224103 User submitted reviews online!!
Packwood RV Park and Campground was rated 5 out of 10 based on 24 user reviews. Phone: (360) 494-5145
CGID3381

Packwood RV Park and Campground

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   7   4   6   6   9   9   5   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$15
Little gem in the West. Convenient to both Mt. Ranier and Mt. St. Helens. Park situated in a grove, park-like setting. Sites are level but a mixture of grass, gravel, and pavement. 30 amp service only. Staff is very helpful and friendly. The city of Packwood is noted for the GIANT flea market which occurs on Memorial Day and Labor Day, where the flea market takes over the main highway and surrounding streets and any open space available. It's quite a site, but traffic is reduced to a trickle. But best of all was the small herd of elk which nibbled their way through the campground in the evenings. Great place. Definitely recommend. Price reflects Passport America discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$30
I would have given a higher rating had the campground been less rundown. It is very obvious that this park needs updating (it is for sale). The Wi-Fi was nonexistent. You could connect but that was it. You had to go to the library, which is next door, to use the Internet. Cell signal did not exist, either Verizon or AT&T. It was a very quiet location and I would stay there again, as it was convenient to Mt. Rainier. Over 80 miles to Mt. St. Helens. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$33
This is a rustic park set amongst some great old growth trees. Packwood is between Mt. Rainer NP and Mt. St. Helens NM so it makes a good base for visiting both parks. I couldn’t get the address to register on my GPS but the park is right in the middle of Packwood on the north side of highway 12 directly behind the local library. The sign for the park is about a block west of the actual office which is a home trailer that has seen better days. The grounds themselves are flat but because of the huge trees in the park and the natural terrain the ground is kind of undulating in areas so bring some leveling blocks. The hookups are OK (30 AMP only) except if you want cable. Not all sites have cable. If you want cable make sure you mention that as you check in and have an extra-long coax because I had to extend mine to the next pad. One of the neat features of the park is its proximity to the library which has a small city park along side of it with some magnificent old growth pines. There are some benches there were you can sit and pick up the library Wi-Fi. However, the park now has its own Wi-Fi. There is a small elk herd that roams the park occasionally. If you’re coming in with a tall class A like an Essex or Marathon you may want to look around first because some of the roads in the parks have some low hanging utility wires. We did not use the restrooms/showers or laundry so I can’t comment on their condition. There’s only 3-4 picnic tables in the park so bring your own. A very limited number of the pads actually have a small asphalt patio but for the most part it’s camping in the woods. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2013
$33
This is a beautiful town and area. The RV park is like moving to Northern Exposure. Big trees, wildlife walking thru the park (a cow elk strolled by our site.) The park is not really developed much. There are several long-term residents in antique (read junky) trailers. The bathrooms/showers were locked and we weren't given a key, so no showers. Pretty, but extremely rustic. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$33
If you have Passport America, it's a definite yes for staying here. Otherwise, it's an "okay" stop for a couple days on your way across US-12. They don't take Good Sam. The grassy sites have hookups that are "side by side" so they are very close together. Even the pairs are pretty close. Although they do take credit cards, when I called to make a reservation, they did not request my credit card information. (Good to know). When I arrived to check in, they had my reservation but my last name had been completely misheard. They don't charge extra for cable TV, but not all sites have cable. If cable is important to you, ask for a cable site. Pretty decent cable, lots of channels! The rate I am showing is with all taxes. The park does NOT have Wi-Fi, but it's a very short walk to a park with picnic tables next to the library where you will detect the library's Wi-Fi. Make sure you connect to the correct one, as you will detect a LOT of different Wi-Fi's. It worked pretty good. If you need to use the restrooms or the laundry, you are issued keys for those. I did not use the restrooms, so I cannot comment. I did use the laundry. It's ok, $1.75 to wash,and $1.75 to dry. They trust you to return the keys. I don't know why "swimming pool" was checked "yes". I'm not seeing a swimming pool. If you really need a shady site, you get to negotiate your way around the trees. All I can say is...this park has the basics! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$15
This park is under large trees, just behind the Packwood town library. There is a good little coffee house right across the street and a good burger place (the one with the skis) just down the highway to the south. The elderly campground operator (anyone who looks older than I is elderly) was initially taciturn, but a nice fellow. We had two rigs (my son was traveling with me) and wanted to have spaces together, so the operator set us up in a grassy, less formal area with hookups, where my son had an elk follow him to the restroom. This park is older, rustic, and has some minor maintenance problems. The restrooms are clean, and are sufficient if not luxurious (the mens’ restroom had two each shower stalls, toilet stalls, and sinks, no urinals and no soap, but the showers had plenty of nice, hot water under good pressure.) The regular rate seems a bit high, but I paid $15 with a Passport America card, and considered the park a good value for that price. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$31
