223089 User submitted reviews online!!
Harpers Ferry / Civil War Battlefields KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 134 user reviews. Phone: (304) 535-6895
CGID3214

Harpers Ferry / Civil War Battlefields KOA

Camp Information
Sites
310
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$59



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   1   6   8   4   7   8   9   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2014
$59
I checked Woodall's and went with their recommendation. It turns out that their rating is way too high for this facility. The sites are very undeveloped. West Virginia is a wet state but you wouldn't know that by the amount of grass that is seen at these sites. No Grass. Just dirt and gravel. If there is WiFi available it is not very good. Can't log on to it. Cable TV just keeps saying poor signal. The price per night was $10 higher than the highest price listed in Woodall's. My biggest complaint is that the receptionist at the registration office was not only unfriendly but down right rude and abrupt. The only reason I stayed is that I was too tired to keep driving and looking. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2014
$65
I generally only review anything when I have something good to say. RV parks that don't live up to their promotions are not that uncommon and it just usually is not worth the time to spread negativity. This particular facility, however, is worth an exception just in hopes of saving others the disappointment and aggravation of a poorly designed facility with just about the rudest front desk person we've encountered in 20 years of RVing. This won't be detailed, but the $125 fee for two nights in mid-week off-season; the abrupt, careless and downright rude behavior of the office staff; the narrow sites, unlevel and nothing more than parking spots, really; the non-functional WiFi and non-functional television cable. Well, they're probably enough to give an idea of our experience. I expect they are around only because they have no nearby competition. My advice - Find a different park if you want a pleasant experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2014
$42
Their price is high, but they have a lot going on for kids and free pancakes on Sunday. Our price reflects an average for 3 nights at a "stay 2 nights get 1 free" discount. They charged me an additional $8 resort fee for all three nights, but since the email stated an incorrect amount for the resort fee, 2 nights of the resort fee was taken off our bill. Sites and roads are gravel. Our site was very narrow (we could not extend our awning). Since they were so full, the office said wifi could only be obtained at the office. When rigs started to leave, wifi was at our individual site. Very clean, people nice. Price is high, but this is about the only show in town. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$59
It irritates me that some KOA's charge a "resort fee". Here that fee is $8.00. I would prefer that the rate just be increased to reflect the resort status. This KOA probably does qualify as a resort - it has a lot going on, with lot's of amenities, including free pancakes. Sites are gravel with some areas having grass between sites. Our site, #72 just fit our 34' motorhome. Water, sewer, electric, cable were excellent. Wi-Fi was also very strong. We would return again if in the area. Location is great for visiting the Harper's Ferry area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2014
$71
They gouge you for everything. We reserved a pull thru premium site with 50 amps. On top that fee they charged $2/day/dog and a "resort fee" of $8.00/person. For this amount we got a site on a double hill, fore and aft and side to side. We didn't have enough blocks to make it near level. They have tree branches which rub you rig on the way into the site at the top of the access road. Just watched a neighbor try to get into their site for more than 1/2 hr. There are only a few rigs in this area and you'd think they would give out the most level sites first. Large rigs beware. Will not ever return to this CG. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$30
This campground is adjacent to the Harpers Ferry visitor center and nestled among battle fields and forest. Pretty property. Surprised that road noise is minimal. Staff is friendly. Most sites are level. In summer it must be crowded because the sites are pretty close together especially in the full hookups section. The facilities are not adequate for the size of this park, and are not maintained, even during in weekdays, when the park was only 10 percent occupied. Tepid water in showers, littered with bugs, dirt, hair, even a cigarette butt. To visit the nearby sites, it is one of few choices. We would stay here again during weekdays. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$61
This park was full of amenities....playground, jumping pillow, game room, pancake breakfast, basketball court, volleyball court, auction and wine tasting our weekend,hayride, etc..and all were free. The facilities were well maintained and the staff were well organized and kind. Many sites offered shade and this KOA is convenient to the national park. However, we will not return to this campground because of the high cost and because the RV sites were much too close together. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$54
Very nice campground! The little ones in our group loved the jump pillow, pool, arcade and snack shop. The particular site we stayed at #77 was kinda tight, but we were with friends so we didn't mind. We were tubing that particular weekend (with River Riders). The bus picked us up and dropped us back off at the campground which was convenient. Great camp store and friendly staff. They also offer a free pancake breakfast in the morning which is a plus! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$50
Rate was about $50 after getting the 3rd night free coupon deal on website. Branding is excellent, employees all wear yellow, super friendly. Our site was level. But many sites with the big rig premium patios were super sloped, needs to be fixed! Wi-Fi good except for periods of congestion. AT&T signal was weak. We did not experience noise at night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$58
This is our second visit to this campground. In October 2012 we stayed in the wooded sites (168), which were slightly difficult to get into, but spacious. We had to go out and buy extra electric, sewer and coaxial in order to reach, but once we did, everything was fine. We stayed near the camp entrance in July 2013. The sites in this section are very small. Almost no room outside our camper. Some of the sites had a useless cement patio. Ours had grass, but not much of it. There are a lot of amenities at this campground, but many are outdated. The camp store is nice, and there is a cute wine shop, but the restrooms are filthy, and the pool is disgusting. However, there is so much to do in this area, visiting the town of Harper's Ferry, the casino, tubing in the river and zip lining all very close by. If we stayed here again, it would be in the wooded sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$47
We stayed here while visiting Harpers Ferry National Park (very convenient to this campground). While we did not participate in any of them, the campground had many planned family activities. The grounds were clean and well maintained, and the staff were all very friendly. The gift shop/camp store was actually some of the best shopping in the area. My only knock is that the sites are rather close and the campground was packed. We had one of the deluxe "large" pull-throughs, and even it was a bit cramped. We had no problem getting in, as we came on Thursday night, but the place definitely filled up Friday and we would have had a problem pulling out on Sunday had we not requested a late check out. Incidentally, we explained that there was a program at the park that we wanted to attend and they were very gracious in granting the late check out and didn't charge a fee for it. The rate reflected a buy 2 nights get a 3rd night free rate. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$66
The positives of this campground were: location to Harper's Ferry National Park and good parking area for checking into the campground. The check in was fairly quick even though we had to request an escort to our site. The negatives far outweighed the positives in our opinion. The $6 resort fee charged per day would have been appropriate if you used the resort amenities. Since we never did, I felt we should have had a choice as to whether we wanted to use those resort amenities and be charged accordingly. The sites were fairly close together and many of the campers near our site (36) were very loud during the day and into the night. There was open drinking all day and very loud and disturbing behavior that was never addressed by the management. As this continued into the night well past the 10 pm quiet time, no security addressed this issue and as a call to the campground office resulted in an answering machine, we were forced to call the local police to deal with the loud and obnoxious neighbors. The next morning when I reported this to the office they seemed more upset that we had involved the local police than that we were disturbed well into the night. However, they did address the problem the following night although the same behavior continued during the day. I felt this behavior was inappropriate for a KOA family campground. After the weekend passed and the beer drinkers left, the campground was quiet and pleasant. The wi-fi was slow and the cable channels limited. I thought the price was very high for the quality of the campground. We do not plan to stay in this campground again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$52
Nice park, great area, however, the advertised price is $46/night, but when you get to the confirmation page on the internet site, you are charged $6 resort fee. The fee is for the putt-putt golf, pool, and other amenities. And you don't have the opportunity to opt out. However, you can get a free pancake breakfast. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$65
Paid destination surcharge. Had a pull through spot and it might as well have been a back in, very narrow and unlevel. Saw at least 4 units not being able to turn corners without unhooking tow vehicle. Paid extra for pet surcharge, and dog run was so muddy at entrance you could not get in the dog run for 5 days. Not anywhere worth the amount for the spots. Wi-fi would not work at spot; had to go to the office to use wi-fi. Staff very friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$53
