217870 User submitted reviews online!!
Baraboo Hills Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (800) 226-7242
CGID3228

Baraboo Hills Campground

Camp Information
Sites
157
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   5   7   9   9   8   5   9   10   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$38
Very nice campground. Managers are very nice people. This is a very family friendly campground with many activities for the kids. Nice pool. We have stayed at this campground several times and will go back to it again. The only drawback for us is that it's a three-hour drive. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$66
Pull thru sites are a good size. The campground WI-FI is very spotty - at best. Many seasonal units in this campground. Chaotic kid activity. They had a kids activity to make T-shirts, yet they had no kid sizes only adult sizes. Everything is an extra charge. Wrist bands needed to do activities and they are $25 per child. We have been here before, but this will be our last trip. To expensive for family. Not well kept or supervised campground. The water was shut off for an hour on a holiday weekend right at the lunch hour. Gravel roads very dusty in the campground. Save your money and camp elsewhere. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$54
Sites are not paved and roads are gravel. Entrance area for checkin is very crowed and close and roadways to sites are not very wide and in need of tree trimming. No ability to get satellite. Campsites are kind of dark and dreary due to coverage of trees. Shade is nice but this was too much. This is a campground that is best utilized by families with smaller rigs. It appeared that there were lots and lots of things for the kids to do. Entrance to park is on a curve so care is needed going and coming. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$55
This campground was nice enough to take us in when another campground (Crystal lake RV Resort)had double-booked several sites including ours. From the time we pulled in, the staff was super friendly and accommodating. If you have children this is a great place to stay. There are plenty to keep the kids busy, and many activities to keep them entertained. Amazingly with all of the activities, everything is on time, and runs smoothly. Bathrooms were clean, store and restaurant were nice, and carried the essentials. Sites were a good size, and the park was clean. This campground included both a swimming pond and swimming pool. I highly recommend this place to families with children (of all ages). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$58
Great campground with lots of activities for kids. Sites were hard to get into with a 12ft pop up. Anything bigger than my camper would have been a real chore to get into. Staff was real nice, and the campground offers a lot of things for the kids to do. The only thing I didn't like was the fact that they charge $10 bucks or so for a wrist band to putt putt and to use the jump pillow. Many campgrounds are going to this though so it wasn't a surprise. Really had a good time though and will return. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$42
Great place for kids. Lots of things for them to do. We stayed during the week so not as many but enough. Really nice campground and close by to lots of activities. We were there to visit the Dells. Of course that explains all the children with all the amusements at the Dells. We personally would not have wanted to be there on a weekend. The owners were very accommodating and very friendly. Sites were a little difficult to back in with all the trees. But overall our stay was really nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
Large spaces, lots of trees and grass-children playing-dogs fetching--almost idyllic. On the week-end the entire tone of the campground changed--2-3 carloads of people for each campsite, screaming children (and adults), barking dogs, car alarms--clothes lines strung from every vertical structure in the park with not only bathing suits and towels on them, but underwear, tablecloths, etc--(it looked like a Brooklyn slum scene in a bad 50's movie). Due to the way the park is laid out--all of the activities (pool, playground, arcade, miniature golf, and bikes are right at the only road to enter the park--walking, driving or riding was next to impossible due to the crush of people-and very dangerous to all. Most parents were responsible--but some abdicated their responsibility and allowed their children to bully smaller children, be rude and generally behave in a dangerous and irresponsible manner. The campground was hideous for 2 solid days. By Sunday afternoon the "hordes" had gone home, most (not all) of the clotheslines were down and the park returned to its pleasant, quiet, idyllic self. This park is close to the Dells, the Crane foundation, shopping, restaurants and Baraboo and the Circus Museum. We would stay here again--but NEVER, EVER on a week-end! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$42
Great facilities. Staff very outgoing often stopping by our site to ask about concerns or if anything was needed. Numerous activities to keep everyone entertained. Will return! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$42
Very clean and well taken care of. Owners and staff will do anything to help. This is a great park for a family with children. Also for a family park it was very quiet. Wish all parks were like this one. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$32
Campground was nice, people were friendly. Would visit again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$33
My husband and I camped at Baraboo Hills Campground for several weeks in May, including the Memorial Day weekend. Our children and grandchildren also camped there with us and we all had a wonderful time. The park offers many things for kids. There is a nice heated swimming pool, miniature golf, catch and release fish pond (with lots of big fish) and a little train that travels around the park for the kids to ride. The park managers are very friendly and try hard to make our stay pleasant. The park is very well kept and clean. We are looking forward to camping there again in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$12
I would like to recommend this campground to all who read the entries at this site. The owner of this campground strives very hard to keep things clean, neat, orderly and safe. I heard some of the reservationists explain the quiet time policy to some young guests, and as a family of four with small children, I am really grateful for the effort put forth to ensure that each site is guaranteed peace and quiet at a decent time. Baraboo Hills is all about "family" as you can tell by the recently added train ride which gave our small children a short ride around the camp. There is no need to leave the campground for activities as there is plenty to do here. In the morning, we noticed that left our truck radio on all night, and the truck would not start. The manager came out and jumped our battery right away so we could get going at no charge. Now that's going the extra mile! We'll be back year after year and will recommend this campground to our friends. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$38
I'd like to commend the staff and management at Baraboo Hills Campground in Wisconsin for a job well done! I checked into a w/e site, began to set up my pop up camper and lo and behold in the downpour evening, the crank broke! I came back to office frustrated and wanting to cancel my camping weekend. The manager greeted me and immediately set my family up in an available cabin and called a mechanic to repair my pop up. Within 24 hours my popup was fixed and my family was still able to enjoy a wonderful week of camping. Thank you for going the extra mile Baraboo Hills! My family was very pleased with the cleanliness, kindness and caring attitude your staff put forth. It was invigorating to see the staff working so hard (cleaning showers, bathrooms, cabins, delivering wood, mowing and trimming trees) yet having a good time. We're making this our annual spot! We camped here in a .