This RV park feels like a camp with beautiful, old, 150' tall pines with a great view of Mt. Rainier and driving distance to Mt. St. Helen. The park is close to many dirt roads and trails in Gifford Pinchot Nat'l Forest. The park is within walking distance to restaurants and a grocery store with two gas stations that sell diesel. For a minimal fee (in the summer) you can swim and golf at the local country club a couple miles away. There are great photo opportunities here; from the elk to the river behind the park. The park manager was very helpful providing information about our interests. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$33
If you want concrete pads and manicured landscaping, this is not the place for you. It's a quirky, friendly campground in a beautiful setting among grass and huge old trees; there are even elk wandering through on many evenings. Lots of great hiking in the area and lovely drives to Mt St Helens and Mt Rainier. Excellent free Wi-Fi available from 9am to 9pm at the local library just steps away. Sit outside to use it when the library is closed! Only one block from the highway but minimal traffic noise. Contractors primarily on a separate access road so no disturbance from early truck traffic. Easy access for any size rig: ours is a 42 ft motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
The manager here is pretty darned good. The park itself is funky and below average as regards hookups and parking surface. The electricity that we experienced was no more than 30 amp using ancient electrical boxes. We were here during the fall Packwood Flea Market so every piece of available space had an RV or tent on it. It rather reminded us of camping at a state fair. The upshot is we had fun; the camping albeit funky was not a bad experience at all. They need to trim trees so you can make it down the newly graveled access roads in the park as well as into many of the sites themselves. We would stay here again, however. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2010
$15
We were very disappointed with this park. There was a huge pile of excrement next to our sewer dump and the entire "park" was very unkempt. I was afraid to go into the bathroom, and when I did try, the door was locked: we were never given a key. To make it worse, it was 100 degrees and we only had 30 amp. There aren't many park options for big rigs: but would not recommend staying here. There was another RV park about 7 miles down the road that looked much nicer. Rate reflects Passport America. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
We stayed here for two nights, at $15.00 for one night using our Passport America card and $30.00 the second, plus tax. We couldn't use our Passport America card the second night because it was a weekend. The park is an older park and it shows it's age. Our site was a pull-through grassy site with full hookups. The RV park's location is very good as it is near the southeast entrance to Mt Rainier. We drove to Longmier, parked our car, and took the free shuttle up to Paradise, which we recommend, as it is very difficult to find parking at Paradise. If the weather is clear, be sure to take the drive up to the Sunrise overlook. It's awesome! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$15
At first glance we were very sceptical about this park. It is old and run-down. But it was a deal with our PA discount. The location is great because it is so close to Mt. Ranier. It's also right in the town of Packwood. There are several good restaurants that we could walk to. There is a library next door so I was able to connect to their WiFi. The spaces are big and there are huge shade trees surrounding the park. We saw elk roaming around in early evening. We camped here for 4 nights and would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$33
Our truck broke down in Packwood, a tow truck towed us to this campground. We stayed here while our truck was in the shop getting fixed. We enjoyed our stay here: elk roaming through the campground. Management was very professional and nice. Would recommend this campground to anyone and would definitely come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$30
Thank you Packwood RV Park for going out of your way to make us comfortable. We think the new management made this RV park what it is. We will be back during the winter for a good get away. We love this park. The owner should be very happy they have such awesome people running the park. Your special kindness sets you apart from the rest of the world. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$18
We arrived in the early evening to a clean campground with elk running freely. The woman was polite and allowed us to drive through and choose the site that would cover our needs. The manager even let us borrow some key things that were forgotten in the scramble to get on the road! The bathrooms were well kept and the showers were free (a rare find these days). The kids loved that they could walk to the store because the location was so convenient. We would recommend this campground to anybody traveling in the area and will return next year as well. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
Very uncomfortable, looked like people lived here year around, too much late night activity for us. Did not feel safe. Dirty icky bathrooms. Smokers in bathrooms. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2009
$28