We loved the area and views. The property was nice and clean. We don't like being charged additional fees on arrival. They added a pet fee and a "resort" fee. What resort?? Their answer was the pool, although the heater is broken so it is too cold to use. Still had to pay the fee though! They don't even pick up trash. The site that we were placed in didn't have cable or a concrete patio, like the reservation stated. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$50
Great campground for families with kids. Lots to do. However, it doesn't appeal to my wife and me, as we normally like quiet. But like I said, if you have kids and want lots of organized activities, this is a well run machine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$68
Clean campground, friendly staff, nice pool, entertainment available at night for the family or children. Store was well stocked, not over priced and helpful folks at the counter. The only negative was the size of the site. We have a 29ft (bumper to ball) travel trailer. We were placed into a pull through site that was supposed to accommodate us. There was no room for my truck to park at the sight and they were so narrow I worried about the neighbor's fire burning my roof! Would stay again but would need to have a full confirmation on the size of the sight dimensions. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$48
Pulled in Friday night a bit before 10pm. We checked in and were assisted in taking our tow dolly to a parking location with their gator (great service since the dolly would not fit at our site). Next we were escorted to our site and assisted in backing in the RV. Great service!! They have a pancake breakfast, coffee and wine shop, impressive store with RV amenities, groceries, and gifts. There are plenty of activities at the KOA and outside the grounds with river rafting and Harpers Ferry itself. The shuttle to Harper's Ferry is a short 2 minute drive from the KOA. Only downside is the Wi-Fi was not connecting at the pool for some reason. Impressing grounds and staff. We will be back for sure as we already booked our second stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$60+
There seem to be a lot of amenities but it is an old park. I pretty much agree with the last reviewer. We came here because we had been without good Wi-Fi for 6 days and I needed to catch up on some work and do laundry. There is a miniature golf course and a pool and they apparently serve some food at a little cafe by the pool. Pretty crowded park with sites close together. Nice laundry. Clean. Apple users beware that you have to go to office to connect to Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2012
$60
I've never been impressed by KOA's but it's the only game in town, so thought I would give them another try. It is a long walking distance to the national park, it's that close, but otherwise it lived up to my expectations for KOA. I think the KOA "difference" is how close you can get your awning to the next campsites slide without actually touching it, this was no exception. First impression, the fire ring was full of beer cans from the last guest, pretty much set the tone for the experience. Lot of late night drinkers, which I would not care about if they were not 3 feet away from my bedroom slide. Basic cable TV that was poor signal strength, poor Wi-Fi and a surprising number of seasonal campers. There looked to be some nicer sites, but in the "horseshoe" it's packed in as tight as you can get. I'd look around again before I would stay here. Think this one finally swore me off KOA's for good. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$56
Wow: clean and very spacious. Everything from small tent sites to large shaded, to open sites with a pad. Staff was able to assist with local attractions. The wives enjoyed the on-site wine bar with complementary afternoon tastings. Lot of activities for kids of all ages and free breakfast every morning. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2012
$49
If you want to camp at Harper's Ferry, this is the place. It is the only place. First the good parts. It is within feet of the National Park; in fact some of the artillery positions are within the campground. Access is good. Camp store is very large and well supplied. Now, the rest of the story. The place is not in good shape. It appears all the money is going into the main parking lot, the registration / store building, and more and more cabins (lots of them). There are a surprising number of long time campers and the sites are not well kept. Interior roads are a mixture of gravel and degraded paving. Sites are rough gravel (but level). The place needs a cleaning crew: picnic tables are broken and dirty, some fire rings are broken and rusted out, the dog park was filled with dog waste. Staff is friendly but clueless. Cable is basic only and there is no channel guide. There is no info on the national park in the office. Wi-Fi stinks in that you cannot pull up the IP address so can't get on. It got a KOA President's Award, but we think they all get that. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2011
$74
Internet not working, cable reception terrible, bouncing pillow broken. Staff not really interested in responding to problems. Very tight sites in 50 amp area. Close to National Park and zip-line/raft trips. Only "game" in town, and it shows! Still the best place to stay to visit this charming town and the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2011
$46
A very cramped park with the standard KOA facilities. Interestingly, the sites with the least elbow room are the most expensive "premium" spaces with the paved patio. Also, these sites lack any shade. Many of the pull-through sites were far from level. (we noted several class As with their front wheels several inches off the ground.) The cable TV did not work and although it was brought to the staff's attention twice, it was never repaired. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$50
We come here every year in October with family and friends. Love the atmosphere, the large sites and friendly staff. Very close to Charlestown Races and Slots and shopping. Great place to camp. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$45
My family and the group we were with loved this campground. It was full of surprises, like the free all you can eat pancake breakfast every morning and free firewood delivered to our site everyday. We actually felt like we got our money's worth. There were tons of planned kid activities: ice cream socials, movies in a real theater, trick or treating, and pumpkin carving with free huge pumpkins. The campground features were very impressive. A 24 hour campground store, and large arcade, a Civil War Museum, a brick civil arsenal replica which doubled as a wine shop, and a large pool and bouncy pillow. This was my first time camping with our 5th wheel. 4 KOA employees helped guide me patiently into my site. The only things that could be improved would be: to level the sites better. My site was off by over a foot from site to side, update the old bathrooms, and provide Wi-Fi that actually works. The last 4-5 KOA's I stayed at have advertised free Wi-Fi, but none have had Wi-Fi that actually worked. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$75
It was a KOA. The kids play area and pool were nice. The spots were shaded, but difficult to get in to, and the hosts were unseen if you like that "family feel" of most KOA's. Of course the location is perfect for visiting Harpers Ferry (you can walk, we did), and even a short drive to Antietam. All in all, it was a "meh" campground. We would probably not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$55
Right off main highway and very close to Harpers Ferry NP. Roads were paved, our site was fairly level. Water, power, and Cell (AT&T) were good. Many activities for kids. We would recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$44
Very nice campground with lots to do especially for kids. There is a $1.50 charge for each pet and $8.00 charge for each visitor (each day). Our site and most sites we saw were unlevel so bring plenty of blocks. The Wi-Fi worked OK. Sites are either gravel or dirt. The history of the area is why this is a good stop and there are some very good restaurants in Harpers Ferry. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$54
This is a good campground for easy access to the battlefields/parks, rafting and tubing. as well as the Charlestown Raceway and Casino. We had a pull-thru site, and found the sites easy to get into, but not very spacious. Some had concrete patios, ours did not and the ground was unlevel, which made it hard walking at dusk. Facilities were very clean, great pool, nice game room and well-stocked store. Lots of activities for kids (indoor basketball court, 18-hole mini-golf, bounce house), and nice coffee bar. We would camp here again but would request site with concrete patio so as to avoid turned ankles. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$75
This is a fabulous place if you are camping with kids. They always have lots of activities to do. They have a huge pool, inflatable slides, a jumping pillow, hayrides, an indoor basketball court, ice cream shop, and a mini golf course. Everything is clean and neat. The staff is very friendly. The roads are paved so they are nice for bike riding. There's a nice pet area if you camp with your furry friends. We camp here for short amounts of time as we only live 10 miles from the campground. It's a great getaway! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$65
Poor wi-fi. Very tight pull through sites for big rigs. Good location close to town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$55
I love this campground! family friendly and I cant wait to go back again. I love this staff and activities for the kids of all ages! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$65
Great location for Harpers Ferry, Antietam battlefield. Lots of activities; free pancake breakfast; game room, pool; camp store. Sites and roads were a little tight but not impossible to navigate. Had guides to help get to our site. Shaded location on top of a hill: sites were not 100% level but we were still able to level with our 'lego' blocks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$44
