223611 User submitted reviews online!!
Sherwood Forest Camping & RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (608) 254-7080
CGID3294

Sherwood Forest Camping & RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
160
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$59



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   7   4   8   8   8   4   8   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2013
$59
The campground is now being operated by the children of the original owners and there is no pride of ownership any more. The staff is rude and none responsive to health issue such as human waste in the pool area and pool; my wife had to track down the maintenance manager to get any action. The roadways are very narrow; sites are small trying to maximize the number of campers. Noise control is a thing of the past, load music that could be heard over the barking dogs with no owner’s in-site of the dogs. The garbage bins where over full-on Thursday and by Monday it was the worst. There were numerous families camping on the same camp site either in tents or tents and a trailer where there should have been just one family to a site. For $59 a night (this includes the tax for a full hook-up site) I think the campground should have been run a little better than this. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$45
Nice pool, lots of kids, quiet for the location. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2013
$50
First, let me say we did not stay here. We arrived on a Monday evening looking for a site in the Dells and were told they could accommodate us. We went to the office to check in and they gave us two site numbers to look at, park then come back and register. The park was packed. The roads were very narrow and difficult to drive through in our motorhome. When we arrived at our site, it was grass with standing water. I would have sunk to my axles if I'd tried to park there. Even if it had been dry it would have been difficult to park. So, we left without checking in. Also, I did not really find the park to be in walking distance at all of the Wisconsin Dells attractions as it's a bit off the beaten path. I chose this campground partly because of the reviews posted here, but now wonder about their accuracy because other people must sure see things differently than myself. I was unimpressed. We left and chose another campground closer to the action. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$50
This is probably the best campground that is closest to the Dells. It was so close we were able to walk to downtown Dells which is nice since it's hard to find free parking and makes for a nice family activity in the evening. Sites are the usual closeness for this kind of campground. If you're a tent camper there are some excellent sites, though they're far from the shower house. The trees make a nice setting. The campground hires an outside security agency which patrols the campground at night. I believe they were only here on the weekends and we could have used them during the week. Laundry facilities good, campstore and staff were good. We will make this our next stay at the dells. This campground could use another shower house for sure! Our septic overflowed as we were getting ready to pack and leave but it wasn't a big deal. They have to manually empty every septic site rather than have them draining to a central location. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
We stayed for six nights. The front office staff was very nice and worked with us on multiple discounts. We stayed at the top of the hill and had great Wi-Fi. I guess there are places in the park that are better than others for Wi-Fi. The pool area is wonderful for both adults and kids. The kids will love all the water features. The laundry room is very large and clean. The showers were hot and clean, but you have to continually push in the water faucet to keep the water flowing. It states you can walk to town, but we preferred to drive and found free parking downtown. This park is super close to town and that was a huge benefit to us. My only negative is that tents were very close to us and did not observe quiet time and partied until 4am. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$45
We were very happy with this campground & plan to return. It is very close to downtown Dells. The pool was recently redone & a new splash pad which was nice looking. The restrooms were clean. I appreciated that they had several garbage pickups per day and security guards walking around at night. It seemed like a very family friendly campground. Staff was nice. Store was fine. They didn't have a ton of planned activities but seeing the campground is in the Dells - we didn't care. Our children enjoyed the outdoor movie at night. My only recommendation would be for another bathroom / shower area at the far side of the lower level. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2007
$37
Camp sites were OK but not well maintained. Some trash around the site. Shared electrical boxes. Our box had only a 30A and a 20A. If the other spot had taken the 30A outlet then that would have only left the 20A which would not be enough for AC. We got limited WiFi coverage even tho we were close to the office. I tried several places around the park and coverage was no better. Don't depend on WiFi coverage if that's an issue. Water has a very hard mineral taste. Campground hosts were friendly but not attentive to complaints and what we feel was outright lying. Owner's brother and several others stay at the campgrounds in a run down Class C a few sites from the office. (Reminded me of Cousin Eddie in "Vacation".) They turn their radio on at about 10AM every day, place the speaker so it's blaring out a window, and leave it on all day, even when no one is at the campsite and often past 10PM. The radio can be heard 10-15 sites away. We complained to the owner, before we knew it was his brother, and he acted dumb like he didn't know there was a problem and said he didn't know who the person was. Owner said he would talk to security. That night at 10:45 PM, no one was in the campsite and radio still blaring, I talked to security who said the owner had not mentioned any problem. Security said he was just by the site to tell them to turn down the radio but no one was at the site. While talking to security the brother came out of the owner's place and admitted he had left the radio on but didn't think it was a problem. He then turned it down but during the next few days it would be blaring again all day long. Owner still refused to handle the complaint. We will not stay here again due to the lack of customer service and in effect being lied to by the owners. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$35
