206922 User submitted reviews online!!
Howard Miller Steelhead County Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (360) 853-8808
CGID3174

Howard Miller Steelhead County Park

Camp Information
Sites
54
Date of Stay
February 2013
Latest Rate
$26



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   10   8   8   10   9   8   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2013
$26
Lovely campground. Well kept. Great for families. Level well spaced sites some on the river and all have firepits. Two small cabins and two Adirondack units. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30
Great park by the river. Wonderfully laid out sites, very well built and maintained. No cell phone service and no Wi-Fi. So, plan on being off the grid unless you drive 8 miles to Concrete. Sites on the north side have good satellite angles but the ones on the south are next to the river and are blocked by trees. Plenty of room for big rigs and slide-outs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$30
This is a very clean & well maintained park. They water the grass so it was lush and green. The sites were roomy and long with the utilities in good condition and well located. There are no sewer hookups. Our site was level and paved. The bathrooms and showers were clean with everything in good working order. You have to self check in, be sure to check the board to see what sites are available and for how long. Verizon had a good signal but there were no TV channels available off our antenna. This park is located along a clear scenic mountain river that is a very pleasant place to relax and watch the water go by. They also have several well groomed hiking trails and a nice playground for the kids. There are fire rings and new picnic tables. The price I listed is for a premium river site. Sites off the river are less. They also have 2 brand new cabins for rent, tent sites and a group site with shelters. We enjoyed and extended our stay here and would come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$25
Very clean nice park. Spacious grassy sites. We usually stay in private campgrounds because our experience with county and state parks hasn't been good. This one is worth staying at. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$31
Nice clean park with fairly large/level sites. We are 40'. The only problem I saw was no one enforced the dog leash rule in the park. Close to Cascade National Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$28
We were looking for a park near Cascade NP and found this on your website. The reviews were all excellent, and the location was good, so we gave it a try. What a beautiful campground. The sites were spread out, there was lots of manicured grass, and plenty of room for our tow vehicle. The camp host was very friendly and helpful. We extended our stay another day and would have stayed longer. It is a beautiful park and a great deal. We would definitely stay there again if we were in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$26
Beautiful setting, spacious sites, plenty of drive-throughs. Has a fast-flowing green river, with mountains surrounding. Showers are $1 for 4 minutes. The Rockport Pub is a plus, not a minus: quiet, great individual pizzas piled with toppings, friendly owner, free WiFi that extended to our RV site: we highly recommend it. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$22
Fantastic setting overlooking the turquoise Skagit river. The topography is akin to alpine meadows. My wife and I stayed over on a Saturday night and were not in the least bothered by any kind of noise emanating from the Rockport Pub which is situated feet away from the campground. Great trails. Clean campground. Very friendly and accommodating staff. We will definitely return on our next visit to the northern Cascades. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$20
The tavern noise was a bit much. Nice rustic camping. Along the River some sites are on the river. The manager goes out of his way to ensure the park is always clean and well managed. Rockport's little secret, don't tell anyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2006
$15
I would have given this park a 10 but the tavern noise bugs me. It doesn't get much better than this for semi rustic camping. Along the Skagit River some sites are on the river. We come here to get away for a day or so and have always enjoyed the quiet crisp location this park provides. The manager goes out of his way to ensure the park is always clean and well managed. Rockport's little secret, don't tell anyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2005
$18
Flood damage to park has been repaired, and is now outstanding county park! Camp hosts were extremely friendly and helpful. Campground was extremely clean and well maintained. Only negative is reservation system, a $6.00 charge is added to campsite for them accepting reservation. Would have rated an 8 if it was not for reservation charge. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2004
$15
This campground was serverely damaged by the rainfall of October 20, 2003. We camped there for the Eagle Festival the 2nd week of February, 2004. All the sites that were next to the river have been washed out. I was told by the park manager that the water was about ten feet high in the middle of the campground. It was up to the door knob on the middle rest room. All the rest rooms were closed when we were there. It will be quite some time before they can repair the damage. There are camp sites available, no sewer hookup. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$15
Nice park alongside the Skagit river. Great base camp for eagle watching in winter. A couple of "outfitters" use the non-rv side of the park as a loading point for a bus ride further upriver, and as the end of the float trip. Some pull-thru's, mostly back-ins. All sites have electric (30 amp) ($15), 21 also have water ($18), others share a central water source to fill holding tank. Reservations can be made up to 10 months in advance, but not if less than 48 hours. Then, if you arrive after office hours (or if nobody is there) you need to check the "reservation" board to see which sites are not reserved for when you are planning on staying and pick from what is available. Dump station is on the way out, but not convenient for returning to your campsite. Road up to office is fine, but after that they get narrow. Would have to get partially on the grass to pass another vehicle. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com