This was our first stay at this park. It is probably described as a destination park. You don't really need to go off property for much of anything. We were impressed how nice the people are and they worked hard to keep the campground clean. This KOA has a huge pool, indoor, full-court basketball court, movie theatre, a jumping pillow that has a canopy over it, several concession stands, a big game room, and the list can go on. The camp store was the biggest and best we have ever seen at a campground. It was well-stocked with plenty of food, souveniers and pretty much anything you need. We stayed Thurs-Sun on Pirate-theme weekend. (Hint: The Thursday was Free from a flyer on their website if you stay the weekend.) Plenty of activities and plenty of kids around. The campground was very full. Thursday was much quieter. Free pancake breakfast, which was very nice. You only needed to pay for juice and sausage. Showers and bathrooms were always clean. The sites can be close for some, but not any more so than most places we have camped. Our site was level. The resort fee should be rolled into the regular price. I don't mind paying the extra bit of money. I guess I just would not like to see it itemized. I think it was worth it though. We camped with teenage girls and they had plenty to do here. The Harpers Ferry National Park, which is right next door, has shuttles that go in to the Lower city. It was a nice afternoon to explore. The area is great for rafting, hiking, biking and exploring. There is a nice fruit stand next to the big flea market about 1 mile from the campground on US 340. Overall, I think this was an enjoyable campground that we will return to this season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$63
We stayed recently with 2 other families and their campers. Had a good time, no major issues with the facilities. We did notice that the water pressure was kind of high which caused our camper plumbing to leak. After I bought a pressure regulator in the camp store and installed it, the problem went away. Camp store prices were not TOO bad. Our friends had a really cramped site the first night (AVOID SITE 88), and asked to move to another nearby site for the second night which was graciously accommodated. Cell phone coverage in the area was spotty for me (Verizon) and I had no data because of being on the extended network. No biggie, because there was complimentary Wi-Fi! There was a fenced pet area where we could let our dog off-leash for a few minutes. Pool was clean and refreshing. Showers were spotless, restrooms were OK, but could have used a little more frequent freshening up. As for the wrist bands mentioned in other reviews, we were never requested to display them unless we were using the pool or other facilities. Sunday morning church services are held at 8:00 AM if that's your thing, although the sewage treatment facility is in plain sight behind the altar and the maintenance shed is buzzing with activity during the service, which makes it hard to hear the Reverend at times. All in all, a positive experience and we will return again in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$40
This was my first time to Harpers Ferry. I must say when I arrived I was thinking ok this might be hard to level. However It was just fine and it was easy. The campground is nice with lots to do for the kids. Pool , putt-putt, bikes, chess, game room, air pillow, etc. Even a play area for dogs. That was great. We stayed from Wed-Sat, so campground was not packed so that made it very good as well. The workers were outstanding very polite and friendly. I met the owner: what a nice guy. I would highly recommend this campground. My family will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2011
$68
$53 per night for a cramped, unlevel site, plus $10 per night for 2 kids, plus $5 per night for a dog. No planned activities, overpriced game room, must be out by 11AM Sunday (campsites not cabins). The putt putt was free, had a nice dog park and free pancakes. For the price there are many better campgrounds to choose from, so unless Harpers Ferry is your destination, go somewhere else. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$52
Typical KOA, plenty for kids. The rate is typically $6 more when you add the resort fee to use amenities. There was 1 toilet and shower in the big rig area. You had to use restrooms by the office for other area. Wi-Fi wouldn't work because it was wet. The electric box had receptacle recessed so we had to force our plug in. Rating reflects lack of good Wi-Fi and bathrooms. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$70
First you need to be aware that full service sites for a class A motorhome in this part of the country seem to be in limited supply. This is a nice campground with easy access and is right outside the national park. We had a level gravel pull through with 50 amp, cable, water, and sewer. Not all sites are level. They had a nice putt putt course and pool. Being a KOA the number of kids would be unbearable in the summer. The staff was friendly. The only negative was the cost. The early May rate was $42 plus this fee and that fee, resulting in $70/night. Extremely high for a spot to camp overnight, in our opinion, and one of the reasons we normally try to avoid KOA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$57
Huge park right next to the entrance to Harpers Ferry Nat'l park. Great walking. Only complaint was that our site wasn't level. This is a class organization and we had a great time. They have a Saturday and Sunday free pancake breakfast. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$48
Park looks as if it would be great in the summer. Cabins are very nice (new) but close together, and still very muddy. Store was stocked extremely well, and staff was very friendly. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2010
$53
This park was busy, crowded and way over priced. The sites are small, short and narrow. The staff was friendly. The showers are showing their age and need an overhaul, though they were clean. We were here on the Halloween weekend. I'm not sure if that was the reason the park was so busy or just the proximity to Harper's Ferry NP. Would not go back simply due to the price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$47
This was the biggest KOA I have ever stayed in. Concerning some of the past reviews about paying a $5 a day "resort" fee. It does exist, but we did not have to pay it since our stay did not cover a weekend. And as for the out of level sites, there are definitely some. Interestingly, the most out of level sites were the ones in the center of the park that had cement patios. Since our preference is to have a patio if possible, selected one of them. And yes, I did need blocks to get level. The patio sites do not have the railroad ties on the low edges to level the pad. They are more on a sloped hill. The patio sites were nice as we had a heavy rain one night, and the site did not get muddy. The next weekend is Holloween, and there will be many events for families. I suspect that place will be jammed, and the "resort fee" will apply. Also a great location to visit local Civil War sites from. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$50
Nice park, lots of people. Great big laundry room, one of the biggest I've seen. We'd be back for sure! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$48
This campground is a good sized one. It is more of a camping resort than a generic campground with a pool. It has an enormous pool, large game room (though it could use some updating), snack cafe, miniature golf, museum, movie theater, and a Civil War trench. It's not everyday you can camp next to history...literally! Plenty of shade and wildlife (had forest animal surprise me one night!) The laundromat seems to service the whole area, not just the CG. The nice part of that is there were plenty of machines to get the wash done in one cycle! The staff are fantastic and helped us out when we were RV novices and needed desperate help the previous winter. Recommended for active families! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$79
Really nice campgrounds with lots of activities for kids. We stayed in a cabin and was grateful for the air conditioning. Our friends had the RV and the campsite seemed very spacious. However it did seem to my inexperienced eye that many of the sites required leveling, which I guess is just part of RVing. I really enjoyed it for the short time we were here and would go back, but maybe when the weather is a little cooler. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$55
We stayed here for an extended time. The Manager was very friendly. We had a noise problem in the beginning and he gave us his cell number and told us to call if we had a problem no matter what time it was and he would catch them in the act and remedy it. The wi-fi is frustrating and I wish the sites were on cement pads. Staff is great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$49
This campground was amazing. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The campground was clean and family friendly. We will be going back hopefully very soon. I have recommended this campground to friends and will continue to recommend it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2010
$55
We camped here over Father's Day weekend when they were having the Outdoor River Festival. Let me first off by saying, I have camped here 2 other times and enjoyed myself. This time was VERY different though. They gave me site 48 -- let me tell you -- don't ever get this site. Some of the other posters mentioned being right on top of their neighbors. YEP, you got it...we could barely put our awning out without touching the camper in front of us. The knats were horrible... forget taking your dog to the dog park, it was dirty, gross, and I thought the knats would carry my dog and myself away. The festival was boring. Food they sold was overpriced and didn't even taste good. The Pool was huge but PACKED all the time. We ended up driving to Charles Town Races and Slots just to get away from the campground for a few hours. It was in the high 90's all 3 days we were there. Not the campground's fault but definitely not fun for much else but using the pool. I will give this campground one more try and then I am done. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2010
$50
This was the worst camping trip I've had in my 20 years of camping. The manager/owner of this park made it very clear this was his park! Instead of approaching his fellow campers with courtesy, he approached with a very unfriendly attitude. We were chased down by a golf-cart and reprimanded in front of other guests and he threatened to call the police due to an undefined campground policy. The sites around #73, were less than 20 feet across and un-level. Everyone had to wear wristbands "even while sleeping" because this Campground wants to make as much money as they can from day visitors, and needed to distinguish them from campers. We were checked constantly and reprimanded (told we would have to leave) if we didn't wear these unsightly wristbands. Keep in mind, we along with 4 other family's here, spent at least $1500 for this vacation getaway to go tubing down the local river. We were also reprimanded for having a fence up around our site so it would keep our pet safe from the Doberman pincers a few sites down. This was my first trip at a KOA and it will be the last, all due to the mannerisms of staff and managers of this park. Although we had a great time at River Riders, local flea markets, local ghost hunting, and civil war museum on site. However, we would return to this campground and other KOA's if the manager/owner learned how to speak to his Paying Guests. A campers word goes a long way. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2010
