215256 User submitted reviews online!!
Devils Tower KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 106 user reviews. Phone: (307) 467-5395
CGID3317

Devils Tower KOA

Camp Information
Sites
67
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   5   9   1   7   8   7   5   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$40
We stayed at this KOA due to it's proximity to Devils Tower. Literally right next to the gate. You can see Devils Tower Monument from most of the sites. The hosts(I think owners) were quite helpful and you could see they are proud of their business, we stayed in site 57, a back in water/electric site at the end of the row. It was extremely clean, grassy and much larger than typical KOA campground sites. Wifi could have been better but considering location it was adequate. The campground shows Third Encounters of the Third Kind nightly on the patio, we didn't go see it as we had a copy in our trailer. There were no fire pits on individual sites, but a nice community ring. We will definitely go back again if in the area. I highly recommend this KOA. Really a beautiful campground, you can even see it briefly in the Close Encounters movie. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2014
$50
Rate reflects KOA club discount. You couldn’t get any closer and not be in the National Monument as this KOA is located right at the entrance. Another typical KOA, gravel everywhere. We were treated to large gravel trucks spreading additional dusty gravel around the park roads both days we were here. The second day, the pool was drained for inexplicable reasons. No discount offered for the loss of this amenity either. The park Wi-Fi barely worked. The good news was that Verizon and AT&T both offered strong service. Having said all of the preceding, given that there is no other full service camping opportunity this close to the park, we would probably stay here again if we were to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$46
Great campground! Right next to the entrance of Devil’s Tower. Clean everything! Not just your usual office store, but gift shop and restaurant, too! I didn’t know this until after we checked in, but every night at 9PM they show the movie Close Encounters of the Third Kind, outside, under the stars with Devil’s Tower in the background. (as long as the weather is OK). They do not allow campfires at individual sites but they have two community campfires every evening. There are grills at every site which may be used for cooking. It also seems to me, that just about every site has a great view of Devil’s Tower. Internet service was not so good, but they tell you that right up front! We would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2014
$47
This is the only campground so close to the Devils Tower so we stayed here. The sites were OK but we had a very wide deep hole next to us with no tape or fencing around it, so it was an accident waiting to happen. There was no soap or even a dispenser in the restrooms. No toilet paper at all in the men's restroom. Three of the 7 showers had no lights (but plenty of spiders). One had no shower curtain and the one I used, the shower curtain fell down while I was in there. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$25
We arrived in early November on a Sunday afternoon. Nobody at the office, after talking to another guest I found the self-registration envelope and did that. Roads are gravel, sites are long, level, gravel, pull-through, grass between sites and wide enough for slideouts and awnings. Hookups were working, but weren't state of the art. WiFi was o.k., but not much bandwidth. Some text email and some internet browsing was o.k., but don't send too many pictures with your emails. The park is right in front of Devils Tower and that is the main attraction. Of course in November there were no more leaves on the trees and therefore we had a very good view of it. Didn't see or find any restrooms and can't say anything about it. I'm sure in Spring and Summer it looks way nicer than in November, but then again, you have to pay more money in those times. I can recommend this park and would return if again in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$32
The location is what makes this park. But it is nice nonetheless. Nice shade trees and some grass. A decent amount of space between sites. My only complaint is the website said our space had the best views of Devils Tower in the park. I paid a few dollars extra. But our view was blocked by trees. All in all a nice experience. I would stay here again if I ever get back to this remote part of Wyoming. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$45
A little on the shabby side once you get through the main gate....but it is THE location for Devils Tower. Rate is full hookup 50 amp. Sites long and level enough for us. Nice workcampers at check in. Water and power are good. There is no cable, no TV and no Verizon cell service. I did find a radio station. Some sites are clear for satellite. It was a one night stop for us to view the Devils Tower. There is nothing else here except a small gift shop/sandwich grill across the street. They do air "Close Encounters of the Third Kind" nightly on the deck. Nice touch. No campfires at sites, but a couple group areas. They were doing a brisk business. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$55
This is one of the nicest parks I've ever stayed in. The views of Devil's Tower were amazing and the staff was very helpful in every way possible. The reason for the low ranking was the price. Fifty five a night is just too expensive. If you don't mind the price, then this park is the one for you. I would stay here again, but only because of the views and convenience to Devil's Tower. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$45
Loved it! Best kid playground I have seen yet at any RV park. Enclosed dog run that is huge, nice pool. Large RV sites, most shaded. Can't beat the view of Devil's Tower from your RV! Pedal bike rentals, great store, ok WI-FI. Hay Rides every night and a showing of Encounters of the 3rd Kind. Wish we could have stayed 2 nights so we could do the hay ride and the movie! Wish we could have stayed a week!! For those who are looking for the movie areas at the tower itself, prior to reaching the base, there is a small road that turns off to the left. There is a trail after you park, if you follow it, you can see the meadow where they filmed the scenes in Encounters and in Paul (we think, it looks right). If you follow the trail to the first bench, its the perfect place for many pictures, we took ours leaning on the tower, sitting, peaking over. Lots of fun and no one was there to get in the pics or laugh at our antics. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$55
Location, location, location! Park has a few rough edges (bathrooms were dated and lots of bugs, showers were a bit dank), but overall had a positive stay and would come again. Restaurant was closed for remodeling. Store was sufficient for some extra items we needed and the ice cream cones were good! The showing of Close Encounters was done on a 30 or so inch TV with chairs around it. Park has playground and pool, so its great for kids. But back to location - our spot had perfect unobstructed view of the Tower. Perfect! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$53
