219099 User submitted reviews online!!
Potters Creek Park COE was rated 9 out of 10 based on 48 user reviews. Phone: (830) 964-3341
CGID3402

Potters Creek Park COE

Camp Information
Sites
130
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$13



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   9   9   9   10   9   10   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$13
First time I stayed at a COE camp - very nice. I was backed up to a lake. Saw deer every day. Campsites are spacious. Neighbors are not too far away. There are shaded spots, but since I was near the lake, there weren't any trees. Although, the picnic benches all have roofs on them. One shower stall measured 6' x 10'! The other was smaller. Water/electric hookup only, but dump station available. 14 day stay only. I stayed a week because it was so nice. Boat ramp on site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$11
This is a great COE campground with good sites. The price is with a senior pass. About half of the sites have full sun, the others are surrounded by trees. A few sites are not accessible to rigs as tall as ours (13'6"). The restrooms are old but they were clean. There is lots of roads to walk or bike. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$12
Very relaxing at Canyon Lake. Sites are large and nicely spaced. The sites closer to the lake are in an open area with no trees available for shade. There are sites in the area that has some shade but most do not. Can't imagine camping in the summer heat. Canyon Lake located mid way between Austin and San Antonio. Would be a good base for visiting either area except for the traffic on highway. Visited Fredricksburg one day - a nice place to spend a few hours walking through town. Rate reflects Federal Senior Pass. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2014
$25
We stayed here, along with friends who stayed in a nearby spot. We found the gate attendants to be friendly and helpful in locating a grocery store. We enjoyed the quiet, peaceful atmosphere, and the location is pretty. We thought it was very family- and pet-friendly. I read reviews about the bathrooms not being clean, but we did not find that to be the case. We would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$12
This is a beautiful park with lots of lake views. The water and electric hook-ups are good. Stay Sunday through Thursday if you can as Friday and Saturday are absolutely packed with lots of "party" atmosphere, especially in the lower loop. Roads are paved and sites are stone/gravel with plenty of room. Each site has a covered picnic table, grill, & fireplace. If the sites had sewer, this park would be a 10. Our rate reflects the Federal Senior Pass discount. We loved it and would return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$12
This is our favorite place to stay when visiting the San Antonio area - about an hour to downtown San Antonio. We prefer the sites on the upper loop 67-84 as there is ample shade there and the trees are trimmed for big rig access. We had good Verizon access and was able to get the satellite from the roof antenna in site 67 - a tripod could get it in most other sites. Our rate reflects the "geezer" pass. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$12
We stayed here two weeks and really enjoyed it. The place really "comes alive" during the weekends form locals, but quiets down during the weekdays. If it had sewer hookups and trees for shade, would be a definite 10 (can't have everything!). The sites are spaced out from each other and laid out nicely. Plenty of room for most any rig. Lots of spaces. 14 day limit strictly enforced so no long term visitors. We will be back, after going somewhere else for 14 days! Great views of the lake and awesome sunsets over the lakefront. Nice fire pits and BBQ smokers. Great picnic tables. Not too much for the kids to play on, but not applicable for us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$14
My husband, my German Shepherd, and I loved this park! We would have stayed longer except we did not know spring break would overlap our vacation time. Before the spring breakers arrived, the park was quiet and uncrowded. We enjoyed long walks along the lakefront without meeting up with anyone else. Our site was huge and backed onto a wooded area. Deer came by around dawn behind our RV. The park was convenient for us to take day trips to Fredericksburg and the many wineries in the area. We definitely want to return, perhaps a week earlier next time. There is so much to do in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$7
Very well run COE park. Large sites with extra room for your car. Everything worked and was in good shape. Enjoyed the deer that came by the camp every morning and evening. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2013
$12
This was a real find! The price shown includes a 50% discount for our interagency pass but does not include the $10 booking fee. The hosts could not have been nicer, keeping us apprised of the closing (for wildlife control) of parts of the park and accommodating a requested change in dates with no difficulty. Our site (42) was right by the lake with a spectacular view of sunsets and waterfowl. We were there shortly after New Year's and the hosts had kept the festive decorations in the immaculate washrooms. It was so homey! One thing to keep in mind is that onsite servicing is discouraged but can be negotiated in an emergency (as we found). There are many longterm campers here and stays can be extended if you provide enough warning time. We found that the park entrance 'gatekeepers' varied in temperament tremendously, one couple clearly being very accommodating and another person quite rigid. Negotiating success might depend on who is on duty. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$12
