220830 User submitted reviews online!!
Lyndon / Bellingham KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 22 user reviews. Phone: (360) 354-4772
CGID3148

Lyndon / Bellingham KOA

Camp Information
Sites
200
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$41



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   7   1   9   10   7   8   7   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2014
$41
Not traveling with kids so they did us a favor and gave us a site away from to screaming little ones. Nice facility, clean restroom and shower. Nice shade lot. Wi-Fi at office but was able to connect at our site using my external antenna. Would have been nice if I could have had my propane tank filled at 9 AM as we did not want to wait until 11 AM service (reason for 6 rather than 7). As with most KOAs, a bit expensive (another reason for lower rating), as we just wanted a place to stay for the night. Would probably stay here again if schedule dictated being this close to Canadian border. Otherwise would have saved a few bucks at a lower cost RV park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$40
This a family friendly campground. I would want to bring my grandchildren. If you are wanting extreme quiet, it's not the place to go. Lots of kids and families. The facility is clean, friendly staff, lots of activities and well kept grounds. Lynden is a beautiful town. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2014
$39
Very disappointing. Extremely overcrowded. We were assigned a site on the "front lawn." Partial hookups included a 50-foot-long, 30amp extension cord stretched from a pedestal at a "real" site to ours, and two daisy-chained garden hoses from that same site for our water supply. The owners obviously tried to expand the number of campsites without investing in utilities. We left after finding the site unacceptable. Campground policy offers a full refund if you decide to leave within an hour of arrival. Really? Why would they even need such a policy if they were providing satisfactory service? I'll never reserve a site here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$42
Very nice quiet campground. Convenient for visiting British Columbia. The nearby town of Lynden is very convenient and charming. This park is really not near Bellingham though, which is fine, but the name can be deceiving. It is actually a godsend that it is not near Bellingham, given that its much quieter in Lynden. Clean campground and very green, given the North West rainfalls. Definitely check out the ice cream shop in nearby Lynden. Its the best. Would return here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$42
Beautiful park, albeit crowded. Too many people with pets, but that's becoming a problem everywhere. When we started pulling into the park there were at least 8-10 little kids on bicycles and scooters zooming around the park roads. Be careful! We had a lakefront site, wide and clean. If you don't mind a crowded park, it's great. We were a bit spoiled by the parks "up north" in Canada. Welcome back to civilization. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$41
They have a pool, but no spa. Wi-Fi was POOR, but we were able to use our Virgin Mobile hotspot and even got 4G even though this area is kind of remote. Lyndon is a cute town with Danish influence and is close to the Canadian border. We traveled to Vancouver twice during our stay and the border crossing was backed up a bit when the Canadians are crossing - apparently they come to the US for gas, milk, etc. which is much more expensive in Canada - so fill up your tank before you go there. We stayed here 3 days. Peace. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$42
We arrived just before Victoria Day Holiday (a three-day weekend in Canada) and discovered this is a very popular campground for British Columbians. Even so, the check in person was able to find us a site, and we ended up staying through the long weekend and then added another five days to our stay. The park is pretty, with ponds and trees and lots of grass, and it does get busy on the weekends. Facilities are clean, and the washers/dryers are actually less expensive here (and the dryers did a better job) than a laundromat in town. We'll stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$38
The entrance to this koa is basically one way as the street is very narrow. We got in ok but this could be a big problem for some on a busy day. A place to unhook or hook up your toad may be difficult at times. Lots of dogs and of course what goes along with them (the dog owners who do not pick up, leash up or control their dogs and they are always at every park). The park is well taken care of and has many permanent residents that are mostly from Canada. The Canadians come across the border in droves every day to shop at Costco and Walmart in Bellingham. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$36
Very family friendly park with some seasonal spots and other regular sites. We enjoyed our stay. One of the better KOA parks we have been in. Lots of kids which worked fine since we had our grand kids. No recycling which was a surprise and no DVD rentals, also a surprise. Place was packed during our stay so it is very popular. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$36
This is a fun little campground that was perfect as it was nearby for a weekend power camp. The lots we had were spacious and the people were friendly. The movie night was nice by the pond. The washrooms were a bit dirty for KOA standards. This past stay the showers and washroom near our site was closed. The kids had a fun time in the park and pool, which is always a good thing. To my surprise, people were pulling out a bunch of trouts in the pond by the shop. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
Camp personnel were friendly and helpful. The lake and grounds were well kept. The sites were level but tight fits for my 3 slide-outs. The Wi-Fi would not reach my camper even though we were about 100 feet from the office. The pool was nice but was lacking seating or shaded areas. The location was close to the Canadian border for day trips into Vancouver. We would probably stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