$51
We camped here one night in our motorhome and I would never come here again. Our picnic table was over the neighbor's sewer hose. The sites were very crowded and full of noisy neighbors. There was no privacy and it was difficult to maneuver our 34 foot vehicle into the little roadways. It is totally charmless. The Wifi did not work. I was advised to sit on the porch of the camp store to try it. We fled early the next morning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$54
Nice campground. We stayed here in June. The pool is nice and clean. They have a nice store, a large theater, game room, and indoor basketball court. They do charge a $5.00 per person 'resort fee' which I was OK with but a lot of the activities they advertise are held only on the weekends. We'd come back if we were in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$46
Good location for tourist sites, i.e. Visitor Center shuttle to Harper's Ferry. Sites were gravel and not completely level. Price was a little costly for a one night and campground appeared to cater to local people by charging day passes. We had to pay a Resort Fee though we did not use the amenities. We thought we should have been given an option as they used a wrist band method to distinguish. Overall it was a pleasant stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$55
Sites were very tight. Plenty of activities for the kids. No issues with electric, septic, or water. Internet was down while we were there. Staff was super friendly We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2010
$50
The reason I gave this campground a low rating is the price. All campers pay a $5.00 fee for the amenities whether you use them or not. I am referring to the pool, putt putt, dog park, moon bounce, etc. Also, to reserve a specific site for the future you have to pay a $20.00 fee to hold that site otherwise you could get bumped off your site. I will not stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$74
This is the second year we stayed here for Memorial Weekend and were definitely disappointed this time around. They have added some new amenities but as they add, they seem to also be neglecting the rest of the park. The pool, even though it is huge and heated, definitely needs some tlc. The bathrooms were not up to the usual cleanliness that we had come to expect from this campground. I don't think they ever tested the ph levels or chemicals in the pool; if they had, they would have known they needed to be corrected. Apparently when quiet hours start at 10 pm, you are expected to go to bed and if not, you are harassed by the "Campground Cops" until you do. They have started nickel and diming you for everything now. We stopped going to Yogi Bear for this very same reason. Not sure if we will go back again or not. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2010
$52
Memorial Day weekend 2010. First, the good: Harpers Ferry KOA is a great campground as far as amenities. The children had a great time with the jumping pillow, pool game room, ice cream, basketball courts, and the adults loved the volleyball game. There are lots of Kabins at this site. I also like that the staff ride around and pick up your trash bags that you can set at the end of your site. They also ride around and have firewood and ice that you can purchase right at your site. Their campstore is one of best I have seen!! They even have a 100 seat movie theater that shows family friendly movies! Now, the not so good: This is something that many reviewers have commented on and that I read about prior to me camping here: The sites are so close together (side by side and across from each other) which makes it challenging when you are backing in an RV. In our case, we have a 28 foot travel trailer. If our (RV site) neighbors across from our site were there when we pulled in it would have been tricky, hopefully not impossible because we also had a huge tree stump to maneuver around on our site (site 179) as well. When it was time to leave, we pulled out at 8:00 am while everyone was still sleeping. I had to stand outside of the truck to make sure my husband was clear of the tree on our site and the neighbor's truck across from us. Also when traveling through the campground at one point I had to get out to make sure we were clear of another vehicle. The roads are also not marked so you really don’t know if you are traveling down the opposite direction of a one way road. I think I saw one arrow in the whole campground area that we traveled. All in all we had a great time with family and friends. Memorial Day weekend is an extremely busy weekend so, maybe on an "off weekend" the space issue isn't so bad. This will always be a "review issue" and there is nothing the owners can do about that now, so hopefully when the campground is not as busy they take their "space issue" into consideration when assigning sites to RVers. Would I camp here again: No, and only because of the space issue. The campground is only a little over an hour from our home which is an ideal destination and like I said, earlier, the staff and amenities are wonderful but for our own "sanity" and fear of tearing up our property or someone else's we will go elsewhere. Oh, and our Internet connection was great the first day but did not connect on the rest of the days due to a low signal. But that was OK because I needed to be "disconnected" from technology, however it would have been nice to "browse occasionally"!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$54
We were given FHU site 37 which was 4 inches out of level. So we switched to site # 50 which was 2.5 inches off level. Site 50 is one of the new deluxe sites and as stated below, very tight but with a nice cement patio. But at the edge of our cement patio is our neighbors sewer next to our picnic table. Best bet are sites 43 – 47, these look nice and wide and level. Staff was very friendly and accommodating, lots of things to do on the weekends. WiFi and cable TV and all utilities work fine. Harpers Ferry entrance to the park is maybe 1 mile away from this KOA. We might stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$70
Must camp for single moms or families. Amazing staff, facilities. Awesome. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$46
This is our favorite campground. The wooded sites are fabulous and the campground staff are pleasant and helpful. This campground is on a civil war battlefield, and a short walk with your dog or kids will lead you to a picture perfect overlook view of the Shenandoah River. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$40
Spent Easter weekend at this KOA. Staff was very friendly, site was acceptable. Kids enjoyed the jumping pillow, playground and activities. We have no complaints and would stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$67
We were really impressed with this campground. It's beautiful, very clean and you could hear a pin drop at night. (No noisy highways near-by). The staff was super friendly and everywhere visible with bright yellow shirts ready to assist you. We stayed on a new "deluxe" site which actually we would not stay on again. It was VERY close to other sites with a tiny area for table and fire ring. We are coming back in June, and will stay in the wooded area where many of the sites are larger. We checked them out and they are very nice. The kids had a blast! The LARGE pool was closed, but not the "jumping pillow", museum, mini-golf, life-sized chess set, etc. Lots to do. Not to mention the C&O canal bike trails and river rafting near-by. Some reviewers have complained about it being very crowded. I'm sure it is in "in-season" as all great campgrounds are!! If you want to be by yourself this is not the campground for you. Can't wait to go back!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2010
$60
Our site wasn't level (rear wheels off the ground to level the coach). The trees on either side of our site were only 11 feet off the ground. When I complained to the manager, he said to file a claim with our insurance company. $60 rate includes a mandatory $5 Resort fee for all of the activities, including pool which was closed. We will never come back to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2009
$55
This rate was a pull thru with a 5% discount for reserving on line. All in all not worth the cost. Site was very, very uneven. Wi-Fi was hit and miss. Fire ring was so close to neighbor didn't dare even think of a fire. Reaffirmed why we avoid KOA's. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$39
It is a nice campground when it is not full. On a busy weekend plan for crowds. They seem to go overboard for charging for pets but I guess that discourages inconsiderate people from bringing dobermans to an already crowded environment. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$53
This is a very nice, clean KOA with lots of family amenities. Our site is gravel and not level, but it is close enough to work. The most amazing part of the park is the laundry facility, which is huge. This time of year, the park is not particularly pretty. The national park next door was disappointing and not worth the trip to Harper's Ferry. We would probably not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$55
Upsides: The campground is very well maintained, and it's very nice. The people were nice, and there are a ton of amenities. Downsides: As others have stated, the sites are rather narrow - we felt like we were right next to the campers next to us, and we just have a small B-van. The fire ring was uncomfortably close to the next camper after they pulled in. Also, the prices were kind of high, but I guess that's because of the area and all of the amenities. Note they charge a "pet fee" of $1.50/day, although they waived it when they heard we had a cat, not a dog. Another gripe was that they ask you to wear those annoying wrist bands similar to what you get in hospitals and the like - I understand WHY they do it (security), but at the same time ... they couldn't find a better way? At least find some wrist bands that have snaps on them so you can remove them at night? But, even with these gripes, we'll definitely go back there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$49
