218896 User submitted reviews online!!
Creekside Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 63 user reviews. Phone: (540) 984-4299
CGID3390

Creekside Campground

Camp Information
Sites
36
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   8   5   8   9   6   6   6   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$20
This is a very friendly family campground. All the staff went out of their way to help you. The campground is cozy, sitting beside Stoney Creek. They were installing new cable while we were there, so when checking in, make sure you ask for a TV box so you can get cable. Satellite television does not work, because you are in a deep valley. There was no problem with any of the hookups, but only limited sites had 50 amp. Stoney Creek is both swimmable and fishable. There is a small activity building. The city of Edinburg is within easy walking distance. Do NOT follow your GPS to get to the campground through town. It will take you over a small, narrow bridge, and the turns would be difficult for any length of RV. There are no laundry facilities at the campground, but surrounding communities have laundries. When the campground is full, the spaces are tight. The area has wonderful fishing. We have stayed here before, and will do so again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$42
They have cable TV, and free WiFi all included in price. Most sites have water/electric/sewer. They had police drive thru checking things out routinely, although when we were there, it was relatively quiet anyway. Some of the sites have large birth so big rigs can get in/our. Decent price per night for what you get. Okay, there is no pool, but there is a nice cool creek backing up to more than 1/2 the sites and kids were playing in the water. There were a few ducks running around for our entertainment. Only saw one camper here that seemed permanent and it was out of the way (but not sure it is permanent). Easy check-in, and staff very friendly. Most sites are shady. Not fully wooded, just shady but that is not a bad thing. Getting some sun during the day was nice. All-in-all, this is a great little get away weekend campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$35
Be sure and call the park for directions. Do not follow your GPS. Very nice park. We were put in the best site since they were working on the other sites after a flood. Right on the creek. Good wifi and cable. Level sites. Would stay here again. Friendly owner. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2014
$40
I really wanted to love it. I was thinking it could have been quaint so signed up for two days but left after one. What I'd hoped for it definitely ain't. Good management seems to be lacking. Our site was a really poor choice, not one that we would have chosen, had we been given a voice. Water line on one end, hook-ups at the other, and our awning blocked by a tree, 35 feet of hose wouldn't make it. I was really hoping to avoid strike three. Our second site seemed to be better, but we were informed the water was temporarily down and our cable line was broke. At this point we just cut our losses, said we would just stay the night. They happily gave us a refund, so thankful it wasn't a fight. We were asked to "Please come Again", on this they seemed genuinely sincere. I give them a "5" out of 10 for trying. As for us I think we'll steer clear. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$40
We camped here this past weekend with friends. I think the guy that checked us is was the owner and he was so nice. The campground is small, but very quaint. Not necessarily big rig friendly, but you can squeeze in. Definitely don't follow the GPS. It takes you over this one lane bridge. Very scary. The restrooms were clean. We had a site that backed up to the creek. My son loved fishing out the back of our trailer. I loved sitting by the creek, listening the to rushing water and reading my book. We camped at the end of the campground in the cul-de-sac. Our friends camped in the "super" site at the very end of the cup-de-sac. Great site, but you need to be able to pull forward into it and not back in because of the location of the hook-ups. Overall, I loved this campground. It was very peaceful and relaxing. Several wineries nearby too, which we really enjoying checking out. We will definitely stay here again, but come in from the other direction next time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$37
This park is a small quaint campground. Didn't see the owner one time, but the manager of the place was very helpful and provided excellent customer service. The weekend we went it rained all weekend, so the area was a bit muddy, but considering the bathrooms were very clean. Do not follow your GPS if coming here follow the signs. Our MH is 33ft and we were towing a car. The GPS route may have damaged both our MH and car as the grade is very steep and the bridge is only rated at 10 tons. This campground is nice if you don't have any children as there is not much to do here if the kids are along-maybe swimming in the river-in the summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$37
Small quite park, most sites back up to stream. Nice staff that monitored the campground. As mentioned before - follow campground's directions to get there - not GPS. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$41
