220520 User submitted reviews online!!
Pettibone Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 28 user reviews. Phone: (608) 782-5858
CGID3257

Pettibone Resort

Camp Information
Sites
140
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$37



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   5   4   8   4   1   6   9   7   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2014
$37
This was a strange campground with a lot of inconsistencies. It had great, easy to back into site along the river, but weird, hard to pull into "pull-thru" sites in the middle. It had a bar, but it was also attached to the check in so that you had to compete with it/on the phone as well as in person. That same person pushed the button to let you in the gate, so had to "see you" as you entered (all the while attending bar). All that said, the place had lovely views all around the river. As one person noted, "it could be made into a 5-star place with a little work!" My biggest advise, don't get a pull-thru! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
It would be beneficial to ask for definite information before you go. i.e. We discovered that there was no cable service because it was being worked on. We discovered that the sites are too wooded to get satellite service (except for 2 sites). We discovered that 50 AMP sites are few and are taken. All of this was after we made reservations asking for 50 amp and satellite. We are in a big rig and would not stay again even though it is very pretty. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
This park has beautiful large sites, lots of grass and shade, some sites on the water. The park is quite and convenient to town but has a country setting. They advertise Wi-Fi but one must go to the clubhouse to access it. The showers are terrible. Mine had no hot water, the handle was apparently broken. It was a handicapped shower but the grab bars were gone. The shower drained onto the floor and ran out the front of the stalls so the entire floor was wet. To top that off the showers and laundry are a long way from most of the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
Pettibone consists of two very long campgrounds located on an island just east of the US 14/61 bridge from downtown La Crosse. An efficient, multi-tasking bar staff in Pettibone's lounge/campstore building handles check-in and operates the entrance gate during the day. You need to unhook any tow vehicles in their parking lot before you enter the campground areas. We had a nice, shaded back-in site with a cement patio and cement wheel-path strips, so was very level. The Mississippi river/slews/marina are along both sides of the campgrounds. (If this summer had not been the drought of the century, the mosquito population would likely have been more intimidating.) The main campground was a couple blocks long. Depending upon your site location, the shower/restroom building can be a long walk which explains why so many seasonal campers had golf carts. Their facilities were OK clean, consisted of 4 showers and 6 stalls, water was hot, pressure was good. Being totally flat at river level, sewer systems do not drain well so there are no sewers at any of the sites but they have 2 well-equipped dump stations on your way out. The long campgrounds were great exercise and the bridge over the Mississippi River made for a nice, long uphill walk or easy bike ride to downtown LaCrosse's entertainment area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2011
$37
We were given bad instructions for pulling into our site and got stuck in mud; had to be pulled out. Cable service was too poor to watch; good reception with RV antenna. There is no Wi-Fi. Quiet time is not enforced unless complaints are received. We were without water for 24 hours due to a construction accident and we were not offered a credit. We felt the fee was high for the amenities available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2010
$33
Made reservation 3 weeks before stay and our credit card reflected an immediate authorization. Upon arrival was told we were not in the computer and besides the park was closed due to flooding (seems to be a common problem). We did not get a call from Petti-Bone and we were forced back on the road. Staff were not sorry about our situation and seemed to only to be concerned with finger pointing to a past employee for the screw-up. Back office staff were extremely rude. Don't pull up completely to the sign in parking sign because you will have to unhook your tow if you cannot get into the park. Seems like a good idea if they backed the sign up when there is flooding in the park. Always double check your reservation with this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
We had a very nice back-in site by the river (#111). Our check-in went quickly, but was accomplished by a busy and very efficient, multi-tasking bartenter. The campground is great for walking around, and the scenery is beautiful. We loved being close to the water, but were lucky to leave before the flooding. The water pressure to the campsites was lost for a while due to a construction accident, and we had to use the bath house for showers. The facilities were clean and spacious, but could use some upgrading. Kudos for the hardworking staff who struggled in the rain and mud to get the water back on to the campsites. WI-FI was free in the office area, but cost extra in the campground. We stayed here for 3 nights, and would stay here again. This is a Good Sam park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
This was a nice park for a overnight stay. It is on the Mississippi River. Nice shady site. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$33
Park has large shaded sites. Easy in and out for our 40 ft fifth wheel. No sewer hook ups for anyone, because of the river. Only 50 amp sites are back-ins so we settled for 30 to get a pull through. Very much of a family destination park with the river on both sides. When making your reservations (they don't do on-line) make sure you understand they don't have sewer and 50 amp pull throughs. We thought we were getting it all so it was a surprise when we arrived. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$31
I think where you stay in this park makes a lot of difference. I was given a site where there were three campers right on top of each other. Across from me along the river the sites were much nicer. It is a nice setting and a nice walk or bike to La Crosse across the Mississippi River We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
A very nice setting along the river with large shade trees. Reliable and fast Wi-Fi, strong power supply, and level sites. Bathrooms old and dated but clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$34
This is a good place to camp in La Crosse, and if you are lucky enough to get campsite 101 you will be especially pleased. The laundry room is not good: the washers and dryers are really old and the water is not desireable for laundering. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$32