The heated pool was the biggest attraction for my kids. Even though the air temp was chilly, the pool really was warm, even for my young cardiac child. The park had a lot of things to do to keep the kids busy. They loved tie-dyeing t-shirts. The staff is super friendly and very helpful. The movie area was really big and always played kid friendly movies. The store was well stocked and reasonably priced. They will even deliver pizza to your site. The bathrooms and showers are cleaned once a day and were always clean when we used them. The laundry facility was also clean and very large. We had no power problems and the water pressure was great. We also used the Wi-Fi and had no issues with it. The reasons for dropping two points are: The sites are very narrow for our 31ft class C with one slide out and an awning. We sat at our fire ring right next to the sewer hook-up of our neighbor and I kept the fire very small because we were so close to our trailer. There are also no grills at each site. Other than those two minor issues the place is great. We will be staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$50
Harpers Ferry KOA in West Virgina (WV). We stayed at this campground from June 30-July 9, 2009. We are from the Toronto, Ontario, Canada area and picked this campground because of the amenities and facilities listed on the web site. We definitely picked the right park. Although the sites are a little small and many of the pull through sites are on the side of a hill (bring leveling blocks) the patios on the cable sites and campground facilities more than make up for it. The manager (Dale) is extremely friendly and accommodating when possible. The staff is friendly and very helpful. Mel was a great help and very informative about camping life. Garbage pickup and wood delivery were prompt and done with a pleasant greeting. During our one week stay many improvements were made on the campground including a new interlocking patio and new cement pathway leading to the miniature golf. The pond was dredged and cleaned. All of this construction was done while we were at the campground and we did not hear any of it. It was done quietly and unobtrusively. Quiet times were adhered to even during the July 4th holiday weekend. There is a movie theatre, a full sized indoor gym and a very large games room including multiple pool tables, multiple air hockey tables and many video games. The pool is very large and there is also a wading pool for smaller children. The campground store is large and well stocked with groceries, toys and camper needs. We also chose this campground as a home base for visits into Washington, DC. We drove approximately 40mins to the subway and rode the subway for another 40mins or so from the Shady Grove station. This is a very popular line for commuters so be prepared to stand for part of the trip if you take the subway during rush hour. The Red Line from Shady Grove takes you directly into the downtown core and close to nearly all tourist attractions including the US State Capitol, the White House, the Washington Monument and the Smithsonian museums. What you cannot reach via the red line can be easily reached with a simple transfer to the Blue Line. The blue line will take you closer to the Smithsonian, the Holocaust Museum, Arlington Cemetery and the Lincoln Memorial. Be prepared to walk some distances as there are many attractions. Word of advice...book your passes to attractions (e.g. Holocaust Museum, State Capitol) ahead of time whenever possible as the lines can be long and the passes may run out. I highly recommend this campground. The scenery is gorgeous in the area and there is an abundance of activities within easy driving distances. The Luray Caverns were a highlight of our trip. The admittance was expensive at $21.00 but well worth the price. Bring a camera!!!! The campground is at the site where the Shenandoah River joins the Potomac River and you can float or raft down the river with many companies within minutes of the campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2009
$68
There were a couple of things that caught my eye while staying here. One the pool was just dirty, all the walls on the lining were just down right dirty (not good impression). Second was the interesting amount of what seemed to be poison ivy growing through the chain linked fence at the pool. Third was the amount of foul language being used by certain folks towards their own children while in ear shot of other small children. Fourth was the rule of no drinks, food or smoking while in the pool area and these certain folks had their children eating and leaving chicken bones, bags of empty chips and plates throughout the pool area. I have stayed at other KOA campgrounds and they were very nice and so were the folks at Harpers Ferry. Will I ever go back? Don't think so, unless certain things change. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$40
Nice park close to the National Park. You pay an additional $4.00/Day resort fee to cover park amenities, including WiFi. Manager and staff are very friendly and helpful. Stayed on a 3 day internet special at a W/E site only - then had to pay $5.00 to dump when we left. The feeling of being nickeled and dimed was present. Great park for family/kids and not sure where else to stay if just visiting the NP. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$46
We stayed here Memorial Day Weekend. We had a great time. They have one of the cleanest rest rooms we have ever seen at a campground, and this was even on a holiday weekend when they were packed to the hilt with campers. The site we had was fairly level. My only complaint was that the site given was way to small for a 32' Travel trailer with a slide. We had a hard time positioning in between the trees and had to wait for the travel trailer accross the road left so that we could get out. We couldn't even fit our truck on the same site and had to park it up front at the main office.The pool was warm and the kids had a great time swimming all weekend. They are doing a lot of improvements, and so far we are happy with what they have done. They have a great game room with a full size basketball court. We did see some huge sites just up from us that had small pop-ups or travel trailers on them. They really should be reserved for the larger units. We will definitely go back and have already made our reservations for next year. We also picked out our sites to make sure we have plenty of room to come and go. Also, even though you put a deposit down on a site, this does not guarantee a certain site. If you pay the extra $20 and for VIP, you are guaranteed your site. Has a group, only one has to pay for VIP and the rest get to enjoy the benefits of a guaranteed site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$46
Our site was way out of level (5"), behind the bunkhouse, by the bathrooms. There were three of us, all had made internet reservations for the KOA Care weekend & requested to be close together, we were spread all over. I called days ahead to check on our proximity & requested a relocation, but nothing was done. Thank goodness I arrived at check-in early & the friendly young ladies at front desk were able to relocate all of us within a few sites. One also explained that you really need to call to guarantee sites close together. Did have to request picnic tables for two of our sites, they were delivered quickly by friendly folks. Heated pool was nice & the kids really enjoyed the new jumping pillow. Pancake breakfast was good. We will return in July to go river tubing or rafting & picked our sites on this trip. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$38
This is a big KOA right next to the National Historic District of Harpers Ferry. It has full hookups, a lot of activities, There are 280 sites some open and others in the woods with shade, 42 Kabins, 300 person conference center, indoor basketball court, game room, movie theater, pizzeria, large heated pool, wading pool. It is near the Appalachian Trail and the C&O canal and the Harpers Ferry Historic Park. Everyone was very friendly when we checked in. It is a KOA so we found it expensive but you have to know that before you check in. Nice stay just before Memorial Weekend so very quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$45
Full hookup/pull-through site is $46 plus $1.50 for a daily rate. We have a KOA Value Kard membership, so with discount plus tax = 45.42. We have a lovely pull-through site near the showers, pavilion, and office which we asked for when making the reservations. Looking back though it would have been nice to have had a little privacy with a back-in site. If we come back, we will know what the park layout is and can ask for that. The staff did an excellent job in giving us a site per our requests. Pancake breakfast is nice; you can add sausages, and coffee to rate for pancakes and have a nice breakfast. Despite the rain, the grounds are nice today. Some sites are wider than others, and ours was a nice size for the two of us. We are staying 5 nights. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$36
The location is great especially if you are interested in historic sites or Shepherd University. here are some very good wineries a short distance away and connection to Metro. It is easy on/off the main road and nearby transportation to historic Harpers Ferry. There is an easy check-in with plenty of room to maneuver. There are many shady sites to chose from and a very nice pool with great views. This a family oriented campground but if you want a quiet spot just ask management. We arrived late but everything was ready and in the morning the staff was very helpful moving us to better spot. Bring your leveling blocks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$51
Sites are a bit tight and the cable sites are a bit unlevel. Overall nice CG, clean with a very friendly staff. Looks like it has been updated recently. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2009
$45
The campground is alright but it's crowded. We like a more open, less congested place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$40
This was the first time we have ever RV'd or camped. The folks at KOA were very helpful, even strolled by later to make sure we were okay. The bathrooms were clean, the camp store had everything you could need. We did have issues leveling our unit because one side of our "level" site was about one foot lower then the other (a rut had formed on the downhill side of the pull-through). The waste hookup was uphill on our site, you needed a support for the waste hose in order to use it properly, so we used the restrooms on this trip. We would go back, had a great time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2008