First of all and VERY important - follow the signs to this campground. Don't follow GPS. It will send you down a one way street and single lane bridge which is very tight. As for the campground, all back in sites. Most near the creek. All hook ups work well. Good cable TV. Only one bath house at the entrance, but was clean. Not much to do here. If just an overnight stay is needed (which it was seen being used) it would be fine. Have children? Don't bring them here. Nothing here...playground or anything. Sites are close and sites 19 and 20 are tough because of tree dead center of driveway. No difference that I could see in super site and regular. Nice owner. Very friendly. If you have children and are in the valley sightseeing, I'd choose another campground . We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
As a previous poster advised, do not follow your GPS; follow the signs, taking a right turn when you reach the "T" at Highway 11. While it may be big rig accessible, I wouldn't call it big rig friendly. Access requires a trip down a single lane, winding road with a 10%+ downgrade, and the interior of the park is small and could pose a problem for a 40' or longer rig. Sites are mostly gravel, fairly level, and hookups are easily accessible. Free cable TV was excellent, and WiFi worked well. Heavily treed, so not much chance of using satellite. Verizon cell and data were strong. No host/manager on site; instructions are posted to leave a check, so no credit cards. A pretty place once you get parked, but too much trouble to make it worthwhile for us to make a second visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
This campground is a gem! Easy hop from I-81 in the beautiful Shenandoah Valley (Edinburg Exit 279). Beautiful sites on tranquil fishing stream for big rigs to tents. Reliable internet and cable. Great rates: full 50 amp service down to tent sites. Easy walk to historical Civil War era town with authentic mill and museum, as well as local restaurants. Near Woodstock, Va. antique shops. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2013
$33
Price reflects a 10% Good Sam discount. This is a very pretty park with its trees and creek view. The people are hard working and aim to please. However, the sites are very close together; the neighbors' sewer hookup was only 4' from our front door! We were lucky that in the week we stayed there we had immediate neighbors for only 3 nights. The wi-fi signal was good, the TV signal rather fuzzy, and they needed some trash cans for garbage. We probably would not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$35
This is a nice little park. It is quiet except for the ducks which the wife loved. Good cable and excellent wi-fi. You need to follow the signs from I-81 and not your GPS because the road and bridge would be very difficult with a rig of any size. The signage from the Interstate is easy to follow. I would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$35
Park was very quiet except for the ducks. Nothing you can do about that. It was beautiful along the river. The owner was great and very attentive. We spent a week here and would not hesitate to come back. Access to the National Park is not far and the town is very nice. Good cable and excellent Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$40
Stopped at the CG twice this summer enroute on I-81. Nice quiet little place not far (east) from the highway. Caution: DO NOT ENTER THE CG by Water Street, unless you have a small trailer or just a camper van. (The road is very narrow with a couple of sharp turns.) Not a problem if you just follow the signs around the hill to enter, via the other way in. Sites are all back-ins, might be a bit tricky for some. One side of the sites is all on the river, which is quite pleasant and peaceful to look at, enjoy, and be near. The place is "multi-generation" family run. WOW: nice to see in today's world. (They try hard to run a decent place, and it shows!) Excellent Cable TV, WiFi: good signal. Good full hookups. The restrooms were looked after when I was here and the office was well manned. Safe at night. I am happy to know of this little spot, and will be delighted to continue to use it in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$34
This was our third stay here. This is a simple, small campground very convenient to I-81. Follow their directional signs in town rather than your GPS to avoid a narrow low bridge. Woodsy setting, but not between campsites. Some sites are right along the creek and a lot of people swim and play in the water. A short walk up to town, typical small Shenandoah Valley village. This stay the restrooms were not as clean as we would prefer and no one was around when we arrived on a Saturday afternoon, so we took a site and paid later. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$37
We stopped here for just one night, but wish we had time to stay longer. The road going down to the campground entrance is steep, but certainly do-able with a 40 ft motor home. We parked in what the sweet gentleman called the "honeymoon suite" for which he charged nothing extra because they were not busy. The site pulls right up to a deck that overlooks the stream. Ducks eat right out of your hand. We were far from the office so could not get Wi-Fi reception, but the site was so beautiful that it was worth driving up to the office and using my computer in my car. We would certainly return and would pay full price for that site if necessary. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$36
