215256 User submitted reviews online!!
Geneva State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 29 user reviews. Phone: (866) 644-6727
CGID3351

Geneva State Park

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   10   2   9   9   8   10   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$30
First time we camped at Geneva State Park we chose site #68, all the way in the far back of the campground, on a cul de sac. Unfortunately we didn’t have the time to enjoy the amenities of Geneva State Park. Especially the six miles of trails that traverse park and of course the Lake Erie beaches, marshes and creeks. Electric but no water or sewer at our site. The shower house could use updating but is clean enough and usable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$28
We had a wonderful stay at Geneva State Park! This Campground was one of the cleanest state parks that we have been to. The roadways are very well maintained. Each campsite is set up with a permanent fire ring and a solid picnic table in very good condition. Some are shaded and some are full sun. The restroom/shower facilities were very clean and well maintained. Great water pressure and hot water for an enjoyable experience! The water fill/dump station made for easy access. The office staff members were friendly and accommodating. This was our first time to this particular park, and we will definitely be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$28
Stayed for 4 nights while visiting family. I got a full hook up site, one of 3, #90, but it was blocked by trees so no DirecTV. It was a pleasant experience anyway as the setting is nice, the beach is close enough to ride a bike or a short car ride. They have a nice paved trail through the forest to the beach and marina. We had good at&t cell and Verizon Mifi. I only had the full serve site for 3 nights and had to move to an electric and water site for one night, but there we had DirecTV. All sites are 30 amps, but it was very cool for August and we had windows open at all times. Park was full on weekends, but they handle the crowd well and pretty nice types come. Lots of young families with tents, etc - but no loud partiers. I would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2012
$33
It took us 30 minutes to check in, and then they did it wrong, and I had to show them how to do it. They advertise wi-fi. It never worked unless you were in the office. I asked them if there was a problem and was told that they had a power outage recently. I suggested that they reboot the router and was told that couldn't be done since it was on top of a pole. The next day I asked again, and was told that I didn't know what I was talking about and that the wi-fi worked fine. Fine if you are in the office and had the password for the secure office service. Never have been treated with such rudeness. The other reviews are hard to understand given the attitude I was faced with. Heavily treed so your dish doesn't work and they have no cable. If you like to be treated rudely and not have wi-fi or cable, this is the place for you. I wouldn't stay here again if they let me stay for free. Did I mention that the pull through site we had was 2' out of level? When asked if I could change was told that this was our site and the others were reserved. No one showed up for 4 sites near ours while we were there. Again, rudely. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$28
This is a wonderful place to be. The campground itself is lovely and well maintained. Showers were spotless, with two curtains, one enclosing a changing room and one enclosing the shower area. There was a nice mat on the floor keeping the water from your clothing while changing. Small number of showers but only one of us had to wait a few minutes to shower. Verizon service was a bit hinky and TV reception is definitely spotty. The sites are mainly sheltered by natural growth. Our site had the picnic table area behind the pad, which provided seclusion and privacy. The beach was well maintained but not enough shallow water for small children and rocky so wear those water shoes. The strip in Geneva-On-The-Lake is just icing on the cake. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$28
We were surprised how many different things we could do just riding our bicycles on the 2 plus miles of trails. We rode to the beach, the marina and to Geneva-on-the-Lake for doughnuts. The campground was clean and beautiful. We are going to go back and take the kids. We stayed here in a 30' RV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
This is a great state park campground located on Lake Erie. Lots of biking/walking trails and beach access is within walking distance of the campsites. State of the art boat launch area right up the road. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$28
Outside of Oregon State Parks, this is one of the nicest parks we have ever stayed in. Large sites, level spots, good electric, nice restrooms and showers, and even laundry. It is a short walk to Lake Erie. The staff was super. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$32
Very nice state park campground. All paved and big sites and big trees with great shade. Need to drive to the swim area on lake. Quiet. Would stay again. Big rig friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$28
