223427 User submitted reviews online!!
Smokey Hollow Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (608) 635-4806
CGID3260

Smokey Hollow Campground

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$60



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   7   8   1   8   9   10   3   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$60
A great park for kids, but we don't have kids so that did not appeal to us. Stayed hooked up since just staying one night and didn't venture out much due to the heat and the kids running around. Barely enough room for our truck and 5er hooked up and a good line of sight for our satellite dish. We probably would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$27
Very nice campground especially for families. They have a neat pond to swim in, clean with large rubber slides, teeter totters, etc. Many other activities. Accepts Passport America. A nine because of no sewer hook-ups. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$25
Nice family campground. Many of the sites appeared to be seasonal with big, wooden decks. Lots of children and things for them to do. Bathrooms were individual with shower, toilet and sink in one private room. Showers are coin fed. The Wi-Fi was working well. We were not able to get any over-the-air TV channels and the VZW signal was barely there and 1X. There is a pavilion with a TV that gets DirecTV. Prices were $50 for back in and $60 for pull through. There are no sewers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$90
Easy to find campground right off the interstate. Lots of things for the kids to do. Very pricey on the for bikes, mini golf and jumping pillow. Nice swimming pond with sand beach and inflatable slidesthat are free and guaranteed to provide hours of fun. Planned activities and crafts that cost a couple of bucks. Our kids loved the glow stick parade, the wagon ride, giant shopping cart ride. Lots of seasonal sites as well. Black top roads. No sewer hook ups, but easy to use dump station. We stayed in a VIP site with a cement pad, picnic table with umbrella and grill. Very nice and level but it would have been nicer if they had sewer for the price they charge. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2011
$23
We gave this a "1" rating only because "0" is not an option. Without a doubt, one of the most disappointing campground experiences we've had in years. This is in no way "big rig friendly". We had to disconnect our car in order to get our 40' motorhome around the tight corners. Our site was not even close to level and required a veritable lumber yard to safely level our rig. The park is a destination with many weekending families. Unsupervised kids are everywhere, even driving golf carts and all sorts of other conveyances with little regard to pedestrian safety. During the weekdays they run a day camp so there is little respite from the noise. Positives? The owner personally replaced our faulty 30-amp circuit breaker. The laundry is fine. This is a "we'll never stay here again" park for us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$33
We camped here right before the season opened up. The park is definitely family friendly. When we drove up, it looked like we were in an amusement park! The kids were very excited. The park was very large, and there are areas to camp away from the amusement park area. Some of the tent sites had a good "forest" feel to them. Because it was off-season, the campground employees were getting all the equipment ready and cleaned. The manager and owner were both onsite and were friendly. They let the kids ride the bikes/trikes free of charge. The campground has something similar to a swimming pool (it looks like a beach) that is heated. It was pretty neat looking. On the downside, you had to pay to use the showers (something like 25 cents for 5 minutes). My husband was the only one to use the shower because he said it was ice-cold. I'm not sure if they didn't have the water heater turned on for the season or what, but the rest of us decided not to use the showers. There is a single shower in the bathroom, and towards the back of the park, there are individual unisex bathhouses. Our rate was $33 off season for W/E. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$26
Not only is this park open all year for the die hard traveler, it is a very busy family park in the summer. If you have kids or love kids this is the place to stay. The owner had every kind of entertainment possible for kids of all ages. There is skyball, mini golf, bicycles, a huge bounce pillow, a HUGE shopping cart with a V8 that you can ride in as well as a Cinderella Pumpkin. He is adding a hydraulic "pimp" mobile to pull the pumpkin for this year. There are yurts, cabins,covered wagons, RV sites, tent sites, seasonal sites and a kids cottage that can be rented for the kids to stay in that is equipped with a TV, video game and place to sleep. The pond has an inflatable water playground and there is even what looks like an old fashioned carnival ride that has been converted into an outdoor movie theater complete with a 50" TV. This is truly a "campground amusement park." We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
