223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Sleeping Bear RV Park & Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 39 user reviews. Phone: (307) 332-5159
CGID3324

Sleeping Bear RV Park & Campground

Camp Information
Sites
65
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   8   8   9   9   5   10   5   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$38
Nice park, near level sites. Ours overlooked Lander. Setup is a little odd but works. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$36
Overall a great campground with AWESOME views! Ask to be by the campsites overlooking the town with the view, amazing! Friendly/helpful management, clean showers and laundry. Space were smaller than we like due to our very active 2 dogs, but it worked out ok because the space next to us was empty. There were not fire pits at every site, so our 6 year old was a bit disappointed. We stayed overnight, and took in the sights at the local Sinks State Park. Great place, we would definitely go back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$38
Facilities all worked as expected. Restrooms/showers were very well maintained. Park owners/staff were very helpful and friendly. Nice town and region. A few sites have a town view, but the road noise on the hillside offsets the view over the car dealership and the valley. Sites are a little narrower than we like, but adequate for a big rig with multiple slideouts. Biggest drawback was the number of dogs living/staying at the park and freely roaming loose. Reasonably well behaved dogs, but doing what dogs do: hanging out when BBQ'ing, sitting outside the door when cooking, dog poo on the doormat at the step and in the site (although the owners regularly pick up after their dogs), generally roaming our site and checking anything we're eating/drinking/doing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$38
Nice spot on top of the hill over town. They offer a few sights with a grand view to the west for extra $. We were just overnight so we stayed in the middle. Gravel and some grass between sites. Pretty close together, but no worse than most. Restaurants within walking distance. Pretty nice town that we need to come back and explore. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
We have stayed at Sleeping Bear every year for the last 8 years on our way into the area for hunting and on our way out of the area. Always clean and the folks are always nice. It is the best campground in the area. It is just off the road, up a hill to buffer the street noise. My hubby is a light sleeper and road noise bothers him. But at Sleeping Bear it is not an issue. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
We stopped here for one night. The owners were friendly. There are some sites with a wonderful view overlooking the city (we used a pull-thru site instead). The Wi-Fi worked great. The entrance was a bit intimidating with a bit of a hill, but we navigated that OK with the 35' motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
Very nice and friendly staff. Older park with many long term residents. Fine for overnight or short term stay. Okay Wi-fi and fairly roomy lots. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
Wonderful Hosts/Owners. We stayed 3 nights. We had a wonderful scenic sight! Wonderful laundry and store. Showers and baths were individual and they had 5 or 6. They recycle! Exceptionally clean park and pet friendly! We loved it here! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2013
$36
This park sits on top of a hill and given the incredibly windy weather and all of the construction work that they are doing at the park, we couldn't even open our windows without incurring LOTS of dirt and listening to daily ongoing construction equipment noise. The only view we got was of the dust storm and the equipment. Many of the "spots" are obviously long term residents so once again it appears that an RV park has become a trailer park. Several dogs were tied up outside their campers and others were running loose. The "dog run" was a 4x4 chained spot. When I asked about other places to walk my dogs, it was suggested that I walk them among the weed infested area at the back of the park. While the office area, laundry and front of the park is "inviting", the majority of the park appears trashy. We were able to get Wi-Fi and the office staff was somewhat helpful. The shortcut that we had decided to take through Lander was a mistake. What we gained in time, we spent in much higher gas and grocery prices. I wouldn't travel this way again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$16
The sites are fairly good sized and capable of taking a motorhome and dingy. The park is clean and generally well maintained. There are too many permanent residents with some clutter. The management is very helpful. This is by far the best park in the Lander-Riverton area. The rate reflects a monthly rate. It has great views of Lander at night and the Wind River Mts. It is close to town. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$33
We were especially impressed with this campground's immaculate individual shower rooms that included a large shower, vanity sink and toilet, with towels provided to use as bathmats. It is a little tricky to find and enter this campground, so watch carefully for the sign and be aware of the tight turn in off the main road. We had a level pull-through site and the utilities were good. There are some lovely views from the perimeter of the park. The staff was extremely accommodating and friendly, and the campstore was well-stocked. We would not hesitate to stay again if we were in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$33
A very quiet park, trees and grass. We were on the back side and it had some very nice views. Owners were very helpful and nice. The bathrooms and showers were excellent and very clean. We saw the woman owner out picking up any little piece of trash...and there wasn't any to begin with and visiting with the people. WiFi worked well outside but not at all in the trailer, but that was OK and was no problem for us. They also had water jets on a concrete area for the kids to play in and I believe a nice play area for kids. We will stay here again. Price was with a Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$33
Very nice park with excellent owners/hosts! The facilities (baths, showers & laundry) were outstanding! The view of the mountains and the valley from the camp site was wonderful! The only negative is the tidiness of the seasonal campers belongings. Could be a lot better and it appears that room exists for an outbuilding to be constructed in which to store the belongings. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2012
$36
