214909 User submitted reviews online!!
49er RV Ranch was rated 8 out of 10 based on 38 user reviews. Phone: (209) 532-4978
CGID315

49er RV Ranch

Camp Information
Sites
45
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   8   10   10   9   7   5   10   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$36
We agree with previous posts, the staff is great at this RV park. The sites can be tough to get into, and they direct you into your site. The hookups are well located. The road into the park is narrow but it is no real problem. On Friday night they had free hot dogs, also coffee every morning. The park itself is probably a 7 but with the extra service we raised it to an 8. Nice quiet park, we will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$40
Had a flat, level, gravel, back-in site. Staff made it easy to park. Sites have two sewer hookups so you could choose the most convenient option. Wi-Fi worked well. Nice picnic table in site. Free coffee each morning and free chili fogs on Friday night. Nice campfire program. Staff constantly asked if they could do anything to make our stay nicer. Use driving direction on web site. GPS not aware of closed streets due to Columbia State Park. Very nice park. Only down side was no good spots to take dog on walk due to narrow, windy road. Would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$45
Great hospitality by staff and good location for many sites to do and see around area (Columbia, Jamestown, Murphy's, Big Trees, etc.). Some of campground is on hillside so getting into tight spots can be tricky but staff is great in helping you into your spot. Showers/bathrooms could use upgrading (hot water takes awhile to work (esp. in men's). Have free grilled hot dogs on Friday night, nightly campfire get togethers with a singer, & free gold panning lessons. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$30
We enjoyed our stay here very much. We had a choice spot, but we spent most of our time with family. The location was rough, I was raised in this area so we didn't have trouble finding it, but I can tell those who are not to follow directions carefully. Driving around these hills with a trailer not knowing where to go can stress some people - so just plan ahead. The management was terrific, very friendly. We needed help to park our trailer as the campground was full and a SUPER TRAILER PARKING GURU was there to help! They offer a lot for campers with children (game room/barn) lots of room to roam. They also had campfire and a guitar/singer one night. Highly recommend this campground. Columbia has a lot to offer, something for everyone to see. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$42
Once we located the park had a great time. Follow the directions on the web site very carefully. We had a hard time finding the park, but the manager actually came out to find us. Several roads to take in make it confusing. All other aspects of our stay were 10+. Great management and staff always trying to help, including parking our 5th wheel. Tell management ahead of time if you plan to use a Sat. Dish as there are limited sites with clearance. Ours worked great. I would definitely get a reservations in the spring and summer since there are limited short term sites. This is definitely the best park in the area. We really enjoyed the park and there are tons of things to to do in the area. Will be back next winter/spring. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$15
I have been RVing full time since August, 2011 and this has been one of my favorite stays. I stayed here three months and and found the place to be great for long term and short term RVers. The installed FIOS super fast internet, a must for full timers. The property has a lot of character with a rustic feel. They host camp fires with period entertainment. Full hook ups with strong 50 amp service. I found the staff to be very helpful in solving my issues. The location is walking distance to the historic gold rush town of Columbia and is an easy drive to Yosemite National Park. I will definitely be a repeat guest. Rate was based on monthly stay plus electricity. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$25
This was a very nice campground run by very nice people. Although there weren't very many camp sites for travelers, most of the permanents were up in another place, so they weren't an issue. It is a great campground for visiting Columbia and Jamestown. The bathrooms/showers were adequate, but needing an upgrade. We paid using our PPA membership...their standard rate of $49 is way too much. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2012
$30
This campground has a few sites for short-term camping, but most of the sites are used by permanent residents. This was a distraction from the "camping" experience we enjoy. The staff was friendly and helpful. The campground was clean. The restroom and laundry room are a bit shabby. The restroom and shower area are not heated. Most of the campsites do not afford any privacy. We will likely stay elsewhere the next time we visit this area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$35
What a nice place to visit! The staff/owner were by far the friendliest that we have ever encountered. The area offers many places to see, the town of Murphys is just a short hop down the road, along with the quaint town of Columbia. We will definitely return to this adorable, friendly, clean rv park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$35
A little too tight for big rigs. Only a few sites can really accommodate the 45 footers. Some of these sites are not level. The bathrooms are ancient but functional. The staff is terrific but the campground is a bit tired. Great place for smaller rigs. Close to the main Columbia area. If you have a big rig you may want to consider camping at the Sonora Fairgrounds. We will not camp here again only because it was a bit too tight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$42
