224094 User submitted reviews online!!
Sky High Camping Resort was rated 6 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (608) 742-2572
CGID3275

Sky High Camping Resort

Camp Information
Sites
363
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$23



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   4   6   6   9   1   7   10   5   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$23
The staff was very friendly. Our rate was with Passport America. There were only two sites remaining to choose between with full hookups and no reservation, so a reservation is recommended. The sites are gravel, though they could use more of it. The playground area, mini golf, and pool are well maintained. WiFi is only accessible near the pool and the barn, we couldn't pick it up at our site. We were only here for one night, but we will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2013
$17
Other descriptions are accurate, this campground has an arcade room, pool & other children's activities. It is definitely geared toward locals who want to spend the whole season. The interior roads are poorly maintained, many potholes and not big rig friendly. The pull through sites are not level and we had to back out of ours (152)since the front egress was so steep to the road. When you pull in to register you have to make an immediate u turn to go into the campground, in the busy season this would seem impossible with a few rigs lined up to register. If you have a small rv it's fine, it is a little far off the highway. When I questioned the owner on the reality of a u turn he was kind of snotty. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2013
$26
Our usual stop on our way home. Lots of rain in the area, so there was lots of mud, water, and mess. The sites are not very level, and the roads need some work, lots of potholes. OK stop for one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$36
The site is about 5 miles off I-90/94 on country roads and it a nice location and quiet. However, the interior roads are narrow and some steep turns. The pull through sites are not level and the utilities are not located in a good place for a motorhome. Would not recommend the on site restaurant due to poor quality food. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$30
Great 'state park' like sites in Hawks Haven loop. Owner was upset that we didn't pay before our 1st nites stay - explained that rain, dark, and fog precluded our finding the door he said his phone number was on. I was told 'there's no excuse, if you'd called me, I'd come to your site.' When I explained I couldn't find the door with the phone number, he said, 'You called me right now, didn't you?' Well, yeah, the next day, with no rain and fog, I could find the door and the phone number. Then he was going to charge more than his stated rate for part of our stay, and, after I pointed out the mistake he said, 'I guess I can give it to you for that.' Well, thanks, it's just the rate you put on your website! I felt like telling him 'There's no excuse' for trying to overcharge me. The campground is lovely, clean, and in a beautiful setting. The owner just seems to be a bit of a d***. There, I got that off my chest. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2011
$45
After traveling for three days from Cape Hatteras NC, we stopped paid for two nights of full hook ups here and were told by some very young and seemingly very inexperienced staff how to proceed to our assigned site. When we got to our site there was someone on it and so we tiredly returned to the office where the staff did not really seem to know what to do. They finally sent us to another site where we scrapped some trees on our roof (31C Winnebago) and then found out there was no sewer connection at this new site. We then went back to the office and requested a refund which we finally did receive and left there forever. Very inexperienced young people running this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
Large open spaces. Too bad the roads are narrow and steep in spots. Follow their directions for getting to the park. My GPS took me up and over the local ski slopes to get there. Didn't use the showers there due to not being very clean and costing money. Only stayed one night passing through, and the kids said they wanted to come back. Lots of good, maintained play structures and areas for them to run and play. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$20
This is a terrific park. Sites are large, grassy/gravel, the views are spectacular, the trails great. It's out of town a few miles so is very quiet. Someone came by to "warn" us that the grass would be cut tomorrow (looked ok to me) and to apologize that we could be possibly inconvenienced by the noise. The grounds are truly beautiful. There is a mixture of permanent, long-term and short-term campers, with the permanent sites housing park models or nicely-kept trailers. Everyone we came in contact with was warm and friendly. Looks like lots of activities are available for kids. Nearby Portage is a nice little town of about 9000, with shopping and restaurants available, including Culver's, (yum), for fast food. Wonderful old houses dating to the 1800's and a bike/hike trail on the Wisconsin River. I only wish we could stay longer. Rate reflects Camp Club USA discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2010
$28
Big Rigs be aware that the roads within the campground are very narrow. WiFi did not work, except within the office, and the office was not open the two days we stayed here. This park has a lot of amenities, but the hills are steep, and the curves are tight. A nice campground for trailers and tents. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$44
Staff was so friendly and helpful! Stayed with a group of friends and all our children. The kids had plenty to do in all the park areas and pool. Loved "mining" for fossils and gemstones! Great signage! Will definitely be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$27
We camped here with friends for the Halloween weekend. The staff was very friendly, our sites were large and grassy. The chucker golf was fun for the kids, and the big open area allowed for plenty of room to toss around a football. The kids loved the game room. I only wish it had been a bit warmer because the pool looked beautiful and had a bar right there. Entertainment was fun as well, and season campers were very friendly. Overall, the views are spectacular, and the hiking trails fun too. I would definitely go there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2007
$37
You must ask for sewer if you have a big rig. Some sites appear to be inaccessible for motorhomes. Park not quite on the top of the hill. Our view was of trees. Park roads are dirt with some gravel. Our site was not real level, had to put front wheels on top of boards because there was too much slope front to back. The site we were in sloped also on the sides and was not really wide enough for you to step out of the coach onto level ground. Management not real friendly seems to be concerned with money, like charges for early arrival. More suited to trailers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$25
Sky High made some improvements since the last reviews were made. They have a brand new showerhouse/bathroom which has private showers with lockable doors. The pool is very nice as is the campstore. The campstore has a bar and restaurant which is nice too. The sites are OK. The area we were in didn't have definable sites; you just backed down into the grass close to your power/water hookup. Some of the big rig sites are close to each other but nothing real bad. There is a section in the woods that is very hilly. Has a real national park feel to it and I could see some rigs having a hard time navigating this. The full timers are in a totally separate area and you never see them which is nice. The campground is not that hard to get to off the interstate. You have to climb up a bluff which is about 1000' above the interstate. Offers a great view. The Dells area is about 25 minutes north and the small town of Portage is only minutes away. Would definitely stay here again if we are in the WI area. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2003
$28
I would not stay at this park again. Our first spot was as unlevel as any site I have ever been to anywhere. There was a hill in the middle of it. I thought I was going to tear something up getting out of it and moving to another spot. The sites are sort of gravel. The owners are on site and hospitable and the building is nice, but the camp sites need a lot of work. It is also not very convenient from the interstate. I would not stay here again, there are too many other campgrounds down the street at the Dells. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2001
$25
We ended up not even staying at this park when we got there! The site they wanted me to set up on didn't have even one spot of level ground, and it was so close to the neighbors that their awning was only 2' from my trailer when I finally got backed in. The little hill that they called a pad was so steep that my hitch dug a great furrow in the lawn as I tried to back into the spot, and once there my hopes of leveling the trailer were lost! We ended up getting our money back and going to a different capmground at the last minute. The owner was completely unwilling to move us to any other site in the campground as he said that they were all reserved. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com