This is a small park located on the creek, as it is a small park the it is quite and quaint. Half the sites are on the river and a few none serviced sites are available for tents. A few sites appear to be seasonal campers. The owner is not always on site but usually available by phone. The access is via a loop around downtown. Your GPS may suggest a route downtown and over a one lane bridge. Unless you have a small van use the signage provided on Hwy. 11. We would certainly return when in the area. Hopefully for more than two days. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$34
Nice CG. Very quiet. Friendly staff. Try to get a site on the creek to take advantage of the sound of the running water. Wi-Fi was good. Very few cable channels. Not much to do for the children as there is no pool or playground. A nice place to go and just relax. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$34
The road in to this campground is a little steep and tight for a short distance but motorhomes made it in OK. Nice little campground on a creek. I'm not sure if it's this time of year, but has lots of gnats. Good Sam rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$34
This is an outstanding RV park! Great shaded (or sunny) sites in beautiful area adjacent to large clean fishing stream. Although we choose to stay a little back from the stream side, many great sites are bordering the stream. Very hospitable park staff (owner and family are on location) who care about their customers (also dog friendly). As a bonus, it is an easy walk up to the picturesque town of Edinburg. We stopped by three very interesting and friendly businesses in town: Fran Romeo's (for chocolates and browsing), the Filling Station (for ice coffee and lemonade) and Carmella's (for a great full meal). We made new friends at each stop in town and we definitely will be back to Edinburg and the Creekside Campground! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2011
$35
We called several times to book a site. The answering machine said that someone would call you back to confirm the reservation. No one returned our calls. We went online to reserve a site and asked to be called for confirmation. No return call. We called when on the road and finally got someone who said, site available come on in. When we got there, no one was around. Sign on door gave a phone number to call. We did and got an answering machine. This is a small RV park with gravel and grass sites. Very muddy day we arrived. Picked a site (creek view). Cable did not work, Wi-Fi was good but had to guess on how to get on. This may be a very nice park during the summer but off season it does not rate the reviews it has received. This is a father and son operation and the father dropped by later to get payment for the site. He offered to call his son to look at the cable problem when advised that the cable did not work. As it was fairly late in the day and we did not have supper, we declined the offer. The $35 is with Good Sam discount. Would not stay here again even for an overnight. The GPS wanted us to go to this park over a bridge that has a 10 ton limit. The signs leading you to the park has you going down a hill with the road so narrow that when we met a car going in the opposite direction, the car had to back up as there was not enough room for both of us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$33
Very nice, quaint place run by local people who couldn't be nicer. We were in site #25. Had outstanding web access, steady and fast! Nice hiking trails nearby. Ask one of the guys that runs the place to tell you how to get to Millertown hiking area. It's hard to find but a nice hike. Played golf at Shenvalee: it was awful and way over priced! Getting here is a bit odd as you are driving your coach through a small neighborhood but trust their directions over your GPS. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$45
We come to Creekside every year for our anniversary get away without the kids. We stayed in the super site which was $45 instead of the regular site at $30. But well worth it as our awning opened directly to the stream and we had our own private deck on the creek. Very friendly laid back campground. We recommend dinner at Sal's and lunch at Garden of Eden restaurants: both walking distance! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$31
This is definitely a campground atmosphere and that's fine with us. Owner is very friendly and helps you get into your site. If you are a large rig, some sites are difficult: all are back ins, some back up to the creek and some not. Wireless is not good, however, our air card worked great as well as VZ cell service. Two VERY good restaurants in Edinburg and both within walking distance to campground. We would definitely stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
I have to echo the previous sentiments with only one criticism, the internet was insufficient. If I was able to connect it was before 6 am or after 10 pm. Then it was on and off while trying to do something. He has no password on the system and neighbors close enough to take advantage of the generosity. In looking at the numbers, $30/night times 30 sites, times 30 days and 12 months a year, the park has the capability of over $300,000 a year. Granted I don't know what his taxes and expenses are, but if he is not 100% full, it can only be the internet which is becoming a very important asset to a campground. The system needs to be set up to prevent game-playing and using a telephone which will use up the resources and prevent many from using it. I would most certainly camp here again but I would like to see a better internet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