Really enjoyed this park. The owners are great with lots of local history and information. Our site was spacious and private - kind of an unusual site with a rock wall on 2 sides. Highly recommend this RV park. It is a bit tight getting into and out of spots. There are long term campers, but they are in separate area. The area is very neat also. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
Passport America rate Sunday-Thursday. Level spaces, cable TV, strong WiFi and close to Columbia State Park. Very friendly staff. Clean and well maintained park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$35
We stayed here for 2 nights. The park is very clean and the spaces are nice sized. They do not have individual campfires in each site, instead they have a general-area campfire each night and everyone is invited. You can walk to the town and spend a day there, fun for kids. The RV park also has some gold-mining demonstration and overall it's a very nice park. It is pet friendly too. It has very nice owners/operators. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2011
$35
Nice RV park! The owners are amazing, we are full timers and they are the friendliest owners we've come across! They really make you feel welcomed and stop by and pet the dogs and our traveling cat! They informed us of all the things to do around the area including walking down to town to see the historic buildings and pan for your own gold! We really like this place and would recommend them anytime! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
February 2011
$45
Their website is misleading!! This is a tiered, full time trailer park cut into a steep hillside with a few RV sites near the road on an open gravel patch. We did not check-in because it was completely unappealing in every way. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2011
$49
Love this place. Very quite, perfect for us. People are friendly. We will repeat for sure! It's a small place with a dirt road. Host will help you to your spot and guide you in. There is a free BBQ on Friday night. They also have a gold panning class you can take. Again we had a great time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
This place was old and a bit shabby. It is decked out in gold rush era decor, including the staff. The staff was friendly, but there was no pool for the kids and the sites were cramped and dusty. If it wasn't close to Columbia, which is the big attraction, it would be empty. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$40
This was our first coach outing in a brand new motor home. The people, staff and other guest were wonderful! Our experience was a true pleasure - we will come back. Only down side, we were in a site that made us part of the central campfire evenings whether we wanted to be or not -- this was okay but if we had wanted a private-anti-social weekend we would need to select a site a little further from the central location. This is not a big park but it has a coral area for groups and a central gathering building that the group that was there when we were seemed to enjoy very much. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$42
Very rustic looking park, authentic to the area. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Nice big site, gravel throughout park. Small fenced dog walk area. Lots of big trees; very clean and quiet. We would stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$28
This place is older and the sites are tight, but its one of the most quiet places to stay. They help you spot your rig, which is necessary for some back in sites. The owner is a great host, and the Columbia town is the ultimate gold country destination. No pool, though. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2009
$40
I wanted to stay here after visiting website and reading some reviews. I was let down with atmosphere-part of park is a mobile home park. It is a long walk down a 2 lane road with small shoulder to get to Columbia SP. It is better to drive there. There are very tight area with narrow sites. The dog walk is tiny and on the main road (so small, it smells of dog waste so I wouldn't use it-instead I walked my dogs on the main road). The nice friendly staff was a plus. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2008
$38
After reading all the "glowing" reviews of the 49er RV Ranch, we altered our plans to spend a night or two here. This place is way overpriced for what they offer ($38.20 with a senior discount, with Good Sam the rate is $40.50). We regularly camp at state and federal campgrounds and are very experienced with getting into tight campsites. This RV park has extremely narrow and hilly roads with absolutely no room for maneuvering. We needed to use our 4WD-Low range to park our 32'FW in a ridiculous sized space. I've seen sardine cans with more room between the residents. In addition to the transient spaces, there are about 36 permanent RV'ers. They're special one hot dog and beans around the fire is an additional $5 per person. Couldn't leave this ripoff fast enough. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$40
Enjoyed our one night stay at this campground. Staff in office was pleasant. It was crowded when we were here as there appeared to be an RV Show with several display units on the grounds. They provide one 24 hour unit of free Wi-Fi. It is close to Sutters Creek and a wonderful little museum in Lone. Nice grassy area to walk pets. We would stay here again but probably for just one night as the price is a little expensive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$27
The park operators were extremely friendly and helpful. They even had a barbeque dinner on Saturday night for a slight charge. The site was easy to back into and had plenty of room. We would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$38
The staff is what really sets this park apart. They are WONDERFUL. Very helpful and friendly. The best we have ever experienced! The grounds are well maintained, clean restrooms and showers, and the central campfire is a great place to meet your neighbors! We can't wait to go back! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$31
