218707 User submitted reviews online!!
Rio Bend RV & Golf Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 25 user reviews. Phone: (760) 352-7061
CGID333

Rio Bend RV & Golf Resort

Camp Information
Sites
500
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$31



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   10   7   8   9   8   8   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$31
Great older well-kept park. Large pool area, local Wi-Fi OK, Verizon card worked fine. Dog friendly, fishing in ponds. Too hot to play golf, course looked green. GREAT overnight spot to head up Hwy 8 to San Diego, about 35 mies to mountain grade. Started early (5:30) when weather cool, zipped right up hill. Will stop again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$34
We have stayed here a number of times and I have rated this park once before. It is a very nice park. Again we were in a spot overlooking a small lake. There are fish in the lake and someone was swimming in it. Sites are gravel and medium sized. The space were were in this time was a bit tighter than when we last stayed here and our 42' motorhome and Jeep would both not fit into the spot. This place has lots of facilities. Rec room, exercise facilities, golf, restaurant, and so on. My big problem with this park is the military jet noise. It is very prevalent. If not for the noise I would still rate the park a 9. Sites a bit cramped to rate a 10. If you are a light sleeper the noise from the jets and freeway may give you some problems. But there are lots of people who have permanent park units here that seem to like it a lot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2014
$25
Rate is Passport American. Nice park. Pool was very warm and the hot tub was great. Never made it to town as we were here only 3 days. Plan to return mid March to see the Blue Angels show. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2013
$50
We only stayed here 3 nights. It was noisy with the Navy jets, Blue Angels, practicing over the Park and surrounding desert. We had a pull through which was easy to get into but difficult to get out of. The site itself was level and near one of the lakes and was very quiet, except for the planes. The check in staff were courteous and helpful. Most sites were occupied by snowbirds and park models. We stayed here in a 37 foot fifth-wheel and would stay here again if passing through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$45
We faced the lake. Wide and long sites. WiFi weak and slow. Went out when the wind came up. Noisy ducks and geese at 4am. Office closed Sunday. But if no resident ducks and strong WiFi I would rate this park a 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$25
NICE park, friendly staff, parked facing lake on basically a pull through site. Pleasant surprise was the Friday night, all you could eat, fish fry for $8.95 per person. We stayed here for 2 days on our way to Mexico. Will return next year too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$25
A very nice park, nice big sites, super friendly residents, good Wi-Fi. Laundry room was huge and super clean. The only negative is the location, a bit far from town/grocery shopping. We would stay here again. Rate reflects Passport America. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$19
I'll ditto the previous post in April 2011 although we didn't use the pool or spa, but it did look clean. The rest of the grounds were clean also. The park has numerous park models along with the RV sites. Since it is their off-season the park was relatively empty but can imagine it is pretty busy during the high season in Jan and Feb. The golf course looked interesting and appeared to be in good shape. Lots of water around so irrigation isn't a problem. Many sites will accommodate big rigs and we were in a pull-through with good electrical and water pressure. The sites are gravel/dirt so it can get a bit dusty in windy conditions. The park is in an isolated location away from El Centro and the Interstate so noise is not a problem. The price listed reflected Passport America. The directions listed in the Passport America book are incorrect. Trailer Life has the correct directions to the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$25
We had a pull through spot right in front of the lake so a beautiful view. The people were friendly enough and the park was beautiful. The pool was nice and warm, the hot tub needed a bit of cleaning. The bathrooms and showers were clean as well. The game room was very nice as well. This place has a little bit of everything for a price. Except WiFi Don't pay for it because it's horrible! This place is pretty much a retirement community that tolerates younger people and only kids for a certain period. The spot was a gravel pull through with no pad or grass around. All in all was a quiet couple nights. Played some pool, swam in the pool and fed some ducks. But there is lots more to do here for sure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2011
$33
$33 rate was their 3 night special at that time. Their discounted rates change frequently. For a large commercial park the sites are large and level. If you have a bigger unit you will need to jockey back and forth to get into your site due to the landscaping. Nice pool and activity center, with fish fry on most Fridays. I really liked Rio Bend and would have rated it much higher except there was an occasional sewer smell and the area around the utility hookups was dirt and mud. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
January 2011
$25
At first glance, this seems like a clean, friendly campground with a lot of appeal. It has a hot tub, a pool, a golf course and lots of activities for residents. But if you’re looking for a place to stop for a few days, this place has a lot of problems. We thought the $25 they charged us as Passport members was on the high side, but when we got here we were shocked to see the posted daily rate for a pull-through site is $70. WiFi costs $13 a day and the office advised us not to connect because it never works well. The golf course, a short, very tight nine-hole executive course, charges $40 for residents. We drove a few miles and played a full-length course that was every bit as nice for just $29. When we first phoned, we were told we definitely needed a reservation because the place was “filling up fast”. We had to pay the full amount, up front. When we got here, we found the place half empty. Because we were planning to arrive on a Sunday, we were told the office would be closed and there would be no one to help us. We had a terrible time finding our assigned site. We had to back in with just inches to spare between a tree and a hedge and once parked, we have to pull in the driver’s side slide to access the bins on that side. Taking a nap is impossible because there is a military base nearby and the flyboys love to practice their bombing runs right over the park. There is no privacy and with two open “fields”, the place becomes a dust bowl when the wind kicks up. Add to that the 11 pages of "rules" and it becomes hard to relax and have a good time. In four days, we never heard anyone laughing or having a good time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$36