$45
I stayed here for 10 days. Check in was easy and everybody was very friendly. I don't think the check in people were to familiar with site requirements for a 40' class A. I told them I need Wi-Fi and open sky for satellite TV. They put me on a uneven site that was hard to get into: they had to come and cut branches off trees to get me in. When I got in, it was not level and trees blocked the signal. I went back to office and after some checking came up with a great site. As usual they had lots to do for in season stuff, but being here in October things were slowing down on activities which was fine with me as I am a single RV'er. Even though I am a KOA member I will only use KOA when no other choice is available as they are always on the higher end of the price scale. Wi-Fi, a patio, pool and a level site, then I am happy. I can't justify the high priced parks. I gave it a six as it is a nice park but could use a little work to make it easier for big rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$45
We stay there 4 times and had a great time.Most of the sites are good.Had a lot to see around there. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$54
We stayed here to tour Harper's Ferry and enjoy the Mountain Heritage Arts & Crafts Festival. The park was very busy this weekend but our stay was a pleasant one. Nice pool, game room, playground, and movie theater for the family. The site we stayed in was a bit rough and not level, so bring plenty of leveling blocks. Has a nice store, and friendly staff. We will return again next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2008
$52
Visited 9/20/2008-9/21/2008. The Greeter was friendly and helpful. Check in was easy. Directions to site #31 was difficult to follow. Ended up on the wrong path. A guide ended up taking us to the site. I don't know what they mean by level sites but I needed 5 lego blocks and everyone in our section had large stacks of wood to level out their rigs(behind the laundry building). The campers across from us (#45?) had an unfriendly pit bull. I only have a 27' TT and a shortbed F150 and was challenged getting out of a pull-through. Someone took out a stake marking a culvert drain pipe. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$40
Would rate a 9, but difficult to maneuver our 35-foot fifth wheel along narrow lanes with some sharp corners and pull into and out of site between trees, sign posts, and immovable trash barrels. Clean park with friendly staff. Showers and toilets clean, but not many people in the park because we were there as Tropical Storm Hanna was passing through (only rain occurred at the park). The park has many sites, a lot of things for kids to do, and planned family activies on weekends, so I suspect toilets and showers may suffer during peak occupancy. Electrical and water hookups are at front of RV and sewer connection at center (I'm not sure this applies to all sections of the park). Trees make park atractive and there's plenty of space between sites. Once we were parked, we liked being there, so we would recommend it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2008
$52
They do not have big rig sites here as advertised, when and if you can get into the site it will accommodate a big rig with 4 slides but getting into the site is a problem. All the paved roads are too narrow and there is not enough room to negotiate into the sites. We did finally maneuver into a site after trying 3 different sites. We have air leveling for our rig, although it still took much time to get level. All the sites seem to require many leveling blocks. There were cigarette butts all over our site. The management was not friendly, although we were there the day after Labor Day - maybe they were wiped out. $52/day is ridiculous even for a KOA. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$40
Nice park but needs some improvements: 1. The WiFi signal was very weak at our spot #189. We told the KOA folks several times and other than "we'll reset it" they didn't seem to care. I asked one fellow to stop by after he reset the router to see if it helped - he never showed up. Even at a picnic table in plain view of the KOA-2 antenna the signal was weak. The KOA-1 network worked great over by the "Pancake Pavillion." 2. We were told that there was a marked trail from the campground to the Shenandoah River. It's even shown on the campground map but we found no marking whatsoever. 3. There was a tent camper near our spot who did not have electric. So he plugged his boom box into an electric outlet next to ours and turned up the volume. We were thankful for the 10 pm - 8 am quiet hours. After a few days we learned our way around Harpers Ferry. But there is very little printed information on trails and how to get around. Could use some improvement here too. We paid $6 to enter the National Historic Park (good for 3 days). The Visitor's Center is next to the KOA entrance road. You can park a big rig at the Visitor's Center and take a free bus to downtown. There is also a trail from the Visitors Center to Murphy's Farm (great view of the river) and another trail to downtown. But again, don't expect to find a map! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$40
I think the rate was around $40 per night. This is an excellent place to stay to sightsee. The RV park is right next to the entrance to the Harper's Ferry National Battlefield with shuttle buses to the historic village, and not far from Antietam which we also toured, and Shepardstown with its shops and restaurants. Nice pool although the water was a bit murky. Our pull through spot was one that we should have unhooked before pulling through, and would ask for a shaded spot next time as we baked in the sun. Had requested one of the deluxe spots that was not worth the extra money. The patio was just stamped concrete and not very large. Extensive camp store and snackbar for lunch and pool snacks. The gal who checked us in was not very helpful, and was surprised there were not brochures on Harper's Ferry for other historical areas available at store. Laundry was large and spotless. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$45
This campground is nice with plenty of activities and amenities. However the sites are small and there was an issue with the sewer while we were there. It backed up into our yard and then the rest of the weekend was spent with maintenance digging in front of our RV to fix the problem. Fortunately we RV with others and used their yards the whole weekend. This won't stop us from returning though. It really was a nice, fun campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$50
Friendly and efficient check-in. Be sure to ask for a satellite site if you need one. Some sites are very shaded. Our site was not very level, and we could see other motorhomes with many blocks, and leveling devices. That being said, we would return! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$50
This is the place to be if you are going to visit Harpers Ferry, the C.& O. Canal, or Charlestown Race Track. I selected a “Pull-Through” site, I was escorted to my site, the first site wasn't "Big Rig" friendly and my guide promptly and nicely got me another site and led me to it and helped me park. The campground is very family friendly with movies and crafts all day long. This is the site of an actual Civil War battle and there is a museum on the premises. Now for the rough spots. The un-level gravel sites. Please, for the money that we are paying I expect paved level parking pads, I also thought the sites were small. This is a very good campground. We have stayed here before and we will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$34
We have camped here several times in a pop-up, tent, and now a travel trailer. Even stayed in a cabin one night after a terrible wind storm. Staff has always been "super" helpful and very nice. The new manager, goes out of his way to be extremely accommodating to all campers. Although campground is very large, with the right placement it can be a pleasant experience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$42
This park is next to the Harpers Ferry Historic district. Our site was a 50 amp full hookup. It was narrow to get into, and dropped off the road, so the rear dragged. The rear wheels ran on the grass and sunk into the mud leaving deep tracks. The wifi worked only one day out of three, and that day was very slow. We were able to get satellite reception at this site but not all sites will because of the trees. For the price the sites were not in good condition and the wifi should have worked better. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2008
$36
I did not have a feeling of being welcome at this campground on arrival, it was all business. The brochure does not tell you about the abutting property with the kid with the motocross bike that he or she practices with when he or she gets home from school until dark. It also does not mention the permanent residents party that starts at 4:00 PM and last until whenever most every night. They finally figured out how to cut the grass on my third day there. The campsites all could use some gravel to help the mud problems. As advertised they do have 5 improved sites with cement patios at premium price. I may be a bit unfair because it had rain prior to my arrival but I feel it should have been in tip-top shape for the price, $36.00/ night, and the time of year,mid April, which is off season as far as I am concerned. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2007
$49
The KOA 800 Number said this was "right off I81" - about 20 miles is NOT "right off I81". $49 was pretty expensive for one night - this would be a great base for exploring the area, but not a great overnight while hauling up 81 We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$38
I acknowledge the difficulties for larger rigs in this place, but I can't possibly understand the 1 ratings. We visited on one of the Halloween weekends here and we enjoyed it immensely. We stayed at site 106, which I would recommend for only a popup. The rate reflects a KOA Kard discount. Our young children really enjoyed the trick or treating -- everyone really gets into the spirit! So much so that we avoided some areas, including the Haunted House, because they're just too scary. The pool is heated and still in use! The other activities for families were well attended and much enjoyed by us. But this is the kind of place that sells beer and wine in the camp store, and if that sort of atmosphere doesn't suit you, you will be offended here . . . It was quiet after 10, however, and we found everyone to be quite kind. There's even a movie theater with lots of shows for kids. We'll be back and we'll be sure to book early for another Halloween weekend! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2007
