219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Sheridan / Big Horn Mountains KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 33 user reviews. Phone: (307) 674-8766
CGID3333

Sheridan / Big Horn Mountains KOA

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$41



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   2   7   6   8   9   3   10   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2014
$41
This KOA is just okay if your staying in the Sheridan area. We like it better than the other options in Sheridan. Lots of interstate noise, and not a very attractive KOA. Internet availability should not be advertised as the connection is so bad it isn't really usable. Many sewer connections are too high (in my experience, the stuff doesn't run uphill!). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
I'm not sure where folks were staying when this place received positive reviews - wow. Extremely noisy right next to I-90. First impression when I jumped out of the truck to register - very strong sewage smell. The staff tried to say it was the stagnant leg of the creek, but that was most definitely not it. Anyone thats RV'd for any time knows what sewage smells like. They advertised propane filling, but according to staff it hasnt worked in a long time due to missing parts. Hmmm. Sewer connection area was filthy. Whole park was a dustbowl, though the kamping kabins looked presentable. We didn't use the pool so I can't comment on that. Overall, a typical KOA but one that has seen much better days. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$37
This is a fairly typical KOA, not bad at all. We stayed here 2 nights. Lots of one night stop overs, place was full every evening and cleared out in the morning. Office people were nice and friendly, check in was fast, they also have a fairly large store. The park roads are gravel and it is very dusty, our site was a pull through and was fairly level side to side, no blocks needed. The water hook up for our site was below ground level in a box, not all were like this, WI-FI was weak used Verizon hot spot, signal was strong. Pool looked very nice. Quite a few long term folks there, some run down campers in sight. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$28
This park is OK for a one night stay, the staff is friendly and the restrooms are clean. The park is dusty with very little grass and not much gravel on the sites. The overall appearance could use some TLC. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$28
This is better than the average KOA. We enjoyed staying here for one night on our way to visit relatives. It was quiet and the place was clean. We do not look for fancy campgrounds, but want simple ones with good prices. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$34
Front desk lady was lovely and very helpful. Bathroom is large and can accommodate many people at one time, also nice and clean and HOT water. Nice little store and nice pool. Shady spots and close to town. I much prefer this KOA to the one in Buffalo. I would have given them a perfect score, but I couldn't get the Internet connection working. I would definitely stay here again. Stayed two nights. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2013
$45
Oh, what a sad KOA this is. Trees have been severely trimmed, weeds are doing well, and what concrete there is in the spaces was cracked and uneven. Mostly dirt. Asked for shade but didn't get it. So went back to office and asked about a particular spot, which was of course reserved. Over the 4 days there, two days no one was in this spot and one night was a rental rig who probably did not know how to reserve a specific spot. So no truth telling here. Office lady was not nice and while doing laundry she said my car was blocking the road and needed to move immediately. I had been sitting outside and had a clear view of my car so know that wasn't true either. If we hadn't been there over the 4th of July we would not have stayed. Ugly places can be tolerated if the people are nice. Would not recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$41
Hosts were very friendly. Campground was very clean and well maintained. We had easy access to trash disposal, showers, restrooms and office. I did laundry and it was clean. We had full hookup. Enjoyed our stay very much. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
This is one of the two campground options in Sheridan, and we have stayed in both. The KOA has larger sites with more room between sites. The staff is friendly enough, and the park is easy to get into and out of with decent interior roads, and the sites are fairly level. There is a small pool that was covered at night and was kept very clean, however, the pool does not open until noon. We could pick up about 5 TV stations with our antenna, but the internet service is terrible. Also, you periodically get to smell the Sheridan sewage treatment plant. Given the choices in Sheridan, we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
Park is nice, but wi-fi is useless. They use tengointernet, and that has been poor in every park we have been in. If we stayed here more then overnight, we would find another place. We stayed here in a 5th wheel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$32
