221577 User submitted reviews online!!
Styx River Resort was rated 6 out of 10 based on 28 user reviews. Phone: (251) 960-1170
CGID3347

Styx River Resort

Camp Information
Sites
150
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$14



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   5   8   4   7   5   8   6   3   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$14
The rate is Coast to Coast which includes $4/nt for 50 amps. This is a membership park and mostly well maintained. There is not much to do in the area. The pool, hot tub, and sauna are nice. The negative of this park is that the interior roads need maintenance. They are narrow and lots of ruts and bumps. Also the map of the campground didn't match the directional orientation of the sites, however, they do escort you to the site which is very helpful. The Internet is very unreliable, which is another negative. They have a lot of activities, especially if you there on a weekend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2014
$1
This campground is part of Ocean Canyon where we have a membership, so our stay was paid for through our membership. Not really free. Interior roads are rough asphalt, very narrow with curbs to control water run-off. Sites are hard-packed sand. Very little grass and the clubhouse and restrooms are old and in need of maintenance. Wireless Internet was available, but unreliable. Frequent server resets made accessing the Internet frustrating. We will not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$1
Price reflects C2C membership. Nice campground. Shaded sites throughout. Sites are level. Sites are sandy; our site had a small concrete patio area with a picnic table. Sites are very close together. Because of close trees and low hanging branches, we saw several RVs struggling to get in and out of their site. Golf carts, both workers and campers, go very fast on campground roads—making walking around campground risky (for children and adults). Our campsite backed up to the road, making it loud at times but OK. Be careful of the road leading to the campground (Waterworld Road); road has severe dips. I would suggest unhooking toad vehicle before turning onto it and drive slowly on this road. Staff was very nice. Clubhouse and facilities are older, but well maintained and very clean. There is a walking trail and golf cart path leading directly to the river. Verizon cell phone coverage is good. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2013
$10
We were given 3 days at this campground by Camping World for free for buying a motorhome from them. The campground has sand and gravel sites. It has 2 swimming pools. One inside which is very nice and one outside. We used the inside one everytime due to our grandkids. The resort has a nature trail down to the river. It is maintained by the resort after heavy rains. The down side of the resort is that they try and sell you a membership into Ocean Canyon Properties for between $7500 and up. We spoke to a member and he stated that he wanted to sell his membership due to the fact that he was mislead by the properties because of the Guntersville show place resort. He thought that they were all the same. NOT! Styx River has been planning on doing many upgrades, but just never got around to doing them. I would NOT stay here if I had to pay, it is that bad. The restroom were dirty and HOT! No A/C in restrooms or showers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$10
Park is greatly improved since becoming a part of Ocean Canyon properties. Still some sites are tight, roads need upgradin,g and they are in process of removing old rundown long time trailers and buildings. Both indoor and outdoor pools were clean as well as rec hall. Friendly and helpful staff. We definitely will return as Coast to Coast members if improvements continue as promised. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2013
$10
This is an Ocean Canyon Properties park, and although the other 2 we have visited seem to have it together, this one is lacking. Trash seems to be a huge issue here. Our site had it's fair share of broken glass, beer bottle caps, sucker sticks, candy wrappers, etc. Sadly it doesn't end with just the camp sites, my husband and I spent over an hour picking up trash along the “nature” walk filling a 35 gallon trash can with everything from “to-go” food cartons to beer / soda bottles and cans. It is painfully obvious their maintenance has a problem. The bath house near the clubhouse and swimming pools is done in a rough stucco which is nearly impossible to keep clean, that would be if they even bothered to try. Both the men's and women's showers are design for people under 5 foot tall. The bath house near the cabin area shows the same cleanliness as the pool bathhouse and designed for taller individuals. The one near the church is closed and it does not appear they have any intention of re-opening it. Laundry Facilities are newer washers and dryers, cost is $1.75 to wash and $1.25 to dry. The indoor swimming pool left a nasty, oily film in my hair. I have seen cleaner water in a bath tub after a bath than what was in the hot tub. It appeared someone had dumped soap or bubbles in it and maintenance refuses to drain, clean, and refill it. Sale personnel at this facility are unfriendly and flat out rude. We encountered a number of them and not one would give us the time of day, one even went so far as to nearly splash us after a heavy rain. Although this is an OCP park, do not let that fool you; there are a number of “perms”. Site level varies from fairly level to “no way” am I parking there. The majority of sites are 30 amp; they do have a few 50 amp sites. We would stay here again. Rate shown is C2C. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$1
