206648 User submitted reviews online!!
Van Mall RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 27 user reviews. Phone: (360) 891-1091
CGID3191

Van Mall RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
83
Date of Stay
April 2013
Latest Rate
$29



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   6   3   8   1   6   3   8   7   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2013
$29
This park is very much like an RV parking lot. Sites are packed in about as close as they can get. When we called for reservations we were asked what year our RV is and the condition of it. We were also asked if we could email a picture of it for inspection. When we arrived, we were asked for drivers license numbers, our birth dates, the license tag numbers of both the RV and the towed car, our phone number, our address. All this, even though we were paying cash. They don't accept credit cards. Apparently they don't want any old RVs in this park. We were accepted, however, and found the park to be fairly quiet. We stayed in our coach and did not use the facilities other than the WiFi which seemed to work ok. We have never been asked such invasive questions before at any park in the country. These questions made us very uncomfortable as though a 2000 year RV, and ourselves by extension, is somehow substandard. We will not be staying there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2012
$27
Campground has several residents, checks for better looking RV's (No run down or old RV's allowed). Concrete pads and 50 amp service with RV sales & parts across from park. Has Slight freeway noise and OK showers! Laundry a little on expensive side but would stay again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2012
$19
Price reflects a monthly rate. Cable TV available but very poor reception. We used our antenna for most of our stay. They do not allow bicycling in the park. Our site had no parking for our towed vehicle, which was a big inconvenience since we were there for 5 weeks. We will not stay here again unless we are here for a "short" stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$29
Although lacking a bit in charm, this park is well located near I-205 in the north-central part of town. Mostly paved, there is little grass with most spaces separated with rock-filled strips. Wooden board fences also divide the spaces. About 85% of the spaces are long term. The current manager has been on the job a few months, and was quite pleasant and helpful (directing us to restaurants, etc.) Not much within walking distance, but several restaurants are a short drive. "Snooty" attitude remarked on in other comments did not seem present, though when we called for a reservation, we were asked the year of our RV. (This occurred with several other RV parks on this trip -- a more frequent experience than in the past.) We can't really call this "kid friendly" -- kids are welcome, but there's no real facilities for them -- no pool or playground. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2011
$38
We have a converted coach. It is a clean highway coach. Unfortunately it is a converted 1954 GMC PD4104 highway coach. We were turned away, for a 15 hour overnight stop. Too old!!! Cost is an estimate as we didn't get to that point. Coach owners beware!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$40
This sized park is overpriced without any amenities. Site 92 is not a big rig site as mentioned by previous writer. Manager is frustrated by this also but she is very nice. Obviously owner wants to milk RV'ers for their money. The TV cable is inadequate, the Wi-Fi is pay for each day. The park feels very cramped. I checked that Wi-Fi was NOT available as you have to sign up and pay the daily rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2010
$34
Wasn't expecting the small sites when they advertised 'big rigs welcome' and we're only 40 ft. Sites are hard to get into as they were laid out many years ago when rigs were smaller and narrower. No room for our Jeep in the site. Park is located behind the Toyota Dealer and close enough to I-205 to have to listen to all the traffic. Would not stay here again and will not recommend to anyone else. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$29
Friendly lady in the office to take my payment. This park is not for those who want a lot of outdoor scenery, as it is in the city of Vancouver not far from the Vancouver Westfield Mall, and is across the street from a Toyota dealership. However, you get the sense that it is a well run operation, with great restrooms and showers and a generally clean appearance overall. No recreation room or anything like that, just a place to camp. I was pleasantly surprised that it was plenty quiet enough to get a good night's sleep despite its urban location. Will stay there again if the opportunity arises. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$38