Perhaps 4 or 5 sites have water and sewer hook-ups, but most sites are 30 amp electric, only. The sites are large and level. They allow an RV and a tent or two tents on one site. Many people park their boat trailers on their sites. The beach on Lake Erie is a short bike ride away as is the marina. If you have an Ohio Buckeye Card you get a 50% discount Sun - Thurs, and 10% discount on Friday and Saturday. The fun of Geneva on the Lake is only a couple miles away. The staff in the campground office are very friendly and helpful. We were booked for two nights but could not stay for the second night. They refunded our camping fee without an argument. (As long as it was before 1:00 PM.) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$27
What a wonderful park. Situated across the road from Lake Erie in amongst the trees, it is paved, level, with sites spaced far apart. Wish we could have stayed beyond one night. Hadn't been to that nice a state park since Oregon. They even had good office hours from 9 AM to 7:30 PM. Unlike many places state and private, they realize that not everyone arrives by 4. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
We had recently just tried out this campsite. We stayed a Thursday night to Sunday. For the most part the bathrooms and showers were clean. (That is one condition for me to go camping.) The cleaning people were out daily to clean and restock the bathrooms. The thing I didn't like was that on this particular Saturday the campground was full and almost everyone uses the restrooms b/c this campsite is mostly tents and popups. They got a little dicey on Saturday night with trash on the floor, dirty toilets, and ran out of TP. Why people can't clean up after themselves is beyond me. Only 6 toilets for the amount of people that use them is not enough. Three showers were fine, just a little wait time and they were all in a row with easy access. Two shower curtains, one for the small changing area and one for the actual shower was nice. And the water was soft and didn't have the pipe smell that some places have in the country. And be aware of the 1pm checkout time. They are strict with a park ranger yelling at us to hurry to clean up or they would charge us another night. I thought that was completely rude. Some of the patrons were less than to be desired, but overall was a pretty quiet time. Another downfall is that we think there may have been a homeless person in the bathroom or just someone who smelled really bad. It is also a state park, so if you go to visit the wineries make sure you hide it if you want to drink it at the camp site. Overall good experience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$27
This is a beautiful park and campground. It is 15 minutes off of I-90 with easy access for any type of RV. The sites are large and mostly flat. The website indicated our site had 20 amp hook-up, but when we arrived it was a 30 amp hookup. There is plenty to do, hiking biking and swimming, bring your bikes for 2 miles of paved trails and 4 more unpaved. The restrooms were clean, but they only have 3 shower stalls, so time yourself accordingly. The sites 1-37 did not have as much shade, but were very large. The other loop was mostly shaded sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$27
We were here on the first day when they were supposed to have water available at one source in the campground. They did not get it turned on on April 1 but did make it by the next day after a call to the office. The campground is fine but not very exciting. It is unfortunate that there is this nice lake out there and the campground is set very far back; although, as noted there is a nice paved trail that goes out to the beach, marina and hotel. When we were here in off season, there was not a lot to do since there is not a lot of hiking or biking trials and it was far too cold for the lake. As noted, the park police drive through very often during the day, but we never saw them at night. There are a lot of "lookers" that drive through. It would be nice if they could put up a sign "campers only." That might help a bit. There were only a few other campers in the campground, but when those few others came in after 10:00, they chose to camp right next to us. What is that all about? In summary, an OK campground with few negatives but not a lot of positives. We would stay here again but only in passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$27
We go here a few times a year. Like this park. Good staff, always friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$32
Pleasant surprise. Park was very clean and security was doing rounds on a frequent bases, although I did not feel this was necessary. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$28