At the entrance to Devils Tower - you can't get any closer unless you dry-camp just inside the park entrance. This is a full-service KOA; nice people, WIDE sites, wifi was "broken," and the office didn't know when it would be working again. There is no Verizon or T Mobile coverage in this area, which is in the middle of nowhere. Wifi in the office area was usable but very slow and irritating getting to the car with your laptop and driving to the office each time. The only thing this campground needs is paved roads and sites and wifi that works; they already have everything else, and I would stay here again if I ever wanted to come back to Devils Tower again for some reason. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$50
Great place. Literally just outside the entrance to the park. They have it all...friendly people, nice sites, great view, big gift shop, a place to eat, a post office, fun playground, and they show the movie (Close Encounters of the Third Kind)! Pretty cool. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$60
This has to be the closest commercial campground to Devil's Tower. It looms right over the campground. Super nice staff and very accommodating. We arrived late and they put us on a pull-through site. The only problem I had is I could not locate a sewer dump on my site at all; although, it was supposed to have one. Easy access and good W-Fi connection. The only issue (and this is being picky) is that there needed to be some weed eating done on the sites. Grass was grown up around the power poles and water hookups. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$45
If you want to see Devil's Tower, this is the place to stay. The site they initially had assigned to us since I had requested a pull-through would have had all of our windows facing away from the tower. They were extremely pleasant and helpful in giving us a different site with a great view of the tower. Unfortunately their cafe was not open but they reduced our rate by 10% because of that immediately without me even making any comments about the lack of the cafe. The KOA is right next to the entrance to Devil's Tower and you can see it if you take the trail around the tower. Quite a view. The only complaint I would have, and it didn't amount to anything, was that the first person I talked to said I was a couple hours early for check-in and wanted me to just park somewhere for those 2 hours. However, I think she was probably new because another girl immediately stepped up and said it was fine and they would check and make sure the site was available since we got there at check-out time so everyone that was leaving that day should be gone by then anyway. We would definitely stay here again and recommend the campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$55
Top notch location just outside the Devil's Tower National Park entrance. Well maintained park. Lots of shade. Laundry was clean ($1.75 per load). Pool and on-site restaurant were not open due to refurbishing. Personnel were helpful. On site store with limited groceries and souvenirs. Good pull through. Lovely drive to park. Wi-Fi was good, satellite reception was good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$55
Awesome setting, lovely sites, nice staff. Incredible views, excellent access to the park for sunrise/sunset viewing. Clean and well maintained facilities. Well organized office and crew. Lots of activities for children. Room for long rigs. We recommend highly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$55
Devils Tower KOA is another over priced, dusty campground located out in the middle of no where. The only plus is that it is located within yards to the entrance to Devils Tower National Park and from almost everywhere in the campground you can get an unobstructed view of the monument. We were given a 5% discount on our bill ( saved 1.50 ) because their restaurant was not operating. Plan on bringing your own chow as the closest real anything ( dining / shopping ) is 25+ miles away. Their gravel sites and entry/exit ways kept us bathed in dust because nobody observes the posted speed limit. We couldn’t get on their wireless and our Verizon Mi-fi and cell were on extended network. The bathrooms were old and so so. If you have pets, we were told that they have a black tick problem and at night the mosquitoes made themselves available and felt. If there was no Devils Tower at the time we parked here, this park would probably just go out of business. We used it as a one night stop enroute to the FMCA rally and we'd look for another park if in this remote area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$32
Beautiful view of the devil tower. Park is outstanding and really the only full hookup park in the area. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Dog park is large and clean. The town of Hullet, Wy is about 15 miles to the east. Great bar burger at the Poderosa Saloon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$32
At this time of year and middle of week this park was pretty empty when got there mid-day. We were given a site with a direct view of Devil's tower - perfect. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We would certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$55
This is an incredibly picturesque camp location. It is adjacent to the entrance to Devils Tower. The views from our site were spectacular. We had flat, shady sites. The General Store with gift shop and restaurant was very impressive. The kids tooled around the place on three-wheelers. I kept looking for Roy Neary but never saw him (Close Encounters reference). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$49
[The campground is adjacent to Devils Tower and the view of Devils Tower from the campground is awesome. We stayed 2 nights. We had a full hook up site and everything worked fine. It was non-shaded but fortunately the weather was nice. As we walked are dogs around the campground the place really grew on us. It has something for everyone. Great tent sites, nicely located cabins and there were nicely shaded RV sites. My major disappointment, which may sound minor to some, is they didn't show the movie "Close Encounters of the 3rd Kind" outside as expected but showed it in a dining room ill-suited for movie viewing instead. Not nearly the cool atmosphere I and many other viewers were expecting. The staff member welcoming us to the camp explained they quit showing the movie outside because it was ending too late for some of their viewers. Instead it started at 5 PM in the dining room. Several viewers the night I was there also expressed disappointment. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2012
$56
Under ordinary circumstances this splendid facility should be a 9 or 10, but our visit was during the Sturis Bike Rally and clearly ownership preferred being a tourist trap to maintaining an RV park. The entrance was clogged with 100s of bikes. We waited a half hour at the check-in desk while tourists bought junk in front of us. Baths/showers were broken or filthy. Restaurant really is just fried crap, nothing fresh. Management has to decide to run a tourist trap or an RV park, they cannot handle both. The Sturgis Rally is annual; they should have been prepared; get additional staff, set up separate RV check-in etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$63
Stunning view of Devils Tower right from your front door on practically every perking area. They make a big deal of showing the Close Encounters film at 19.00 every evening and we thought it was going to be on some big screen somewhere... turned out to be a regular TV in the restaurant which when we were there had a big party dining right in front of the screen... decided to go back to the trailer and watch it on DVD there instead. Kids loved the park for cycling round and they adored the small petting area where you can hang out with donkeys, pigs, ducks and goats. I would have scored it higher but the bathrooms/showers were a little long in the tooth and definitely needed updating (but the were clean)... after all, when you're paying $63/night you want everything to be great. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$52
