219883 User submitted reviews online!!
Yakima Sportsman State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (509) 575-2774
CGID3203

Yakima Sportsman State Park

Camp Information
Sites
67
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$21



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   10   8   10   9   9   9   2   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$21
Price reflects senior pass. Lovely park, immaculately maintained. Good cell on Verizon. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$38
Great welcome from the ranger when we checked in. I think it was $38 but it may have been a little cheaper. Very pleasant and well set up site in a wooded and flat park setting. Not many vans around but lots of sites were flagged as booked for the coming weekend, so it would be hard to get casual camping then. Handy for Yakima and Tuppenish - well worth a visit for the murals. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$33
Beautiful campground. Level area's, shade tree's, full hookup's and plenty of room for all size rigs. All spots were very private. Rates are 40.00 for weekends after May 1 and 37.00 for week days. I would stay there again without hesitation even if the rates were high. Must buy tokens for showers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$29
We stay here often because it is far off the highway and therefore quiet. There are acres of grass, so are many good places to walk our dog. As early in the season as we were, it was hard to find a garbage can in which to dispose of dog wastes. The sites are level, and although there are very few trees the sites are wide so there is a good distance from your neighbors. We always try to get a powered site, but unpowered sites are available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
Beautiful and well maintained state park. You must buy tokens from the camp host to use the showers, and the restrooms are a little run down, but clean. The beauty of the park, nice shaded level paved sites with grass, nature trails, etc. make this park a real gem. I would stay here even longer next time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$14
Park is in Winter mode, no water at camp sites and bathrooms closed. I camp there during the Summer season and the bathrooms are fine at that time. The Park was nice and quiet and surprisingly, there were several rigs there. The rate of 14.50 pernight is limited income senior. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$31
This campground was a pleasant surprise. We were a bit concerned, since it was so close to town, and some of the previous reviews were less than complimentary. However, the park was very clean, hookup sites were spaced out well, with shade trees. It was very quiet all three nights we spent here. It is close to walking trails along the Yakima River. There are many activities close by, including museums, wineries, etc. so this is a good place to stay! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$28
This is a great state park to stay in. We have a small motorhome and two dogs and really enjoyed our stay. It is very neat and has nice hiking trails and a very nice atmosphere. The park is well run and very neat. At night, only a hint of traffic noise can be heard in the distance, yet this park is located conveniently. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
My husband and I have camped within the majority of state parks within western WA. We do not recommend staying at this campground, unless maybe you live in Yakima and have little tiny kids. There wasn't much to do at all. We felt like we were in a daycare with hundreds of little kids making a ton of noise. The park is also used by homeless people to spend the night. I didn't feel our stuff was safe, way too much noise and nothing to do! Yakima Speedway is across the river and the sounds were so loud, we just looked at each other and laughed. We drove 2.5 hrs to get there and had to stay the night, but we left as soon as we woke up. WE WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS CAMPGROUND WHATSOEVER! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$13
Go here once or twice each summer/fall. Quiet. roomy enough. Clean. Rate reflects senior limited income pass. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$27
After staying at the superior Wallowa Lake State Park in Oregon the previous night, we were somewhat disappointed by Yakima Sportsmen. It's nice, but it costs more and you get less. The park offers volleyball courts and horseshoes and lots of greenspace for games. It's very popular with large parties. Cottonwoods line the roads. There are hiking trails, fishing in a pond (for kids) and in the Yakima River, which you can hear from the campsites. Each site has a picnic table and fire ring, and wood is for sale for $5 a box (you haul). The bathrooms were as clean as can be expected in a state park but have no hot water in the sinks. You have to buy tokens to use the showers, which cost 50 cents for every three minutes. On the first night, quiet hours were not enforced, and we heard people yelling well into the night. The second night was very quiet, however. The sites are cheaper if you don't use the online reservation service (which has a fee) and if you are a state resident. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$29
This huge park has a limited number of sites(make reservations early), but vast amounts of grassy, treed, well maintained areas for play, exercise, group functions, or family barbeques. A perfect base for a wine-tasting week-end. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$20
For an RV park so close to town, you tend to forget it’s there. There’s a nice paved nature trail on the North end. (albeit a short one). A longer and more wild trail is to the South end, and somewhat follows the Yakima River. The RV sites are a bit close together, and maneuvering a large 40’ motorhome is somewhat challenging. The campsites are spread out between sections. The bathrooms are always nice and clean. The park has a lot of open grassy areas to walk around in, and are well maintained. There’s a large flock of ducks and geese to feed, and they’re tame enough to stand right at your feet as they squawk for handouts. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$22
We camped here for two days during the off season. The park was very clean and well maintained but the restrooms were closed for the season. All sites are now outfitted with 50 amp service along with water and sewer. It was fall and the colors were beautiful and the weather was great. The park rangers stopped and visited with us for a while as did the camp host. It was a wonderful stay and we will camp there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$22
July, 2003. Around 102 degrees. Many mosquitos, be prepared. Hookup sites are quite open. Pull through sites are very close together. Very grassy park with large trees. Stream runs through park (mainly in the tent area). Quiet. Great day-use area with lots of green grass & huge beautiful trees. Nice play equipment. Group BBQ area with picnic shelter. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com