Very clean, well maintained campground. Not too big (only two loops and one spur), and the spur is only for campers that do NOT have pets. We found this to be a nice feature that made for some peace and quiet. Some of the sites are a little closer together than at some other state parks I've been too, but not nearly as close as the typical private campground. Since many of the sites don't have many trees between them (but plenty of trees behind) it may seem a little less private. Also, there were a lot of tent campers that set up on either side of the pad unlike RV campers that only set up on the one side. Regardless, we never felt "too" close to our neighbor. Only 3 of the sites have full hookups; everyone else is electric only. Our site, #60, was adjacent to one of the water spigots so we could easily fill once we were already set up. The campground has laundry facilities ($1.50 a load) and a modest camp store. A fish cleaning station is near the entrance along with a small outdoor theater where movies were shown on the weekend. The park participates in a recycling program which we appreciate. The restrooms and showers were clean and hand soap was provided. There is a nice paved trail just across the street that extends for about 2 miles and leads past a nice beach and an even nicer marina. A small playground sits between the two loops. Our AT&T cell phone worked although the signal was somewhat weak. The nearby town of Geneva on the lake is OK, mainly hot dog and hamburger stands amongst a couple of arcades and summer cottages. It seems the town's best years are far behind it. The nearest grocery store is about 4 miles away in Geneva. The nearest Walmart is about 8 miles away in Madison. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
Another great State park. Paved roads lead through trees to wide paved sites. Close to Lake Erie with a nice marina. It is so nice to back into a level site, set up is so easy. Quiet with regular security patrol by park rangers. The bathrooms were spotless. These overnight stays are providing us with a whole host of places to return to for a week stay. I wholly recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$27
We camp here three or four times a year. Great staff and very clean bathrooms and showers. The marina is a 1/2 mile away and the beach is even closer. This is a great Ohio State Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$26
Beautiful state park. All sites are paved and surrounded by lush grass. Many shade trees, some sites are full sun. Well maintained facilities and friendly staff. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$28
Geneva State Park is one of the best state parks we have stayed at in Ohio. It is one quarter mile to a beach on Lake Erie, one half mile to the Geneva State Park Marina, and a 20 minute bicycle ride to Geneva on the Lake, with wineries and restaurants. The park was almost full when we arrived but very quiet. Looks like the bathrooms were just updated, and all park roads were newly paved. They had 2 inches of rain the day before we arrived, and we only saw one spot that was unusable. Great park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$27
Nice in the off-season; lot's of room between spaces, trails, a great waterfront on the lake. From the size of the parking lots, I think it must get pretty busy, but in the off-season, it was great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$34
Very clean state park. Quiet this time of the year. We had a full hookup spot which is water and electricity. This is typical of a state park. No pull throughs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$26
Attractive and park-like - paved pads, spacious grassy sites, some with good shade (especially in the no-pets loop). Three full-hookup sites available by reservation; most of the rest are electric only. Older but very clean restrooms and shower house; showers have private changing areas. Lake Erie beach is 1/2 mile drive away. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$26
Geneva State Park, Geneva, Ohio within ¼ mi of Lake Erie and walking distant. Good paved interior roads, There are reserve sites as well as first come sites. There are two sections to the campground, one for campers with pets and the other without pets. The campgrounds for pets are spacious sites, 50 to 70 feet wide while the other area has tighter sites. There are no water hookups, only a central water source; The sites have 30 amps electric hookups. The restrooms were limited and only one restroom for the whole camping area had a shower but it was clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$24
Sites are spacious although a few pads are a little short, and it is usually nice and quiet, even on the weekends. The non-pet sites are mostly heavily wooded and the pet loop has nice grass and some shade. Lake Erie is a short drive, bike ride, or longer walk from the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$24
Small state park located directly across the street from Lake Erie. Swimming beach a short bicycle distance away. We were in one of the only 3 full hook up sites. Paved roads and sites with grass, fire rings and picnic tables. Sites are nice size with mix of shade, shade and sun or full sun. Rental cabins across the street had lakefront property and own private beach. Restrooms/showers (typical OH state park cinder block style) were clean but (typical) need updating. Small campstore with usual items and tourist info. The new lodge is located a couple miles east of the state park entrance. There are no inner park roads that connect the state park to the lodge site. Also, be aware that the lodge is NOT affiliated with the state park, so campers do not have priviledges at the lodge's pool, work-out room, game room...etc. We were told this when inquiring about a day pass to use the lodge indoor pool. Price I listed is for peak season, with our Cardinal Card discount (10%). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$32
Camped in space #90. All sites are large and paved. Campground very well cared for. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2004
$25
Price is a little high. But this is a nice campground, we only stayed one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com