Overall, a good campground. Pool was closed (saw a comment about the pool being closed in June, too?). Word was the pool was closed for a few days for maintenance. Turns out the pool was shut down by the inspector for cloudy water. Stayed here 4 days. Last we heard, they were waiting for the inspector to come before they could open it up. Was warm weather, but had a horrendous thunderstorm come through. No big deal, until a lake formed in our site just outside our door. And it smelled as if the ground had leached up some sewage, which the smell stayed for the next 2 days. This site needs some additional gravel or grass to raise the level. And they might have a leak in one of the sewage lines that is allowing the smell to leach out of the ground. There were only a few sites with this problem. As long as we did not sit outside, we were fine. The park, overall is great, and the view fantastic. Large sites, some pull-through and some back-in. We would stay again, but just not at this site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$52
We spent 1 night in this campground and it was a great place to see Devils Tower! The entrance to the Monument site is close by and you can gaze at the monument from your campsite. Staff very friendly and spaces large. The pool was not open. The highlight of the evening is when they show the 1977 movie "Close Encounters of the Third Kind" outdoors with the actual tower behind the screen. The movie was filmed at Devils Tower and the monument has a role in the movie for those who don't know about it! If you love the movie, this is the campground for you! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$31
Stunning location at the foot of Devil's Tower; it doesn't get any more scenic than this. Apparently helicopter scene in Close Encounters was filmed here. Nice park, well equipped office and store, sites are roomy with full hookups. They were putting in more sites so some of the turf was dug up and still unplanted as it was early in the season. Showers and bathrooms were old and worn but functional. Strange that a lot of the shower doors were constantly locked, so you could only access two while we were there. Spacious grounds are great for wandering. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$20
We arrived before the park was actually open, that's why the low rate. We had a pull-through with FHU's. The roads are gravel and the sites are grass. I can't comment on the bathrooms or laundry as nothing was open. This is right outside the entrance to Devil's Tower National Monument. The whole area is beautiful. We would return if we are ever in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$26
We would definitely return if in the area. This is a clean well cared for park with a helpful staff. The sites were adequate. We had a severe wind storm our first night and the staff had all the downed branches and limbs cleaned up before noon the next day. Peaceful and quite with a good view of Devil's Tower from the campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$35
This was off season rates. The restaurant was closed as was the pool and the onsite gift shop was well shopped out. Sites are wide and level, lots of grass and some trees provide shade. My verizon DID work here as did their off and on Wi-Fi. There is small petting zoo here, was fun to wander over and visit and little kids would love it. The location is stunning with a view of Devils Tower from our RV and Devils Tower park entrance literally at the edge of the KOA. Access to my full hookup site was easy and the site is wide and long. There is no gas available close and the closest grocery store is 9 miles away and it is limited. Be prepared. Worked well for our stay to see the National Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2011
$57
We made reservations for this campground several months in advance for a stay on Labor day weekend. When I arrived, I was nearly unable to get into the facility due to a car show in their parking lot. I got nasty looks from the car show guys as I pulled in. Once in, I went to the office and signed in and paid my balance. I was then told that there was also a biker gathering here that weekend and that they would be having a live band that would play loudly until at least 2:00am. So much for their "quiet hours". Since my choices were limited, I decided I would stick it out, run the A/C fans at night to drown out the sounds. But once we saw the clientele, we became worried. One allowed his dog to come to our door and bark at us. The person stopped by to get his dog and said, "I hope you got sleep last night since you won't get any tonight!" His T-shirt had the words "Trailer Trash" on it. It was then I knew a parking lot was better than this. The only good ending here is they did refund all of my money (even the non-refundable part) with no questions asked when I left (I did not spend the night), so I was not out any money. But I did need to drive back 25 miles to another campground and then go back in our toad the next day to go to Devils Tower. What bothered me the most here is that I was never told in advance that they would be a crowd / band like this and that the quiet rules were being thrown out the window. Also, it casts doubt in my mind in the family-friendly reputation that KOA projects and the premium price you pay for a KOA. If you make reservations, you may want to call and see if other events have been planned. As far as the campground, the roads were rutted in some placed from the rain. Also, if you look at the pictures on the KOA site, they are NOT all accurate as it does not look that good. We will not be coming back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2011
$51
Two roads going into this campground. Entrance is on the left and exit is on right and neither are marked properly. Everyone does the opposite which is the way it should be. The lady that checked me in was very abrupt and bordering on rude. I am sorry it was near the end of her shift but that is not an excuse to be less than courteous. The man that replaced her was very pleasant and courteous. 50 amp was an extra 7 dollars which is outrageous. It is basically a big field with gravel parking sites. No cell phone access around the area so plan accordingly. Showers were disgusting. I could not find one clean one. Hair all over the place. YUK. Dirty floors. I would rather be without one than use them. It was quiet and dark at night. OK for an overnight stay as you don't have much choice as there is not much else around. Over priced for what they offer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$55
This park is right at the entrance to the Devil's Tower park, you can't beat the location. The spaces are easy to get into and out of. One of the men's bathrooms were flooded when we were there, but hopefully that was a temporary thing. Can't really comment on how family friendly it is because we arrived late and left early, but there were lots of kids around and they showed movies at night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2011
$65
