning for your picnic table which is nice. The only negative is the spaces are a bit narrow making for tight quarters. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$40
We stayed at Coloma Resort for a week last May. It's a wonderful place, smack dab in the heart of Gold Country. They put us up front, full-hook ups with a bunch of other RVs. As the week went on we had the whole section to ourselves and had a decent view without an RV next to us. River front sites have no hook-ups. If you call them, they will give the best route to get there. Don't take CA-49 from either Auburn or Placerville. It can be done but the roads wind a bit. Better the more straight route from CA-50 on North Shingle Road to Lotus Road to CA-49 to Coloma. They will also tell you if they will have a group of school children staying at the resort, tent camping. There were many groups of kids on field trips from all over the state and they're walking to and fro, from the state park and along the roads. But they weren't any bother and with parents and teachers on the trip as well, they were very well behaved. Places to visit while in the area, the Gold Hill Winery as mentioned before, the Gold Hill Olive Oil Company for some olive oil from locally grown olives, the Apple Hill orchard growing area just off CA-50 in Placerville; The Gold Bug Mine in Placerville; the Courthouse Museum in Auburn; Folsom Prison Museum was interesting; and The Argonaut Refreshment Saloon within walking distance of the Coloma Resort on CA-49. They have great locally made (Apple Hill) pies, especially the strawberry-rhubarb pie with ice cream! Don't forget to take a scenic drive to Georgetown, known as Growlersville back during the Gold Rush. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$40
The main attraction of this park is the river. We had a beautiful spot right on the river which was very neat, watching the deer and Canada geese in the river. We took our daughter down to it and she had a great time. My husband caught a rainbow trout. The setting is beautiful. Every one of the staff that we talked to was excellent and friendly. It was too cold to go in the pool, but it looked clean. There was a small playground that we enjoyed as well. It is best for small RVs or tent campers however. It's really not set up for our large 34 ft triple slide 5th wheel. We sacrificed sewer hookup to take a river site which isn't a big deal for us but there are not nearly enough showers for a campground this large that has so few full hookup sites. And the shower we used had shower heads that tilted toward the wall so you were always trying to angle yourself where the water was spraying. One other thing that is not the fault of the campground, but our campsite had at least 10-15 little piles of dog doo behind it. I love dogs, in fact we had our two with us, but we didn't appreciate the rudeness of the previous campers. I would definitely recommend this campground, but get a river site and don't go with your large rig. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2008
$42
Overall a very average park, and way over-priced for what you get, but they do have a monopoly in this area. Our site up on the hill was relatively large but consisted of scrub grass mixed with gravel and wood chips so not terribly appealing. No doors on showers, which isn't a problem if you don't mind exposing yourself to other patrons while changing. Not much to see in adjacent "town". This would appear to be a very noisy (and probably fun) place for kids in the summer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$38
I was very impressed with how nice the staff was to me . The park was meticulously maintained and my 4 day stay was very pleasant. It was midweek mostly so it was quiet but I am sure it gets busy on the weekends. My 8 year old son had a blast and I would definitely recommend to anyone looking for some river fun the tubes or river rafting on the american river is the biggest draw for the campground. The playground and swimming pool was just an added bonus. Nice place , friendly staff. You just can't go wrong here. PS: bring tubes, life jackets or water gear before you get there, because it is a fast moving river and little kids will get swept away. So unless you have a teenager with a life jacket and probably even a helmet for the rapids, you should really keep the little ones in the pool. The purchase of gear, while you're here, is costly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$45
We found the staff to be very pleasant. The facilities were well kept. The full hookup sites were a little cramped, but the river front sites were better (partial hookups). The river is the main attraction, with tubing and whitewater rafting available. We'll be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$40
This park has something for everyone. Owner, staff go out of their way to accommodate and make you feel welcome and important. Lots and lots of improvements, renovations going on with very little disruption. Very family oriented with spectacular views. We will return a lot! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2007
$35
Very nice park. The best sites are along the river, but are only water and electric hook up, no sewer. We camped here in the off-season and understand it gets very full in the summer, but it was beautiful when we stayed here. The park is very kid-friendly with lots of things to keep them occupied. Staff is very friendly. Sites are open with not much privacy, but there weren't many campers when we were there, so no big deal. We will definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$40