Corps of Engineers parks are almost all great and this is no exception. We spent two nice weeks here over the Christmas holiday. The hosts in our loop were really good, decorating even the washrooms for the holidays. Part of the park was closed for a special deer herd thinning hunt by special permit so we did not use the whole park. The only minor problem was with Mother Nature. They sure do get some strong and lasting winds coming off the lake when weather fronts come through. Sure would come back again but like the rest of Texas, probably not in hot months. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$10
This is a wonderful COE campground. We stayed for a long weekend and very much enjoyed it. Sites are large, many with shade trees. Most sites have a view of the lake and have a covered picnic table. Restrooms and showers were large and very clean. Will definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$24
A great place to spend a long weekend. I was in site 92, right on the water. However, it had no trees on the site. The sites are large, have covered picnic tables as well as fire ring and grill. The sites are asphalt with gravel aprons. The restrooms were large and kept reasonably clean for the amount of traffic through them. The only ding I had for the campground is they evidently had an issue with the non-potable water line at the dump station, since there was a hole dug down to the pipe. As a result, there was no way to rinse the sewer hose when finished dumping. This appeared to be a temporary issue. I would definitely return to this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$24
Great experience! Have stayed here multiple times... and will stay here multiple more. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$24
This is a great Corp park. Roomy sites and they are all level. In the summer, get a shady spot as it gets warm here. Usually a good breeze blowing by the lake. Very nice place for the kids/grandkids to bike ride. If it had sewer would rate a 10. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$12
This is simply a beautiful park. The sites nearest the lake are treeless, but there are other sites with lots of trees and shade. Sites are paved and level, with an extra parking place for a vehicle. The grounds were very well-kept and the restrooms/showers were clean. The rate shown includes the senior park pass discount. This park does not have day-use facilities. The folks who camped there were versed in and demonstrated good campground etiquette, which always makes your stay that much more enjoyable. We'll be baaack! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$12
Rate reflects Senior Pass rate. It's hard to find fault with any part of this campground. It appears to be well managed and well taken care of. It's popular with the locals so may be hard to get in on a weekend. There are 2 sides: 1 reservable, 1 first come, first served. We couldn't make reservations because they were all booked, so we took a chance and came in on a Sunday afternoon after the weekenders had left. That strategy worked and we got a site right on the water. Very nice. There really are no poor sites in the entire campground. I think every site has a water view. Not many have shade however, so if that's important to you, you may want to look elsewhere. Our Verizon aircard and cell phone worked well here. OTA television also was good. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2012
$36
Although we LOVE this campground for winter camping there really isn't a lot for the children to do. There is no playground and the swimming from shore is very difficult and unsafe. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2011
$24
This is one of our favorite campgrounds. It's always clean and the RV spots are spaced out so you don't have your neighbor looking in your windows. This is a great place to take the kids. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2011
$18
Potters creek is an excellent place to come and relax. Located by a lake you can bring a boat and fish or walk the dogs! Paved roads, sites are water and electric. The sites have small gravel, level and there is a covered table. Some sites have shade, but most do not. I like to camp next to the lake. The water level has gone down still a great place to come. The grounds and restrooms are well kept and staff is extremely friendly. Easy to get out with a satellite dish. COE campground are always reasonable and well kept, good idea to book a reservation well ahead of time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$10
Typical COE park. Lots of space between camp sites. The deer were plenty and with a little corn you can get about 50 of them to show up. They are so used to getting fed they will come right up to you. If it had sewer I would have given it a 10 We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$18
We camped here with our grand-kids. They loved swimming in the crystal clear cool lake. Also plenty of areas to ride their bikes. The campgrounds are spacious. There is generally a breeze blowing all the time. Lots of deer feeding at morning and night. We have stayed here many times and at different times of the year. One of our favorite places to stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$12
Love this park. We have stayed here before. Lots of deer roaming around. This is a place you want to stay a couple weeks at. Would rate it a 10 if it had sewer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$12