While Devils Tower is super impressive, can't say the same for the KOA. Pool is small and water cold, no spa. KOA is at base of mountain but blocked from view at most of the sites due to trees. Ate at the overpriced cafe and it was over $50 for 2 adult burgers (no fries), 2 kids burgers, 4 very small side salads and all the flies you can swat. They should take some of the profits and invest in fly strips. Nightly showing of Close Encounters is on a screen smaller than our living room with two small speakers and too many mosquito's. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$58
Very satisfied with my stay. Arrived Wed, Aug 10 same day as Sturgis' Devils Tower Run. Thousands of bikes and lots of activity. The staff performed admirably and were extremely friendly and helpful, despite it probably was their busiest day of the year. I also learned the owner had recently passed away, so again, in spite of the challenges of Sturgis and a loss to their family, their customer service was first rate. I saw this from everyone on their staff, from registration, to gift shop, to restaurant, and out helping campers. Facilities were great. High quality gift store with all you will want. Convenience store items well stocked. Restaurant opened at 7 am for full breakfast and continued through the day past dinner. They showed "Close Encounters" movie each night at 9 pm on the outdoor deck, in full view of the mountain. What a treat. RV sites were level and very roomy; you are not cramped in at all. Lots of shade sites. Even with all the activity outside the campground, inside was very quiet. Lots of families in rental RVs, and from other countries. Lots of friendly people to talk to. Entrance to Devils Tower is co-located with KOA. If you are visiting the Tower, this would be the place to stay. Come late afternoon, stay overnight and hit the Tower when it opens. P.S. Great ice cream, too. Well done to staff; thanks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$45
This is a great park with the best view of the Tower. The employees worked with us to ensure we had a nice shady back-in along the north edge. If you are in a tent, the tent sites are well shaded and open. The restaurant has great food and is reasonably priced. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$53
There are nice, large sites. The laundry facilities were okay but two of the washing machines overflowed (we didn't put that much in) making the laundry room floor a giant puddle. The bathrooms were full of bugs but I guess to be expected based on the area but otherwise clean. The showers were okay but need to be updated and cleaned more than once a day since the campground was full. They have a small restaurant on the property. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$50
Great view of the tower. Showers had plenty of hot water. Camp store was well stocked. Staff was friendly. Lots of room between sites. Park is well maintained. Lots of bikers (bike week). We have stayed here before and would again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$50
Nice KOA experience. Clean, large, wooded sites. All amenities. Kids said pool was warm but small. No fire pits where we were. Fantastic view. Even if there was no view, it's still a nice campground. Bathrooms and showers were older and in need of a makeover, but clean with lots of hot water. Tent sites were remote and beautiful. No traffic noise at all. Kids got a hoot out of watching Close Encounters. Only true complaint is that there are a lot of bikers camping here. A group left at 7 am: waking up the dead. Then at 7:15, the staff began driving around with their buggies. At 7:30, an ice-semi circled the entire camp so it could back up to the main office. Due to this and the age, I'm rating it about a 7.5. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2011
$47
Read the entire rating. Had it not been for the sewer smell, this would have been a 9 or so. The voltage, even though the park was moderately full, was fine. The park is well maintained and grassy. The roads could use a little gravel in some spots, but even after a hard rain, there were only a few puddles and a few pot holes. Maneuvering is OK...very wide. The problem is the septic system. At first, I thought the smell (which my wife and our neighbors noticed) was coming from folks not using collars as most of the travel trailers had their sewer connections hooked up full time. Then I walked around, and the sewer drain field (where the grinder and pumps are located) has a very PUNGENT odor. I had talked to the staff about checking on the folks in front of us for a sewer drain collar and he said, "It is the heat". What he meant is that the drain field does NOT have enough clay cover so that the sewer gases come up. Also the manhole cover is not sealed. The smell is not an issue when there is no wind, but the prevailing wind is from the rear to the front and it blows most of the time. The view is awesome. But if you want to stay outside, then you are at the wind's mercy. As a matter of interest, the tent site area totally surrounds the drainage field. Do not know what the answer is, but the septic system really destroys a great park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$40
By far, the best stay we had this summer. Nice site, nice people running the place, and they play Close Encounters every night in the summer. You are literally at the main gate to the monument and have an awesome view. We had a nice thunder shower while we were there that cooled things off for the evening, too. There's a park for the kids to play in,and a pool. You can get a fire pit and roast some marshmallows for s'mores. We had a really nice stay. The ironic thing was that we had planned to stay at another park, but the directions were terrible, and we stumbled on this one by pure accident. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$75
This is a great location to explore Devils Tower. It is a KOA with all the features you could want. The only downside might be a smallish pool and sufficient laundry facilities. The campground store is terrific. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$54
I would give this campground an 8.5 If possible. Located right at the entrance to Devil's Tower. Level, gravel sites. Basic clean showers & restrooms, heated outdoor pool, pool was clean & maintained. Washing machines & dryers, $1.50 to wash .75 cents to dry, machines work well! Sites are fairly large with some shade trees. Somewhat friendly staff. Campground well taken care of, no animal waste I saw, and we traveled with a dog. Fenced area for dogs. Communal fire pit til 9pm and showings of Close Encounters of the Third Kind every night for free. Restaurant on premises was so/so very much like a Waffle House. Overall, very good stay for us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2011
$37
Wasn't maintained very well. Dog waste was in every grassed area and the staff were driving around on 4 wheelers at 6am on a Sunday. The playground was nice. Overall, I don't think we'd stay here again. There was just nothing that made us want to come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$37
Location is everything! Just another KOA, except for the beautiful scenery. Devils Tower is stunning at sunset. Kids loved the prairie dog village. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$24
The main attraction for this park is that it is at the foot of Devil's Tower. Sites have good room between neighbors, sites are mostly grass with some gravel. Wi-Fi was good but dropped out during the afternoon of our arrival. Friendly staff. We arrived late in season, so some amenities unavailable. Great view of the Tower!! If in the area would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