Since we became members at OCP, Styx has gone under a lot of improvements, and will continue to be. We can't wait to see how the park looks when it is all said and done. It is looking better each time we visit. Concrete blocks need to be fixed up, especially. But Styx is a very fun park with lots of things to do, and we love how close it is to the ocean. Staff is friendly and very helpful. The sites are smaller than average but that just means you get to know your neighbors! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2013
$35
We were invited to stay here on a promotion to join Ocean Canyon Properties. This park used to be a KOA dating back many years before large RVs had slide outs. OCP is obviously investing in the property by leveling the sites, installing additional 50 AMP sites, remodeling the lodge and enlarging the sites. Currently the streets can be congested, and the sites small. There is an indoor pool as well as outdoor pool, many activities, and friendly staff. We enjoyed our stay and would stay here again and look forward to seeing the improvements. This is a Coast to Coast property, reservations are needed. We liked the fact that we were greeted at the gate and taken around the property to pick our location before we pulled our trailer through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2012
$9
The staff was very friendly and Wi-Fi works well. As noted in previous reviews, the roads are narrow and curvy. The sites narrow and some of the concrete pads in poor repair. I would rate this higher except for the yappy dogs which owners seemed to make no effort to quiet. We stayed AOR. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2012
$0
Campground very shabby. Concrete pads broken up and sticking out of ground; not very comfortable sites. Pool was great and very nice size. Hot tub was broken and indoor pool looked dirty. Overall you get what you pay for and this was free because we took a sales tour with Ocean Properties. The amount of money they wanted was as much as we spent on our rig. It seems if they were selling any memberships they would fix the campgrounds up. We were packed like sardines in a can. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2011
$1
Stayed as ROD and was assigned worst site ever in a CG. ROD members get the worst sites. We risked damage as we exited the campsite. Horrible roads, narrow, potholes, drainage dips, VERY tight turns, near to impossible for big rigs. Unfriendly staff. Only give it a 2 because 30amp power is steady, and they pick up garbage at site. Don't come here if you are ROD members! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2011
$1
Very tight, bumpy, curvy roads through park. Rigs are very close together. No fenced-in area to let dogs be leash-free. We stayed as ROD members. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2011
$3
Can't answer the previous posts about sales tactics. We are RoD members, so we were able to skip that part. We will, however, ditto the tight roads, but we managed with a 38' MH. Nice folks at check-in and nice neighbors too. Spaces are tight, but again manageable. We stayed with our RoD membership. Free with $3 for 50A elec. Free WiFi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2010
$1
Very narrow winding roads inside the campground, a little tough to maneuver in some spots. The site we were assigned was mostly mud with some sand. It was not level and a provided picnic table would have required seat belts to be safe. We did not stay. We were here as part of a membership promotion which I would not recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$40
This is a nice, well kept campground. Pretty much stays full, but quiet and everyone seems to always be pleasant. Just a couple of minutes from I-10. Restaurant inside. Indoor/outdoor pool. Membership is required. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
This park should be fantastic with it's location on the Styx River. It has recently been purchased by a company that is selling memberships. They are promising many improvements. The problem is there "sales" techniques sucker you into a 2 hour presentation with the promise of a free night's stay. They don't tell you that you have to buy the $7000 membership to get the free night. Personally, I had better things to do with my time off than listen to a bunch of promises. It's a typical scam, bait and switch operation that give the whole industry a bad name. There's quite a few other campgrounds in the immediate area. Don't fall for this old routine. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$32
