219848 User submitted reviews online!!
South Beach State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 40 user reviews. Phone: (541) 867-4715
CGID3374

South Beach State Park

Camp Information
Sites
255
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$31



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   7   9   7   7   10   10   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$31
This park has a beautiful Lake that has a swimming hole, for family , and a dock, for fishing. Kid friendly park, for pets and the family. We stayed here in a 36 ft 5th wheel and had no problem parking. Great park, to camp in! I would stay here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$27
I would like to echo the previous reviewer. The loop drives badly need tree trimming and many inner sites are difficult to park a larger trailer. I actually had to approach my site (C16) from the "wrong way" because the pad is angled improperly. Reserve America lists this site as 42' deep, but I paced off 32'. I had to back my 28' trailer to the curb and park my truck sideways on the pad. If you have a larger RV, try to choose a site on the outside of a loop. This is one of our "go to" parks and we stay here often. The volunteer staff are very friendly as well. Nightly rate includes Reserve America fee. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$27
This is one of our favorite campgrounds on the Oregon coast. Convenient location to Newport and still has the rustic camp feeling. We try to stay in the sites next to the beach as our big fifth wheel would be a little to big for some of the interior sites. The drawbacks are few, but the reason this parks only gets seven stars. The trees need to be trimmed up so they are not scratching the roofs of rigs. There is only one sewer dump facility. I had to wait forty five minuets in line to dump my tanks. Install more dumping facilities since the sites have no sewer hookups. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$26
This is a very large and busy camping park. The park staff were very helpful in helping us extend our stay. Check in was fast and friendly. The park and restrooms were clean and well maintained. There were trails for biking and trails to the beach. The sites were roomy but privacy between sites was lacking, there are a lot of trees but not much low brush to provide privacy. The park is very close to the Oregon Coast aquarium and handy to the town of Newport. The park staff and campground hosts were great. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$25
Typical Oregon State Park, but nice. This park has many walking trails and a paved trail to the Aquarium and Hatfield Science Center. Crowded place in the summer. We liked it very well. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$27
This park is huge! Sites are reasonably level, all back in and a little tight for large rigs. No sewer hook up and only 30 amp power. The sites are all in need of a little maintenance: the weeds are a little out of control. It is obvious that this is a very popular location. The weekend we were here it was almost totally booked out. Our Verizon WiFi and phone worked well, and we had no problems getting a TV signal with our satellite dish. We would have given a higher rating except our site was very obviously occupied by people with dogs. The smell was a little offensive!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$27
Another Oregon state park winner. Clean, well maintained, great location, and fairly priced. The campground is large with a playground, horseshoe pits and trails through the sand dunes to get to the wide, sandy beach. It is within the Newport city limits so antenna TV channels available as well as AT&T cell and Internet connections. Most sites are not screened from neighbors, but those on the outside have more privacy. Hot showers and the dump station is included in the camp fee. One negative is that it is located by the airport so there is some plane noise, but less than the sea lions barking in the harbor. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$28
This is a really excellent park, we really enjoyed all the paved bike paths to the beach and harbor area. sites are very well laid out with allot of room between and allot of trees. We really enjoyed having all the extra room between site. All roads are paved and plenty wide to get through with a big rig. We're here in a 40' 5th wheel and 1 ton truck. had no problems getting through or backing into spot. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$28
Have stayed here before. We had a nice big site and would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$3
Typical Ore SP, which is to say "Excellent". Road in wa plenty wide, but the speed bumps are brutal! Out site was correctly angled for EZ back-in, but I saw some that weren't. Bath/shower rooms very nice, tho shower lacked hooks. Place was packed, even mid-week, but there were plenty of mosquitoes for all present. Lots of bikes on the roads. Nice trails to beach. Lots of pine trees, but still a very open feel to the place. EZ access to/from US 101 & only a short drive to Newport which has everything you could want. Try Flashback's for 50's diner ambiance & great food. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$22
Nice campground. They recently had a storm which resulted in some tree damage; however, it appears as though a fair amount of work has already gone into clearing the affected sites. You are about 1 mile from Newport and there are a lot of things to see in the City. Just a short walk to the ocean. We stayed here in a motor home and will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2011
$22
We stayed 3 nights and loved it. The sites are paved, level enough and wide enough for slideouts and awnings. However, plenty of sites are not suitable for big rigs as the angle to backup into the site is not favorable and/or the trees and branches are too close. We couldn't park our 35' 5th-wheel in the preferred spot with plenty of sun (winter time!), had to chose a more treed one. Not too bad, but way less sunshine. The hookups are fine and worked well. Central dump station at entrance. My Virgin mobile worked pretty fast too. The restrooms are all tiled and very clean. However, the separating wall between the "dressing room" and the actual shower is not wide enough and after the shower the whole floor area and the wall is wet. The beach is just a short walk and there are plenty of walking trails. No noise from Hwy 101 but the odd airplane flying over as the airport is not too far. We will definitely be back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$22