This park is very convenient for your visit to Devil's Tower and the price to stay is right. Sites were close together and pool was not being used which was unfortunate. Fairly quiet at night even though rigs were pulling in after dark. We would stay here if we were going to Devil's Tower again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
Campground was fine. Had a great view of Tower. The staff was friendly and helpful. We stayed 2 nights, but you can see all this has to offer in about half a day. But this campground is great if the Tower is what you want to see and experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$41
We've enjoyed our two day stay here. The view of the monument is: monumental! We're here during the Sturgis Motorcycle Rally so there are bikers everywhere and the noise level is more than it would normally be. Our reservation was honored, we have a 50 amp pull through site that is nice. Distance to the sewer is a bit difficult. Do not experience the speeding cards previously mentioned. Maybe the motorcycles are drowning it out. Staff is VERY busy, but polite and if YOU smile, so do they. VERY quiet at night. Would return. Rate paid reflects KOA card discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$48
Friendly staff. Easy-in/easy-out pull-through sites. Laundry facilities were very clean. Dryers took two cycles to fully dry one load. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$43
When we planned our overnight stop here we thought we’d wander up to the visitor’s center. But, with this view, why bother? To be at the foot of a monument such as this is quite a treat. Pull-through site accommodated our 40-footer easily, was level and with recent rains interior gravel roads were a bit rough. This is the best way to see Devils Tower. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
Highly recommend. Great views of the Tower. Sites level, good hook-ups. Staff friendly. Shower, laundry clean. Only aside, the "Close Encounters" nightly movie is on a 45" TV outside the store. Trees block the view of the tower. We brought our own copy and watched it with the Tower outside our window. It was great and a little spooky! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2010
$50
This is a very shabby park and for $50 a night, they should have cable. But I guess when you are the only camp for miles you can charge anything. Obviously the view was spectacular but it didn't make up for the lack of cable, no cell phone and spotty Wi-Fi. Plus, the water pressure was extremely low but the park kept watering the grass and weeds, even after an all night rain storm. The food at the Cafe was horrid. Never order the beef tips. Plus, the employees race around the park on their golf carts at all hours. Very noisy. I would not return to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$50
Great location right at the entrance to Devil's Tower with a wonderful view. Not a great value for what we got, but we only stayed one night. Watching Close Encounters was fun. Showers are a bit old and dark, but ok. Restaurant was good: burgers and sandwiches. Staff was very busy, but friendly. No shade at our site. For a quick trip to Devil's Tower it's a great stop, but otherwise I wouldn't spend time here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$48
This is an amazing location and there is a lot to love about this park, so I'd like to rate it higher. Unfortunately, the staff's habit of driving their golf carts through the park over and over and over at about 20 mph, with their little engines maxed out to screaming point, even at 6 on Sunday morning prevents me from giving the park a better rating. The kids loved the pool, the site was large & shady. I appreciated having a convenient laundry available, though the laundry room is rather shabby and seriously needed cleaning. We'd think twice about returning because of those infernal golf carts. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$48
Very nice campground with lots of amenities. Level camping pads, good amount of space between RVs, clean laundry facilities, and nearly every site has a great view of Devils Tower. This campground is literally right outside the gate to Devils Tower. Staff is very courteous and efficient. The KOA office is also a gift shop, ice cream shop, gift and convenience store, and restaurant. The only complaint we would have is that the parking lot is not clearly marked for RVs/campers waiting for registration and for regular vehicle traffic, and we arrived into an area of chaos and congestion. However, to be fair, this may not be the norm since we arrived the day before the 4th of July and the KOA activity may have been exceptionally busy at that time. There did not seem to be any traffic issues when we left 2 days later. Overall, we had a wonderful camping experience here and would stay again in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$43
Member rate. Great location right at entrance of a national monument. Great view of Devil's Tower throughout the campground. Huge spaces. Nicely maintained and laid out. There is a large store and restaurant, and a playground for kids. Very pretty. Free "Close Encounters of the Third Kind" movie every night. Staff was VERY helpful: helped us to fix a bent part on our weight distribution hitch! Best place we've stayed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
I was pleasantly surprised by this park as my expectations for KOA parks is low. I thought it was very nice, visually pleasing, nicely landscaped, lots of grass, and well kept. My pull through site was good sized with good spacing between adjacent sites. Being early June, the park wasn't very crowded. The downside was no cable, no over-the-air TV, and mediocre wi-fi. I certainly could have put up my DirecTV antenna, but for two nights that wasn't a priority. The lack of cable and the so-so wifi accounts for the lower rating. I didn't use any of the ancillary facilities (restaurant, gift shop, outdoor movie theater, etc.) while there. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$50
A wonderful RV park just outside the entrance to Devils Tower National Monument. We stayed with our two grandchildren so the rate was higher. The considerable staff was extremely attentive. All of the hookups worked well. There is a lot of activities for kids here. You will need to make reservations ahead. Beautiful scenery! We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$44
The views are great of Devils Tower. Good WiFi connection. The pool is small, but heated. Good store with good selection of items. A good campground for a day or 2, not much else to do after you see Devil's Tower. One thing is that the staff runs around on very noisy 4 wheelers and golf carts. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$44
The best thing about this park is the location. You are at the base of the mountain at the gate of the Monument. The views of Devil's Tower are amazing. The park is nice and clean with a rural feel to it (gravel roads, park on the grass, etc.) The staff was helpful and friendly. They have a nice playground for kids, and a pool. They do an evening campfire and every night they show the movie: Close Encounters of the Third Kind. KOA is expensive but we needed WiFi and hookups, and they delivered. Has free WiFi that was fast enough to let us do what we needed to do. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$48