Wi-Fi was available but was unable to connect. Strong signal for AT&T web service though. Close quarters between sites but still plenty of room. Water pressure was excellent. Kids loved the fishing and feeding the ducks especially the babies. No playground or swimming pool. A couple of excellent restuarants within walking distance (1/2 mile). You would have a chance to walk off part of the sumptuous meal by the time you get back to the CG. DONT USE MAPPING PROGRAM to get here: follow the signs and turn right on Route 11. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$31
This park is very small but very nice. Site was on a stream, not a pull through, but easily accessible for our 38 footer. Attendant escorts you to your site and directs you into it. People are extremely friendly. I would definitely stay again. Very restful. Can walk to town, and it's close enough to stores for whatever else you might need. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$27
We stayed here for an overnight stay while traveling. A diamond in the rough! Very nice staff. We camped in a 36 ft motorhome towing and had no problems. The little creek behind almost every site was sweet! This was a quiet campground and wished we had found more like it on our trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$30
We stayed here for a quick over nighter on our way to DC. The gentleman at the desk was very friendly and helpful. We stayed at a creek side site, where we were the only ones. The sites appear to be small (but not unusually so for a private campground). The bathhouse was small, but clean. There was only 1 shower for each for men and women for the entire campground. We'd stay here again for an overnight trip, but probably not for more than 1 night. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2009
$33
I could not level easily in two different spots. By easily I mean with front tires still on ground. Power had an open ground at one site, and low voltage on other one. I would not stop here again for an overnighter as I had to unhook and get out the wood and move sites, etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$40
What a nice campground next to a creek with beauty and with fish! Creekside Campground is a great respite for three or four days of Shenandoah Valley touring. Many of the sites have a great view of the creek, all within walking distance of uptown Edinburg's shops and restaurants. What a nice campground next to a creek with beauty and with fish! Creekside Campground is a great respite for three or four days of Shenandoah Valley touring. Many of the sites have a great view of the creek, all within walking distance of uptown Edinburg's shops and restaurants. It's a no frills, no gimmicks kind of campground, but it offers shade on a hot August day and the babbling, gurgling sound of cool mountain water. If you visit, you'll have to take a mystery trip to avoid a treacherous in-town, un-railed bridge, but with nearly 50' we had no problems in taking the scenic tour. Leave the window cracked after you turn the lights out and sleep to the sound of the creek! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
Small very quaint, no frills campground. Owner was very nice and helped us getting into our spot. Very good gravel road and level ground to park. We were surprised with the good reception we got from the basic cable the park offered. I have a wireless (Verizon) card that worked very well at the campground even though it is a wooded area. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
Great campground, site on a large creek. One of the better private CPGDs we have found in 2 ½ years of full timing. Don’t follow GPS; follow directions on CPGD website. At first we were turned off by lack of cpgd map, lack of info about area, but realized it’s all about the laid back atmosphere. One hour from George Washing National Forest and Shenandoah National Park. TV, Wi-Fi were great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
Owners working hard to update setting; some full timers, but not the clutter associated with long used sites. Good price, good access to I 81. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$30
This is a small RV park in a lovely setting by a creek. Our 42' rig was accommodated with little difficulty, but if the park had been more filled when we arrived, it might have been more challenging to get parked. The owner (or son, I don't know which) was most helpful in directing me into the back-in space by the creek. I was also given directions to local attractions. I didn't use the wi-fi, but was able to see the signal on my laptop. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$27
