223397 User submitted reviews online!!
Calgary West Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 41 user reviews. Phone: (403) 288-0411
CGID3360

Calgary West Campground

Camp Information
Sites
350
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$50



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   5   7   2   5   6   3   5   1   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2014
$50
The parking pads were level, but there was no level area for the table. We had water restrictions when we arrived and had to boil our water. Otherwise it was convenient to the train stations for attending the Calgary Stampede. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2014
$36
Restrooms were acceptable but would not call them clean. Park was crowded and needed more frequent attention. Trash around the building never picked up during our 3-day stay. Crowded park, sites very close together. Road and train noise was loud. Can't imagine anyone not hearing it throughout the night. We stayed without reservation during Stampede and paid for our lack of planning. Would not return. Overpriced for a site with no services, even during Stampede week. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$46
Quiet location with no road noise. Check in staff were pleasant and helpful. Store was well stocked and prices were reasonable. Sites are small with two rigs parked side by side in pull-through sites. There is ample room to extend slides if both parties are courteous in their parking. Our neighbor had problem with 30 amp breaker tripping at less than 20 amps. Breakers appear to be old and some may be weak. We had no problems with ours when we were pulling 25 amps. It was below freezing at night and with all the electric heaters running voltage would drop to around 110 VAC. Wi-Fi was very strong in our spot (A-31). We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2013
$46
I am usually a pretty easy grader of campsites as we are totally self contained and have no pets, so our needs are usually just a place to park at night. Our experience with this place was pretty bad. We were assigned a space and plugged into the 30 amp plug. While we were out, the space next to us was assigned, and the person plugged into our same utility pole in the 20 amp outlet. At some point our progressive electrical management system shut down our RV as the voltage fell below 104 volts Thank heaven we have that feature on our RV. When we got back the voltage was still only reading 107, so we pretty much shut everything off and went to bed. The next morning as soon as the person next to us left,, the voltage went to 120. We went to the desk clerk and asked that no one be put in that spot for our final night, but they said they couldn't guarantee that. They agreed to move us. Just want to warn people that your electrical appliances can be at risk in this park. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$50
Roads quite rough and dusty. Site could not accomodate motorhome and toad. Vist was just before Calgary Stampede and owners had take it or leave it attitude. Very difficult to find. We would not return We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$47
Gravel roads with lots of dust. Small sites, very narrow. Many sites do not have a level spot for a picnic table or chairs. Some sites have one electrical box with a first come first service for use of the 30 amp service, you will need an extension cord for those sites. No privacy between sites at all. Bathrooms are old and generally disgusting, could use a couple of more showers. Store is almost empty. People are friendly and helpful. Buildings are old and in need of repair and paint. Pool is clean but man was it cold. Wi-Fi at main building. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2012
$40
A poor excuse for a campground. We were put in "B" section on top of the hill. There is no sewer in this section. The lot we were on was very unlevel with only one power pole for two lots. The pole has only one 30amp and one 20amp outlet. According to the office staff, it's first come first serve on the 30amp. That's nuts. The gravel roads are awful and washed out from rain. They advertise free wi-fi. However, you have to sit with others in the office just to get a signal. This is usually the case with most campgrounds anyway. I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$48
Average campground. Hard to get to: on a service road off the main highway. Had to go through a round-about to get onto service road. Sites were not clean. When full ,each level location has two sites, with RV's back to back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2012
$48
Well, I have to agree with the other reviewers. This place had been open a week and was definitely not ready for business. We moved three times trying to find a water connection but gave up. We lost power in the middle of the night due to a faulty ground wire in the park. I thought the problem was my inverter/converter and called my insurance for a claim number. I called a mobile RV repair company )who quickly diagnosed the problem and refused to charge me for the call out. I had a heated battle with the office person who reluctantly refunded me so I paid $33 for a no hook-up site. The only RV park heated pool in Calgary was a green slime mess with a picnic table floating in it. I would never come here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$45