Yurts are available here. The speed bumps are brutal. Class A's will want to take them slow. The large road is suitable for big rigs. The sites will be tight lengthwise with a tow vehicle, but fine without one. The campground is paved, including the sites. It is a large campground. There are a few nice trails that leave from the campground, including access to the beach. The trees are more manicured here than other Oregon Coast State Parks, which means you will have less needles and branches falling on your rig, but less privacy that others. The campground has an open feel to it and gets and reasonable amount of sun (if the sun is out that is). The showers were okay, but could use a really thorough clean. It was quiet when we were there, but it was also fairly empty and we camped at the back of the campground. We didn't have to wait in line for the dump station, but we did notice that others did have to wait in line (morning). Great value and good location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$27
Beautiful, quiet state park within walking distance of the beach and several walking trails throughout area. Very nice restrooms and showers. Water and electric - no sewer but a dump station at the entrance. Seemed to nearly fill up so I suggest reservations($8 fee). Some sites not suitable for big rigs so ask about the right site for you. Received some over the air TV channels. If you like geocaching, there are several nearby caches. I would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$31
Another beautiful Oregon State Park! We stayed in site c07 and had nice privacy and plenty of room. Beautiful beach to walk on just over the dunes. We'll be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$27
Some very cramped sites and I witnessed some bigger rigs having a lot of difficulty getting into their sites with the tree branches hanging low. Beach access was good and the park seemed well maintained, otherwise. Verizon cellular service seemed available throughout the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$22
Nice, wide sites. Trail to ocean. Friendly staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$26
We stayed at South Beach because Beverly Beach was booked up. It's an OK campground but doesn't really compare to the other beach park. This year they failed to spray the marsh area between the campground and the beach: the mosquitoes were terrible. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$27
Nice park, but the access roads are narrow and the trees haven't been trimmed in a long time, and are much too close to the roads. I scratched the side of my rig badly trying to get in/out of my site. Great access to the beach on paved hiking/biking trails. Close proximity to many local attractions, especially downtown historical Newport. Very busy CG, even in mid-Sep. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$27
Oregon state parks are a safe, sure bet. It does seem that budget cuts have affected the staffing. Only one lane was open for check in at the prime check in night so Rigs were backed up. We used the express check in lane where we dropped a paper copy of our reservation in the box and came and got our window pass later. Good space in between spots, with long, level and paved pads. Very quiet right at quiet time. You can ride your bikes from the campground to the Aquarium and nearby Rogue brewery. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$27
Nice campground, in a great community, with fantastic beach access. If you need WiFi though, they recently had it removed from the CG, apparently in a dispute with the vendor. Otherwise a great experience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$22
Great park with minimum hookups. Lots of walking and play areas and trails to the beach and river. Good wind protection. However water drainage in rainstorms is non-existant. Most sites and roads collect water runoff until it soaks into the ground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2009
$20
Sites are very hard to back into. Trees and shrubbery need to be trimmed. Trees cause you limited space to park and extend slide-outs and awnings. We stayed while it was raining and our site flooded about 2-3 inches deep. Oregon State Parks usually are top notch, but this one needs help. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$24
A wonderful campground, and wonderful location for touring the Oregon coast. Our site was large enough for our big rig, though somewhat tricky to back into (a reverse back-in). Once we got in, it was easy to level the coach and set up. The campground was very busy with children and families and our kids enjoyed the ranger programs, playground, and beach, which was a 1/4 mile walk from our site. We would definitely stay again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$22
A large very busy Oregon State Park. No full hook-ups, but water and electricity sites available. Oregon State Parks have moved all their refuse containers to a central location. A short walk to the beach. As often happens the fog was in and visibility was very restricted. Not a lot of screening between sites. Weather was nice and cool after the heat in the interior. The pads were paved and very close to level. What staff we contacted were very nice. The bugs were a bit bad when you walked down towards the beach. Would stay here again. Found a nice seafood restaurant in Newport called Life Oceans. Do not take a large RV into old town Newport! $6.00 reservation fee for online reservations. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$22
