206669 User submitted reviews online!!
Eureka KOA was rated 6 out of 10 based on 37 user reviews. Phone: (707) 822-4243
CGID335

Eureka KOA

Camp Information
Sites
137
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   5   8   1   5   8   7   9   10   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2014
$25
Our rate reflects several discounts. Like most KOAs, this one is right off highway, so there's road noise; and minimal landscaping. OK for an overnight stop , but nothing more. Kudos to management for having lots of recycling bins. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2014
$32
Nice KOA great facilities, clean grounds, and lovely laundry. Supernice store. Friendly staff. The owner has installed net gear nanny sitting so 95% of the internet is blocked and I don't mean just porn. I mean almost everything any sane adult might wish to access is blocked including most of the newspaper articles from my home town newspaper, all deemed inappropriate for my eyes by the Netgear supernanny. We stopped here for two nights because of a forecast storm on our planned route and we didn't care to wrestle with a gale. We picked the place precisely because the internet is usually good at a KOA and we were going to be looking at a full day of rain and wanted the internet to work. Very big disappointment. And FOX news channel did not work either. Bad attitudinal thing here. We will Not come back to Nannyland-KOA any time again. Ever. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$37
We stayed here one night while traveling through. Since it is off-season, most of the sites seem to go for the same rate. We had a pull-through site near the dog area which was great for us. Sites are gravel and, had we been staying longer, we would have worked on leveling but for one night, we didn't bother. The park was probably about 1/6 full. It looked like they had a lot of nice amenities for the summer months including miniature golf and a pool but they were closed for the season. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2013
$42
Cable TV is not good it is fuzzy, and all channels did not work. WIFI is slow and did not connect many times. Owner blocks sites like Fox News and ABC. There are up to fifty septic tank vents pipes about six feet tall in the park. Our site had one on each side,and there was an odor at times. Roads are paved, sites are gravel. Turns are tight; not big rig friendly. Tough to get into the park as you have to make a left turn crossing Hwy 101 if you are coming south. Hwy 101 is very busy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$60
If you are camping here with kids you are probably ok. Plenty for them to do, but this place is kinda ratty and not well kept. You are a good 35 miles to the Redwoods and Eureka is a typical CA seaside town. Old, beat up and not real pretty. We rarely stay at KOA's. We are retired and just looking for a nice, clean, safe place with peace and quiet. This is not it. Would not stay here again and cannot recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$27
Nice grassy site, with wooden fence to stop the wind. Clean restrooms, hot showers. Very nice people. Would recommend this campground. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$32
It was a little hard to find, tucked behind another business, but was really a nice place to stay. Everything worked fine and we were able to visit the Samoa Cookhouse for a lumberjack lunch. Don't miss this, just bring an appetite! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$46
This RV park has so much to do for families with small children that it could be the entire vacation spot. Wonderful pancake breakfast on the weekend for only $3. Huge serving of ice cream and all the toppings for only $2 each evening. Hay ride and camp fire every evening. Pool, playground, basketball, teeterball, video games and on and on. Kids will not want to leave. Nice fairly level sites. Most are pull throughs. Friendly staff. Clean rest rooms. The only thing I can fault is the spaces are close together. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
Very clean and friendly campground. Level sites, good cell phone, good Wi-Fi, good satellite signals. The maintenance here was very good and everything was well kept. Close to shopping, right between Eureka and Arcada. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
Clean older park. The check-in staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a 30 amp site towards the back of the campground and my hardwired voltage/surge protector kept kicking off. I checked the power and it was running at between 102 and 107 volts. I wound up disconnecting the power for the night. The check-out staff were apologetic and reduced my fees to the non-hookup rate, and indicated they weren't aware of low voltage issues. It may have just been the one site, but it was aggravating. We would stay here again, but I will be checking the line voltage. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$47
Pretty park, typical KOA; sites narrow and short for our large bus. Stayed 3 nights and would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$48
Helpful and friendly staff. Facility is old and in need of repair. North end of town; highway convenient. Plenty of "kamp" activities for kids, but not much to see in town. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$45
Typical KOA (over-priced). Clean park, a little bit of everything for kids. Nice laundry facility ($2 per load). Excellent cable and Wi-Fi reception. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$40
This is a nice park with all the amenities that you expect in a KOA. There are lots of things for the children to do - including two bunny rabbits housed near the office. Wi-Fi, Verizon and AT&T worked well here. The park was beautifully kept and we had just enough room to park in our large rig with the trailer still hooked up. We would return to this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$31