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$30
We stayed here memorial day weekend. We stayed in a campsite across from some of the cabins, as we had friends staying in the cabin. I felt it was a nice campground to stay at. Sites were wide enough and had some room. Staff was friendly, family's camping nearby were all friendly. Pool was full as it was a great weekend for weather. Back to the sites. They were grassy, shaded, water, electric and sewer. Wouldn't ask to change any of that. Thank you for the great weekend. Our friends loved the cabin as well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$37
We have camped at this park many times over the last 6 years, including last Labor Day weekend. It is my kids first choice in parks because they like the free sport shop. Regarding the above negative reviews, as I mentioned, we camped there at the same time so I was concerned about the issue of harrassment and stalking. I checked with the Baraboo Police Department and was informed that they do not have jurisdiction over the campground, hence they did not send out anyone from their department. The campground falls under the Sauk Co. Sherriff's Department, so I checked with them and they also said that they never sent anyone out to talk to the owners. So the prior statements regarding the police are not true. As I mentioned my family was there, we witnessed their loud behavior and to answer the question in a prior review as to "If they were so bad why weren't they told to leave?" It might help to know that on Sunday night we over heard the owners trying to talk to them, and when the owners said something about evicting them, the campers response was something to the effect of; you can't kick us out, we've been drinking and can't drive. This admission from them explains a lot of what was really going on. If they were drinking, their memory is most likely cloudy and skewed regarding the events of the weekend. This confirms my first thoughts which are that the large group of people we saw there, who were loud and disruptive, are trying to bad mouth a nice place. It is my families first choice in campgrounds, the bathrooms are always clean and there is always something for my kids to do. I would continue to go there with out any concerns. The staff has always been very helpful and friendly. We will continue to go and recommend this campground to any family. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$37
Our family was there Labor Day weekend as well and we defineately did not see the conditions you are claiming. Nor the "evil" staff members either. We were camping in the same area as you were and have a different view of what happened. There were times that the noise level at night was a little much for us. We were not the only ones who felt this way. I don't think that the security staff or the campground owner would single any one out if there was not a concern by surrounding sites. After all there were a lot of other guests there besides your sites. However I do commend a campground that enforces a "quiet time " policy. In fact it is one of the main reasons we have continued to return to this campground. A family atmosphere is what they have always provided. I am all for people having a good time but respect for the campground and the other guests has always been a concern for me when we visiting different areas. I have never had to worry about that at this campground. I think you need to look at the definition of the word "stalking" in the dictionary. You may have it confused with the enforcement of campground policies. It is a shame that your experience was not a good one. I don't think, however that it was the fault of the Campground authorities. We have been camping here for several years and I am sorry but we strongly disagree with what you have claimed. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$41
This is an excellent campground. The campground is beautiful and well maintained with level sites. The owners and employees were extremely friendly and helpful. When you buy firewood from them they will even deliver it to your site. The bathroom and showers were neat and clean. This is truly a family campground. Our children had an excellent time renting pedal carts, using the pool, playing on the large play ground and using equipment from the free sports shop. The complete time we there our children always had something to do. Great place to camp and we will be going back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$39
My family and I have camped at this campground several times over the last five years. We have never had or seen a problem as you have described. The reason we go, and will continue to go there is because it is clean, quiet and very family oriented. I feel that this campground caters to the family more than any of the others that we have been to that are in the Baraboo, Wisconsin Dells area. The only exception for us was this past Labor Day weekend in 2003. The same time you said someone in your group was there. If you look on their map they have 157 sites. You say there were 10 families who had a problem. My guess is that is is not 10 individual families, but one group of people that were in 10 different sites that were there together. It seemed to me that none of you bothered to think about the other sites around you, like my family. Quiet time starts at 10:30 p.m. and these people seemed to forget that there are certain rules that apply to ALL of the guests. On more than one evening you were up and were loud, whether you care to realize that or admit it. If we were bothered by it I am sure others were. But enough about you. As I mentioned before this campground is extremely family oriented. In fact the owners have gone out of their way, every year, by constantly making improvements on the campground facilities as well as offering new activities for the kids. What other campground offers free bike rental, free mini-putt golf and free rental of other sports equipment. Crafts and movies for the kids in the brand new pavillion were new additions this year. Other campgrounds that we have visited over the years seem to nickel and dime you every time you turn around just to keep your kids busy. Every time we camp here they have always given us information on where to get the best discount tickets for the Wisconsin Dells attractions so we can save a few dollars. We have always experienced a friendly and helpful staff not like the one you have described. I stake my five years of experience against what you have claimed. We already have reservations booked for next year. This campground gets a perfect 10. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com