Very friendly and helpful staff. Bathrooms and showers cleanest I have ever seen. Great place for the kids with so much for them to do. Beautiful park, great place to take the family. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2009
$20
If you like being treated like a second class citizen for using your Passport America card, this may be the perfect place for you. Our initial assigned site was so obviously out of level to the eye, we asked for another specific one. They said that one was taken and gave us a different one. That was equally out of level and 20 lego blocks could not rectify the problem. Also the Wi-Fi did not work at all at this location. Note that these electric and water sites go for $39 a night if you're not a PA member. We were begrudgingly given another site, and managed to get nearly level using all of our lego blocks. The Wi-Fi barely worked at this location. Unless they came late and left early, it appeared that no one showed up at the site we asked for that was supposedly taken. Additionally, if you like the sound of many kids screaming with glee at the various play activities (there is a day camp facility at the campground) then this could be the perfect place for you. We prefer a quieter environment, but that is not the campground's fault. Although the park has well over 200 sites, most of them are seasonal sites. There are about 60 identified as overnight sites, very few of which were occupied but were not offered to us. There is a mix of pull-through and back-in sites. We were very disappointed at the treatment we received and would not stay at this place again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$48
I would have rated this park higher: but I give the park an average rating. The reason was the park has been rated with sewer hook-ups and we had a VIP pull-through site with no sewer hook-up. Come to find out: the park feels that the dump station is the sewer hook-up. Another issue is the chrildren that have the run of the park with total disregard of vehicles and campers. They (the kids) own the road: too many golf carts driving around, no one walks any more. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2009
$24
The park workers stated they were not officially open but there were other overnighters and a few permanents using the grounds. We used Passport America. The ratings were low because the free wifi did not work unless you moved to an outside table; laundry was closed; bathroom smelled and was not clean; staff was not friendly; and tree branches were in desparate need of cutting as we scratched our motorhome exiting the park. The other thing which bugged me was having to pay for the showers, which we declined at $.25 for a small amount of minutes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$40
We camped here for Labor Day weekend, I was very impressed with this place. There is more to do here than time allows!! their web site tells a lot about that. Very family structured and well maintained park. I very rarely give a 10 but honestly, there was nothing negitive I could find regarding Smokey Hollow. Yes it was crowded (Holiday Weekend) but no waiting for anything! Staff was excellent, a real class act! Staff even left at each campsite, a DVD of the weekend festivities. pic's and video clips for the guests upon departure. SOMETHING OTHER CAMPGROUND NEVER DO. pleasing the guest is paramount in this park!!!! As for the seasonals, they are mostly in the back area of the park. easy walk from campsites to the facilities. Smokey Hollow highly recommended!! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$29
Nice campground. I did question the ability to be able to level on some of the sites. A lot of seasonal sites. Most looked ok. New looking man made "pond" was great! All kinds of float toys for the kids and beach all the way around it! Hosts were nice, well stocked store, ice cream and a little snack bar - great fish or shrimp dinner on Friday night! Free "hay rides" no hay though... Playground equipment was a little dated. Free movie Saturday night. We went the weekend after Memorial day so it was a little quieter. We'll go back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$20
Pretty campground. The "new" owners are putting a lot of money and effort into this place. When we camped there last summer, they were just finishing up a large, man-made swimming hole and beach, and it was looking terrific. Well maintained park. It does seem that there is really close group of seasonal campers, but we were happy to see that their sites were for the most part, beautifully maintained, these seasonal campers take great pride in their sites. Nice play area, although they could use some more modern equipment. Some of the play things were broken. This is not a campground for those who want to stay up late and party around a campfire. It gets quiet early here, which we liked. We did build our fires and stay up chatting, and it was nice to enjoy the peaceful surroundings. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$20
After checking in large signs directed us to the pull through across easy campground roads. This campground caters to seasonals. Sewer hookups were not available on site but a campground dumpstation was available. Restrooms clean although my wife smelled sewage in ladies restroom. 30 amp power at sites. Friendly helpfull staff. I would go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com