WOW!!! Beautiful surroundings, fantastic sites, level concrete pads, good water, good electric, great views, nice covered picnic tables, easy check in. The only downer is no sewer hookup. This has to be one of the best campgrounds. The National Parks should lease theirs parks out to COE and let them fix and run them. I would go out of my way to stay here again. If you go to San Antonio stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2011
$9
This is a beautiful, well-kept campground. It is quiet and secure (gates close at 10:00.) The staff is extremely friendly and very willing to help you make the most of your stay. Potters Creek is close to good restaurants, wonderful little towns, and terrific shopping. We would stay here again. We were here for 16 days. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$18
Pluses: Beautiful, well-maintained Corps of Engineers park on beautiful lake. 124 pretty level concrete, spacious sites. Half of the sites are treed, half are sunny. Plenty of space for satellite dish. Nice covered picnic pads and crushed rock patios. Lake view from most sites, and many are right on the lake. Clean restrooms with new fixtures. 50 amp electricity works well. Half of the sites are reservable online, but there has always been room available. Friendly staff with one notable exception: rude, with a huge, private rule book and no customer service ethic. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$18
A great campground on Canyon Lake, north of San Antonio. We stayed Wed-Sat nights just before Labor Day. We had the place to ourselves until Friday afternoon, even then, lots of space for all. Beautiful views of lake, good swimming area, deer passed nearby (and accepted treats of peanuts) on way to lake. $18/night, water and elect, dump station nearby. A few over-the-air HD TV channels. Very well maintained, nearby bathhouse, large level sites, each with large, covered picnic table, grill and fire ring. Some sites by reservation, others first-come-first-serve. Park was full and we had reservations. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$18
We loved this park. The lake is beautiful and the sites were clean and well maintained. If you love to sit and watch the deer then you will love this campground. The park hosts were very friendly and helpful. The only reason I gave it a 7 out of 10 is because they have a 10:00 pm curfew. If you are not in the park by curfew then there is no way to get your vehicle back in until 7:00 am the next morning. With Schlitterbahn, Austin, and San Antonio being so close there is a lot to do but you have to plan accordingly so you're back in time to get in. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$18
Excellent Corp of Engineers park. Well maintained, wonderful wildlife, right on the waters edge. We had a slight problem with our 50 amp service, but switched over to 30 amp and notified the staff. It was a weekend, so the fix didn't happen until Monday. If you're on a water front site, there is some foot traffic through your site to the water, mostly rude, weekend only type campers. Lots of tenters, too. Will stay here anytime, especially Monday through Friday. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$9
Large, fairly level sites at this beautiful, quiet park with lots of open space. Restrooms and showers were very clean. We had marginal Sprint cell phone signal, but very good Verizon broadband. Staff was friendly and helpful. We would return to this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$9
This is a great park. Roads in park are asphalt and in good shape. Our site was long, wide, level, asphalt pad, with a table, fire ring, 50 amps and water. Lake is large and sites are close to water. You have four loops in park. Two dump stations in park that were no problem to get in and out of. Park has some shade trees but lots of sites are in sun. Deer eat and play in park day and night. Great view of the lake from our site. TV channels over the air work well. No lights in park at night. Noise free place. Staff was very nice at check in. Verizon cell and air card also work well here. Supplies are around 10 miles from here so stock up before you come in. If park had sewer we could stay here a long time and be happy. Rates were on the Golden Age card. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$18
Fabulous park! In site 57 we not only had a great view of the lake, but also of 2 dozen deer in the meadow next to us. Three came up to the edge of our site to feed. Restrooms were spotless. Very quiet at night, motorboat noise during the day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$9
Another great COE park find, thanks to earlier reviewers. Waterfront on a big lake. Park was about 50 percent full on a weeknight. A tame herd of deer and jackrabbits to stimulate the dogs, and peace and quiet for us. About 10 miles west of San Marcos over rolling hills/country roads, but worth it if you're not staying in Fredericksburg or Kerrville and want the quiet. Recommended. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2009
$18
This is an excellent campground. One of the best Corps parks. Great waterfront views. Widely spaced campsites. Friendly staff. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
This is an excellent park to stay at. The problem is with their reservation system and lack of their knowledge on reservations. They have some sites that are available to reserve online and several that are available as a walk-up which must be reserved at that facility only. The sites that are walk-up only will always show as available when reality they aren't. They are (require) "back-up" sites. So that means you hop in your vehicle, RV and all expecting sites to be available because even as you pull into the campground, they still show available...you just wasted a trip. Now the only reason we found this out is because we demanded an answer. They will not provide you with a direct number to the campground but only the COE phone number. If you're lucky enough to get a spot, it's a nice place to stay but not worth "chancing" there to be a spot available. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$18