Was a clean place to stay, and had nice showers. Nothing fancy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$34
This is a somewhat crowded park. The interior roads are very narrow. Be sure to watch out for the roof overhang on the office. All the interior roads are one-way. We had a neighbor come in at midnight in a big diesel hauler pulling a 5th wheel which was very noisy. They also left before 7 a.m. the next morning. No gate on the entrance or exit. Close to the Interstate so you hear the trucks, too. We would probably not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$36
This is a very quiet and nice park. Sites are shaded and satellite can still be received. The site was level and all hookups readily accessible. There is fuel and food within a couple miles of the park. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$63
OK run of the mill KOA. Only bad thing I can say is our pull through site was potholed and not level. Nothing an enterprising host with a skidloader bucket of gravel couldn't fix-but didn't. Overpriced, but tired and needed to get off the road and wanted AC. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$52
Fairly typical of what Kamping Kabins are; Basically a tent with wooden walls. This one did have a ceiling fan and electricity. Internet connection good. It had a heater but the temp was warm enough so it wasn't needed; ceiling fan worked well to circulate the air. Restrooms/showers were clean. Just stayed one night since I was en route to another location. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$27
The park is clean and neat, for what it is. The roads are gravel as are the parking sites. There are enough trees to make satellite reception impossible, even tho I specifically asked for a site with satellite access. The park was only about 10-20% full when we arrived. There is some grass between the parking sites and there are picnic tables and fixed BBQ stands. The Wi-Fi was exactly what I expect with Tengonet: terrible. Unfortunately they do not tell you in their advertisement that Tengonet provides the Wi-Fi. It was free, but it was basically unusable. When it did work, which is after you jump through a lot of hoops, it was about the speed of a dial-up connection. The park was adequate for an overnight stay but the next time we travel through the area we will check out one of the other parks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2011
$29
This is not what we expected of a KOA. We had made online reservations knowing we would arrive after hours. We were not assigned a site. Instead, in the dark, in an unfamiliar campground, we were to choose an empty space. It was very frustrating and didn't feel very welcoming. The office wasn't open in the morning (it opened at 1:00!!) so we didn't even get officially checked in until afternoon--which meant we had to make a trip back out to the campground later in the day. The whole campground was quite untidy with litter and branches all about. Our site had piles of red dirt next to where our door was. We wouldn't go back, nor recommend this KOA to friends. Too bad, because RV parks in Sheridan are scarce. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$34
Pull-through sites are plenty long for Big Rigs however the site we were assigned required us to navigate between two large trees! The bathrooms were very nice and the showers were clean and looked recently updated. The Wi-Fi was very slow. Park is conveniently located off I-25 and quite quiet but we had a hard time getting back onto freeway due to a lack of signage or poorly marked signage. We ended up driving all the way through Sheridan on the Business Route as a result. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$37
Pleasant staff, but none too informative. The failed to tell me when making the reservation that I was getting only electric and water. Very narrow site, although I told them I had slides. My "drive through" site required entering at an angle, as there was a storage shed where I should have pulled in. Had to pull to the right, up against the picnic table to miss the cottonwood on my left where the slides were. Wi-Fi is okay, but took a trip to the office to ask how to escape the welcome page. On sign-in I was handed a piece of paper with nine letters on it and a note that it was NOT a password. No other info. Trekking up to the office I learned I had to register with the site, make up a name and password, then use the 9 letters as a "code." Sounds a bit like another password, doesn't it? I've used dozens, maybe hundreds of hotel, motel and RV park Wi-Fi's but never one this complicated: given without any instruction. Staff needs to communicate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2011
$36
Typical KOA - grounds not well kept, potholes, couldn't get satellite reception, no cable and three TV channels, trains, road noise. Won't stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$36
We stayed for two nights in a tent trailer. It says fire rings on the website, but only available to those staying in cabins. The pool was nice; playground and mini golf both run down. I planned on doing some fishing only to find out the creek is equivalent to a sewer. At times, the restrooms were filthy, and they close them for an hour and a half for "cleaning." We probably will choose something else next time. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