When we made our reservation at Sleeping Bear, we were not informed that we would be sharing a small grassy area with another couple who lives there with their children. When we arrived, we were taken to our spot where there was a blow-up swimming pool, several kayaks, at least 8 bikes, toys and dirty clothes everywhere. Apparently these people hadn't been informed that we would be joining them! When we asked Dave, the owner about the spot, he rudely responded "do you want a refund? This is what happens on the 4th of July!". As we went back to the office to get a refund, he continued with very rude comments - the best one being "you just think you're something because you have an RV!". Chris, his wife, was very nice and accommodating though. #6 on their list of rules for the park states "Do tell us when something needs attention so we can fix it." That is a joke if you have to deal with Dave... We would not recommend staying at Sleeping Bear. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
This is a well maintained and clean site. We stayed in KB1 which had a wonderful view of the mountains and valley below. The bathrooms are great in that each is a private room with a sink, shower and sink - like at home. Quiet location despite being right off the road because it is set back and above the road. Very friendly hosts and spacious sites. My only recommendations are to extend Wi-Fi coverage (it didn't reach our site) and move the log splitter off the property (it was close and started up at 8am, running throughout the day while we were there, but I assume that may be because they hosted a campfire, nice touch). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$33
Not exactly sure what we expected when we read all the previous reviews of this park. Sleeping Bear is on the outer edge of Lander and the turn into the campground was a very hard right turn off highway 287. The owners acknowledge this turn in issue. The park is gravel, appears to have mostly pull through sites and overlooks the highway and the business area of Lander. This location made it easy to find many restaurants. Their shower/bathrooms are large and very accommodating. The Verizon cell signal and their free Wi-Fi was quite adequate. The owners are, as previous reviewers have said, to be very friendly and accommodating but they have a dog mess problem. We observed no less than 4 dogs running loose in the park including the owners in the one night we spent in their campground. Even with the Good Sam or Escapee discount, their rate seemed a bit on the high side and for only this reason, we would probably check out another campground if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$33
We did not find it that difficult to enter or exit the park. As stated before the view is great, especially if you get the end site on either of the big rig sites. Wi-Fi was somewhat spotty. Verizon signal good. It is obvious that the owners/managers are working hard to make this a 10 park, and I believe they will within a year or so. Hot tub planned. All gravel with some grass between sites, but little dust. Only a few seasonal campers, some had taken real pride in their site and you know about the others. We strongly reccommend this CG and plan on staying a week as there is that much to do, and more, in the Lander area. Don't miss the foundry or the loop road or the red canyon drive. We would definitely come back, and hopefully will. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
Campground is right outside of Lander, up on a hill, overlooking the city and beyond. The owners are very friendly and helpful, going out of their way to make sure you have what you need. The sites are close together, but with grass and trees separating them. The Wi-Fi is weak to non-existent on the edge of the of the property is my only suggestion, but the view is the best. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$23
We spent about 3 weeks here and enjoyed our stay. It will be nicer when the trees are larger, but owners have planted many and work to keep them watered and grass trimmed. Shower rooms with toilets were very clean at all times. The owners are very friendly and attentive. They have a nice little general store, sell ice and propane. The only downside was no specific place for dog owners to walk their dogs, so they tended to use the tent camping area, not realizing what it was for. Also, most did not pick up after their dogs. That aside, we loved the view of Lander Valley and enjoyed our stay. Would recommend this place to anyone. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$33
Nice park with a commanding view of the valley and countryside surrounding the park. The view can not be beat. I agree, entry off the highway is tricky as the entrance is small and then up a rather steep incline to the office, but that was not a hindrance once we got accustomed to it. The Wi-Fi worked perfectly and never was slow. Very nice and helpful staff. Would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
Nice, small park overlooking Lander. Owners very helpful and friendly; we were given spot right next to the restroom since we were in a tent trailer. About four clean, private restrooms, each with showers and towels, so it can be a bit hectic in the mornings. Regardless, we had a great stay, and would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$37
Overall, a very nice park, but the entry off the busy highway is real tricky as the entrance is small and then up a rather steep incline to the office. There is a small upscale restraurant right next store, but be prepared for big city prices. Ouch. The WiFi worked prefectly and never was slow. The park sits on top of a hill so the views are excellent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$17
We stayed a month at this park. Owners are like family. Sites are roomy and most have ample shade. View of Lander is striking and sunsets are spectacular over the mountains. Campground is close to restaurants, fairly close to shopping, all walking distance. Park is maintained well and bathrooms are very roomy and clean. Owners provide clean bathmats daily, a nice touch. We, as many other campers, will return often. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$31
This is a small campground off of 287. The spaces are small and one has to be very careful not to run over their sprinkler heads. The map of the campground is misleading as the creek is just an irrigation canal, and the spaces are much smaller than the map would indicate. The campground hosts were friendly and tried to be accommodating, however, when we made the reservation we were guaranteed a spot in the back of the campground and when we got here, there were none. They had allowed another camper to stay longer and moved us to a less appealing spot. Our Verizon service worked well at this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$33