We have friends in Vancouver and have very happily stayed here for a week at least once each summer for the last three years and have managed nicely in the old REALLY narrow spots. Things appear to have changed due to a recent change in management? When I called to make my reservation I asked for one of the "new" nice big sites since we are 40-ft with three slides and towing. No problem, we could have site 92. DO NOT let them give you this site and then charge you the extra $10 for it. The other new sites are well worth the extra money, wide with a patch of grass and a concrete parking pad for your toad. This site appears to have been an afterthought when the new ones were built. It is so narrow that, even though our tires were as far to the left as we could go on the concrete, we could not open our awning without hitting the rig on our right, which was parked at least three feet away from the left edge of their pad. The old sites are more convenient. Management appears to be making up new rules as they go along. The printed rules do not state anything about it but we were told no rig washing. The rules state no smoking in the buildings (perfectly normal) but my husband was told that he could not smoke outside our rig, that he had to walk over to the DOG WALK (practically off the property). This is a nice park, but used to be nicer and friendlier. Everything is clean. Wi-Fi is $5 per day, but my AT&T air card works well here. We will continue to use this park because it is convenient to our friends but we won't be as enthusiastic about it as we used to be and our visits will be shorter. Be aware they take no credit cards, but will gladly take a personal check, so check in is easy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$23
We chose this park because of it’s location to the city as I had business to attend to: great location close to everything. Good staff and nice facilities. Definitely not an “RV Resort,” but if you are looking for a spot close to town for a while I would suggest this park. It is right in the middle of some commercial businesses and construction so at times it was a bit noisy, but the construction looks like it’s about completed. BEWARE: parking for a Class-A 40-footer with four slides is extremely tight unless you get one of about 4 spaces in the NEW section of the park. I was in the older section which is much smaller and scratched the side of the MH on a useless tree and then spent the whole time hooking up tripping over useless scrubs in the hookup area, then couldn’t get into any basement compartments on the driver side because of a useless decorative fence, and barely had room to park our tow car. But over all I was really happy with this park as it suited my needs perfectly. After all, I am responsible for getting so close to the tree that I scratched the MH. Maximum Verizon and AT&T cell signal, strong water pressure, and an overall clean and well maintained park. They have pay-for Wi-Fi and I see remote antennas through out the park but I didn’t try it because the signal on my Verizon air cards was so strong. BEWARE: no security at all, totally open to strangers walking into the park in the middle of the night, no fencing at all, but this seems to be a very safe area with no problems. Wonderful blackberry patch next door, so time for some homemade cobbler! You can get your mail forwarded here and they even call you each mail arrives for you. Not an RV Resort but get a large spot in the new section and you’re good to go. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$27
After reading past reviews, this does not look like the same park. It is indeed clean, however I can't agree with other comments. The staff was neither friendly or helpful to start with. The sites are neither "long" or "wide", but the other extreme. I have a 34 fifth and the streets are so narrow it is impossible to back into the site. I have only about 4 feet between the street and 6" to the rig behind me. To get the truck into the site as well, it is 6" from the passenger side and I have to open the drivers door and back it up to the front of the 5th wheel, get out and crawl under the goose neck to get to the camper door because of the fences on either side of the site. If you can't get the truck on the small site, you are told to "park on the street" ( a busy city street ) or pay an additional fee of at least $ 5.00 per night ( if available ). The slides stick 12" into the site next to me. I was lucky when I arrived and was able to pull through the site behind me. They have some bigger sites, classified as "premium" that you could park a tow vehicle on but they never tell you that when making reservations. If you are towing a fiver longer than about 26 feet, be prepared. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
Office staff very helpful at check-in. They only accept cash and checks - no credit or debit cards. The sites are good sized and hookups are easy to access. The bathrooms and laundry are clean and well-maintained. This is a great park if you don't need amenities. They have a dog area with trash for waste disposal. Close to the freeway and shopping. We stayed 6 days and would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$29
This is a nice clean park with easy access on and off the I-5. Has large level sites, very nice staff and clean washrooms. Definitely not a resort type park. In a very industrial area but great for an overnight stay on route to somewhere else. Nightly rate is with Good Sam Discount. WiFi was a little pricey at $4.95 a day. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2009
$16
We were here for almost 2 months, so the nightly rate reflects the monthly rate. The staff was exceptional: very friendly, helpful and totally accommodating. Everything was always clean and trash picked up. Convenient location. Some long term people, but well kept up. We will definitely return to this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$30