We love this campground and highly recommend it! They have laundry facilities and a beautiful location atop a hill overlooking Calgary! Peace and quiet in the City! Fantastic location and the customer service was excellent. You will not be disappointed with your stay here! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2011
$45
We reserved a full hookup back-in site 2 months prior to our visit. We arrived and were given our site # and found it still occupied, so we walked back to the office and the response was, "Really, well it should be empty." The site next to it was empty so they gave us that one. Unhooked the trailer and had the boys setting the jacks when I decided to plug into the 30A so we could get the A/C going (it was hot out). The power post is shared with the neighbouring site, which didn't bother me, but when I lifted the cover there was only 1 30A receptacle and the neighbour was plugged into it. Another walk down to the office was met with, "So the issue is that you can't use your A/C?" It was right then I noticed multiple signs posted saying that "Verbal abuse towards employees will not be tolerated." Hmmmm. I said, "So I paid for full hookups and because I didn't get to my site first that means I missed out on the 30A plug?" A blank look was given back to me. Sigh. After offering a few other sites with the same issue I was given one that was suitable. Found the Laundry and was pleased to see that they had 4 washers as we had 12 days of stuff to wash. Only 2 dryers were working so we loaded 'em up and promptly had them eat our quarters. Another walk down to the Office. She said, "Oh, I guess the money box is full." When I asked if someone could remedy it a simple "No" was her response. My wife said, "So we have to haul our 4 loads of wet laundry down here to dry then?" She responds, "If you want them dry then I guess so." Bottom line: A campground run by NON-CAMPERS. Facilities are OK, but the attitude is not. Will not return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2011
$45
Very disappointing. This is one of those KOA retreads. Like the older KOAs, it's not set up for big rigs. I have a 36' 5th wheel and can't park my truck at the site. The sites are carved into a hill side, and the picnic table is at a 45 degree angle. I'd find some other park unless you need to be in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$46
Nice enough campground but used to be a KOA and still shows. Some updating of the office area is sorely in need. No Wi-Fi while there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2011
$41
Although other camp sites were available, we were provided with a site that was partially on a slope with very little room either side. The pick nick table was dirty and rotten. Internet was supposed to be available, it was not. Road way in the RV camp is poor, loose gravel. For the cost of the site it was disappointing. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$48
I could type an exhaustive review, but earlier reviews are similar to my experience. We stayed 4 nights during the Stampeed, and then one more night 3 days later after visiting Edmonton. The 4 night site was at the front. It was tight for our 36 foot trailer and truck, but okay. The shower building near us had only 2 showers, not nearly enough, and one of those doors didn't stay closed. Laundry dryers didn't work well. Internet didn't work at either site, we had to go to their partially finished Internet Cafe. Back washroom building was much better - 6 showers in good shape and good laundry facilities. Drainage is good - it's on a hill. Nice view of Calgary and surrounding area. Staff was school students but we had no issues. Lots of signs warning of a zero tolerance for abusive behavior towards staff - made me wonder what they were afraid of? Honestly, I didn't like the feel of this campground. We had a reservation and it was fine, but we observed others coming in without reservations and they were not being helped very much. We heard the girl who checked us in tell someone that they were the only campground around - not true at all - and convinced the poor guy to take overflow at their park. We would stay here again because it is the best around, but I'll check for alternatives for sure next time we're this way. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$41
Price is for a 30A water only site. Park has easy access and is quite spacious, at least in the area we were. It is obviously an old KOA. We were pleased with the entire park The only thing they need to do is pave the major roads or apply a chemical to keep the dust down. We would stay again just for the convenience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$47
Tight spaces, unlevel spaces, dusty, difficult to get into spaces due to the park being mostly on a hill. They own the town, so grin and bear it. If you need to see Calgary, this is about it. They need to upgrade their sites. They are making the money but it is not going in the park. The Wi-Fi lounge is a JOKE ! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2011
$45
First they did not have our advanced reservation. But found us a spot. We have a 43ft. motor coach w/tow. Coming to site was very dusty. Could hardly fit in. Sites are VERY narrow for a BIG coach. Would not recommend coach over 40ft. coming to this campground. We had our slides out, and another 5th wheel pulled up next to us, and could not put their slides out because of the narrow sites, so they had to move to avoid hitting our slideouts. Had to stay here because heading to Alaska and it was on the way. Would recommend another campground that would accommodate BIG rigs. However, staff was very friendly and accommodating! Dog friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$47
