220091 User submitted reviews online!!
Bear Cave Resort was rated 5 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (269) 695-3050
CGID3383

Bear Cave Resort

Camp Information
Sites
114
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$1



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   5   3   1   7   7   7   4   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2014
$1
We camped here the 15th of June. The pool and lodge were not open. Both were closed for maintenance. They thought the pool would be open in the next week or two. There is a new manager this year and he is trying to get things into shape. The road into the campground is narrow dirt and gravel. Hope you don't meet another unit going the other way. The water connections are hit and miss. frequently four or five to a connection. The sites are level and many have concrete pads. Verizon is two bars. Would come back but only because I'm a Thousand Trails member. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$10
Large back in sites with lots of room between other campers. No Wi-Fi, no cable, poor facilities. Seems like we were at the end of the season as facilities were closed or run down. An okay for one night stop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2013
$1
TTN rate. I can't cover it all in this review. This campground isn't worth the stop. Power and Water are issues. General upkeep and maintenance are terrible, the river boardwalk and dock are scary with loose boards and totally beat conditions. Pool and spa won't be opening this year and as an alternative?? Management is offering a free tour of the "Bear Cave" which is really a disappointment as caves go. Management here are paranoid and hysterical; make up rules as they go along and have to deal with problems or unhappy campers, or both. The comment we heard most often from the two managers?? "We both have college degrees and we aren't stupid." Does that make any sense when it comes to constructive customer service? The conditions here are pretty much out of control. There is absolutely no security at this CG; the gate is jammed open and there is no surveillance system and no access control. We would never consider returning to this CG and we suggest others avoid coming here; stay away, it isn't worth it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2012
$79
This was suppose to be a really nice campground. We drove four hours to go to bear Cave Resort. We were very disappointed when we went to the showers; water pressure sucked; the bathrooms were very nasty. Then we went to the rec center where you're suppose to be able to play arcade games, ping pong, and pool. Well, all the arcade games were broken; they just ate the money. The pool table was broken as well; the change machine part was stuck so you couldn't get the balls to play. The water fall was not what we expected & neither was the cave! The pool was absolutely horrible, very dirty. This may have been really nice thirty years ago, but now it needs a lot of updating! To top it off the whole family came home very sick with e-coli. I really hope they clean and shock that pool more! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$42
Rustic setting on the river with sites in the heavily wooded area or out in the open. Mainly gravel or hard packed grass and clay. Could use some updating in the showers and baths but overall a peaceful setting and quiet. Roads are very narrow but accessible and office and activity center is friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$1
We stayed here under our Thousand Trails membership at 0$ in our 40 ft motor home. There is a limited number of full hookup sites and we were fortunate to get a nice one. We got easy access to satellite TV, which is lucky because most sites are wooded. Try sites 150 through 157 for full hookup w/50 amp and satellite access. Unlike a previous reviewer, we had no water issues. Our Verizon cell service was one bar at best. This could be a 9 but it needs plenty of maintenance. Our site had good solid gravel and was easy to level. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$15
Nice, woodsy. Had it to ourselves mid-week. Probably tight & crowded weekends. Good showers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2011
$1
No one at available for check in at 5:30PM arrival. A employee was later located and advised us to find a spot and check-in in the morning. Camp is in serious need of maintenance. Probably was a "Gem" in by-gone days. Several board-walks and stairway need repair or replaced as the wood has rotted. Security gate not working and appears to have been that way for a long time. Water quality is terrible, foul odor and taste and pressure was low. Nice area of Michigan, only 16 miles to St. Joseph which is worth the trip. Could become a very nice place again if some time, effort and money invested. (Seems to be a issue with the Thousand Trails organization, not investing in their properties.) I may visit again because the area is so nice, but will take plenty of bottled water. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$10
Nice surprise, open sites for satellite, 50 amp, water, sewer all for $10 C2C rate. St John's river is close by, with waterfall in park. AT&T is minimal, enough to surf with, but not much else. There is some cell service. Park is really well maintained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$10
Our rate reflects our membership in RPI. This campground was a very good value for the rate we paid. They offered full hookup including 50 amp service. We had good satellite reception. The security gate is still broken, but that was not one of our priorities given the location of the campground. The campground borders the St. Johns river, and campers have use of the boat ramp and limited dockage. The only inconvenience was that our Verizon cell phone was unreliable, and our Verizon air card did not work at all. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
People in the park were very friendly. After you check in, you're left to choose any site available. Sites are gravel, grass all relatively level. Big rigs have no problem after you get into the park. The entrance is tight with low hanging branches but we were able to squeeze in. We would probably not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$01
We are Thousand Trail members and had a mediocre experience at this facility in 2006. Understanding the local ownership had changed, we decided to try again. It's still a Thousand Trails resort, and we're sorry to report things have gone from bad to worse. The security gate is broken and now just left open. The gravel roads got really nasty with rain. The pool was cold, bathrooms filthy and the facilities just look dated. There was no enforcement of quiet time and seems we heard it all. Late, loud parties after 1 AM, combined with late night, alcohol fueled, screaming fights. Add to the mix, children up and yelling at 7 AM while at the playground. Also had the impression most of the sites now occupied by long-term seasonal campers. Never again: we've had enough of this campground! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2003
$6
This is a Coast to Coast park. Roads were gravel. Sites were gravel/dirt and level. Big rigs would want a site in the open area rather than in the area of trees as it is difficult to get into those sites. The park was adequately maintained. One thing to watch for is the large rock at the entrance. Two motorhomes hit it while we were there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com