Unlike the previous reviewer, we had absolutely no problems with the owner and his son. Both were extremely friendly and eager to help. Sites were tight. They are very close together and not very deep. Wi-Fi was good when it worked, but intermittent. We were in site 26, right on the creek, and loved the view out our rear window. Be sure to follow the signs to the campground and not the GPS. It is a little further but an easy drive. The most direct route will take you thru very narrow streets with sharp turns and across a one-lane 10 ton bridge. This is a good park to use as a base to explore the surrounding areas. Be prepared to drive a little for variety in dining if you stay more that one day. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2008
$30
I stayed here a few times and will never return. The camp host is no host at all and his wife is equally as unpleasant. The campsite is tight and not a lot of room for error. We were RV'ing with two other couples and enjoying ourselves until the evening of the first night. A neighboring camper drove in and because of the tightness had to do some extra maneuvering to back his 5th wheel into the site. The camp host considered it our fault that this guy didn't have straight shot into his campsite. I suppose he wanted us to move the picnic tables to park our tow vehicles there. Now mind you, we moved our vehicles when the neighbor arrived to try to give them more room. We had to move in front of someone else's campsite temporarily. Anyway, the camp host and his "lovely" wife felt it was our fault that this guy had to maneuver into his spot. He and his wife began yelling and cussing at all of us. The host even pushed one of the men in my group. We demanded that the owner be called. The host's wife called the local law enforcement instead which was fine, we had nothing to fear. After all it was the host that did the assaulting. So the cop showed up and made excuses for the host - "he's stressed." etc. We demanded the cop call the owner which he did. The owner arrived, apologized and was even told by another camper that the host did push our friend. BTW, this camper told the cop too. The owner promised that he would be there the next day to "make things right." Guess what, the owner was a no show the rest of the weekend but it was obvious he told the host and his wife to leave us alone. We are very disappointed in this campground. The owner had the opportunity to do the right thing which would have prevented the post but declined to do what he promised to do. Again, this was not our first time at this campsite and other friends of ours have had bad experiences with the host. Quite frankly, the host has no business being a camp host considering his disposition. It's obvious that there is a clique at this campground for regulars and if you're not a regular good luck to you. Who knows what sort of mood the host will be in during your stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$30
We had left Montreal early in the morning and were looking for a place to camp overnight. Saw the sign on I-81 and turned in. They are about 2.5 miles from the Interstate, easy to get, just follow the sign. Someone actually showed me to the site and help me back in. I set up the trailer and then went in the office to pay. Small but delightful campground on the river. They are family owned and extremely friendly. Shower (1) was very clean and so were the bathrooms. Sites have all hook-ups and cable. Really enjoyed my (short) stay and would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$30
We were just looking for a place to stop for an overnight stay, and this campground turned out to be a nice little surprise. As mentioned several times, follow the campground signs, and not your GPS unit's directions. When we pulled up, I really wasn't expecting much. It was a small campground, with about 27 sites (the rest are for tents). It was right on the banks of a small creek, which the kids loved. I didn't expect it to have WiFi or cable, but it did. The WiFi signal, while not super strong, was adequate. There were flowers everywhere, and this made for a very nice landscaping touch. Several of the trees were wrapped in lights, which made for a nice touch in the evening. Like the others before, we walked across the bridge into town, and enjoyed a fine meal at the Italian restaurant. This was at the recommendation of the owner/manager. There is one shower available in each of the restrooms. We didn't use them, but they did appear to be clean and functional. The creekside sites did tend to slope downward, so a fair amount of leveling is required. We believe this campground would make a great base for exploring the area's historic sites and offerings. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$45
This is a great, "do nothing", campground. The creek is beautiful. The campground is privately owned and very clean. You feel like family here. We enjoy it very much. Don't follow your GPS direction. When you come off of I81, follow the campground signs. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$32
Creek was very nice and right by the door. fishing in the creek. Sites are well spaced. facilites are ver good. Manager was very nice and helpful. Walk to town was easy. Rustic setting. facilites were good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$45
This is a charming little campground. The creek is beautiful and I saw several children enjoying a "tubing run." The sites were level and the trees and the sound of running water made it a relaxing stop. The town of Edinburg is a short walk away and there are shops and cafes, as well as some beautiful older homes with well kept gardens to look at. This would be a good spot to use as as a home base for exploration of Northeast Virginia. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$23