Prior reviews are correct, good campground. Their 'senior discount' is better than Good Sam. WiFi and cable TV worked great. All back-in sites, #50 through #61 are the most level with gravel, roomy and some with shade. Rest rooms and showers were clean, but only one shower (each) for entire campground. Very quiet at night, office open until 6pm in summer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$34
This is a great RV park near Columbia State Historic Park. It is only 1/2 mile walking distance to State Park. Wi-Fi was not working when we visited, but the technician was to get things fixed June 2. Staff was VERY friendly and helpful. We camped with 16 other rigs that are members of the Golden State Travelers of the Carriage Travel Club. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$38
This was a well located park within walking distance of the historic city of Columbia. The walk is around 1/2 mile. Situated in a forest type setting you can while away some time here enjoying just the park. We used our stay to explore Jamestown, Sonora, Murphy's, and Angels Camp. And of course we went into Columbia every day on foot. The town of Columbia is a State park. It is a collection of brick buildings from the gold rush days and offers history, good food, hotels, and a nice theater. We went to see a very good production of a musical about Hank Williams when we were there. We loved the town of Murphy's too. Be sure to visit the Ironstone Winery to see a huge/giant gold nugget and wonderful gardens. The owners/managers of this RV Park could not have been nicer. They were very attentive to our needs and always had a smile on the faces. My one small niggle is no heat in the mens shower area. Kind of cold in April. Very good free WiFi, but cell phone did not work. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$36
We liked site No. 54 which is great for shade and privacy. We planned for two nights and extended to four to visit Sonora, Angels Camp and Murphys. Outlaws BBQ and Steakhouse in Sonora is excellent and the owner is very friendly. Eat at Cruscos Italian restaurant in Angels Camp and visit the Laraine Winery on Hwy 49 (owner is a Hollywood Movie Producer) on the way to Murphys. Lavender Hills Winery in Murphys has an outstanding Calaveras Blanc which typifies all of the Calaveras Winerys in the region (20+ in the County!). The campground is a bit tight for big rigs: back in only. The camp managers were excellent hosts and made our stay with cell phone directions along the way. We'd return again. The Columbia Historic Park is a hoot with lots of fun saloons, stores and live theater! Highly recommend 3-4 days to roam the winding roads, but forget about driving a big rig down Hwy 49 from Grass Valley or Hwy 50 out of Placerville. We didn't know any better and tried part of it. Ugh! Enjoy and give our best regards to the hosts! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$36
Very quaint and small park. Excellent location to sight-see. No bike riding allowed in park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$34
Clean, very friendly owners and staff, greeted us as we pulled in, and helped us park. Staff was very informative about the local area and history. This RV park fits right into the rustic environment, which is exactly what we were looking for while visiting this area, but has all the necessary modern amenities you need and is a piece of gold country history in itself. Will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$40
This was our very first experience with our brand new tent trailer and we could not have been at a better place!! The people were INCREDIBLY friendly. They helped me park the tent trailer (something I have never done before). Lots of smiles. We enjoyed their hospitality. The park is incredibly clean. The location is nice and close to Columbia. I can not wait to return to 49er RV. You will NOT be disappointed. Please go see them!! I am estimating the nightly rate -- call them. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$31
Nice clean park. About half of the place is permanent Mobile Homes up the hill from the overnighters. Very friendly and helpful hosts at check in and during our stay. Some of the sites are a little tight. We had an end site and had no one in our front yard. We even received a thank you card in the mail a few days after we came home. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2005
$28
Spent 4 days here. As we pulled in the park office we were immediately greeted as they came out to greet us at our rig! Family owned and what nice and welcoming they are. They have a great little store and the staff was very friendly. Ton's to see and do. We were close enough to walk to state park. They have a great flea market at the fairgrounds in Sonora on Saturdays. Yhe park has lights that make the grounds so you can talk evening walks w/pets. Would stay here again..Don't miss visitng the town of Murphy. We had winter senior rates. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$35
Really nice people,very helpful and gave us a nice site. Lots of permanent sites but they are up the hill and out of sight. There was a campfire meet with good songs and stories. Well worth a visit even if it is slightly difficult to get to, and lots to see in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2005
$46
Why they can charge this much for a site is beyond me, unless you are into wine, there is not much in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2005
$28
This is a very nice rustic park. Just what one would expect in the mountains. Sites are level, and easy to back into. Hookups are just where they should be. Clubhouse is very nice and has a wonderful if not overworked woodstove. Grounds are kept neat and clean. Dog walk is well groomed. The staff is what sets this park apart from many others. They are fabulous. They truly do bring added value to the camping experience. Thank you for a wonderful stay. We will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2003
$25
The park was clean, staff friendly and helpful. It was evident that people live there as well as overnighters.The evenings were quiet and comfortable. Nothing much to do in the area. Sonora is just minutes away if you like tourist trap shopping. A little tough to navigate to the park itself. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com