The view of Devils Tower from our campsite was amazing! Good restaurant and store on-site. Pool was heated and clean. Staff was friendly. Sites were mostly level, and many had great shade trees. The atmosphere was fun, with a nightly campfire and playing of the movie Close Encounters. Although clean, the bathrooms were dated. The gravel road had potholes. Overall, certainly a great KOA and we would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$35
Very nice and quiet campground with a great view of Devil's Tower. No cable, good Wi-Fi, large level sites, good 30/50 amp sites. Nice restaurant in campground for breakfast. Would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
We stayed in site #3. Our site had full hook ups and a picnic table with shade from large trees. It was grass and gravel and level. There is a group campfire site down at end of row. The office closes at 5 pm so we did not meet the staff. The pool was locked. The park had a very nice playground, stores available across street since KOA's was closed. There is no TV or cable. The Wi-Fi worked very well. Only Verizon worked for us not ATT. Horse rides and hayrides available next door. The post office was next door. Devil's Tower entrance is next to park. It is very family oriented, lots of kids playing. The park shows same movie "Close Encounters of the 3rd Kind" every night. The bathhouses are old but work. The park also has laundry. Almost every site has an awesome view of Devil's Tower. No gas or groceries nearby-about 45 minutes away. This KOA only accepts their own card for discounts. Others we have stayed at took Good Sam or AAA. It was good for overnight and visiting park which is what we did. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$18
Some of the showers were locked. Everything closed at 7pm so we couldn't get any supplies. Other than that, it was a very nice campground and we would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$24
It is an ok park for the area. The sites are all grass with trees for shade. It is clean. There is a good view of Devils Tower. The WiFi worked well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
Great access to Devils Tower. There is a nice pool. The showers and rest rooms are not very clean and the hot water ran out quickly in the showers. You can't beat the morning and evening views. Restaurant had terrible service, but the food was edible. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$50
Excellent campground with an awesome view of Devil's Tower. I highly recommend staying here for the ultimate experience. They played Close Encounters on a large TV screen at dark. The pool was clean. The restrooms were clean. The toilet in the men's room was constantly broken, though. Private single showers with doors and locks were also clean. They also had a utility tub for doing dishes. Laundry facilities were adequate. This campground was very busy, so it was difficult to go to the check-in counter to ask questions. We ended up going to the gift shop to ask the cashier some questions about Devils Tower. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$39
It is a great location. The park needs maintenance. The staff were not that friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$40
We had site 23, probably the best for view of Devils Tower. We had a great time in the park: the Wi-Fi worked great and the bathrooms/laundry were older but clean. Lots of deer roam the park in the evening. The staff was friendly and helpful: loaned me a portable air compressor and hose to service tires. There are no grocery stores or gas stations nearby so fill-up and bring your food. They do have a restaurant and a small post office at the campground entrance to mail those postcards. KOA card earns a 10% discount. A great place to relax and enjoy the Tower. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$45
We stayed here in July 2007, and were in Site #6, which we liked. I made our Aug 2009 reservation back on June 25th, 2009 and requested #6, again. When we arrived today the lady in the office stated that Site #6 was booked. I asked for one of the sites in the row where #6 is located. We arrived at 1:00 PM, and she stated they were all booked. We looked and there was only one camper already in that row and it was in Site #7. We were staying for 3 nights, and I doubt seriously they were booked. There were only about 15 campers in the entire campground when we arrived. The campground is at the base of Devils Tower, so good location, but we will not stay here, again. The restrooms and showers are very old. Our hot water heater had broken, and we had to use the showers. The laundry had two working washers and 3 dryers. The sites are fairly level, but gravel. They do have pull thru sites. This park is overpriced, but, again in a great location. That all said, we will not camp here, again, because we do not like being lied to. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$50
Not a good park for large dogs , we drove to Hulett (about 8 mile ) to let are dogs run around in big park they had . Very Pricey . There was sewer smell coming from public restrooms . Lots of flies in the restaurant . Laundry facilities were outdated . Long walk to dumpster . Internet was spotty at best . Beautiful view of Devil's tower from campground . Campsites were big . Nice shops in walking distance . The movie is very cool ( just bring blankets as it gets cold ). Might stay again if ever we come to visit Devils Tower , but would look to dry camp in the National park first . This would get a better rating if the price was more in line with the value of the park . We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$45
We had a nice pull-through spot with plenty of shade, but there were other spots that appeared to not have much shade. There is a nice view of the Tower from the RV Park. The Park is literally right next to the Monument. You hit the entrance station to the Monument as soon as you pull out of the Park's parking lot. There is a nice swimming pool that the kids liked, and there is a nice playground for the kids as well. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$45
Our site by the playground was level. The staff was pleasant. The showers were individual rooms around the outside of the building, the bathrooms were clean. The view is beautiful and the campground is spread out and it has a fun store, ice cream and candy shops and a restaurant. Wi-FI worked great. We didn't have a fire pit, but a community fire was started at 7. We enjoyed the evening movie. This is a well run campground super close to Devils Tower. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$42
We loved this stop. Our only mistake was making this a one-nighter. So much to do and see at Devil's tower and the beauty is amazing. This stop and this park surpassed our expectations. Good facilities, great shop, restaurant, beautiful location and views. Only complaint was laundry. What a bummer they use very poorly maintained laundry equipment! Otherwise, this could have been a 9 or 10. We're coming back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$42
A nice place but $42 is a lot to pay for a cold shower at 7:30 am. The view of the Belle Fourche Canyon and Devils Tower can't be beat. Sites are large and grassy; tent and cabin sites are right up against the canyon. Nice pool. The bathrooms get covered with bugs at night, and it would be nice if the staff spent more time cleaning them in the morning than they spend riding around in golf carts. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$40