Very beautiful setting on the banks of a creek. It is unfortunate that you are unable to walk along the stream past the campground, but it appears the adjacent land is privately owned. The hosts are very nice, and the campground is clean. I would not want to bring my children, because there just isn't much for them to do. It's very small, even for bike-riding, and there is no playground or pool. Also, the sites are VERY close together-we did not have a campfire because it would have been too close to either our camper or the one next to us. You also might want to make sure you have an adapter with you-we have a 30A plug but had only 50A available at our site; luckily, we had an adapter with us. So, it's a beautiful location, quaint town, nice people, but very small and close together sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$27
We stayed here for 1 night on our way south. It's easy access off of I-81. Our site backed up to a pretty little stream that campers were fishing in. The road in does have 1 blind narrow curve, but the locals seem to be aware that campers use the road and proceed with caution. I wouldn't let that keep me from stopping here. It was a good stop for us, and we'd stay here on our next trip south. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2008
$25
Planned as an overnight stop on way to South, stayed 2 nights due to 5" snowfall. The access road is fine in dry weather but scary in snow. Turned out to be a very good place to wait it out. Cable & wifi provided entertainment until the sun came back. Would like to get back again to enjoy in nicer weather. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$28
Very nice, pretty, and clean camp on a creek with ducks and geese. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. All the sites are back-in, but they have sites big enough for the biggest rigs and room to maneuver as you back in. Please heed the earlier warnings -- do not use your GPS to find the camp. Once in Edinburg, follow the signs instead. If you follow the GPS, you will end up on a narrow, steep, curving road that has a one-lane, 10 ton bridge with almost no guard rail at the bottom. It will be scary if you are under 10 tons but you will make it; if you are over, you will have to back up on a hill (with the curve) as there is no place to turn around. The signed route is well marked and will only take you a short distance further. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$27
This is an absolutely fabulous, relaxing campground. We spent the weekend here without our children to celebrate our 16th anniversary. The owners are wonderful and truly made us feel like we were their personal guests. The creek is beautiful and peaceful. We enjoyed Sal's: the local Italian restaurant and horseback riding near by. This campground is a small, family run place with a whole lot of charm. There are no activities and the only playground is nature itself. The evening before our departure, the owners made a trip to our site just to thank us for staying with them and welcome us back in the future. Very wonderful! This will be a must for us every year, if not more frequently! My favorite campground so far! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$27
Camped here over 4th of July. The staff and management were most helpful, friendly, and informative. We had a site right on the stream and it was plenty big. We saw big rigs, 5th wheels, and trailers that all fit in fine. All that has been said about the ambiance of the campsite and town are true; it was lovely and relaxing. On the Saturday night after the 4th, they repeated the fireworks show they had done on the previous Saturday. It was a delightful exhibit of sparklers and music that lasted almost a 1/2 hour. A number of folks from town came down to enjoy. All in all a great spot to go, relax and spend some time. Why only 9 instead of 10? The sites were not "tight" but were close. We could put the awning out and still have room, but the folks on either side were closer than we have had at state campground sites. The road in is narrow, but using caution and reasonable speed, there are no problems. We echo all the positive comments earlier and scoff at the negative ones. This is truly a great spot to spend time and see the valley. (And don't miss the chance to go the a wine tasting at the local winery!) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$27
I was just there for the weekend and met some great new friends. The place is very friendly and clean. They even have Wi-Fi "free" right on site. The host's are very friendly and were very busy, it was a sold out weekend. Best small place around, with a lovely town. Lots to see and places to tour. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$27
Like so many other CGs better directional signage would be a huge help. GPS wants you to access over a weight restricted bridge. The route in takes you down a narrow section which is not that difficult with a 5er & truck over 55' long. How many other CGs offer sites where the back of the trailer can hang almost OVER a stream? The center of town is only a short walk away. This is, indeed, a gem worth whatever it's smallness challenges present. We are sorry we were there just for one night being in transit with little time to enjoy. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$27
