206926 User submitted reviews online!!
Pipestem Resort State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 22 user reviews. Phone: (304) 466-1800
CGID3219

Pipestem Resort State Park

Camp Information
Sites
82
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   8   9   8   9   10   8   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$27
This a great place to stay with a family. The State Park has many things to offer for all ages. There are hiking trails, bike trails, an observation tower, horseback riding, fishing, lake activities and all sorts of games to play for a small fee. They also have an 18 hole golf course along with a par 3 nine hole course. My son and I played the par 3 course and enjoyed it. Our family did the 1 hour horseback ride and while we enjoyed the ride, it was a little bit more geared for the beginner rider. The outdoor pool was closed for the season, but the indoor lodge pool was available for a fee to RV campers. While there is no Internet at the RV campsites, you can use the Internet at the lodge for free. The lodge has a game room with various activities for a small fee. The wildlife was abundant during our stay. The deer are everywhere and very used to people and will allow you to get close to them. During our stay we saw a bear cub (did not see mama, but also did not wait to see her), turkeys, a muskrat and the other animals you would expect to find. The views are breath taking throughout the entire park and the Fall leaf colors certainly added to it. We stayed here in a 42 ft fifth wheel for 10 days. We had previously stayed in West Virginia State Parks over the years in cabins, but this was our first RV experience. We are planning to return next May. The on site staff was extremely helpful and nice. The only negative was that many of the RV sites were not quite big enough for us and many of them were not level. We did find a level one and are taking note of other level ones for our return trip. The atmosphere of the RV campsite was good as the sites while close to one another, were not on top of one another. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$25
Very lovely treed campground with about as many amenities available in the park as anyone could wish for. Sites are mostly level. AT&T cell phone reception was good. Trails were wet and uneven. Rate reflects senior discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$27
This was our first time staying in West Virginia and we could not have picked a better place. Aside from the endless list of amenities the campground was well maintained and clean. Check out the website for all of the stuff they have. We enjoyed riding the aerial tram, the nature center, and I was able to get a couple of rounds of golf in. We would stay here again. Probably not ideal for an overnight stay because it is approximately 15 miles from the interstate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$24
Very nice state park. Lots of activities, lodges, etc. Our site was not level so had a hard time leveling the motorhome. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$27
Choose site carefully as many are not level, front to back especially. It is a beautiful park and very well kept. No alcohol allowed so be aware. Many activities for both children and adults. Finally a park that provides each site with a garbage can. We enjoyed our stay and may return but not in the near future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$27
Variety of sites in the woods, full hookups available. Great park, good restaurant, good golf, putt-putt golf, nice pool, horseback stable, nature center. Pleasant staff all around. We've been twice and will go back. Good value for dollar. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$24
This is one of the best campgrounds we’ve experienced. Sites are average to fairly large in size. Most are level. There are 4 sites on the same level of the bath house that are reserved for handicapped. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Couldn’t ask for much better. The bathhouse is modern and heated, which is nice on the cool WV mornings and nights. They are cleaned daily. The resort offers lodging of all types, everything from hotel to tent camping and numerous activities that include horseback riding, hiking, swimming etc. We plan to return to this campground often and would highly recommend it. During the period between Memorial Day and Labor Day I wouldn’t try this place without having a reservation. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$28
We are HDT'ers and though this park is easy to get into and around in, there was only a couple of full hookup sites that we could get into. #24 fit us but had no patio area and was directly above the loud pumping station. Digital TV was OK on 4 stations but no ABC. Gorgeous park but laid out 40 years ago by a non-camping superintendent so it is a nice fit for Pop-ups most everywhere. Site 24 was the only one that we could fit the whole rig and Towd onto. Almost all sites have leveling issues, so take lots of leveling blocks. Hwy WV 20 is kind of tight in a few places and very curvy (from either direction) but approaching from the west is a little better I am told. It was helpful to have a pilot car out ahead of the rig coming up here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$23
Extremely well run, well appointed and clean. Sites are spaced generously with an abundance of trees giving us an aura of privacy. Only downside is that many of the sites are a bit small for a large motor home and/or too slanted for proper leveling. There are many things to do here; don't miss the gourmet restaurant at the lodge. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
We love this campground. It's small and cozy, and the employees are very welcoming and laid-back. The hiking nearby is gorgeous, and there's plenty to do if sitting around the campfire doesn't keep you entertained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$27
This campground is pristine. The property it sits on is huge. The pool is not walking distance but it's quite big and kept in excellent condition. Our campsite was a pull-through with the electric on the other side, but we had plenty of cord in our camper. I could access the internet with my telephone from my site. We noticed on some sites you can set up DirecTV. If you need a pet sitter, there is an excellent one very close to the campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$27
