214501 User submitted reviews online!!
Buffalo Bay Campgrounds & Marina was rated 5 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (715) 779-3743
CGID3232

Buffalo Bay Campgrounds & Marina

Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   2   3   6   5   3   6   8   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
Great stay at this campground. Quiet and well kept. You can go into the associated hotel/casino and use the restrooms and great showers. Separate entrance!! Staff was very friendly and helpful. Free shuttle to downtown Bayfield. Would stay here again. Site 12 is a great site. Some sites have tight table/fire pit area. Would stay here again. Food in restaurant/bar is good too, if you do not want to cook. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
The park is next to a new casino that opened mid Aug 2011. Roads and pads are gravel, some steep and not suitable for larger rvs. The park is run by 2 college students that know little about rv needs. They "helped" a family noisily setup at 3 am, talking loudly waking everyone nearby. The park has no permanent dump station so we were directed to a pipe sticking up from the ground with no cap near the edge of the Casino parking lot. Some sites have electric but it is 50 amp - no 30 amp provided. Strange. Some sites have water from shared spigots. We were promised water for our reserved site but they had to run a hose across the parking pad next to us because no hookup was next to our site. Then the students couldn't find a white water hose, pretended they didn't know they needed to provide a white hose, and ended up connecting via their dirty green hose which we had emphatically rejected. We couldn't drink the water for our 3 day stay. Several sites including ours had a view of Lake Superior - lovely. But the park was not inviting - more like a construction site with little grass, dusty roads,& narrow and uneven sites next to us. They also mix tent and RV sites next to each other. Our complaining to management about the improper hose hookup was passed on to the college students who thereafter ignored us. Do not stay here if you are seeking a "Northwoods" scenic site. If you want to be close to the casino and in a construction parking lot atmosphere then this is the place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2011
$32
As a previous reviewer stated, they are under construction! It is noisy, dusty and the bathrooms/showers are temporary mobile units in the Casino parking lot. The sewer hook-ups at sites and the dump station were in need of pumping out ( had been that way for two weeks) and could not be used. Water is not available at all sites-you have to ask a neighbor with water to unhook so you can fill your own tank. Electric was very strange-50 amp or 15 at our newer site. All in all there were too many inconveniences and irritations to justify the cost. Maybe this will be a nice campground in the future...but sorry, not this year! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$31
Disclaimer: The campground is being remodeled as part of a new casino/hotel/resort/campground complex being built right next to the old campground. Since this campground is part of that project we had to give them a lot of slack. There is zero complaints about the view from our bay side campsite. The electrical is a bit odd in that there is only 50 and 15 amp at the newly remodeled sites, no 30 amp. Once they get done with construction, I suspect this will be an excellent campground for many years to come, right now it is too early to tell for the 2011 season. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2009
$30
We stayed in this campground in October and we were the only camper there. On the positive side; Lake Superior view, access for kayaking, and closeness to Bayfield and the Apostle Islands was terrific. Our site 32 has full hookups with 50 amps, water and sewer and satellite TV. Many sites are unlevel and require 8 to 10 inches to raise your rig. Since we got here after a lot of rain, the mud on the streets and some sites was a concern, but that is the weather. There is nothing fancy in this campground but its access to the area is very good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
I could go back to the 2003 review and just copy it, but because the park hasn't cleaned up problems for six years, the Overall Rating should now be 3 and no longer 4! Problems include: lots not level, one shower house/bathroom closed, interior roads full of ruts, office old and depressing, and dumpsters over-flowing and very smelly. But hey: the view is fantastic and not any other parks had sites available for big rigs. If we come back to area, we will just make reservations earllier: at another park! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
The views spectacular. Site #12 had Lake Superior shoreline right at the sight. Loved watching the birds and kayakers go by. Very quiet and serene. Marina on site for launching or keeping your boat. One row of sites for big rigs with sewer hookup. One bathhouse totally shut down and the other in major need of renovation and repairs. Was constantly dirty with clay mud and straw because the main access to the showerhouse was directly through the fairly recently redone leechfield/septic field with no grass overlaying it and only the clay mud and straw. The RV dump is still inoperable. The showers were free and the water was hot. Would be really nice if they would just renovate and take care of the bathhouse and septic area. If you are in an RV, go for the views. You won't have to worry about the bathhouse. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
We had the best site in the campground: 12. We had a wonderful view of the lake and the islands right from our windows and door. It was the best view we've had from our trailer in a long time. Sites are small but quite a few are large enough for big rigs. The campground was neat but nothing spectacular as far as accommodations. Dump station was not working, but we were able to dump at one of the sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2003
$20
The view was excellant but the sites were very uneven and required lots of leveling. They had a nice shower building at one time but it is closed now and showers were somewhere else on the campgrounds. They had some but not many water hookups and some were not working.Office building was old. Didn't look like much care was given to the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com