Adorable! There is really no other word. The campground and the town of Edinburg are totally adorable! It's the size of the campground that makes it quaint. The are not very many campsites and several were occupied with long-term guests. Most of the sites were average, some were small. We have a 40ft motor home with two-slides and our site was absolutely perfect right on the creek. We weren't even in the big-rig site. Access in/out of the campground it not an issue following the numerous signs from I-81. The roads are plenty wide enough for two vehicles and I can assure you a "stand-off" is not necessary unless you can't drive your motorhome/camper and if that's the case, well. The campground has the most pleasant atmosphere. The landscaping alone is amazing and you can tell the owner has a personal investment in the property. There are hanging flowers from the trees and several water features including the water mill at the main building. The staff is beyond helpful. The owner checked in on us and realized our TV picture wasn't as he would have expected. (Its was fine for us.) He loaned us a cable booster for the weekend. (We have since bought our own.) This is not a kid friendly campground, there are no playgrounds, scheduled activities, pools, arcades, mini-golf, etc. That's not to say that children couldn't entertain themselves the old-fashioned way and there were many children camping during Memorial Day weekend when we were here. There is a creek right next to the campground and people were in all day either tubing or swimming. Further up the creek people were fishing, although I can't imagine they were very successful given the noise of the swimmers. There was an ice cream social the weekend we were there with real homemade ice-cream. It was a wonderful experience. Because the campground is so small, there is a definite sense of community and family and the owners really exemplify this. The town of Edinburg is just as adorable and we very much enjoyed our visit to Sal's. It is a fabulous restaurant, in an unassuming building, with the best Italian food I have ever had. (I recommend the cannoli.) We also toured a few little towns near Edinburg and stopped for lunch at an authentic roadside diner. There is plenty to do with nearby caverns and wineries. We will absolutely stay here again and we are looking forward to it. I wouldn't change a thing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$27
This is a gem of a campground. It's small, some of the sites are very close together but the owners and the ambiance more than make up for it. Roughly 25 sites plus a few tent sites located right on the creek. My site was located right on the creek and other than it being very hot and humid, it's a great stay. They have all the hook ups, 60+ channels of cable TV, firewood, ice but no camp store. Edinburg is a stone's throw from the campground where gas and groceries can be had. They have curbside trash pickup every evening. The check in process is on an honor system meaning the office is not staffed all day. You go and set up in the site you want, then settle up with the manager when they stop by in the evening. The roads are well marked from I-81. Don't follow your GPS directions as you will be led thru town and roads that can barely be negotiated. I am planning on making several trips back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$30
This is a very nice campground with about half the sites on a beautiful creek and the other half in view of the creek. The owners are very friendly and accommodating. The road access is a little tricky but certainly not that difficult and the campground is more than worth the small amount of inconvenience. I pulled a 32 foot fifth wheel and made it fine. As someone said in another review...don't use your navigation system once you get off the interstate. Just make sure you follow the directions given by Woodall's or the campground web site. The sites are level and do accommodate large rigs. There are at least 5 35-40' motorhomes here right now. The area is nice, the campground is quiet and peaceful and the creek is relaxing. I will definitely come back!!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2007
$27
We went to this park thinking it was big rig friendly. Getting to the park is a job in itself. The road directly to the park is narrow with sharp curves. If you are driving a large motorhome or fifth wheel please be careful! The road is not wide enough for two large vehicles to pass one another. The park is at the bottom of a hill and near the river but the sites are not large enough for a large motorhome. We have a 40ft motorhome and they gave us the "Super Site" (13 I think) which is a pull in by the river. If you use this and have slides, there are trees in the way of the slideouts so that is a problem. The other sites didn't look much better. Spaced close together and not very long. When we arrived at the park, we were assigned the "Super Site" but when we pulled in to set up, we weren't happy and decided not to stay. This is not a Big Rig Friendly Campground in our minds. This is a very small Campground that would be fine for tents, small popups, or campers. As we were leaving the campground, we had to ascend the winding curvy road and as we reached the curve in the road a car was coming towards us. A standoff ensued..the road was so narrow that we could not pass one another. Someone had to back up and let the other pass; remember we are in a 40ft motorhome on a narrow curvy hill...Luck was on our side as the car opted to back up and let us continue through. We were very disappointed in this campground and it is one that will be crossed off of our list. Don't know about anyone else, but we like to have roomy sites that are not crammed so close together that you can almost touch the other camper next to you. Also a level site is something we look for and you won't find any at this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$25
