219848 User submitted reviews online!!
Hixton / Alma Center KOA was rated 9 out of 10 based on 29 user reviews. Phone: (715) 964-2508
CGID3252

Hixton / Alma Center KOA

Camp Information
Sites
101
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   9   10   7   5   10   8   10   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$27
The owners love this property and it shows. The planting and maintenance are absolutely first rate. We were told the owners planted 4,000 trees over the last 27 years, so the campground is beautiful. Flowers everywhere. Showers are sparkling clean. WiFi is strong. Verizon is 3-4G strength. Very friendly and engaged staff. One of the prettiest KOA sites we have ever stayed at. Our rate reflects water and electric only plus GS discount for a pull through. We would absolutely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$48
This is a lovely spot. Very easy in and out of pull-through sites. Water was good, electric worked well and we had a full hookup site. Terraced to provide separation from neighbors. Nice landscaping and attention to homey details. Did not use the pool or kids stuff, but enjoyed the view from our site...could see fireworks from all different areas. Will definitely come again. The only reason I didn't give it a 10 was the proximity to the highway and motorcycle/truck noise. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$32
Very nice quiet park. Owners couldn't be any better or accommodating, just wonderful. Sites are gravel, some not very level, though. We had to park backwards in ours to get level. Also the Wi-Fi out in the park didn't work very well, (poor signal). All in all, those 2 little flaws gave it a 9 in my book instead of a 10. Would stay there again in a second We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$37
Very friendly staff with a well-kept park. We stayed in the upper terraced area, where we got good satellite reception and enjoyed the lovely flowers planted between each terrace. The park is full of little hidden garden and flower areas: a great place to walk and discover. We stayed two nights with the KOA 10% discount and would definitely come back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
Not a bad campground. My site was far from level however, it's not very often I just give up trying to level. Pool was clean and the kids had fun. Will return but with extra leveling blocks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$38
We stayed at the Hixton/Alma Center KOA for a month as we are full timer's. We home school our 12 and 11 year old children and have two small dogs. We look for quiet campgrounds that are friendly and clean. The owners of this are not very friendly, but the worker campers would go out of their way to help. Their Big Bouncer had literally broke open about a week before our stay and they would not offer any kind of reimbursement for this inconvenience. Needless to say many people left the campground because of this. The local people have a big tendency to get very rowdy here from what the owners and workers tell everyone. The pool gets over crowded with unattended children on more than one occasion, but if you tell the work campers, they will speak to the people there. Bathrooms are individual units on the upper hill and shared units on the lower level. All were not kept up or very clean anytime we would use them. The maintenance at this campground is very beautiful as the owner loves her flower beds. Unfortunately when they would water them constantly, especially the campers on the upper hill in the newer sites would lose almost all water pressure. Wi-Fi is very spotty and cannot be used much in the newer spots on the upper part of the hill. All newer spots are very level, large sites, but absolutely no shade at all. All of the original spots on the lower tier have much shade, but be aware they are almost all buddy sites except for a few end spots, which reserve up in advance. One big thing to note, as we were not made aware of this for the campground is that the area is covered with ticks and has frequent bear visitations in the area, so be cautious with your canine and check them well for ticks when outside, even at your campsite. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$40
This was the best Campground we have stayed at. Clean, well landscaped, and a great host! I would recommend this campground to all, it's a must do. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$47
Overall we had a very enjoyable visit. Our kids loved the jumping pillow and fishing pond. Their was also a special show for the kids which they enjoyed. The staff was extremely friendly. Our FHU site was in the newer pull throughs up on the hill. No trees but the sites were very large with a nice breeze and a view of the surrounding countryside. The only real thing we noticed on this visit was the grounds looked somewhat overgrown. There was also a considerable amount of standing water after overnight rains in some of the campsites. Nevertheless, I'm sure we will be back in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$35
This is a wonderful campground. We arrived late in the season and sadly missed the beautiful flowers that were evident by the many flower beds throughout. The owners were great, always helpful and friendly. (Even invited us to the office to watch the Packer-Viking game) The "silver Mound" trails are right from this campground. There are very nice, private individual shower and restroom facilities. We were scared out by predicted 60mph winds and left 1 day early, and to our complete surprise the owners refunded the last night, which was neither asked for nor expected. This is an A-1 facility with owners to match. We can't wait to go back this year when the flowers are in full bloom. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$47
A nice campground. Landscaping is interesting and appears some sites are on tiered terrain. The only downside was the low water pressure. There was not enough pressure to take a shower. Staff very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$42
It is a very nice park with beautiful landscaping. Sites were spaced nicely and well maintained. Stayed on our way to MN and liked it so much we stayed on the way back, also. Highly recommend this park. We have 32 foot motorhome and tow a 16 foot trailer. Easily accommodated our long rig. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$38
If you like flowers this is the campground to go to. Beautiful landscaping and grounds. Very friendly and helpful owners and work campers. On the weekends they have corn boils and Sunday breakfast .Donations go to KOA Camp Kids. Excellent campground, not to far from major shopping. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$33
Has easy access from I-94, and shady lots. Staff extremely nice and easy to talk with. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$33
Easy to find good access. Well kept and clean grounds and facilities. Management friendly and helpful. Level sites. Quiet and 3 miles from I-94. Few year rounders are friendly and keep up their units. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
A nice, small, quiet and peaceful KOA. Our site was a pull-through, level, with not much width whens slides are open. We were unable to use satellite due to trees. The kids seemed to be enjoying the pool and the pond. There is friendly staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