We had so much fun at this campground. The kids enjoyed an awesome playground, and there was a lot of open space for them to run around. The vicinity to Devil's Tower was perfect. Each night there was a camp fire in the "big" fire pit area which was nice. Also, we enjoyed watching, "Close Encounters of the Third Kind" on the big screen which they show nightly. There were shops and a restaurant on site, and the W-Fi worked fine. The bathrooms were okay. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$44
Walking distance to the entrance of Devil's Tower Great view of the tower. Restrooms were clean but not dated. Level sites. Central location to post office,souvenir shop and restaurant. Friendly and very helpful people. There a prairie dog town on way to the monument. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$38
Fantastic view! Many sites in this campground have a view of the tower, and those who don't may have a beautiful view of red rock cliffs or rolling hills. Big operation for such a small campground, with many staff members. Disappointments were that the restaurant on site doesn't serve dinner, and our site lacked significant shade. Located just outside the national monument boundary, so it's very convenient to the park. Cabins are all aligned so their porches face the tower - a nice touch. Bathhouses are older, but kept clean. Laundry facilities could use an update. If you need hookups and want to stay near Devils Tower, this is a decent place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$39
Great setting at the base of Devils Tower. Wide gravel sites with grass and full hook-ups. Lots of family activities including evening campfire, nightly showing of Close Encounters movie, breakfast and lunch restaurant and gift shop on site. Wonderful views in all directions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2008
$32
Not one of the best KOA Parks that we have stayed at. The workers were not really friendly, and the bathrooms were old and dirty, as well as the laundry facilities. Not much of a choice to camp elsewhere as it is the only campground in the area. The KOA Website states LP Gas, which is not available, and planned activities. The only planned activities offered is an 8 pm fire ring, and a nightly 9 pm showing of "Close Encounters of the Third King", both weather permitting. On the Plus side though, there are Great views of Devils Tower! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$37
Great campground! I'm sure it seems a it pricey, but where else can you see Devil's Tower when you come out of the shower. Right next to the entrance you're never more than a few feet from a view. Sites are the usual KOA variety, but since we camp in a pop-up the length is never a problem. The showers were great! Individual showers, where you have a shower and dressing room all to yourself. Plenty of hot water and clean. The restaurant on site is open from 7-2 and is NOT open for the evening meal. Staff was friendly and very helpful. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$19
Very attractive park with good gravel interior roads. We saved a few bucks and took a water and electric (50 amp) only back-in site. I was planning to use the dump station in the morning on the way out, but I couldn't see how we could make the turn after dumping, so we just skipped it. Down by the river there is a huge tenting and cabin area, probably five acres of well maintained grass. Excellent free Wi-Fi. Great view of Devils Tower from the park. We had planned to use the National Park campground in the at Devils Tower, but there was no way to fit a 40' rig in the curved pull-through spaces there, so we just drove on through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$43
Nice KOA at the base of Devils Tower, gravel interior roads and gravel/grass sites. This is the place if you want hookups and a view of Devils Tower and the red hills around the tower. We had fun exploring campground as well as Devils Tower! Lot's of deer and rabbits running around the campground. The playground was OK, and it looked like they had acquired a play structure from a fast food restaurant that wasn't assembled yet. The only downside is the price, I've noticed that on this trip, KOA's run about $8-$10 higher than similar facilities in the same area. There is a NPS campground inside the park, that we drove through in the motorhome, but no hookups. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2007
$37
This is not a friendly, helpful campground. And, for what you received, it was expensive. However, it is location, location, location. It's right at the base of Devil's Tower and they show the movie, "Close Encounters of the Third Kind" at night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$35
This is our favorite campground amongst all the ones we've visited in our 3 years of RVing. Beautiful scenery right from your RV, level and clean sites, nice pool and restaurant, good satellite TV dish placements. We will definitely stay here whenever our travels take us to this area again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$69
Quite wonderful. Seasonal gnats, but the thunderstorm washed them away. Shower and washroom facilities a little closer to the camping cabins would have been nice. And they show "Close Encounters of the Third Kind" right there in the shadow of the monolyth. WOW!! That and the Thunderstorm, I thought the aliens had landed! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$35
Very good view of Devil's Tower and right at entrance to national monument. Our level, back-in site with water and electric adjacent to tenting area was nice. Restaurant serves breakfast and lunch buffet. Movie "Close Encounters of the Third Kind" is shown every night. No TV but WiFi was good. Site was partly shaded with some grass. Tenting are looked very nice. Best bet for visiting Devils Tower which is well worth the side trip! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$35
Typical KOA, small sites little grass, but it is beautiful in that it is in the shadow of the Devils Tower. It was Sturgis week, so all sites were full, but it was quiet. We would go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$33
This was an excellent campgrounds, plenty of room between sites. We were camping with our 8 yr old grandson and he loved the pool and playground area. Excellent location to Devils Tower. Highly recommend a visit to this campgrounds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$38
Not as many activities as at your typical KOA, but we were only here for one night to see Devil's Tower. The pool was real nice and we enjoyed watching Close Encounters of the Third Kind on the Campgrounds big TV. Nice hot showers; I think this is the only campground where I could have burned myself with the hot water! Good shade trees, but not much grass. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$42
This is a beautiful, convenient KOA campground. Right at the entrance to Devils Tower and a view of the Tower is present at the campground. Lots of shade trees and our site was perfectly level. Did not have to do anything. The Staff could not have been better. We will definitely come back here, again. WIFI was great but no TV, but who really cares when off and enjoying being together as a family. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2007
$29
Average park in a beautiful setting. No cable. No off-air TV for those that want that. Right outside the entrance to Devils Tower NP. Some tourist trap stores located across the road ($2.25 for a $.30 shaker of salt.) Showers so-so. 1st night very quiet. 2nd night a charity group started at 6 pm. Music got louder at 8pm. At 11 pm they turned the music down. At midnight organ music from a horror film! I fell asleep right after that but woke up in time for the 2 am bingo game! It ended at 2:30. Would have been nice if they'd have warned us. Extremely inconsiderate of them. 10 for setting. 4 for facilities. 0 for lack of consideration and noise. Overall 1. My wife and I saw deer, fox, antelope, and turkey in the area. Still, I would think twice about staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$29