Wonderful park! We only were able to spend one night here but will absolutely be back. Campsites are shaded and private. Sites were paved and for the most part level. There were several pull through site also. This park is amazing. Biking, hiking, swimming, fishing, good restaurants. Upkeep is top notch. I could easily see spending a week here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$27
At first I was very concerned when the electricity and water were on opposite sides of the site. Besides that, we have no complaints. In fact, the electric box on the door side made for a nice awning anchor and cup holder. Just be aware that some folks may need an extension cord. Most of the full hookup sites are level enough that it will not be a problem. Many of the electric only sites are quite unlevel - some to the point of being unusable. Except for the very cold pool, there is lots for the kids to do. We stayed here several nights and would definitely return when back in the area. Very nice playground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
We found this campground had about everything one could want. Biking trails, hiking trails, mini-golf, par 3 course, 18 hole championship course, huge swimming pool, nice restaurant in lodge nearby. We are going back and soon. Small stores nearby and Princeton has everything 20 miles away. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$23
We loved this park. It was quiet and peaceful. Roads were good and the park itself was beautiful. I am sure there are lots of things to do in the regular camping season. Not at all crowded in September. We had a lot of space at our site (#16) but some sites did look small. We plan on going back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
This State Park is truly a find, a real resort offering many amenities. The campground offers many private and spacious sites (some are not) but that is common, not all can be perfect. Hiking is GREAT, dining is super, the golf is fabulous, pool is nice but still think campers/RVers should not have to pay fee. The tram to the bottom of the gorge is a must see and if you have time to dine there, do so! For the minimal camping fee, this resort/park offers so much, we would stay again, just longer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
We loved Pipestem Resort. There are tons of things to do in the park. The campground is nice but not great. Unfortunately, it seems like the full hook-up sites aren't as spacious and level as the primitive sites are. Half of the sites are unreservable so that makes it hard to reserve sites together if you're traveling with a couple of families. Overall, though, the park is wonderful and we will definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2006
$23
As part of a long night-to-night cross country trip, we looked forward to spending a few days here. Looked great on the website. But after pulling into our tiny, C-shaped "pull-through", with about 6 feet of grass before a hilly dropoff, we left the next morning. We do love state parks, but not this one. The campground itself is fairly far from other resort amenities, perhaps a mile or two. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$23
We stayed three nights and found this park to be one of the nicest state parks we've visited. It is very well maintained. My husband and daughter played the Par-3 golf course and found it to be challenging and loads of fun. They also have a beautiful 18-hole golf course. There is lots to do for the whole family that will keep your days busy; all without even leaving the park. Part of the back-in sites in the full hook-up area are uneven, but if you carry equipment to put under your wheels you can easily level up your camper. Some sites are a little tight and some are very comfortable and private. We will definitely be back next year. Their website is worth visiting to get more information regarding all the activities available. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2005
$21
We stayed here for 2 nights and really enjoyed it. I have always enjoyed Pipestem, but the campground is a little tight. The site we had (19) was very narrow and both sides dropped off. It was a very private site though and we enjoyed our stay. We will go back since it is only about 45 minutes from our home. Our kids had a good time, especially on the playground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2003
$21
This is a nice park. But the campground leaves much to be desired for RV camping; especially in larger RVs. Sites are very unlevel and the 'pull-thru' sites are not that nice. It is better for tent camping and small trailers and popups. But..there were a lot of 30+ foot RVs there. The park has a lot of activities including hiking, swimming, horses and fishing. We spent a week there. The park is a 9 the cg is a 6. Not atypical of WV state park cgs though. They are a little behind on the RV thing. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$21
Rates $15-$21 depending on hookups (none, electric only, or w/e/s). This is a nice park in general. There is hiking, horseback riding, an indoor pool, lake with boat rental, lodge, restaurant, nice cabin/cottage rentals and much more. Some sites can be reserved between Memorial Day and Labor Day. Otherwise first-come-first-served. There are some great scenic views within the park. The park can also serve as a home base for visiting the remainder of the New River Gorge area. A must see in my opinion. The campground is only so-so. WV is a little behind the power curve getting into the RV thing. The pull through sites are just half circles off the cg drive area in the full hookup area. Back in sites can be narrow and drop off side-to-side, a lot. Road has a low shoulder in some areas. The electric only sites are VERY unlevel front to back. No hook up sites are level and in the open. All sites have a paved parking area. All that said, we enjoyed our stay and would return. There is a cg map on their web site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com