This is a larger park with plenty of space. Lots of pull-through spaces that can accommodate the largest rigs. I would definitely stay here again. One caution -- the location given on this web site is not the true location. Also, the GPS coordinates listed in the Trailer Life directory are wrong. If you use Mapquest, it will show the wrong location, and typing the address into my Garmin GPS came out wrong as well. Actual location is about 4 miles north of Eureka (2 miles south of Arcata) right off U.S. 101. The map on the KOA web site is correct. Wi-Fi was good when it was working, but was out half the time. Office is closed between noon and 3 PM. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$27
Very neat park. The managers were always out and about working. The park is located about 5 miles north of Eureka on the 101. We had a grass pull through surrounded by grass. Free Wi-Fi was very good. Both AT&T and Verizon had good cell coverage. Verizon data was also good. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$34
Very clean, nice grassy sites, across the street from the water. You do enter past a lumber yard and almost think you might be in the wrong place but the access was wide open when I was there and I had no problem manuevering with my 38' truck/trailer combo. Wifi was free and reliable. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2010
$36
Stayed based on information that they had pet breed restrictions, parked close to pit bulls, could not walk our little dogs, complained to useless manager who said anything goes as long as owners sign a waiver so no breed restrictions. Drive in through a dump of a lumber yard into park so tight we had to disconnect car to maneuver in. Only good feature was the maintenance fellow who tried to be helpful. Heard from other campers that manager was always unresponsive to the many complaints about the park and very apologetic. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
This is a clean park. Had a pretty site and great WiFi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$35
Full time RV'er and I always come back to Eureka KOA because they are extremely friendly and knowledgeable. I have never been disappointed when I stay here. They have upgraded their cable and Wi-Fi and it works wonderfully. Out of all the places I have stayed, this is the cleanest campground. The amenities are nice and the summer activities are wonderful for my grand-kids. I recommend this campground to anyone traveling to or through Eureka. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$32
This is the least favorite KOA we have stayed in, and makes us question how they got the 'KOA' brand. The campground is in the middle of small industrial buildings and a large lumberyard. Little to no trees, small sites, and no privacy. Wi-Fi was basically useless during our visit. We were scheduled for 2 nights and left after one. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$45
The campground is nice. The Pool/jacuzzi was wonderful. The older people in office were great, but the young girls not very friendly. We had mechanical problems and had to stay there longer than planned. When we asked if we could stay longer than a week we were told by young staff that 1 week limit. If we didn't vacate after that 7 day period we would be towed away. We talked with older couple who told me we could stay as long as needed. The flowers are breathtaking. The only down sides to the park are no trees and VERY VERY slow if at all internet service. I would stay here again if passing through. The community not my type of destination, there are too many homeless, but none in park itself. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2009
$45
We stayed here 8 nights, would have moved to another park if we could have found a site in the area. A lady, that is a member of the church that owns it, manages this park. We never saw her but did have several unpleasant encounters with here teenage children who appeared to be in charge. We could not see any evidence of cleaning or maintenance in the park. They should not be able to advertise the cable TV, it was worthless since it would come and go every 30 minutes and when we had the best picture it was barely watchable. They do not have any of the big networks on their cable, NBC, ABC, CBS, FOX, none of these. The WiFi was usable but very slow. We learned from one of their long-term campers that if you wanted anything, you needed to catch the older WorkKamper couple that worked weekend nights, they were very helpful and tried their best considering that there is no apparent support from management. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2009
$33
The park is just alright. Location is good close to highway 101, however the park is surrounded by industrial sites that take away from the location. We have stayed at a number of KOA's and this one is only average compared to others. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2008
$35
Real average park. The manager was not even there when we pulled in. The 30 AMP service was real funky; make sure you check it in your site. Not a very good value for the money, we felt. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$38
Convenient location traveling from CA to OR. Wide sites. EZ on and off 101. Inexpensive. This is another KOA park that does a good job of maintaining consistent standards. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$51
Was a great place to overnight. Daytime personnel was great! Night personnel was horrible. Night staff was very rude and yelled a lot at the kids on the grounds. We ended up stuck over due to forest fires blocking off the roads so had to pull back in for another nights stay. The night staff were on already and when we stated we had been there the prior two nights and would like the same site back since it was open, we were told it was reserved. We were shoved next to a couple live-ins and the park was empty. The next day on check out, noticing the site was still open, we spoke to the day staff and told them of the check-in. She graciously credited us back half the nights fee and apologized over and over again. She stated she would let the owners know and that our original site was never reserved. This KOA was very clean and we would stay again since the day staff was extremely professional and friendly but watch out for that night staff. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$38