We have camped here twice in the last two years while working in the area and visiting with relatives. The location was the most convenient for our purposes. Packwood has a huge flea market on Memorial Day and Labor Day weekends. We had to change sites when we were there over Labor Day 2008. This is an older RV park with large shade trees. The facilities are adequate but not real well maintained. Our site had a good view of Mount Rainier and lots of elk right in town. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2008
$27
Friendly lady in the very messy office. Park is not well kept. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2008
$31
The RV Park is unkindly maintained. It is shady under big old trees. The owner was kind and helpful. WiFi is sometimes available from the public library next to the campground. The park is quiet overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2006
$22
There were permanent tenants in this park. Scary ones at that. Lots of coming and going from a couple of the 5th wheels parked here. There were lots of shady characters floatin' around. Said it was under new ownership so maybe they hadn't got a chance to clean it up yet. We stayed here to ski White Pass but will make another choice next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2006
$25
Sure wished we had found this site first before our stay at this stinker. Where to begin? This is one of those "RV Parks" with permanent residents. Trailers up on blocks with tarps over them, etc. The managers were new and stated that "The owner doesn't allow overnighters". In other words if you are passing through Packwood and need a place for one night, pass on through! No picnic tables, no fire pits or grates, very un-kept. We could find no other parks listed on other sites for this area and since we were going skiing in the winter at White Pass, the Forest Service campgrounds are closed this time of year. We did find while we were there that there is an "RV" parking lot directly across the street from the White Pass ski area for skiers to use. No hookups. There is also a much much nicer looking park 7 miles west of Packwood, called Cascade Peaks RV park. In summary, stay away from this park, we won't be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2005
$23
This is a lovely park with grassy sites situated among huge old growth fir trees. I was also very surprised to read the first review. This isn't a concrete resort, but a delightful little place within minutes of the entrance to Mt. Rainier National Park. Saying it's "smack in the middle of town" is kind of silly, since the town of Packwood is so tiny. Don't know what the population is, but the whole town is 4 streets that cross Highway 12. And since the entire area is so remote, in such deep forest, it was comforting to be camped close to civilization, especially after we saw the 6 bull elk standing beside the highway just past the city limit sign. We also found the owners to be very friendly and helpful. The sites can be a little confusing, which is why the owner dropped what he was doing and led us to our site. He stayed to make sure we were happy with the site, which was fortunate, because our sewer hose wouldn't reach, and without batting an eye, he moved us to a site nearby which was perfect. The sites are confusing only because they left the huge old trees in place, and forests seldom grow in straight lines. As for having nothing to do, don't go to Packwood if you expect an amusement park feel. This is a laid back area in beautiful forest area, and if you can't find anything to do it's certainly not the fault of the RV park. We spent a day exploring Mt. Rainier (breathtaking views!), another day taking walks and bicycle rides, and another day recovering. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2005
$22
This is a beautiful park with wooded and grassy areas. The restrooms had brand new toilets and sinks installed. The showers were very clean and were tiled. The park has a laundry room, a park with playground and lots of nice areas for walking pets. All the necessary facilities one requires when on the road are within walking distance, such as restaurants, post office, hardware store, and grocery store. Propane was available right across the street. This park was bought by new owners in September of 2004. They were exceptionally friendly and informative. We spoke with them in length. They have been busy doing upgrades to the park, and had just launched their new website, and were working on a live reservations system. I did read the other reviews that were posted, and am very surprised that they rated this park and people as they did. The only thing I can think of is that they recorded their visit date incorrectly. The couple that just took over the park had shared with us, that the two previous sets of managers that had been in there had not cared about the park's cleanliness, or repeat business and just camped to collect a wage and free lodging. The park is definitely one to see for yourself. We will be going back there in May for the annual Memorial Day Flea Market. The park's website is very informative so please use your own judgement. Happy Trails!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
November 2004
$25
Two words: run and down. The staff was less than friendly, when they were even there. Apparently office hours mean nothing. They charged my credit card prior to us arriving. I explained to them that this was against the law. They basically gave me a bunch of "playing ignorant" double talk. I got my $$$ back though. We left early and stayed somewhere else. Some sites have concrete pads in the middle of grass. Others you just pull onto the grass next to a hose spigot. Doggie land mines all over. The park is right smack in the middle of town (Packwood) next to a city park, but there is absolutely nothing to do. There are much nicer places to stay up at Randle. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com