We only stayed one night on our way to Canada. It is a beautiful park with the lake and beautiful flora. The problems are the narrow roads within the campground, and especially the road you enter and exit on. It is not wide enough for two lanes. One side has hedge, so the vehicle exiting must veer off the road to make room for the incoming vehicle. The park was very noisy, long after quiet hours began. I would think twice before I camped here in a long RV. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$36
We were in a 45 foot motorcoach and were lead to believe by the KOA website that there were "supersites" with 50 amps at this campground. We were shoe-horned into a 30 amp pull through site. We had to move to an axillary site for fear that we could not pull through another site to exit the campground and be stuck forever in Lynden Washington. We moved to a site up on the hill that was a back-in that assured us an exit and was in the range of site 51-53 that has a good satellite link and a straight through exit. Big Rigs Beware!! When you turn onto Line Road and into the park it is going to test your driving skills, including the one lane road to the office. Agree with everyone that it is a well-run park totally catering to travel trailers...not fifth wheels or RV's. We did find one 50 amp site that seems to be occupied by a permanent resident--so do not trust your KOA directory! For Big Rigs we're really not sure where to suggest where to go if you are trying to go into Canada for day trips and not drive your Big Rig. BTW, we did not find any big rig friendly sites between Lynden and Vancouver. They may exist but we could not find them. But please go to Canada because they are very friendly and nice people with lots to see and do in British Columbia. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$40
A nice clean park with lots to do. Sites are a little close together, and the Wi-Fi didn't work at our site (even though we were close to the office). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$41
I will give it an 8 for being clean, neat and pretty. I have a 38 ft MH and tow a car. I had to disconnect to get into the pull through and it was a tight fit as I had to move the table, then back and fill to get straight. Trees are not an issue just very narrow roads and site pads between utilities and table. I had to park the car sideways to be able to stay in site. So great place for smaller rigs just not great for big rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$37
Our family loves camping for long weekends at the Lynden KOA. The family that owns it cares about their campers and it shows. They offer wonderful activities, the kids love the mini golf, the pool (which is spotless), the pond, the playground... They have a small cafe which serves lunches and coffees. Many weekends through the summer they have special events for families. The small dutch town of Lynden is very quaint and pleasant to walk around. Mount Baker is a half an hour away and the campground is on the doorstep to the Canadian border. Highly recommended! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$37
We love this campground. It's clean, beautifully maintained, big and has a lot of activities for the kids. The pool is very clean and the playground is great. Our son loves the peddle boats and mini golf. The only improvements I would like to see (and they would make it a 10 in my opinion) would be to have full hookups on the lakefront sites and to have cable. We end up here every year and always have a great time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2006
$33
I wouldn't call the waterfront a "lake", more like an artificially colored green pond. When we made a reservation, we could only get a water & elect. site for $33 (good sam disc.), which I thought was pretty pricey for a campground out in the middle of nowhere, but close to the Canadian border. Then I found out we had a "grass front" site, which was basically an afterthought and a way to generate more money. Turns out these are much nicer than being in the main campground because the sites are bigger and the area is quieter. I'm not squashed in next to my neighbor and I'm away from all the screaming kids (main reason I usually avoid KOA's). So I guess I'd stay here again if nothing cheaper was available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$45
Great family camping! Lots of activities in and around the campground for kids and adults alike. Clean, secure, friendly staff, kids fishing, paddle boats, manicured sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2005
$34
This is a great campground for families! It is in a quiet, farmland setting. It is very close to the Canadian border. The owners are some of the nicest people we have met. They have a lot of activities during the summer! The sites were clean, level, and as described in our camping book. We will definitely be back with our friends. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2002
$37
Even though we camped here in 2002 and it was very enjoyable, what happened this past Memorial Day weekend of 2004 is why I am giving this campground a 1 rating. I called the Lynden / Bellinghan KOA 3 months ahead of time and requested a campgsite that could not only handle my RV but would also have enough space for my son's tent. The person who took the reservation assured me that the campsite assigned to me would fit all of my needs and the reservation was secured with my credit card. I called the Lynden / Bellingham KOA a week ahead of the 2004 Memorial day weekend only to find out that my campsite had been assinged to somebody else and that I had been moved to a campsite that could not accommodate my son's tent. When I asked why I had been moved to a different campsite, the response was that there was somebody who would be staying at the Lynden / Bellingham KOA longer than what I was going to be staying so they gave my site to them. This was not acceptable and I told them that I was cancelling my reservation and that I intend to never camp at the Lynden / Bellingham KOA again. The person I spoke with mumbled some excuse about being sorry and I told him sorry does not cover running a sloppy business. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2001
$30
Family RV Park. Maximum Pull Through Length is 60 feet. LP Gas available, Modem Dataport (no charge), Snack Bar, Firewood (available with charge), Mini Golf (available with charge), Fishing (no charge). Near-by city of Lynden is a Dutch Village. Canadian border is only a few miles north of this RV Park. Many activities for the family. Best KOA RV Park I been in. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com