A great campground with sites that are big and spread out so you don't feel like you are right on top of your neighbors. We love Texas State Parks and this is our first time staying at Corp Of Engineer's Park. This campground is as good as any Texas State Park we have stayed at. The only negative is due to the drought the lake is very, very low so the sites are now a long ways to the water's edge. A great place; do not hesitate to stay there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$18
Nice park. The other reviews are correct. Good Verizon cell reception. Very windy, most days, during our 2 week stay. Sewer hookup would have been nice, but they have 2 good dump stations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$9
It's amazing how nice the COE parks can be. This one is very nice. The sites are well spaced and easy to get into. Everything is very manicured. Located within good distance from the amenities of New Braunfels and north San Antonio. Quiet beauty and a deer herd that visits the park. Highly recommend this park. The rate is for the senior discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$18
Nice COE park on Canyon Lake. We stayed in a family site with 3 hook-ups, which had a large private pavilion. Drawback of a big pavilion was that there were no trees in our area. Other areas had nice trees and smaller sun-shades. Sites were all level. There was no playground, and the grounds could have been a little better kept. The swimming area was a short drive from our site, and with the lake level down, not as nice or clean as we expected. Park hosts were as friendly as could be, but the cleanup crews were rough. Dump station was clean. A strong storm came through on Saturday that wreaked havoc on the tenters in the campground and tore many awnings off, but weather before and after was exceptional. Nice looking boat ramps and dock facilities. Sites had an awesome BBQ pit and fire ring. We will return and weren't disappointed with the lack of activities, as we had driven through and knew what to expect. Everyone around us was friendly! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$18
We love COE parks. This one was well maintained and very open with fewer trees and nice waterfront sites. As with most COE parks quiet and a bit remote. Herds of deer and an amazing lightning storm were seen. A day trip to Gruene was very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$9
A great campground. The hosts were great. The campground was very clean and quiet. A good place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$9
We paid the Golden Age rate. Large, paved sites with good views of the lake. Very clean, 50amp, covered tables. If only the Corps of Engineers could control the wind! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2008
$27
This is by far my favorite park. We always enjoy the peaceful atmosphere. Deer come right up in the campground. There are large trees for shade, the sites are all paved and level, with BBQ pits and fire rings. There is no day use of the park so the only people in the campground are the campers. The gates are locked nightly. Great place for a family outing. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$9
Typical COE park, large sites, good views of the lake, good power and water. There is a large resident herd of small whitetail deer that roam the campground in the morning and evening and are quite used to people. The showers are huge and very clean. We paid $9 with our Golden Age pass. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$18
A very nice top notch Corp of Engineer park. Stayed early spring and brought our PWC and launched from the excellent facilities. Park staff friendly and accommodating. Even making reservations on line it is very difficult to get into the park due to high demand. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2006
$18
We stay here several times per year. Very large sites, no sewer, but a dump station. Sites on the lake offer no shade, but inner sites offer great shade. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$18
We stayed at sites 81 and 95. Site 95 was waterfront, no shade, and real close to a rocky beach swimming area. Around the corner was a sandy beach buoyed swimming area. There are a lot of good shady sites but none on the water. There are deer everywhere in the park and will almost eat from your hand. Nice level blacktop sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2005
$18
After leaving another RV Park in the area that we were very unhappy with we found Potters Creek which is operated by the US Army Corps of Engineers. This park appears to have very new equipment and is the best groomed and maintained park we have ever stayed in. The sites are large and the pads are paved and very level. It is very family friendly and Canyon Lake is a beautiful lake. The deer are plentiful and seem very tame as they would wander close to human inhabited areas. I would have rated this park a 10, but two things kept me from doing that. First, they have no sites with sewer hookups and second, they do not take reservations at this time which can be difficult if you are travelling a long distance. We were told that reservations should soon be availble. Not all of the 124 sites are RV sites, some are tent sites. Potter Creek will be added to my alltime favorite list. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com