Perfect Location for Devils Tower - abuts the Tower entrance. It's early in the season and the park needs some attention - primarily not mowed. Excellent and friendly management. When we mentioned the site needed mowing - it was completed within an hour. Fairly level sites - although it took time to position the RV even with levelers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2006
$38
Magnificent view - absolutely. Overpriced park - I think so. The park has been in the family for almost 40 years and the current, second generation owners use camper workers to operate and maintain the park. Thus, probably no mortgage and little, if any, payroll. The facilities are just adequate (full hookups, nice sites, OK pool) to disappointing (weak/sporadic WIFI, very old bathroom/laundry facility). If not for the view, this is a $25 park. This park must have one of the highest profit margins in the business. There is no indication that any of the profit is being put back into the park. They need to upgrade the facilities (new bathroom, better WIFI, and add cable) to justify charging almost $40. In 30 reviews for 2006, this is the first time I have lowered a park's rating due to price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$36
Exceptional KOA. Very good staff, grounds clean, WiFi good, a nice place to stay and the view! The Tower made it great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$30
The location of this place is a "10". The views of Devil's Tower are spectacular. The bathrooms brought the rating down. Not horrible, just average. Nice pool. Highly recommended. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$37
We stayed here on an overnight to see Devil's Tower. A great campground with clean laundry facilities and a fantastic view of Devil's Tower. Everything we used was clean. The campground had a nice general store. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$40
The campground is practically at the entrance to Devil's Tower NP. The campground is well-maintained and the staff friendly. There is ample space between sites, many sites have large shade trees, and almost all have a view of the tower. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and wished we could have stayed an extra day. I don't recommend that you buy the chicken dinner they offer to deliver to your campsite. Although it's convenient, the chicken isn't that great and the mashed potatoes and gravy are absolutely horrible. We were tired after driving all day and didn't feel like cooking, but should have! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$38
Nice CG, very family oriented. Roads are gravel but very level and taken care of. Great view of Devils Tower from the CG. The trail around Devils tower is only 3 minutes away. A must in my opinion to stop and see. Our kids liked 3rd Encounters of the Third Kind which they show every night. There were some red canyon wall to one side of the park which I found fascinating. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2006
$35
Nice campground, in a good location. They need to repair and clean the restrooms and showers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$33
Beautiful CG to stay at! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$33
We've stayed here before and like it a lot. Found the staff very nice. The sites are spacious and the setting is spectacular. Were lucky enough to be there for 4th of July and saw the most incredible fireworks display. Would go out of our way to stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2004
$35
We only stayed one night. I specifically asked if we could have a campfire at our campsite as we were cooking our food on the campfire and I was told by 2 employees at that time that "yes" we could. I asked if they sold wood to burn and I paid for 2 bundles. One employee said he would bring me the bundles of wood and asked what our campsite number was. I told him this information. When we pulled into our campsite, we noticed our sites (we were traveling with another RV) did not have a campfire ring. A few hours passed and no wood was brought so one of my party went to the office to inquire. Soon thereafter an employee walked down to our campsite 2 bundles of wood and we were told to go to an empty tent site and grab an un-used fire ring to use to burn our campfire. We did this, which I thought was strange, but the employee advised us that it was ok. Soon after we started our fire, a man on a horse and in cowboy get-up came up to us and told us to immediately put out our campfire and that we were not allowed to have campfires in that area of the campground "how dare we even try such a rebelious act." This was after I told him that many different employees told us we could and that they even brought us the wood to burn! He was incredibly rude and he never identified himself as the owner/manager of the campground. After a few minutes of him continuing to badger us about the campfire, we put out the fire and my husband and my brother walked up to the office to find out what was going on. Apparently there was a huge problem with communication in the office/staff of the campground and we were eventually given a 20% credit. Apparently the reason campfires were NOT allowed in that part of the campground was because we were in the "RV" part of the campground and "RVers" do not want campfires because of the smoke caused by them. I thought this was a ridiculous excuse. This was unacceptable to me. I specifically asked about a campfire before checking in, the campground placed us where we could not have one, delivered us the wood, and then we were chastised for doing what we were told. We had neighboring campsites come up to us after this incident asking what the commotion was about. I was terribly embarassed. Whatever this campground had going for it, was completely deminished in my mind and I would not recommend anyone staying here again. We camped here in a Truck Camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$40
Visited early season, May, so campground was in the process of preparing for the coming season and not all facilities open. Only one restroom/shower building open out of two. We stayed in a Kamping Kabin for around $40/night. Very expansive and picturesque campground with dramatic view of Devils Tower from entire campground. Appears to be only campground immediately near D.T. so probably very busy during summer. Restroom/showers OK but could use some upgrading, especially the shower units. We camped here in a Campground Cabins.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$30
This was an OK campground as far as KOAs go. It had a good view of the tower and was convenient to the entrance. We had a good visit and a good night's rest and a good time at the tower. Safe and quiet. They were just opening for the season in May 2003 when we visited and were cleaning up the place at the time. If you are going to the tower this is the place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$35
Very nice campground just at the base of Devils Tower. This campground had a heated pool, a nice playground and Close Encounters of the 3rd Kind playing nightly. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com