$45
We thought the rate was very high for just water and electric. We chose this site because of the advertising (and we verified by phone) availability of WIFI at the sites. Any campground that charges these rates and especially a KOA must have decent accommodations to be acceptable. It seemed the management had a don't care attitude. Seems people flock there anyway. No pool this time of year. Activities??? We just stayed over night. Should have found a Wal-Mart. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2007
$46
Right next to the National Park. Big Campground. Sites are "hammered" worn and dusty. Roads are not well marked and traffic conflicts are frequent. Big rigs have difficulty maneuvering into the sites. Lots of Staff mostly sitting around the office. Decided against staying over another night even though there are a lot of activities recognizing the anniversary of John Browns raid this weekend. Campers are discourteous, and leave trash in the fireplaces which has not been collected by the staff. Can't imagine what this place must be like during the height of the summer season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$49
Roads were narrow and a little confusing but not too bad considering location. Dumpsters not accessible to all locations. Appears dump station has a fee of $5 but we had site with full hookups and pull thru. Store was pretty well stocked. VERY close to Harpers Ferry State Park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2007
$46
As mentioned by previous reviewers, the roads and sites in this campground are very narrow. The design and placement of the roads with respect to the sites and the trees wasn't done with a great deal of thought. As a result, RV'ers with rigs greater than 35 feet or so must use extreme caution when driving to and from their site, as they will be forced to navigate sharp turns while avoiding the toads of other RV'ers which have been (by necessity) parked very close to the roadway. After arriving at your site, you will most likely find it to be unlevel in addition to being narrow. Moreover, many of the sewer connections are slightly uphill from the site (more poor planning) and the sewer access pipe is not threaded (requiring the use of a donut). On the positive side, the staff is very nice and helpful, the facilities are clean, the WiFi is free (if you can get on), and the pool area is very nice. For the price, however, we expected more (i.e., wider roads, level sites, etc.). Our rate ($46) reflects the more expensive pull-through sites, which are the only sites in this campground with 50 amp service. If we're in this area again, we would stay here again only if there were no other options available to us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$36
We arrived after the office staff had gone (they left at six pm, we arrived at 7:30pm). They had left a list of sites available for those of us without reservations. Unfortunately they left no maps and we were left wandering very narrow roads trying to read number markers which were only on the BACK of the poles. No signs unless you had already started down a road, no signs visible from the parking/registration area. Very narrow roads with drop offs of several inches, very tight turns, difficult to navigate with a large MH. Sites decent sized, lots of trees. Literature given at registration (next morning) still had no maps and I found out after returning to my MH that it was also a Good Sam park and they did not ask if I were a member to get the discount. Free, reliable WIFI, nice sized pool. Would return for a longer visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$35
This is one of best campgrounds I have ever stayed at. Great people, friendly staff. I would recommend it to anyone stopping in this area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$44
Just needed an overnight stop. The park was really crowded, so we felt fortunate to get any site at all since other parks on our route couldn't take us. Very friendly staff and decently stocked camp store. WiFi couldn't be accessed since so many others were online already by the time I tried. No cable on our back in site near the cabins, also these sites were really crowded. Pull through sites looked pretty decent though. Lots of activities going on for the weekend. The pancake breakfast gets a "thumbs up" from our group. We'd probably stay here again, but would definitely try for another site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$48
We had a great weekend in Harpers Ferry. We love this area and as far as we know, this is the best campground in the area. We were not happy with the site sizes. Many of the sites are too narrow and most of the RV sites in our area could not accommodate the RV and the tow vehicles. Tow vehicles were squeezed in so tight, it was hard to drive around in my Tahoe, much less get an RV through. The WiFi was completely unavailable all weekend which caused major concerns for me and my needs for that particular weekend. When I asked about it at the camp store, I was told it's was a hit or miss kind of thing. Please don't advertise Internet access unless it is reliable! The staff was very friendly and other than the site size and WiFi...we love this camp ground. We will camp here again (although not in the smaller sites!) We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$60
We stayed for the weekend since it was close to our home. Rate based on 2 kids and 2 dogs. Site was all gravel, no grass at all. The grounds were well maintained and the staff was friendly. We will return again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$48
We had a very nice weekend. The facilities are in good repair. Restrooms/showers adjacent to the office/store were remodeled since our last visit. Pool was very nice. Many of the W-E-S sites behind the office are very close together. We saw several that could not put out their awnings due to close proximity of neighbor's trailers. Looks like greed on the owners part to fit as many as they can into limited space. Watch for the tight turns. We witnessed a set of big bus wheels come within a few inches of a tent on the corner. Scary! Shirtless drunk guys, carrying open Bud Light cans in the office at 9:30AM..no one said a word. Very busy weekend. We will return in off season We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$49
I stay here often, despite the $49 charge. Huge swimming pool. Great location. Mostly shady sites. Easy access to Frederick MD, Metro Station (Red Line) in Gaithersburg, Charles Town racetrack & gambling. The BEST dining is in nearby Shepardstown WV, the Bavarian Inn & the Yellow Brick Bank, both gourmet 5 star restaurants. Beer is sold in the KOA store, but how can that offend anyone? Beer is sold at most grocery stores! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$59
We love this campground, particularly when the pool is open. They always have plenty of activities. We stayed here for Father's day weekend and were unaware of the music festival. While we enjoyed the experience, the crowd became rowdy later in the afternoon. I would suggest additional security for this event. As I have written before, there are few sites that can accommodate large rigs and maneuvering through the narrow roads can be a challenge. Most of the sites are not level. On this visit we had a nicely shaded site. Despite the negatives, the staff is always friendly and helpful and we enjoy Harper's Ferry. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$44
Nice location to Charleston raceway, very tight spots and not level but very friendly and clean. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$56
We stayed here for 2 nights and had a terrific time. Our site was #168 and was one of the larger sites. The pool was clean and large. My only complaint would be they do not have a lifeguard on duty. They have a giant bounce pillow, that my 3 kids loved. It cost $2 or $7.50 for the day. The game room was huge with many games and pool tables, they have an indoor basketball court which was nice. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Their was a lady Diana who was specifically assigned to kids and activities and she was wonderful. Quiet hours were 10pm-8am and it was quiet. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$59
This was our second visit to this campground. It is less than 30 minutes from home and provides a quick weekend get away. We camped during Mother's Day weekend and received the second night free as part of the KOA package. I booked a premium pull-through site in January. When we arrived at our site it was not what I had reserved and it was extremely unlevel and small for our 40 ft motorhome. I called the office and spoke with the manager, who advised there were no other sites available that could accommodate our motorhome. The manager and his wife were most gracious in trying to resolve the matter and provided a partial refund. We really do love this campground. It is clean and the weekend is packed with with wonderful activities. The only complaint I have is that they do not have enough sites to accommodate larger rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$56
I loved this campground. Our lot was perfect for us. Located close to Winchester, VA which was our destination We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$35
The site we were assigned in the 50 amp area was fine, however, we had to make a turn on an inside street where people had to move their vehicles for us and it was so tight a woman was wringing her hands in fear we would hit an RV. I had to get out of our motorhome and guide my husband foot by foot to make sure we did not hit any other RVs or cars. When registering we asked at the office if we should unhook our car but they said we didn't need to. In our stays at RV parks, this was the most difficult turn we have ever had to make. Simply for this reason, we would not stay at this campground again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2007
$37
We were in a 38 ft motor home in the 50 amp/cable sites area, and all the sites are very un-level. We had a very difficult time getting level, I asked for help from the RV park and they did send someone who helped, but we were surprised they would put large RV's in such un-level sites. Since they were full we were stuck, stay with wheels in the air or go to another park. If you have a big rig and you want 50 amp and cable this is not the place to go. They also did not give us any maps or cable channel info. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$37
