223083 User submitted reviews online!!
Oakdale KOA was rated 8 out of 10 based on 34 user reviews. Phone: (608) 372-5622
CGID3270

Oakdale KOA

Camp Information
Sites
80
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   8   8   9   7   10   8   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$45
Campground right next to busy interstate, lots of road noise. Typical KOA. Good camp supplies and gift shop. Attendant was nice and helpful. We only stayed here so we could have sewer hookups. Most other campgrounds in the area only had electric and water with no sewer hookups. Thought it was overpriced for the location. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$42
We used to come here on a regular basis until 2007 when the then owner started charging an extra $2 for "drive in" customers. There are now new owners, so we are back. We had a level, gravel, FHU, pull-through site. Although there is a cable hookup, the provider (Comcast) now requires that all TVs are hooked up to a new cable box to get the cable. This is a provider, not RV park, issue. As I have mentioned in other reviews, I do not have the physical agility or technical knowledge to attach this box to my TV. So, we went without the cable TV even though it is free with the site fee. Fortunately, we were able to get roof satellite reception in spite of the trees. Evidently we were parked perfectly to be aligned with a gap in the trees. Few sites here are satellite friendly. There are about 25 FHU, 30/50 amp, pull-through sites; a dozen FHU, 30 amp back-in sites; and 25 W&E, 30 amp, back-in sites. The park also has 10 tents sites and 4 rental cabins and 1 rental trailer. The park was fairly full but we had no problem getting Wi-Fi in our RV. The park has a larger than usual pool, a bounce pillow, a playground, and a game room. Their bathrooms are inadequate for a park with this many non-sewer sites. The laundry was OK. There are some recycling bins near the game room. Yes, there is interstate traffic noise day and night. The new owners are friendly and helpful. I would probably return only if I could be assured of getting one of the few satellite friendly sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$45
Didn't get to see much of the campground as it was raining when we pulled in. Wifi was very slow and only 3 digital channels on the tv. Plus they are very close to the interstate so it was very noisy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We kind of like the traffic sounds at night as we were close to the Interstate. Many sites unoccupied as it was September. Stayed only one night. We would stop again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$38
This is a very nice KOA! It's well-maintained, offers lots of activities for kids and families and the sites are nicely spaced so you are not right on top of your neighbor. Power is solid. The staff is great...nice people who are friendly and helpful. WIFI is great...fast and solid all the time. The only drawback is the location, right next to the Interstate Highway. Traffic noise is significant. It didn't bother us but some may find it intolerable. We'll return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$37
This is a typical KOA. Right on I 94, easy in and out, right by fueling stop. Our friendly welcome changed us to a shady, mostly level site. Showers were very clean, although I would subtract points for the laundry room, which could have used a bit of attention. Additional cost amenities included pizza (very good). Ice cream social and breakfast. For family fun, there is a pool and a game room with ping pong, billiards and some arcade games. I would subtract a little more for noisy highway, and train. A good one nighter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$42
We only stayed overnight here, and considering that it was raining heavily when we got there, it could have been a miserable experience. But the owner took us to our site and found one that was very level and had the least amount of rain puddles, even though it wasn't the one he had initially assigned to us. They have pizza that you can order and the owner will deliver it to your RV which was great. We stayed in a 34' RV and the pull through was an easy in and out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$39
Right off the interstate, which is usual for KOA's. Level spots, nicely wooded. Extremely nice workers, and you should definitely go for the pizza--a local woman makes them, and mine was very tasty! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
The cleanest bathrooms. It was like being in your own home. The owner was just wonderful upon our arrival. They even offer pizza and deliver it to your door when it is done so we didn't have to cook dinner ($7 - what a deal). Great thought after a long day of travel arriving hungry and tired. Excellent cable TV. Yes, it is right next to the freeway and noisy as the trucks do use their air brakes, but it is also convenient, clean, with super-large shaded spaces. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
Decent KOA, large game room, but found a local Hick making fun of my teenage Autistic son for playing in the sandbox. Pool was clean, sites seemed pretty close to each other in my opinion. The staff was very friendly. I probably would not stay here given the seasonal crowds manners. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$42
This is an "off the street rate" because we are not KOA members. Although we are not fond of KOA's in general, this is an exception. The rate is more than we normally pay, but RV parks are few in the area. The park has eye appeal, shaded, well maintain, nice level sites, and excellent hookups. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We were guided to our site by staff. They were even trimming trees while we were here. The play area was very good and pool area appeared very nice. Overall, no complaints. We would definitely consider this park again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$38
Easy to get to off I-90/94. The owners, were very cordial and helpful. I-90 traffic noise may be an issue for some people. Site was easy to pull into and hook up. Hookups worked well, and there was good water pressure Cable had many clear channels. Wi-Fi was secure and was fairly fast. Grounds were clean and neat, and the fire pits were also cleaned out. Prices in camp store were very reasonable. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$38