Park needs a lot of work. Pull throughs available but interior roads are not good. Easy on and off interstate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$1
First the bad. As a prior poster noted, when I arrived I asked to be able to get a site with satellite view and was told "No problem with this site". I was parked directly under a tree. There is a loud noise coming from the AC units behind the clubhouse and it runs all day and all night. It sounds like a band saw at idle. The roads are narrow and could use an upgrade. Very difficult to get a big rig around the corners. The Good - Sites are long and level. The facilities are good. Excellent pool and hot tub. Snack bar is reasonable. Prior ROD members didn't have much good to say but get the AC noise fixed and it's a pretty nice park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$1
The park is a little bit remote, we found it to be a bit rustic and it does require one to drive a little further than we like for grocery stores, shopping or sightseeing. The park itself is an older park but appears to be well maintained. We were greeted by a friendly staff and enjoyed our stay here. There are several activities each day, a on-site cafe and good amenities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$1
The staff here was top notch both in professionalism and in friendliness. When you first enter the park, it advises that you make wide turns and it is important to follow this advice as the roads are a bit difficult to maneuver in a big rig. The sites were level with gravel. The inside pool and hot tub were nicely maintained. We enjoyed our visit here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2008
$2
Not one of the better ROD parks. Very narrow, rough roads and the ROD members were placed in the "out back" part right up against the road. We will not stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2008
$1
As many have said very narrow, But a good 4 or 5 night campground. ROD Site are short this beeing a old K O A. We pull a small trailer and had to disconnect. Site level w/pad. Very clean w/ indoor pool and hot tub, used all but could not get sauna hot. Great adult room. Gun club just down the street so day time noise. We will go back We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2007
$1
We made reservations, asking three times whether we would be able to shoot the satellite for internet access, as we both work via the internet. We repeatedly asked about internet dish access because it is so difficult to get people to listen past "satellite dish" to hear "internet" when most people mean TV. We were assured that we'd have no problem. We got there and were given a site where shooting south meant shooting directly into a clump of trees. No way it could work. And no other spots could, either. Management just claimed they assigned sites by length only. Someone lied on one end or the other. To top it off, a very loud amplified band started playing ten minutes after we got there not fifty feet from the site they'd assigned us. We left after a long day, needing some rest. Thank God Wilderness was right down the road. This is a case of getting what one pays for. (ROD=no charge) It's a pretty park, but we won't be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2007
$1
Big clubhouse. Pool was nice. There was a small cafe. Downside - you must circle around the clubhouse to enter and exit. While making this circle you go over a couple of speed bumps - everything shifted in the motorhome! The roads were loose dirt and narrow. The first site we were at was next to an electrical box and it interfered with the satellite signal. We stayed under ROD so no charge. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2007
$10
This is a gated & private campground available to Coast to Coast or RPI members. The roadways are VERY narrow, we were able to manuver our 40 foot Class 'A' but just barely. Sites are dirt w/concrete patio' & picnic tables. Lots of trees and very quiet. They have an indoor pool & spa as well as an outdoor pool & spa. There is a large club house with areas for both famlies & adults. They have a restaurant which is open on the weekends and is reported to have good food. There are some permanent residents here in RV's as well as Park Model type trailers. The park is about 25 miles east of Mobile, 30 miles North of Gulf Shores and 25 miles west of Pensacola which made it very convenient for sight seeing & visiting. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2006
$2
Older park. Not really set up for big rigs. Hard to maneuver. Hard to get a satellite signal due to all the trees. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Indoor and outdoor pools. Lots of activities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2005
$8
One of my most favorite parks in the country. I have never heard of anyone not enjoying this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2005
$8
Coast to Coast Park located fairly close to the Gulf Shores area. The sites are fair, not paved and somewhat unlevel. The park itself is very nice with tons of activities every day. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com