First time at park, very impressed. We'd consider a seasonal in the campground if it wasn't so expensive. Campsites are fairly tight, but still feel spacious. Riverfront sites offer great views of the boat traffic. There are also bay side sites where you can pull your boat right up to the sites. Campground was very well maintained, location is great. La Crosse has a surprising amount of things to do. Fayze's for breakfast and Edwardo's Pizza for dinner are a must. Biggest negatives are no pool, bathrooms were just OK, and far away from most sites. Big rigs will have absolutely no issues here, and the paved parking strips and paved patios at most sites were great. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$42
I would highly recommend this if you can get a river site. I am not complaining about ours, interior, fairly level, easy hookups; even the lack of dump on site. What i am complaining about are once again pet owners that defy simple rules and endanger others. It is stated on the list of expectations that pets are to be kept on a leash. Twice when walking our dogs we had off leash dogs come at ours. It is simple folks, do as requested out of respect for others. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
There are heavily treed island with sites along the water. The sites are Grass with cement wheel strips. We are between 2 large trees. There was no satellite reception. Spotty Wifi costs $13.95 for 10 days and doesn't work most of the time. There is no sewer, but the park offers pump out service. Our bird feeders were mobbed all week, great for birding. If internet is important to you, avoid this place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$37
Very nice park. Spaces are fairly large especially next to the river. Lots of trees. I would have rated it higher if it had sewer. Good TV and Wi-Fi [have to pay extra for Wi-Fi.] Definitely would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
A little noisy with the bridge above us but overall a nice place. The port-a potty was disgusting and not cleaned very often. I think maybe this would be better in an RV than a tent. It is beautiful by the river and most sites are next to the water. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$31
Nice park near the Mississippi River. WiFi access is charged at $5.50 +/- per day. Things get a little "rowdy" on the weekends. They need more trash disposal boxes as the one available near laundry filled up to overflow on weekend. Pull-thru site 313 had satellite reception from roof-mounted dish. Would stay her again if in the La Crosse area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
Camping right on the Mississippi River is just the beginning of a nice campground. We camped on a level grassy site with concrete pad and patio backed up to the river. The site was of medium size. Although beautiful, it did not have much privacy. We had 50 amp and water; there was a dump station on site. There is a nice little store, full bar, and friendly people here. We would stay again if in the area. Wi-Fi is available on site through an independent company for a small fee. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2007
$33
The bathhouses are at the entrance end of the campground so the further in your site is the longer your walk to the showers. The sign in the restrooms stated that they are cleaned on Saturday, Sunday, and Monday. By Wednesday they were in desperate need of cleaning. Most of the fixtures were rusty. The shower curtains in the men's showers were mildewed. The curtains in the women's showers looked like they had recently been replaced. There are no sewer hookups, but a honey wagon runs two days a week. We had a site on the river which was nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$25
Interesting park on an long narrow island in the Mississippi River. Most sites well shaded, park well kept, most waterfront sites are seasonal rentals but since the park is so narrow, the river is never far away. The beach is very small and weedy. No highway noise but when we were there there was a very loud rock concert in the park across the street. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$31
The resort is on an island in the middle of the Mississippi River with great views of the river for a short distance. Our site was a back-in site with a view of the main part of the river out of the back kitchen window. Only problem here was that the campground map said the sites on that section of the park were 50 amp, but when I got backed in and set up, I only had 30 amp service. The campground is a long drive through town off the interstate. When leaving, there was construction on the Minnesota side of the river that had some confusing signs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$28
We loved this beautiful park. The sites are spacious and the views were beautiful, especially in the fall. It is an easy walk or bike ride into town. We will definitely return, next time with our small boat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$27
I really enjoyed this park. I extended my stay to 4 nights. The office staff were very nice and helpful, there is an RV sales and repair place on site as well as bar and campground store. There isn't a bad site, all have a view of the river and both outside rows have frontage of the main Mississippi or the bay which allows you to moor a boat. Of course, the LaCrosse area is great for sightseeing. Both historical sites and scenery are supurb. Shopping is excellent. I would recommend this park to everyone. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$28
What a lovely campground! We stayed for 3 days and will definitely go back. The city is readily accessible to the campground but traffic noise is minimal. We will definitely go back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2005
$28
Great place for an overnight stay (or longer). Right on the Mississippi River, level sites, clean park. Staff was wonderful about accommodating our late check-in time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$28
What a nice campground! We camped here and attended an airshow, it made a nice base of operations for us. Lots of shade trees, most sites were on the water. Sites in the 600's might be a little loud due to proximity to the bridge. Very secure with a gate and keypad access after hours. Nice playground for the kids, did not check out the beach. We will definitely go back and visit again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$27
Beautiful campground located on an island in the Mississippi River. Except for the understandable lack of sewer connections, and the commercial aspect of the area, we would have rated it much higher. Personable folks running the campground, and sites were clean and easy to get into with large fifth wheel. Some sites had concrete "runners" for the unit, which made leveling a "snap". We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com