This park is small but lovely. It is on the opposite side of a stream from the town of Edinberg. Some sound advice: follow the campground signs to get there. Our GPS wanted to take us down a very steep winding hill over a one-way bridge which would not have been possible with our motorhome. The road that you do take into the campground is also narrow and steep so it is a little hair-raising the first trip down it. The sites were good-sized but required some levelling. The owner is very nice and accommodating. You can walk up the hill to the town which is very quaint. We were only there for one night so were not able to take in some of the shops there. I would definitely return when I could spend a little more time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2006
$27
Wow! This is the best kept secret in Virginia. We had a creek front site and it was relaxing and entertaining. Campground Host was fantastic. We will definitely return!!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$27
Nice folks, nice campground, nice town. Close to several Shenandoah Valley wineries. Our only complaint is that when we and our neighbors in the next site dumped our tanks (in the sewer dump at the site, not at the dump station), the septic system overflowed into the campsites. Don't know if something was wrong temporarily or if this is an everyday occurrence. Maybe related to shallow septic system due to proximity to the creek? We would probably camp there again, though. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$28
I was here in July this year; this is the 6th time being here in July. I love the "no frills" campgroung the owners are absolutely wonderful. Town is quaint and has some nice shops. I will definitely return! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$25
This was our third trip here in three years. Love the campground and location. No a place for children which is great for us. Sits behind the town that is less then a 5 minute walk to with craft & antique shops. Very quaint and friendly. Big rig friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$25
We spent three relaxing nights here. They ask your size when you call for reservations and match spaces accordingly. We had no trouble backing in our 29' fifth-wheel. The campground hosts were helpful, assisting each rig into its space. They also recommended a great electrician who came out to our site that same evening to troubleshoot a faulty outlet. Can't see how two rigs could pass each other on the entrance road, but no traffic meant no problem. The sites were level, thickly gravelled and shaded. The campground is laid out along Stoney Creek along one center lane with a turnaround circle at its end. Walking across the small bridge at the other end puts you right in town. Use the directions to the campground that are posted on their website to avoid any attempt to drive your rig across this bridge. Bathrooms were immaculate, with two stalls and one shower in each. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2006
$25
Park is tiny with rather small spaces and a narrow downhill road to reach the entrance but this worked out fine for us; we have a 30 ft class A. The CATV was nice to have and all sites are level gravel with full hook-ups. Friendly, helpful hosts and the park was peaceful and quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2005
$23
After an extremely bad experience at another campground about half-hour away, we "found" this one and decided to stay for a few days. What a pleasant place! The camp hosts were great and took pride in keeping the plants and planters weeded and watered. The bathrooms were kept clean, as were the grounds in general. It was a truly pleasant stay and a good location to visit the wineries in the area. We backed up to the creek and watched the kids tube past. Even got to drown a worm or two! Will definitely stay there again! Edinburg is a lovely little town. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2005
$27
Nice little campground with easy access from I-81. The direct route to this place via GPS would take you across a one lane bridge that the powers that be apparently do not want rigs crossing. Follow the signs though, they take you around the back way in. We were the only ones there and did not even see the Manager. When full, this place might be a bit tight for some of the longer rigs. Across the creek is the backs of the buildings in Edinburg. Estetically so-so when the trees are bare but probably far less noticeable in the Spring, Summer and Fall. Although there is not a whole lot there, the walk to town is very short and easy. We could also see where the owners are working to maintain and improve the place. Overall, not what I would call a destination campground but we would go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com