It's all that the other reviewers have said it is, except that I wouldn't know about the office people. I rolled in at 5:02 and the office closed at 5 and there was no-one in sight. The system for self-registration was simple and the open sites were marked. Nice level sites, but short and I had to unhook as my TV was 5 feet in the street. I'm 55 feet overall. As I was leaving early, this was an inconvenience. The only sites long enough were the $50 premium sites. Full of full-timers as there is a lot of construction in the area, but all were neat and clean. I would stay there again if it were necessary. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
Very quiet and very clean park. Ideal location for Clark County. One of the quietest parks we have stayed: no train, no major road noise and no airport noise. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$40
Immaculate park! Sites in newer section were paved, wide and neat as a pin. Restrooms and showers were large and spotless, there is a continental breakfast offered on the weekend with quite a selection of goodies. The personnel were friendly and helpful. We don't normally stay at an "in town" park, but this was was exceptional. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$29
Neat and clean park, all sites are cement. Rather small sites, no picnic tables. Somewhat odd power hookup placement restricts where you can park - we had only 2' of play given power, water and sewer hookups. Staff was helpful and friendly, and we could see maintenance being done on the park. WiFi access is paid, but was reasonable ($22 for a week for two computers) and very solid. RV dealer across the street has propane and offers 10% discount to park guests. The 'park' mentioned as being across the street in previous reviews is now a construction site - for what is not clear. But they start work at 7:30 sharp. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$38
From the moment we rolled into this park, we felt welcome. It is also very, very well kept. The restrooms, showers and laundry room are worthy of an upscale hotel. The sites are level, staff SO friendly and helpful. There is a beautiful park right across the street for dog walking, running, or walking. They have a continental breakfast with a large variety of pastries. We stayed in a deluxe site, so the price I listed reflects the higher rate. There is an RV sales and service center next door (just in case). I would highly recommend this park. Friends of Bill W.: the meetings are excellent. Check out the Lighthouse club. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$14
We stayed here for 3 months while helping my parents for the summer. Great location to get around the Portland area, right off the 205 freeway. The park is kept real clean. Our site had grass so it was nice for the dogs. The older sites are tight and no grass. This place has the cleanest restrooms and laundry rooms we've ever come across. Just up the street is a wonderful 33 acre park for walking the dogs. The couple that run the place are so friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$26
One of the cleanest, well designed restrooms and showers. Concrete pads with full services. Convenient to I-205. Nice clubhouse with free coffee in the morning and continental on weekends (did not try). Cash and check ONLY for payment. Wifi not working when we tried it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$26
Great RV park close to Vancouver. Sparkling facilities; pleasant, welcoming staff. Breakfast bar in the AM. Paved sites. Great for an overnight or two. A little hard to find, more signage would be helpful. Close enough to visit Vancouver AND Portland -- about 40 minutes away. Modern facilities, nice place to stay. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2007
$27
Nice overnight especially if you like to shop. Lots of retail close by. Spaces are a little tight. Would stop again to spend one or two days and shop but not long term, more comfortable parks outside Portland. Friendly staff. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2007
$27
Sites were tight, our motorhome is 39 feet with a slide on each side and we were edge to edge with no place to park our toad except in a auxiliary parking area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2005
$27
Ok for short stay only. Concrete parking lot with small, narrow spaces, no grass. Noisy, overpriced for no amenities. In commercial area next to auto and rv dealer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2004
$25
The sites are too close, no credit cards, no shade, many sites unlevel, in a commercial area. Couldn't find anything any better in the area but it is still a 4 out of 10 for me. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$25
The campground is in a commercial area of town and difficult to find. The loud speakers from the adjacent car dealerships can be annoying. The campground is basically a concrete parking lot with a small fence and short shrubs between each sight. Still it is clean and the staff were very helpful. There is a giant shopping mall close by if you like that sort of thing. It's OK for a stop over or a few days. It's not a place to spend your vacation unless you only plan to sleep here and go elsewhere for entertainment. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com