KOA are disappointing to us. The sites were small and bumpy, the place was dusty and noisy. We just stayed because we were traveling through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$34
Quiet and nice big sites. Second time we have stayed here coming through. Close enough to town to get groceries. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$34
The positives: very long full hook-up, pull-through, 50 amp sites, pool, and mini-golf. The negatives: very poor interior roads, especially the paved exit road, no cable TV but can get the basic stations with antenna except CBS doesn't come in well, and dirty laundry floors with poor funcitioning laundry machines. It took 10 minutes for the washers to fill. There are some large trees in the park, but they gave no shade for the long 50 amp pull-through sites. Our site was level but had a big hole at the front of it. The park has an entry and an exit road and our site was off the exit road which requires you to drive through the entire park to exit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$32
Friendly staff gave us good advice as to continuing on to Cody,WY via I-90/Hwy 72 to Cody instead of Hwy 14, 16 or 20 with its many switchbacks. No stress, easy terrain and excellent roads. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
You know, it's a darned shame that the KOA's are in such a state of disrepair. I assume this is because most of them are many, many years old, and are bought and sold over and over, and used as a cash cow and never improved on. This one is no exception. While it was once a really nice place, everything in the park is just plain tired. The showers were about as clean as can be expected given their age, but the shower stalls are very dark (unlit) maybe a blessing ? And please ! KOA ! whats with the mats you all use in your showers ? i have about lost all the skin on my feet because of them, and you all use them, OUCH ! My biggest complaint was while the park was less than half full, and there were spots very close to the showers, the elderly lady that checked us in placed us in a corner of the park, far from the showers, and next to a bunch of fishermen who drank and partied all night, and i had told her i was a disabled vet. and needed to be close to the bathrooms. Seems like KOA owners think they are in charge of where you stay and how you spend your money. i really think this will be our last KOA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2008
$35
This campground is easily accessible from I-90, and close to services and stores. We were greeted by friendly, knowledgeable workcampers. Around 8pm we noticed an overwhelming sewer smell and when we asked in the office about the smell we were dismissed with a "someone will come and check". No one came, so we asked to move to a different site - away from the Dump station. The park clearly needs some updating (pool, sewer smell) but the sites are level and there is some shade. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$32
Our biggest complaint is that the internet did not work. The people were nice, and the camp site level and decent size for a KOA. The road & train noise was loud. There appears to be some deferred maintenance problems(pool needs repainted, and electric and water at the site was kind of scary) in the campground. We would probably stay elsewhere next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$33
I was surprised to see this campground had reviews above average. I was dismayed when the management wanted to charge me an extra $5 for not having made reservations ahead of time even though they had an opening that would have gone unoccupied. The campground was dusty and the sites trees were very confining in both parking and in ensuring there was ample space to extend the slide outs. They also want a dollar extra for pets. By the time you add everything up they increase their rate by 10%. Thumbs down for us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$26
This has become one of our favorite KOA campgrounds. We stayed here going and coming last October, but found it every bit as accommodating in June, even with the increased number of campers. There is no cable TV, but you can get the major networks very clearly. Space is ample, shade is available, and all the staff we have dealt with nice and competent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$36
Very friendly staff, cute decorations in the park. Everyone wants to help. Near to the new Sheridan Inn for a heck of a meal, ghost(s) included at no charge. Would definitely stay here again. Close to some Indian Wars sites, and Custer's last stand. Great campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$35
First the negatives. There is a lot of freeway noise, train noise, and small airport noise at sunrise. The park is very spacious with plenty of room to navigate and nice size spaces. The miniature golf course is worth the price, especially if you're drinking! I'll stay there again next time through. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2003
$30
Felt like a zoo. Great for kids. Very busy and noisy. Lots of road noise. Chuckwagon dinner & breakfast. Was OK for an overnight stop. Wouldn't spend any time there. Expensive. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com