206486 User submitted reviews online!!
Benbow RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 75 user reviews. Phone: (707) 923-2777
CGID341

Benbow RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
112
Date of Stay
November 2013
Latest Rate
$39



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   6   6   6   10   6   10   8   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2013
$39
The previous post pretty much hit this park right on the head. For years I'd driven by this Park with the golf course up on the hills and thought that would be a neat place to camp. First of all they were way over priced by about $10 on the basic Campsite. Second the campground was in dire need of some upkeep. And third I would not want to maneuver in this park when it is full or half full the roads are way too tight for the size of rigs that come in and out. One of the good things they had was a expanded cable network which was included in the base camp site price. I would probably not stay here again specially during peak season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$45
Vastly over priced. Probably paying for golf course. Short, un-level site. And very narrow. Restrooms had dirty sinks full of dead bugs, dirty floor littered with paper, and in dire need of painting. Nicely landscaped. Would only stay here again if under $30. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$52
A nice park with level pads and quality hookups. They're in the process of building a new kids' splash pad, so that will be a nice addition in a month or two. Note, the spa is closed during construction. Wi-Fi wasn't strong enough to use at our site (in the middle of the park), but there was good Verizon voice & data coverage in the area. We had some minor issues with management, but overall the park was OK, and we would consider staying there again if in the area. But the management could do a better job of check-in and maintenance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$46
A very nice pleasant park in a beautiful, woodsy, mountain setting. Golf and a classy hotel with fine dinning and cocktail lounge also share the area. Large sites, large clean restrooms with many showers, toilets, and sinks. Never a wait. Swimming pool was a favorite for the kids, and they were adding some more water features for future visitors. The front half of the park is well maintained, everything looking good, but the back half of the park was unkempt; leaves and twigs everywhere, if a camper moves out, you get his trash. I don't think they do any maintenance on the back 40, but the restrooms are very nice back there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$52
Great park, lots of things to do. Very nice golf course, pool, hot tub, store, Wi-Fi, good cable, big rig friendly, concrete pad and grass sitting area, fenced dog yard, and fenced dog wash. Close to freeway, good central location, close to Ave of the Giants, Shelter Cove, and along Eel River. Verizon OK, Benbow Inn next door. Tea and homemade scones every day at 3 pm. Hard to beat, will stop again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$37
Appears new? Owners are starting to fix park up. Everyone was very helpful and friendly. Park appears to have a lot of long termers and are adding several cabins. Sites are very tight with poles protecting power pedestals obstructing turns into sites. Entry into park is pretty tight especially when obstructed by random parked cars. We had a couple problems during our visit. Power issues that didn't get fixed correctly the first time. Sprinkler system also sprayed water all over rig and car. Although the water wasn't too hard, it did leave spots everywhere. Not sure we would return, especially if normal rate is $60 per night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$47
This was a wonderful base for driving the Avenue of the Giants. In addition to lovely sites, the park offers golf, shuffleboard, horseshoes and pool. The initial contact left me thinking this might be a "snooty" park, but everyone we met was friendly and helpful. We did walk under the highway for a late afternoon wine and appetizer. There is happy hour from 4-6 and fairly priced food of good quality. We would stop here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$31
A gorgeous park from what we saw, as we only stayed one night. We were placed right next to the restrooms, as we asked. Other than that, buy everything you need before getting there because their store is outrageous. It's the only place within quite a ways to get anything, so they take advantage. Closing down the game room with the business hours is a little lame, but it's not a huge deal. The restaurant next door, and walking over to it under the 101, was the best part of the night we spent there. Even if you don't eat at the pricey restaurant, take the walk next to the river and under the highway.. Very cool. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2013
$32
This is probably one of the nicer parks in the area but it is nowhere near as nice as it used to be. I'm not sure if I was bothering the lady when I checked in and handed her my cash but a smile and a 'welcome' would have been nice, also, a 'thank you', would have been nicer. It looks like about 50% permanent residents now which seems to be a trend in most western parks now. It's January so the golf course is very soggy right now but it is the nicest feature of this park. I would not recommend paying extra for a "premium" site. They are nothing more than a site on the end of a row with cheap, dirty, plastic yard furniture as the added amenity. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$35
