214909 User submitted reviews online!!
Beech Fork State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (304) 528-5794
CGID3205

Beech Fork State Park

Camp Information
Sites
275
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$29



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   8   9   9   9   8   7   4   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$29
Nice park. We stayed in the Old Orchard section in a pull through lake front site. No cell coverage on our Sprint phones (talked to a few people and found out best signal is ATT). Saw lots of wildlife including many deer does and fawns and 2 bucks. Contrary to opinions on here, I loved the curvy, hilly roads. Being from Florida, I enjoyed driving the roads in my car and was just extra careful when in my class A pulling a toad. Nice pool and recreation area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$26
We loved the park. We stayed in a 50amp full hookup spot. Fantastic bike riding and dog walking. Sites are not real close together, pretty level and good power and water. Nice lake, tennis courts and swimming pool close by even tho we didn't use them. Septic is at the back of the site but make it nice in my mind. Bathrooms are plenty good. Downsides for us,, no Verizon service, didn't get satellite but probably could have if we moved over one site. THE ROAD IN IS VERY BAD!! Narrow, sharp curves, mailboxes and guard rails right on the road. If not for the lack of cell service and the road in I would have given this park a 9. And I have NEVER given a 10 yet I don't think. The road would be fine for the more narrow trailers but our motorhome was tight tight tight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$25
Beautiful well maintained park. We stayed in the new area that had 50 amp FHU at the park entrance. There are some beautiful sites on the lake further into the grounds if you don't require 50 amp, but due to the heat, we felt it wiser to take advantage and use our A/C. Personnel very nice and helpful. Walking trails, a lot of wild life, nice sized sites. Our area was all pull through; the lake sites were back-ins. Decent OTA TV signal. The only negative, for us, was our Verizon air card and cell phone had little to no signal. Other than that, we really enjoyed our time here and would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$22
Very nice campground. Pool is nice. We camped on the lake in Moxleys branch. Campground is not too cramped. The only negative thing about Beech Fork is all the golf carts. They are dangerous and a nuisance. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
Beautiful and well-kept state park. Quiet and peaceful. The road in according to Woodalls and road signs, was very narrow and winding. We took a slightly different route out, recommended by campground personnel, which was much better. Call and ask staff for best route. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$23
We stayed here one night. Its a great state park once you get there. You must drive along Route 10 which is a narrow, winding road to reach the park. The park is on a lake and stretches out quite a way. The lake near us was still and did not have fresh looking water in it. Tent campers are separated from RV people. Showers have shower curtains not locked doors. There is no TV and no computer connections at all. We saw deer grazing on the park grounds. The grounds are clean and neat. The Ranger on duty at the check in gate was super nice. We would return here for a longer stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$22
We were very pleased with this park. Yes, the road to get to and from the park is curvy, and it is a way off the beaten path, so I suggest going to the grocery store in Huntington on your way to the campground so that you won't have to leave again. No cell phone service. Other than that, it was clean and nice, with friendly park rangers. We will definitely be camping here again when we visit family in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2005
$26
The campground is nice but the road leading to it is terrible. It is about 8 miles out to the interstate and it is a narrow and hilly 8 miles! There is one curve that you can almost read the license plate on your own camper when you go through! The sites are very nice and the water is very pretty. The waterfront sites are primitive or electric only. The inland sites have water and only the front section has sewer. Cell phones will not work there! Most sites are level and the water drains well in a hard rain. I would probably rate it higher if it wasn't such a pain to get into and out of. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2002
$13
The rate of 13 a night is because it was in the off season. We were not at all pleased with this campground. Here are the problems we found. Standing water throughout the camp site. Straw in several camp sites including ours. Drinking and roudy neighbors as late as 1am. Very dirty bath house. Very narrow winding road to camp site. All of these problems could have been just because of what time we were there. We are going to try it again to see if things are better in the in season. Things we like. Location to Barboursville Mall and Restuarants. Wildlife. Lots level. Easy hook up Friendly staff. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$20
Very nice park with lots of shade. Clean facilities and grounds. Wildlife strolls through the campground (white-tail deer, geese, ducks, turkey.) Sites along lake $18 per night and have posts to tie boats. Boat rental in campground (paddleboats and rowboats.) Pontoons and boats w/motors can be rented at marina at other end of lake. Staff and management are friendly and helpful. Campsites are mostly level with picnic table and firebox with grill-type cover. Camp store has very limited selection of RV supplies and food. Bait and fishing license available as well as ice and firewood. Walmarts and other stores approx. 11 miles away. We have camped here each year since '89. Very family oriented. They have activities on weekends during summer months. The reason we gave it a "9" rating was because roads are somewhat narrow and curvy; (which seems to be a requirement for WV state parks). Also, park is approx.12 miles from interstate 64. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com