Fall is the best time to be in Coloma. We have been here a lot over the years and we love it. It is a little pricey but well worth it once you are settled in. Keep in mind, they charge 6-10 dollars for parties over 2 people. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$40
The staff is always friendly and there is plenty for the kids to do. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$38
Wonderful park for everyone. The staff is excellent and helpful. Resort is very clean. We found this resort last year and have been back six times already. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$38
Nice spots most back up to river. Sites are dirt but mostly level, some are tight to get into around trees. Power and water are close to the road so, I needed an extension cord to reach. None of the spots on the river have sewer hookups, they do have a dump station. Staff was friendly, but they close the gate when you come in and they charge for everything (pets, guests, extra cars, ect.). Would stay there again for the views of the river. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$38
Fantastic setting, but we were a family of 6 and were charged $4 a night for children 1 & 2 and $10 a night for children 3 & 4 which doubled the cost, which is a real shame as the staff were friendly, the site was great if a little dusty, and the place is definitely worth a visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$35
Stayed here over 4th of July - A little rustic, but you can't go wrong with the river front sites. Lots of amenities too. Nicely maintained, even over a busy weekend. We'll stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2005
$42
This park definitely has its' pluses and minuses. First the pluses. Beautiful setting. Most sites are right on the shore of the American River. We fished, panned for gold, shot the pellet gun, fed the fowl, built a campfire, checked out Sutters Mill (which is just a short walk away). Everyone had a great time. Now for minuses. They charged me $4 a nite per child, running the one nite total to $42 during the off season. I despise it when parks charge for children, pets, visitors, toads, and long rigs. Second minus is that the road and sites are pretty crude. There is a nice grassy area down by the river, but there was a lot of goose droppings in it. I'd give it a 9 or 10 if it weren't for the "greedy" extra fees and the roads and grounds being so crude. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$34
This was a fabulous campground. We camped here in April 2004. We recommend you do what we did. Choose a riverfront site even though the hook-ups are only water and electric there. It's worth it! (You can get full hook-ups up and away from the river.) The view was fantastic. We stayed in site #57 and all I can say is WOW! It was twice as long and twice as wide as any campsite we've ever stayed in. We were able to park our tow vehicle side by side next to our trailer with plenty of room to spare. But we did notice that none of the other sites were as wide as ours, though many were as long. Be aware that the campground is basically all dirt with some lawn areas here and there and many many trees - very rural. There's a pool, but it hadn't opened yet for the season when we were there. There's also a small playground which our seven year old enjoyed. Tenters and RVers camp right next to each other. There were also a number of tent cabins there. They were unoccupied when we were there, but I peeked in one and saw that it was just a bunch of bunk beds, so I expect that they are for camping groups, which could mean major crowds. I know they do host many school groups, as Coloma is home to Marshall Gold Discovery State Historic Park and LOTS of children come there. In fact, half of the campground was closed off while we were there due to school science camps. The bathrooms were disappointing. Not what I'd call clean, but they were serviceable. But in my opinion, the park was wonderful enough that I was willing to put up with the bathroooms. We could get everywhere by walking. By walking out the front entrance of the campground and crossing over the one-lane bridge, you're smack in the middle of the state park - a quarter mile walk at most. By walking down along the river bank and going underneath that one-lane bridge, you can come to a gravel beach where you can pan for gold. I don't think we've enjoyed ourselves more at any place we've camped, due to the sheer beauty of the location. But if you're looking for concrete pads and absolute cleanliness, this is not the place. We would definitely come back here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$30
Great location on the American river- only 8 miles off of US 50. On the plus side- The facilities were clean and well managed. The staff was friendly and helpful. There was a large grassy area away from the campsites to run your dog. On the negative side- the park was a little dusty- a bit more grass would have been nice. Some sites had low-hanging trees that were in need of trimming. All things considered- we will be back! We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$30
On the American River, South Fork, off Hwy 49 in Coloma CA (40 miles east of Sacramento). Old mining town from the gold rush days. Lots to see and do. River rafting is a big draw. Large clean, shaded sites, with an adequate store in town (walking distance). Very friendly staff. Old one-way bridge crosses the river to get to the resort. 35 ft. RV may be the limit. I highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com