There are basically 11 sites for larger motorhomes/5th wheels. They are pull throughs, but the driveways are a bit narrow and there are large rocks placed at the ends of the sites so I saw a couple of units rocking a bit when they misjudged their turn and pulled into their site, running over the rocks. The staff is friendly and when the town had flooding due to spring rains we were okay since the campground is on a slight rise. The owner also went around to the sites creating runoffs with a hoe. Our daily price is due to the fact we stayed a week. The only negative is that everyone arriving had one to four dogs, most of which were not on leashes and 95% of them did not pick up after their dogs. Since we walk our cat on a leash, I considered this a problem. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$31
Beautiful views of downtown Lander and mountains. We could walk to downtown businesses. Owners very helpful, many campers come year after year and feel like friends. Large very clean bathrooms. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$31
An excellent campground. Manager was extremely helpful. Had private bathrooms with showers that were spotless! They even had towels to use. Would stay here again. Highly recommended. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$39
We stopped here on our way through Wyoming and could not have made a better choice. A lovely campground with the two best hosts I have ever had the pleasure to meet. The owners walked the campground with us to choose the site that would work the best for our rig. Nice wide level sites with gravel. Nice store, friendly people, it makes me wish we stayed a couple more days. Lander is a pleasant, small western town with lots of shopping and just plain nice folks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
We stayed here over night on our way to Yellowstone. This is good campground for that purpose or as a base for visiting the area. There is a good view of Lander and the mountains from one end of the campground. Interior roads and sites are gravel and all sites are level. The campground owners were very helpful and friendly. We were escorted to our site. Sites are close together, but there is plenty of room for slide-outs and awning. Maneuvering interior roads is a little tight, but we had no problem with our 32-foot motorhome and tow vehicle. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$26
Above rate reflects weekly rate w/Escapees discount. Sewer connection at extreme rear of pull through sites requires multiple sewer hose extensions to leave toad behind coach, nice grass between sites, very fast and reliable free Wi-Fi, owners very friendly and helpful, they host frequent campfires, ice cream socials, etc, we definitely would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$32
Don't let the long term RV sites at the front scare you off. The nightly sites located at the other end of this park are much nicer. The park sits on a bluff with a great view of the town below. The staff was very friendly and the park exceptionally clean. There is a Pizza Hut just across the street, which we didn't try. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$29
Staff was accommodating & gave helpful local info when asked. Campground roads were only fair but passable. Good free Wi-Fi, no cable. Convenient location to town. Entrance a little deceptive. Sites are a decent size. There were several longer term units there. OK for a night or two. Good Sam rate $32 less 10%. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$31
We stay here regularly for a few days to a week while we visit family. The roads are tight for a 42 foot motorhome and some of the monthly folks park in the roadway. There is no cable but the owners are really nice and try hard to keep things under control. We had a newbee decide to run his generator one night after 10pm and the owner was right there telling him to turn it off. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$30
We loved this park! We only stayed one night, on our way to Yellowstone. We stayed in the north one. A small homey RV park. Everything worked great. Great Wi-Fi signal. Level gravel sites with small grassy areas. Our site (PB1) had shade and was a little larger. Solar lights to mark each spot. Flowers all around. Perched up high with the main road down below. Beautiful views--mountains, fields, deer in the valley below. A church and cemetary perched up on the hill across the way--I enjoyed hearing the church bells. Great sunset views. It was June 20 but there was an awesome fireworks show down the valley in town. Very nice owners, we enjoyed visiting with them. A nice little store in the office. She gave us a tour and although we didn't use them, the showers and laundry room looked very clean. Nice rigs and nice neighbors. The PB sites aren't huge but we never felt crowded. Make sure you go see Sinks Canyon before you leave. Very interesting. If we ever get back to this area, we would stay here in a heartbeat! We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2007
$38
Older camp needs a lot of TLC. Don't think the sites were laid out by someone who was a camper. Was fine for a stopping place for the night but wouldn't stay there long term. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2007
$29
This is one of two parks with the same owners. This one is 9 miles south of town. Easy access into park and in park. Pull-thrus are long and mostly level. Some sites are gravel and some are grass. Cafe is good. They carry a few supplies in the office. Manager and family very accommodating. His children help in the business. Pet friendly as manager has pets but they do not run loose. Children friendly with small playground. Small river runs beside campground property. Good for overnight if passing thru or for extended stay if you like quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2006
$27
Very crowded park, we did get our big rig into a pull through site, some shade, lots of gravel, minimal grass, owners very pleasant and helpful, would stay here again if in area as rv parks are not well maintained in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$35
The owners have two locations in Lander. We stayed at the smaller one on the south side of town. The park was nice. There was adequate space in the pull-throughs for pull outs and longer rigs. The staff was really friendly and helpful. The location is on a hill and offers a nice view. My only complaint was the driveway coming in to the park. It was steep coming off the highway. If you angle your entry just right, you shouldn't have a problem. The wireless internet does have a short range and if you are not in the first row, you will need to go to the office to receive signal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$26
This campground is only three years old. The trees are really small. Quiet hours were not enforced people coming into sites at all hours. The bathhouse is very clean and is set up in family style. They have meals cooked every night and ice cream socials almost as often. Family owned and operated. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com