Campground built on a hillside with rough roads but we had no problems with our 40' motorhome (tow disconnected). Sites close together. We had weak Wi-Fi but we were very close to office so probably no Wi-Fi in most of the park. Should have more amenities for the price. Will look for another park when in this area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$45
Good location, quiet area of town, with the freeway very close. The pull through sites were nice for our large trailer. Pool was not available, but was early in the season, so we figure it will be ready later on. Would stay here again for sure. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$41
We stayed here several nights with our travel trailer to have a base for our business around Calgary. The campground is very well organised. Washrooms and showers are clean and in good working condition. The sites are very level and big rig friendly. Unfortunately, the Wi-Fi does only work in the sites just close to the main office. Staff was friendly and mostly helpful. The rather close Highway 1 did not bother at all. A campsite we like to come back whenever we are around Calgary. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$45
OK campground with lots of space around sites. Some of the facilities, especially the laundry, are showing age. The real problem was with our Garmin GPS. The GPS did not recognize a major cloverleaf interchange that separated two parts of the city so we spent some extra time "learning" about that end of town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
We stayed here just one night, but really liked the location. We appreciated the large clean laundry room when doing our laundry. The park was quiet and clean. We will stay here again next time we are in Calgary. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2010
$47
Site was very tight with side by side hookups. Wi-Fi was nonexistent. I even went to their "Wi-Fi lounge" (which consisted of a bunch of lawn chairs) above the office and still could not get a signal. There were other campers in the lounge who also could not get a signal. One of the workers came in and said the system was old, an antenna was broken, etc. Showers and toilets were dirty. Shower areas were very small. I definitely would not stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$45
We camped here because we had friends and relatives in Calgary. The pull-through site we had was level but terraced so the grassy area for the picnic table was sloped and we did not use it. It was not convenient to sit outside with our chairs because of this. We found the pull-through sites were quite close and difficult to get into with a larger 5th wheel. Other non pull-through sites were larger had shade and more privacy. There was a small nature trail we walked our dog on. We found this a very convenient place to camp and would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$48
Not a bad park. Would stay again. Front desk staff was helpful. Unable to get internet in our loop. Campsites were very crowded, neighbors were very friendly. Would have loved a more private site and more trees. No open fires allowed, city wide rule. Handy location next to HWY 1/Trans Canada. A little tricky to get into coming from the East, however plenty of signposts to show the way after exiting the highway. Did not use the lounge, store or laundry. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
Nice park, with a pool which is a must for kids, they have a parks for the kids as well. Some of the sites are awkwardly placed, our site was very uneven with the back of the RV almost touching the ground. Not an great site by any means, however it is close to Calgary. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
We stayed here for 4 nights during the Stampede and it is an alright park. I did not see any 50 amp service and we ended up with 20 amp service as to the length of our unit. The shorter unit with us got 30 amp service because he fit there. We did alright with it. The Wi-Fi only worked at the clubhouse when they remembered to reboot the system. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2009
$45
This campground is OK, except for the price. At $45 for nothing special, we would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2009
$45
We had a full hook-up site which we requested when making a reservation but at the time we were told they would not guarantee more than W & E. The sites are on a hill and have shared hook-ups leaving no more than about 5 feet between the RVs. The sites are not very level side to side and drop off sharply at one end which makes the usable site much shorter. We heard others complain that they could not get level but with blocks we were able to level our 33 foot 5th wheel. There was so little room at our site that we could not fully extend the stairs of our 33 foot 5th wheel. There is limited local TV by antenna with marginal reception. Wi-Fi would not work from our trailer but we could go outside and it would work. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$49