Would probably give it a 10 if it was summer and I played golf. It's in a great valley, and the course looked very nice. We were here in January, and it was just rainy and soaked. Not their fault. The area is very grassy which is great, but it was a soggy mess and hard to stay out of the mud. There is a cement slab at each site so you can align with that. We'd love to come back in spring. As a side note it looks like a great spot for kids, too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$34
This is an older park that is showing it's age. The park is clean and neat with very good amenities including golf. The Wi-Fi and TV are good. The space we had was big enough but had a rather large puddle and was somewhat muddy along the edges. The power seemed OK but the pedestal was missing the door. The water faucet would not shut off completely. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$47
Nice park, and easy walking to dinner at the very elegant Benbow Inn. Pull-through sites are spacious and wide. Our back-in was wide, but shallow, barely accommodating our 23 foot travel trailer. Highway noise from US-101 is audible, but not bothersome. Good Wi-Fi, good cable TV, good utilities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$47
Although our overall impression is very positive, there are some things that could be improved upon. The restrooms closest to our campsite were old and worn. No amount of cleaning will make them look attractive. Sprinklers need to be adjusted and even though we removed all chairs, etc. from any grass and put everything as close to and under the slides of our motorhome. When we got up in the morning, everything was soaked including all the windows of our motorhome. It really isn't necessary to water the concrete patios. And, unfortunately, there are now permanent residents here in some old dilapidated rigs which takes away from the overall appearance of what would otherwise be a very lovely park. However, the dog wash is a definite plus when traveling with pets! We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$34
This park would be heaven if it was not on Hwy. 101, but the highway noise was not too bothersome. You can walk to the golf course, you can walk to the Inn which has a very nice happy hour every weekday, there is a good dog park and dog shower and it's right on the Eel River. The sites are nice and the voltage was good. You are about 10 miles South of the Avenue of the Giants, which was spectacular. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$30
Liked the location, the large laundry room. Was disappointed in the number of full-timers near us. No screening/privacy between sites. Rec room very dated, but nice to have for the kids when it's raining. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2012
$50
A great disappointment! It has been, terribly managed. We paid for a premium site with tables & chairs and they were too dirty to use. We made reservations way in advance for week's stay, and they gave us a muddy site. There is a lot of highway noise. The laundry room was so dirty, we wouldn't use it. Wi-fi is the worst we encountered traveling all the way across country. We left after 3 nights due to conditions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$47
Hmm, pretentious to call itself a resort. That said, the sites are level, with grass, and concrete slab with table. Would have rated higher, but bathrooms only rate a C; and you might give up on waiting for hot water in shower. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$46
Really nice place. Staff was friendly, and our spot was quiet, even though Hwy 101 runs close. An occasional jake brake could be heard, but that's it. The park seems a bit old, but has everything including a 9 hole golf course. Your green fees for park or hotel guests ($29 weekend, $24 weekday) entitles you to play all day as much as you want. I went around twice, but was running low on balls due to the length of the rough. Miss the fairway by a foot and it's in the weeds. But, fun time and would stay here again for sure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$50
$50 pull through with tax. Very clean and neat RV Park on their own golf course. Discounts for golf if staying in their RV Park or Hotel. Lots of nice trimmed trees through out the park. All spaces seemed easy to get into. Well laid out park. Playground, enclosed dog area, and even a very nice pet shower. One of the nicest pet showers I have seen in many travels. Very friendly office staff and park staff. The park guy stopped by a few times to make sure everything was going OK and if I needed anything. 1st class RV Park. I will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$31
We only stayed one night and would stay again. There are plenty of pull through sites with adequate space between each one (but without privacy). The campground was right next to golf course for those who like to play. A river runs next to campground but was difficult to access. All amenities worked great, staff was very helpful. The office had basic supplies for those needing odds and ends. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$48