Good overnight campground. Would not stay more than a couple of nights due to I-90 traffic noise. Site was a tight fit for our 44 coach towing a Jeep. Hosts very pleasant. Campground well maintained. Good water pressure, but weak WiFi at our site. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$33
Arrived here after a long day on the road. We called ahead and someone met us at the office when we arrived. It was pouring rain but the roads in the campground were in pretty good shape (no mud). Nice spacing between the sites and a nice area to walk the dogs. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$43
For a KOA, very nice. Not really big rig friendly, but it will do. Sites are small, expect close neighbors if the park is busy. Roads and parking pads are dusty gravel. Road noise from I-90, but we've had worse. Not worth the price, but a generally nice park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$37
Easy on and off the freeway. Wi-Fi was great. Mature trees for shade. Really helpful owners. Laundry and showers were spotless. Nice space between campers. You can order pizza from the owners and have it delivered to your campsite. You do have freeway noise. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$38
Really nice campground for overnight stays. Close to interstate. Easy in/out. When we arrived, the campground's roads and sites appear to be recently graded. Makes for very dusty conditions when someone drives through and thwarts any plan to take advantage of a nearby truck wash to have your rig or tow vehicle washed. Good power, good water, numerous cable channels, big rig friendly. We'd recommend you try to get a site away from the entrance road. It appears most everyone forgets that they're no longer on I-90/I-94 when they first arrive. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2010
$32
This campground was the not very kid friendly. They had lots of staff on hand (some nice, some not) however, we felt like they were spying on us the whole time. They were always driving around in their golf carts looking at our sites. We were not allowed to bring in our own firewood so you have to buy from them. We thought the bouncing pillow was free but it turns out it was $2.00/day per kid. The staff would spy out the window at the pillow to see if people were breaking the rules. The pool was great ,and it was heated; however, the weekend did not cooperate with us. It seemed that a lot of non-families camped here. There was a lot of big rigs and fifth wheels here. The campground was very small and there was constant interstate noise and train noise. However, that was the only noise at night because most people were in their campers by 9:00 pm. So if you like a quiet environment with people spying on you all the time - then you will love it here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$36
Good over nighter. Easy on easy off the freeway. The sites are dirt and gravel, mostly dirt. A heavy rain while we were here, underscored that fact. The staff was nice and helpful. They were out early the next morning cleaning up the debris after the storm. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$50
We stayed here for the second time but had to stay in a cabin. Our fifth wheel was broken down so we decided on trying a cabin. Very nice people; they take alot of pride keeping up their place. The cabin was very clean and very comfortable. Freeway noise isn't that bad and I loved the train but it didn't come through often. It is a beautiful place and very peaceful. We definitely will come back, and it is close to lots of nearby towns. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$35
We stayed here because it has full service with 50amp. The roads were good, but very dusty. WIFI was not always wonderful. They do not heat the swimming pool after Labor Day. The staff was very helpful with maps and information about the area. The sites were wide, level, and long enough to accommodate both our rig and our dinghy. The utility placement was convenient and didn’t interfere with our bay doors or our slides. They do recycle cans. Yes, there is constant interstate noise. There is shade if you want it, but if you are going to use your satellite, be sure to tell them when you make the reservation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$56
The campground was very clean. The owners were very helpful. Our family and my brother-in-law's family stayed here to have access to bike on the Elroy Sparta bike trail. We were only in the cabins to sleep, as we were on the trail all of Saturday afternoon and Sunday morning. We used very little of the services. We did not know if we could get back to the campground at check out time (12 noon) Sunday so we were upfront with the staff about what we could do. They said we could pay 5 dollars an hour, after 12 noon, because they had no reservations lined up. We agreed to this and even gave them our cell numbers in case they had someone interested in cabin. We came back to campground at 1:30 and paid up until 2 PM so the kids could have a quick swim. By then the manager was glaring at us and made a comment about if they are going to swim any longer they would have to charge us a whole day of camping. We told him what our arrangement was with the owners, but he said and he did not care. He kept on acting very rude saying we were deceitful. We got the kids out of the pool and tried to leave asap, not easy with kids, while Dennis was glaring at us and making comments. We had a great time until the last 20 minutes when he spoiled our fun memories of a great family weekend, on Labor day. This was not the kind of treatment we expected. We are a very loyal KOA customer over the last 20 years, and have never been treated like this before. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$36
This campground was very clean. The spaces were large enough to accommodate our 55' trailer/truck combo. The managers were very helpful and courteous. Even though a major highway was close and there was traffic noise, we were not disappointed. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
This is a beautiful campground and the people there are very helpful. We stayed three nights and we were close to many things we wanted to tour. As for the freeway noise: it did not bother us; no different if you live in a big city. The pool looked very clean but we did not go swimming. The people here take pride in keeping their KOA nice. Also this KOA has lots of cable TV channels and their Wi-Fi worked great. We will definitely come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