I had site B4, just above the office, and I can't be happier. When checking in, I asked about Wi-Fi and she said she'd put me in a sight where I could get it. And she did. Those that complain should at least ask at check in as to the availability. My site was the first one in 34 days of travel that was exactly level. That in spite of the fact that the CG is built into the side of a hill. It's quiet. Folks at the office are friendly and knowledgeable. I didn't care for the 30/20 amp shared power pole (1st come gets the 30 amp). The views are spectacular. It is about a 2k walk to the Olympic Park. The shuttle downtown ($12) was very handy. All told, the only reason I didn't give it a 10 are the roads (gravel) need some work. That said, it is on a hill. I definitely would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$43
Very convenient access from highway. Level parking pad, but shared grass site was sloped making it not so usable. Some shade. Washrooms kept reasonably clean. Garbage pickup at site (which is good, because the bins were full after the weekend). Free Wi-Fi, but had to go to tables outside main office to get reception. Former KOA. Would have rated higher, but they let about 3 different people come in and set up around 11pm one night - which is supposed to be quiet time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$41
Easy sites to get into, laundry was nice. However the wifi is very weak. I could only use it at office and the only power plugs were outside on the wall and you drape your power cord to picnic table, subject to people walking into or one plug in the laundry room..give it a 2 for the wifi otherwise I would have rated it higher. It has many seasonal but they were quiet, but dog pick up and leash usage was spotty and not enforced. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$43
We stayed here during the Calgary Stampede. There was a $2 charge per person, if more than 2 guests per unit. Our site, and many others are on a sideways slope. We were able to level our unit, but we couldn't find a level spot for the picnic table or our chairs. A shuttle service was available for $10 a person to take you back and forth to the fairgrounds. We just took our tow vehicle, and parked at a LRT station, taking the train to the fairgrounds. Wi-fi was available but we couldn't get reception at our site. The campground was easy access to Banff, Lake Louise etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$43
We camped at Calgary West for ten days during the Calgary Stampede. It is a five to ten minute drive to the C-Train light rail station that connects you to the center city of Calgary and directly to the Stampede Grounds if you are there at that time of the year. The amenities at the campground are excellent except for the proximity of your neighbors. Driver side awnings come within twelve to eighteen inches of each other in the opposite direction pull-through sites. When we arrived the desk clerk assigned us to a space better suited for a small class C motorhome or a class B unit: certainly not a 40-footer with slide-outs. A shoe-horn would not have gotten us into that spot. They cheerfully moved us; however, a large class A should never have been assigned to that space in the first place. We spent one day away from the site for RV service (previously notified the front desk) and when we returned we discovered another camper in our site. Additionally, that camper was NOT assigned to the space but initially refused to move and the management had to be forced into making the other party move. Very unsat! So: what you have in this campground is a very good facility, albeit very crowded, that gets downgraded due to a less than capable/trained front desk staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$39
The price is not bad for a city campground. The Wi-Fi is not strong, but it is great upstairs from the office. If you camp on top of the hill you get great views of suburban Calgary. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$40
Close to the city, park is clean and well maintained, however it is pricey for what you get. Pull throughs are very close together. They advertize WiFi howevr it only works when you are within 100 yds of the main office. We likely will not stay here again as there are other RV parks close to Calgary at a more reasonable price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$42
This is a well-equipped clean park, convenient to the city of Calgary. Unfortunately, their prices are very high. We have stayed here twice and will likely stay at a different campground on our next visit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2007
$45
The staff at the front check in were so rude that we decided not to stay here. We went to another camp across the city which we were very happy with. I strongly feel that the staff sets the tone and we were not comfortable here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$40
Not a bad little campground! Lots of sites with a variety of configurations. We stayed at a pull-through with full hookups. The only downside was that they had the pull-throughs where you and your neighbor's entrance doors faced each other. If we were to do it again, we would opt for a back in site. Also, the power and water connections are at extreme ends of the individual site. Be certain you have extensions available. Extra cords and hoses are available to rent at the office. (Deposit only, I think) There is a great nature trail for walking that connects the different areas of the campground. An awesome place for walking the pup! Weather was warm in the day, but very cool in the evening. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2003
$37
This was a KOA when we were there. The sites were a little tight, but didn't have any problems because of it. We would stay here when in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com