We liked this place, smells in the town were great with wild raspberries growing and beautiful wildflowers in the ditches. There is a lot of traffic. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$43
We were able to find this campground very easily, (came from the north). Wish the onramp going southbound on 101 was better though. There are no full grown trees here. Made the place look a little run down. They have planted trees but its going to be a few years. We were here on a Friday night in July. We were able to get in without a reservation but the place was crowded and noisy with families. I have kids myself but just seemed like the place was over run with kids! The staff was very friendly but the staffer that checked us in was new, we asked and paid for full hookups but ended up moving three times because she kept putting us in a spot with electric only. The interior roads were in poor condition. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$39
The park was staffed with very nice and polite employees. The restrooms and all common areas were very clean. The park however has a real run down look. Little has been done for many years to make the overall appearance of the park look very good. However, the entrance does have some nice flowers and landscaping. Some have commented that it was hard to find and hard to get into. We had no difficulty finding or getting in after dark. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$30
Very friendly staff, between two cities, on the outskirts of Eureka and very near Arcata, Beautiful Redwoods north or south on Rt 101. Visited for 6 months. Ice cream socials, very active with the kids. family oriented. nice playground, camping cabins, cottages. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2006
$35
This park has a convenient location to explore Eureka/Arcata. However, it is located right on Hwy 1, in a very busy stretch of road with no other access available. The sites were all dirt and marginally maintained. In a land full of some of the biggest trees in the world, there were none at the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2006
$39
KOAs vary between good and bad. This one is typical in that it's overpriced for what you get. The place was hard to get into and the beat up asphalt speed bumps and divits make it a rough driveway for a 40' class A. The sites are adequate but non-spectacular and they were pitched enough that I needed blocks under the front jacks to let the hydraulic levers reach. From the previous reviews it looks like they are trying to bring it up but they have a ways to go yet. Still, it's a decent location for seeing that area and we weren't around much anyway except to eat and sleep so it didn't bother us too much. I might look around and try someplace else next time though. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2006
$35
Some, but not much, has changed since last review. Still lots of heavy equipment in use and daily bonfires to burn debri. The worst thing is finding the entrance; you have to pull into the driveway of a lumber yard, go around to one side and then you'll see the campground. We missed it the first time and had to go way out of our way to come back. There's nothing in the KOA campground guide directions that give you a clue about this problem. On the positive side, it appears they are making an effort to improve the place - new sod is being laid, outside workers busy the 2 days we were there, and the staff was pleasant and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2006
$40
It's hard to believe this is actually a KOA camp as it was more like a dump. The place looked like a disaster zone. They had a note up talking about a storm in December, but A)this area is known for storms and B) it was three months later [we were there in March]. While we were there, they had a nearly continuous group of tractors and heavy equipment removing every tree in the campground. (Crash, diesel noise and fumes!) There was debris everywhere. The single ingress/egress road was often blocked with heavy equipment so you could neither go in or leave. They advertised a hot tub but the hot tub was out of order. They advertised a game room but the game room was out of order. The heater in the men's room was broken. The cold setting on the washer left our clothes steaming from heat. They advertised internet access. The clerk begrudgingly let us get on the computer the first couple days, but became more and more surly (she said she needed to balance her check book on it) and finally removed the computer so that no customers could use it at all. Many of the bbq grills were laying on their sides. The first site we tried had such a big hole on one side that i couldn't get our RV level. I had my first RV in 1988 and have used campgrounds since 1984. The six days we spent here were the worst place I have seen. Surely there should be some minimum quality requirement to carry the KOA name. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2004
$25
Very few campers at this site at this time of year. Had privacy as we were the only camper in our area. Facilities were clean; office staff was friendly. On-site rec room with pool table and arcade were open daily; pool/hot tub is seasonal. Store seemed well-stocked. Location was fairly quiet considering it is just off of the highway. We camped here in a Truck Camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2003
$25
This is not the best KOA I have stayed at. We were in a tent site, the most private one of all and that isn't saying much. The spaces are really packed in. The bathrooms were acceptably clean, but not as clean as other places. The staff was very helpful and the service was good. It is pretty quiet with the campground abutting a field with pipes in it and a hillside. There are a couple of businesses near the entrance, but they weren't noisy. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com