We loved South Beach State Park! Nice sites, but make sure you do your homework and reserve ahead of time. The sites are all back-in and some of our neighbors with really large rigs had difficulty getting into theirs. Ours was 50 feet long with plenty of space for our three fold out tent beds. You are within walking distance to the beach, about one-half mile one way through beautiful dunes. Very close to Newport and the Aquarium, as well as an easy drive up to Lincoln City and the Outlet Mall! Only complaint would be the showers. Clean, but some in our loop had scalding hot water while the one right next to it had freezing cold. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
This is a big state park. We were in the G loop and the sites are quite long. We did have a little trouble maneuvering our big rig into the site since the roads are narrow and access to sites are close together. It was a little noisy with all the kids, but that is to be expected during the summer. It was quite a walk to the beach from our site, so we just drove to the parking lot near the beach access. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$21
A beautiful park. We had a site on the outside ring. The site wide enough, had trees, and easy to get in and out of. It was convenient to the restrooms. A quiet park. No complaints at all except the dump station line was long. We would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$22
A large well used park. Well laid out with large area for each site. The Jetty trail is a bonus for walking or biking. Yurts are available for those who may be interested. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$22
This is an older park. The sites are a bit close together. The restrooms were old style. Nice , free showers. The beach is about a 1/4 mile walk from the A loop. We noted that because there are not sewer hookups in sites, the line at the dump station was usually long at check out time. Nice staff. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$22
Very nice state park campground. We did not have reservations so we were lucky to get in for two nights. Highly recommend reservations in the summer. Campsite was tucked into the trees, very cool and relaxing atmosphere. Paved trails to the beach (1/4 mile) and several paved bike trails in addition to the paved roads in the campground. This is a family campground so you need to expect young kids playing, running and biking, but they were never roudy or out of control. Close to Newport. Camp hosts and volunteers were very friendly and helpful. We will definitely come here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$24
All the Oregon State parks we have seen are great! South beach is certainly right up there. Close to the beach, tons of hiking and biking trails, Newport is a great town. The rangers are friendly and helpful. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$22
Location is excellent. Families are welcomed and take advantage of the campgrounds facilities. An easy walk to the beach, pit fires and cabins are available. Some sites are tight to get into, so if you reserve over the net, be selective. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$22
Shade trees and short walk to very large beach. Great trails to take walks on. No privacy at sites. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2007
$22
The only trash was quite far and only at the entrance to the park. The mosquitoes on the trail to the beach were bad. The sewer dump area was very busy and not real convenient. TV antenna reception was very poor. The sites were level and clean. There was a lot of grassy space for the kids to play. There was a 1.5 mile walking trail to the Oregon Coast Aquarium. I would camp there again but more prepared for the trash, sewer, and TV issues. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$25
Tight spots. Very family oriented. Dump station at front. Short walk to beach. Short drive to Newport. Older, busy park worth the stop. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2006
$20
If you like camping on sand and dead grass this is for you. The pictures on the internet definitely were taken in a wet year. Close to the beach. Campsites are close together with little privacy. A million kids riding on all the narrow paved roads. I guess this would be a good campground if you had small kids since they would have plenty of new friends.The main roads are too narrow for 2 rv's to pass little lone the walking and bike traffic. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$22
This is a nice place to stay. Nearly every site has some shade, though some have more than others. The sites are quite level and easy to get into. The hookups were also in good shape. Campsites are dirt except where you park your rig. Dump station and garbage is near the park ranger entrance. Access to the beach was an easy .5 mile walk. Some mosquitos in the camp but even more in the bushes as you walk to the beach. Access to the aquarium and other coastal attractions is great. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$22
This is a nice campground. Would recommend that you make reservations though, even though it's very large, it fills up. The road throughout is paved, and the sites are easy to get in and out. Nice wide road, and the sites have bushes/trees/foliage between so you have a little privacy (in most sites). The only thing we thought was odd was that there were no garbage receptacles, and noticed there is a large garbage area as you leave the park. Maybe they have problems with critters rummaging through the garbage so they had to put it all in one area. The dump station is very easy access. The only negative thing was that it was very dry when we were there (in July), and the area around the units were not grass or gravel, but dirt. If a wind gust came up it would whip dirt all around. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2005
$21
This is another oner one of the Oregon Coast, Oregon State Parks. It is located within walking distance of the beach, is 3 miles South of Newport, has childrens activities (summer season), has Kayak rental/tours, has a small gift shop, 21 yurts to rent ( with power/lights, water outside, sleeps 5, has a heater ) Group areas available We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com