The campground is very pretty, tons of trees and bushes, very natural. The sites are a little close together, but not bad really. There's plenty of room to park your tow vehicle and also a picnic table and fire ring, and we didn't feel like we were right on top of someone. We stayed in site 199 and it's at the very back of the park, uphill. The turns and roads are pretty tight, but we made them fine as did the large motorhome that pulled in in front of us. The people are super friendly and nice and the playgrounds seem well kept. I saw a lot of tenters, some with more than 1 tent per site and more people than seemed good, but for the most part it seems very nice. There is a walkway from the upper part of the park to the Dells, it's very near one of the fun type parks, so that makes it very convenient. I will definitely stay here again, and I really like that we can have a campfire at our site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$46
Very close to downtown. The staff was very friendly and the campground was very clean. Navigating through the campground towing a travel trailer or in a motor home can be a challenge. The sites were a little small but overall not to bad. We will stay there again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$23
This campground has a lot of large mature trees and had great shade. The showers were clean and hot. The campground is within walking/biking distance to downtown and other activities. It was a very nice store and everything was clean and neat. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$35
Nice park close to town . Showers could use some updating . WiFi isn't very reliable . Excellent location ! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$46
We stayed here for free during opening "cleanup" weekend. Being our 2nd time there, we knew what to expect but were still impressed with Sherwood Forest. To me, the campground staff can make or break a stay and they were great! Everyone we dealt with was very friendly & helpful. It's just an overall great park, our kids love the playgrounds, good size sites, nice layout, just a thumbs up all-around. It has a very welcoming, comfortable feel to it & that's the kind of place I like to come back to. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$39
The family truly enjoyed this campground. The campground staff was extremely friendly and helpful. When we first arrived they had us in the lower part of the campground but we wanted to be up the hill so it was an easier walk for our younger kids to Downtown Wisconsin Dells. The guy working helped us out with moving to the perfect spot on the top part of the hill which we were very grateful. They have many things for the kids to enjoy including 2 playgrounds, game room and a pool. The bathrooms and showers were very clean. Our only complaint was the showers went from very hot to icy cold way too many times during a 5 minute shower. The day we left they shutdown the showers and were working on the water heater, hopefully to fix the problem. We will camp here again next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$38
Bathrooms and showers could use some updating but were adequate. Very convenient to town. Far less train and other noise compared to other campgrounds in the area. Will return. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$40
Just bought a new tent and wanted to test it out, we had site #3 it was near the road but we really enjoyed it, it wasn't very noisy at all. The staff was super friendly and very helpful, the only bad thing was there was a couple smoking next to the pool and as I came up from the bottom, I had a wet cigarette almost go into my mouth. Otherwise I've already suggested this campground to many relatives and also had my fiances parents stop up and take a look at the grounds. We plan on going up together within the next month or so. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2005
$40
This was our second visit to Sherwood Forest. The location is what brings us back, and also the friendly staff. The sites are reasonably spaced, the playground is huge and well equipped. Our sewer hookup ran up-hill, as did the neighbor's. Secluded area in back of campground with porta-potties. Older campground, kept reasonably clean. Bathrooms could use renovating and more care, but it is a very busy campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2004
$37
Pool was not the best! The kiddie pool had major cracks in it, not very safe! The place just looked run down and not very inviting. We stayed there in July of '03. No need to go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2004
$23
The park is great for families and is within walking distance of the downtown area and other attractions. My only complaint is we were camped next to a group of younger people who were shooting off fireworks and partying until 3 am. When complaints were lodged with the owners nothing was done to stop this activity dispite the fact that rules against this type of behavior are listed all over the campground. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$37
We actually live in the Wisconsin Dells area, so I spent some time driving around and 'checking out,' each of the area campgrounds before choosing one to spend the weekend at. This one was the nicest for the rate. The lots are nice and shaded, many of them with woods at the back of the lot. The showers were hot and the bathrooms clean. As a matter of fact each time I went into the restrooms there was an employee cleaning or restocking something in there. The heated pool is very nice and clean also. The staff was very friendly and helpful. If we needed anything they got it for us in a remarkably short amount of time. The campground is also within walking distance of many of the Dells attractions. We would definitely stay here again, actually we will probably stay here several more times this season! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com