This is a small KOA with only a handful of sites that have all utilities (WSE and cable). The cable selection is only 24 channels and very few sites were satellite friendly. I found the sewer placement at my site a bit inconvenient. I agree that the flowers and landscaping are attractive, but better facilities are more important than being pretty. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
We stayed here in May 2009 and what a beautiful place. The owners were very nice and helpful. We stayed one night and will stay here again. They sure keep this place up. The flowers and trees are pretty but in the summer it must really look beautiful with everything in bloom. Nice and quiet and lots of birds. Definitely a place to stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$35
As a “Newbe” to the world of RV camping (a real veteran of tent camping), I had always perceived KOA Kamp Grounds as a less desirable place to stay and should only be used when a overnight stay was required when getting from point A to B. The folks at Hixton/Alma Center KOA certainly changed my mind on that score. Their facility is conveniently located 3 miles off the interstate and is situated in a woodsy area that provides the feeling of being in touch with nature. After reviewing some before and after photos of this camp facility, it’s very obvious that these folks have put a lot of hard work to make this a wonderful place to stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$35
This is a great little campground. I thought it was a bit larger but they are in the process of adding more sites. I saw everything from big rigs to tents. We paid about $35 per night and a $3 per person fee. The pool was smaller in size, but very clean and good temperature. The jumping pillow was awesome for adults and kids. Playground was nice. The restrooms were immaculate (see photo) and they had small flower vase by each sink. The owners loaned us an electrical adapter because the box only had the big hookup connection. We enjoyed an ice cream social, hayride, and corn roast. All the staff had yellow KOA shirts (which was nice) and they were constantly cleaning /emptying trash. It was quiet at night and very family oriented. There aren't many nearby attractions for families but we were ok with that and stayed in the campground all weekend. The fishing pond had a few fish that we saw (2 big fish and some smaller fish) but we didn't catch anything - it was fun anyway. The store was clean, stocked for normal supplies, and reasonably priced. I would return again and recommend to friends for a nice smaller family weekend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
This is a beautiful, well maintained campground. The owners have put a great deal of effort into planting trees (which are now large) and landscaping the grounds. The restrooms are kept meticulously clean throughout the day. The owners are very involved and friendly, as is all the staff. We spent a lot of time at the pool and on the jumping pillow, which was a lot of fun, even for adults. The kids enjoyed the wagon ride, crafts, and flashlight candy hunt. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$28
We were at the park very late in the season but the hosts were very hospitable even though they were officially closed for the year.Only stayed one night but we will stay again if the need arises. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$36
Very nice campground, very friendly staff. Guided us to our site. We were passing through Wisconsin Dells, but didn't want to camp in town. This campground is several towns away and 3-1/2 miles off the interstate, far enough to be quiet. Pool was heated, very comfortable. Sites were shaded. Lots of flowers, very pretty. Very quiet at night. We would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$28
Great place to stop overnight while traveling; easily accessable from the Interstate. Camp hosts were very friendly We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2005
$28
This is a beautiful campground. It is 3 miles off of I90 in a country setting. Limited road noise. Flowers and flower gardens everywhere. It is one the cleanest parks we've been to. The size of the campsites are adequate. They have a exercise area for pets. The owners/managers/staff are very nice and helpful. Very quiet. No loud music, kids running through your site, or barking dogs. Plenty of guest parking near the office. We didn't fish at the fishing pond, but saw kids who did. Bait can be purchased at the office. They had an Ice Cream social Saturday, $1 for kids $2 for adults (all you can eat!!). There was a pancake breakfast Sunday morning $3 for all you can eat panckaes. What a nice place! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2004
$25
We stayed here while visiting relatives nearby. Very clean. Owners friendly and helpful. They personally led us to our site. They were adding some sites near the playground that looked a little small. I don't know what they had planned for this area. We went on a long hayride through the woods (free) that the kids really enjoyed. Very quiet. It seemed like just about everyone was inside by 10:00. We were the only ones sitting out by a campfire the first night. No loud music, kids running through your site, or barking dogs. Our guests (2 adults) were able to visit us for lunch without any problems. Plenty of guest parking near the office. We didn't catch anything at the fishing pond, but saw kids who did. Bait can be purchased at the office. Our first container of worms was almost dead and they kindly exchanged it for a fresh container. Black River Falls is an easy drive if you need something from the "city." We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$27
This is a beautiful KOA. It is about 3 miles off the expressway in a country setting. Limited road noise. There are flowers and flower gardens everywhere. The size of the campsites are adequate. They have a fenced-in off-leash (exercise) area for pets. The owners/managers are very nice and helpful. The only reason I did not give this a 10 is because maneuvering around their dump station is tight -- and we just have a 25' trailer. We had to back up rather than pull around it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2003
$22
Well-kept, park-like campground on terraced hillside. Lots of flower gardens! Friendly owners. Sites were small with shared hookups. Kamping Kabins are at the top of the hill and have a great view of surrounding farmland. Bathrooms were very clean. Good overnight stop; we'd stay there again if it's on our route. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$24
Somewhat over priced but host exceptionally friendly and helpful ... grounds well kept ... fishing pond for kids ...terrible TV reception and tree density makes satallite use a challange ... easy access ... above average single night stop-over campground ... 2003 We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$22
A nice, quiet campground, lots of flowers, clean restrooms and showers, friendly staff. Enclosed pet run and pet walk on a hill overlooking the area, very peaceful, country setting. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com