This was a nice enough site for visiting the area. The spaces were rather close together and the facilities seemed a little dated from the outside. We would stay again, but might want to avoid the warmer months where it could be much more crowded. The roads leading into the sites were very narrow and somewhat difficult to maneuver. The staff was okay, not particularly friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$47
We camped here in a travel trailer and were very excited about our site (50). The site had all amenities including a concrete patio which came in very handy as it rained non-stop during our three night stay. Close proximity to historic landmarks as well as the Charlestown attractions. The campground store was very nice and we loved the two dollar all you can eat pancakes on Saturday and Sunday mornings, the hosts even gave our dog a free pancake and sausage link each morning. Overall, the rain was a damper but we had all the amenities of being at home so we made the best of it and would return again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$49
Overall a nice park. Many cabin rentals and amenities for children, so you have to understand there will be the more then usual noise that comes with them. Some sites can be tight or a bit unlevel, although there are many which appear superb. All sites could use either more gravel or grass to prevent so much mud around camp though. My only complaint was the security vehicle which travels through the camp roads consistently after quite hours with it's lights on well past midnight. It did become annoying to hear the war-wagon with its lights on go by every 15 minutes or so. We'd probably camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$59
We stayed here over the 4th of July weekend. They had many activities throughout our stay, including crafts and a live band. The Activities Director did a great job. We had a premium pull-thru site. It wasn't as level as we would have liked, but it had a concrete patio that was very nice. It also lacked some much needed shade. There was a very large pool where we spent most of our time. It could have been cleaner, but given the amount of campers that weekend I can understand how difficult it was to maintain. Overall it was a pleasant experience and we would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$42
We had a great time at this campground. We were here on a holiday weekend, so it was a little crowded. The sites are somewhat close together, but they are shaded. Our site was backed up against a trench that was from the Civil War. They actually have a little trail you can follow with signs posted along the way. We thought that was neat plus it gave us more privacy. We would definitely go back to this campground. Plus there is so much to do in the general area. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2006
$36
Nice gift store and conference center. Excellent access to HF National Park. Most sites are somewhat level with some gravel. Roads are very narrow with very tight turns. Most sites are very short and do not provide adequate room to park tow vehicle after setting up a trailer or fifth wheel. Trash cans are provided throughout the park with frequent trash pick-ups. Dumpsters are almost impossible to drive to with a trailer attached. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2006
$65
Great location if you want to see Harpers Ferry. New big rig sites are not level and the roads are very tight . I was told the park is under new management so there is potential for improvement . Park employees were very nice and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2006
$42
Other than being in a historic place, this campground is not all that special if your camping in an RV. If you are tent camping, I could see you might have a better time. The RV sites are level but muddy when it rains, not to mention they are close to each other. You can hear traffic from route 340 all night long. The bathrooms and showers were clean. The staff members were rather nasty with us. If you forget something I would recommend that you go a few miles into the Charles Town Walmart, because the campstore is VERY high priced. We also stayed in their lodges and we not impressed for the $135 a night we paid for them. Also to mention: they are located right near the septic field. We will not be staying at this campground anymore. We will find a state park, before going to another KOA. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2005
$30
This was our third time camping here. It is one of our favorite campgrounds to visit because it has all one could ask for in a campground. History, amenities, beauty, and spaciousness. The staff is friendly and helpful, the campstore is adequately supplied (even in November), and there's the historical town of Harpers Ferry, just minutes away from the CG. The reason I didn't give it a 10 was the fact that it did not have cable or WiFi, other then that this CG is one of our favorite places to camp. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2005
$40
Overall, a very nice campground. Kids will really like all the activities and games, adults will like the surrounding area which is very scenic and historic. If you like, you could walk (15-20 minutes) to the nearby Harpers Ferry National Park and hop on the shuttle to Harpers Ferry. I had a really strong WiFi signal while there...the campground does not advertise WiFi so I suspect someone who lives nearby has an open router...a nice bonus. Pros: location of the park, lots of activities for the kids, friendly staff, quaint Civil War museum on the CG, lots of big rig parking in front of the park office, really nice camp store. Cons: most sites are quite small and the park is NOT very big-rig friendly. We drive a 40 foot DP and it was TIGHT...there was a 43 and a 45 footer there also, so you can get in and out but be careful! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$45
We picked this site due to its proximity to several historical landmarks and we were not disappointed. The campground becomes quite busy after 4 PM so get there early. This park is a short haul for the DC metro area. The sites are not gravel or paved so when it rains it gets muddy. Overall a good site on the fringe of Washington DC. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$42
We found this to be a nice campground and we would definitely stay here again. I requested a pull through, wooded, level site and got everything requested. Sites are very tight and very packed together. If you have a big rig you'd have a hard time getting in and out. I would highly suggest requesting a site away from the septic processing facility. It's loud, ugly and smells bad. They had a nice pool, camp store, rec room, indoor basketball court, and mini civil war museum to name a few. They have a family movie in an indoor air conditioned theater once a day. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2005
$51
Great location, all the right facilities, but very tight manuevering for long rigs. Some sites VERY un-level, especially at entrance (woops! there goes everything in the fridge!). Evidence of heavy water flow through some sites. Quiet hours NOT enforced, especially near cabin sites. Facilities clean, activiely working on grounds. Lovely overlook of sewer plant if site near registration. Expensive for what you get. (2 adults/2 kids/2 dogs EWS) We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2004
$27
Great area for a campground. To bad my site was waterfront property. Did I mention it wasn't supposed to be? It didn't rain before or during my stay but my site was nothing but mud. Sites are not level, and the staff could be more friendly. Will not go again unless there's major changes to the condo drainage happening. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2004
$35
Excellent campground, great staff, clean restrooms and great location. Easy access with plenty of pull throughs. Great family campground. We will be back!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2004
$49
I really love this park but a new policy really has my back up. If you bring your dogs, be prepared! They have instituted a fee of $3 per dog per day! Also, your children are $3.50 per child per day. So, for a weekend the cost rises another $26 for my children and my dogs. We are planning on visiting this park in July 05 and that may be the last time! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2004
$39
The campground was expensive for the area and was not accesable for larger rigs without problems. The roads are narrow and hard to navigate. The extra charges are excessive, $3 per pet no matter what kind and extra charges for children. The quiet hours were not enforced. The museum onsite and the state park right next door were the only redeeming qualities. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2003
$38
The staff seems very confused and unorganized. The sites are very close together. A few wooded sites and may open sites with little shade. Requested a wooded site, but told there were none. However 4 - 10 sites open the whole week I was there. Little to no gravel on the sites. On the week I was there we had a lot of rain. Due to lack of gravel, most of the non-wooded sites were 6 - 10 inches deep in mud or became ponds. Many of the units were stuck in the mud and required to be towed or pulled out with 4 wheel drives. Roads to the sites very narrow and hard to negoatite with larger units. Bathrooms were clean. Nice gym and game room. $3.50 per night per child. For a KOA, I felt that the sites were below par. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2003
$40
This park needs some work. The sites are very small, right on top of each other and in poor condition. They are very rough and rutted. The activities are next to none. The staff were very unfriendly, both on the phone and in person. The fees are $39.95 a night and an additional $3.50 per child after that. That means my family of four cost $46.95, and there was nothing provided for the large fee. We went in May of 2003, and the only thing that I really enjoyed was the location. This could be a nice stay with some work. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2002
$39
Very poor staff service. Limited shade on most sites. Even though campground was far from full they packed campers on top of each other. Interesting to see civil war trenches right on campground. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com