We don't use all the amenities offered by KOAs, and usually find them expensive for what we get, but we like this campground. The biggest drawback (and it's a big one) is the noise from the highway. Otherwise, the owners and staff are friendly and helpful, the park is clean and well-kept and they have lots of activities for children and things for adults if you want them. When we checked in the owners helped us find the right site, that was big enough for our rig and truck and satellite-friendly. Although we have our own satellite internet access, we found the wi-fi to be among the best we've seen (we were near the office, so that probably helped). We'd stay here again, even though the noise from the highway is a problem. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2008
$34
The road noise is just terrible and then at night you can hear the train. The dirt roads have large mud holes. If it rains you have to walk through mud to get to the dumpster. The staff is nice the Wi-Fi works and they have nice cable but don't expect to get satellite in the trees. They also charge a walk in fee but we had a reservation. Stayed for a week but will not be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2007
$30
I have stayed here numerous times over the years and always found always found this park to have excellent overnight facilities (FHU, good cable and WIFI, and a nice pool). On this last stay I found out that the new owners charge "drive-ins" an extra $2 a night. If you don't reserve at least one day ahead, you are charged $2 more. This is not disclosed in the KOA directory or the campground website. I complained to both the owner in person and KOA by phone but got no satisfaction. I feel that this hidden charge is a sleazy business practice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2007
$30
I'm really sorry to have to give this campground a lower rating, but I feel the other reviewers are just not giving enough weight to the constant and overwhelming nearby interstate highway noise. The campground is nice, the owners and staff are friendly, but be prepared for loud constant roaring truck traffic right adjacent to the campground all night long. Sorry, but you should know this before you decide to stay. If you are used to road noise, great, but if you aren't, well, be prepared. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
Nice park. Owner /operators are very friendly and run a nice park. A lot of trees for shade. Dirt interior roads, site was nice but the grass could have used some water. Noise is a problem but if you sleep like a rock you will have no problems. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$30
I can't say enough about the people who run the Oakdale KOA in Wisconsin. Fancy? No, I guess by some standards it isn't. But, it was beautiful with big trees, large campsites, everything spotless and extremely friendly and helpful staff. We had a major problem with our 26' 5th wheel in Illinois. When we tried to hook up the front stablizers wouldn't come up. Finally, my husband was able to manually pry the stablizers up a few inches and lock them in place. Just enough so we could leave the RV park (which we were desperate to do, but that's another story). We located an RV park in Oakdale, WI. I called and explained our situation, that we needed a pull through spot. We could't unhook as we couldn't lower, or raise, our front stabilizers. And we needed the name of a place that we could take our rig in for repairs the next day.(it was Memorial Day 2007) When we arrived at Oakdale KOA the owner came out and said he was putting us in two back to back pull throughs but would only charge us for one site and we could stay as long as necessary! He also offered to give us a lift if we needed to go anywhere. We ended up staying there 3 nights and were able to get our rig fixed the next day. I know that many KOA's are becoming so overpriced and service seems to be deteriorating. Not this one. I can't recommend it highly enough. I guess if you need fancy things you may not like it here. We tend to like the homier places where the people are nice, the facilities clean and the surroundings lovely. This fits the bill to a T. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$30
This is a nice, well-kept, friendly campground. Bathrooms are nice and new. RV spaces are mostly shaded and feel open. Continuous highway noise is the only drawback to this overnight campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$28
We stayed here overnight in Sept, 2006 in a Travel Trailer. Everything was perfect except for some mud puddles that you couldn't avoid driving through. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$27
The Campground was great, but what made this a truly remarkable experience was the people! Of course, clean restrooms, level sites, grass, shade, all those things help, but the management here was absolutely incredible. They met us at the truck when we pulled in, and by the time we got out and walked into the office they had started the check-in process. They went out of their way to accommodate our needs, including finding a us spot with strong Wi-Fi, and even going so far as to choosing one with trees placed strategically to give us shade later in the day, as they knew we would be checking out late. We were escorted to our spot, and the manager helped me get my trailer situated and level. He was free with information about the area, and local tourist attractions. This was our first KOA experience, we have avoided them to date as they are a bit pricey. If they are all like this one, the extra money is well worth it. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$21
This was our first experience at a KOA campground, and we were pleasantly surprised. The camp hosts were most accommodating and gave much information about the surrounding area. We had requested a shady site and were escorted to one that was shaded and very level. We were there the day after Labor Day, and the campground was immaculate. The grass was cut and not one piece of litter could be found on the grounds. The showers and rest rooms were modern and immaculate, and the pool and game room was very inviting. There was some traffic noise from the interstate, but once you were in your trailer you didn't notice it much. This campground is about 40 minutes north of the Dells, and I would stay here rather than in the Dells area because it was a better value, and the hosts were so nice. We would return here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com