Well laid out park with plenty of room to drive in with a big rig. Maybe about 50% of this park is park units and not RVs. Lots of activities, music, large gym, pool, and so on. The freeway is close by so there is traffic noise. Also, a military air base. When we were here the Blue Angels started practicing at about 8am on Saturday. The duck hunters started shooting around 6am. But the weather was great for January. It is about a 15 minute drive to El Centro where you can find some good places to eat. I also drove to the Borrego State Park to hike. That was maybe a 30 minute drive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$25
The rate reflects the Passport America rate. This is a very nice park with mixed-use sites including: mobile homes, park models and RVs. All sites are marked with trimmed bushes. They have an exercise room that is monitored by a worker. They have several amenities but we did not have time to use any of these. We had to move to a site other than assigned because the road was too narrow to back into the site due to a fire hydrant and the rig across the road. All roads are asphalt with gravel sites and concrete patios. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$38
We stayed at this park for 12 days and totally enjoyed it: so much so that we have booked for this winter for a month. Everyone was very friendly, including the staff. We are not golfers and so were concerned that maybe we would not feel 'included' but this was so not the case! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2009
$46
We stayed here one night. It was not big rig friendly. We had to pull up on the patio so as to be able to open our slides. It was a pull through site, but we could not pull through due to two large palm trees at the front. They are in the front of each pull through site. The price was expensive although they had a pay for two nights and get a third night free which we did not take advantage of. The staff was very friendly and the restaurant at the park was good. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2009
$45
This park is old, not big rig friendly, mostly park models and well out of town. I would not go back because of the high price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2009
$37
A better than average park We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2008
$35
We stay in the park as part of a camping group. In years past they were quite helpful to groups but now seem more interested in selling park models than in catering to groups. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$50
The park is clean and well maintained. Staff is helpful and friendly. We were assigned a pull-through site which had a very nice view of the small lake. There is a small pet walking area that has grass. Sites have small concrete slab and a few small shade trees. A little dusty. Some additional gravel at the sites would be nice. We did not use the other facilities (pool, fitness center, cafe, laundry). All looked in good condition. There are a large amount of park model homes in the park for what appear to be longer term residents. We enjoyed a nice weekend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2008
$45
This is a great park for golfers. Unfortunately, I am not a golfer and was irked that I was not able to access the beautiful river front areas. My stay was helped by the fact that I was assigned drive-through space 11, located next to the lake and close to the central facilities. The fitness center was not close, however, as it was on the opposite side of the park. We didn't use the hot tub because it was too small and crowded. One of the showers I had to avoid because it had been urinated in. The motorhome next to us was noisy, be it their dogs, their kids, or the women. In the future I will favor senior citizen parks. The wireless internet I paid $4 for did not have a strong enough signal to allow me to connect. The office is very friendly to deal with. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2008
$40
Tremendous desert park. Even has it's own executive golf course. Terrific pool, nice club house. Some of the outlying spots feel barren, but if you reserve in advance, you can get spots closer to the clubhouse with vegetation and trees. Many pull through sites. I personally prefer this to SunBeam Lake, though that is also a nice park (just on the other side of I-8). For off roaders, take note that you must trailer to OVH areas: no park riding allowed. Superstition OHV area is about 20 minutes away. Note: If your rig is more than 10 years old, they usually won't let you in this park or Sun Beam Lake. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2007
$29
Large well maintained park with wide roads and big gravel sites with cement patios. Not all sites have tables though, and office hours are short. Surprisingly quiet despite proximity to highway. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$29
We were there during the off season. Daily temperatures in the 110+ degree range. Friendly staff. Not much shade. Most of the facilities were closed due to off season. Nice pool. It will be a repeat park for me when I am in area. Probably quite nice in cooler weather. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$25
This was a very nice park. We stayed here during the summer, not the best time with the 114 degree temps, but it was quiet and the staff was always friendly. The facilities are clean and the pool was a refreshing break from the heat. We wouldn't mind staying here during the winter sometime but we hear it gets pretty busy with all the snow birds. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$23
This is a mixed park of seasonals, snowbirds and overnighters. Sites are all well kept, level, long and wide. There is a golf course but we didn't look at it at all. Had dinner at their cafe and food and service were good for a reasonable price. No road noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com