Nice park overall. Paved sites, with patio and table, clean bathrooms, showers, and a very nice pool. Lots of grass but beware of the sprinklers over night that might spray your rig while you sleep. A bit on the pricey side but considering the location and easy access to US 101 and the remote location in Northern California it's a good stop. Bring lots of quarters as the wash is $2 and the dryer is also $2 but washers are normal size (not Barbie size) and there are lots of washers and dryers, no waiting. Interesting situation at the pool--after dark there seems to be bathing suits were optional with a number of guest that seem to know each other. Since the management at the front desk was gone home for the evening we thought this might not be approved by the local park management. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$46
This is a well run park and all the advertised amenities worked well. Mostly vacationers and walking distance across the river to Ben Bow Historic INN which has a good happy hour from 4-6 pm. Bring your golf clubs as it is collocated with a 9 hole golf course. Area around park is good for a couple days of sightseeing the redwoods. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$50
Pretty steep - price paid includes $3 pet charge. Sites are old and hookups are not positioned well in the pull-throughs for motorhome plus tow car. We had to dump in site in front of us as we left as our sewer hose was nowhere near long enough to hook up in our site. Enjoyed the walk under Hwy 101 to the Inn where we had dinner. Wine list was very reasonable although food was pricey. Pretty quiet considering the location next to the highway. Had always wanted to visit the Inn. Now it's been there, done that, and no incentive to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$42
We enjoyed it a lot. The sites are shady, the grass is green. The pool is wonderful. There are 3 small things I didn't like: 1. The Wi-Fi is slow - very slow 2. The cable TV was really snowy 3. There is a steep grade on Hwy 101 right above the sites and the noise of trucks trying to make the grade is a little on the annoying side. Everything else is A+. We will definitely visit again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$41
This is as very nice park and we have been traveling the US and Canada for 2 years. It has nice level, clean sites with grass and shade. The pool is well taken care of and the staff is very courteous. They have a golf course and Benbow Inn across the street. We will come back and stay longer next time! Loved it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2011
$41
As the previous reviewer stated the park is old and even though it says it's "big rig" friendly it really isn't. We have a 42' motorhome and maneuvering in the park is tight. The interior roadways and sites are all asphalt and mostly in disrepair and rough with some potholes. The sites will hold a big rig but parking a tow vehicle is difficult without blocking a portion of the roadway. If you want (need) 50amp service you need to tell them when checking in or making reservations otherwise most of the sites only have 30amp. The 50amp sites are referred to as "premium" sites. There are lots of trees so some sites make satellite reception iffy. We only stayed one night so can't comment on water pressure, etc. I really doubt if we would stay here again as a destination stop although overnight would work in a pinch. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2011
$45
Park is old. Sites are very narrow and short. I had to park on the grass on one side in order to get the push outs open on the connection side of the RV. Ground was very soft. Sunk in 4" when the RV and truck went on the grass. Every site had tire marks in the soft ground getting into or out of the site. The restrooms in the office were very clean, but NO HOT WATER for showers. The water in the laundry also was not hot. Restrooms in the back of the park were closed for the season. They were getting ready for a golf tournament on Sunday. They put us in a site that we could not used our satellite even though we requested a site so we could. They had no idea what sites could or could not receive satellite. A one night stop could be OK. Will not be back here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$42
This is a lovely spot along Hwy 101, near the California Redwoods. There is a 9-hole golf course adjoining the RV park. We had a back-in site on the golf course. It was very quiet and shady, plus we could watch all the duffers play through! Nice level paved sites, with grass between each site. Very clean restrooms and showers. We have stopped here several times, and will again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$40
This was a fantastic place to stay. There is something for everyone. The grounds and the golf course were well maintained and the staff professional, helpful and friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$43
Beautiful park from the highway. Sites were very narrow. The WiFi was very slow. But, a very clean park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$46
Stayed here before but it was lousy weather. This visit we enjoyed everything the park has to offer. Had a power problem, but they came out right away and changed the breaker: problem solved. Very nice clean pool, ok WiFi at our site but I used our USB antenna and no more problems. You do need a very small waste adaptor to use their hookups. But they do have them at the desk. Good folks, very nice check in. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$56
The park is nicely set up but we had a few issues, tight turns on inner roads, including accessing our space. Space was narrow and gave us a problem opening our slide and electrical bay door on one side and tree branches obstructed us in opening our awning. Since we would be facing west on a warm day, this was not acceptable. We had to back up a little too much, almost into the road by an inch, to open our awning. Another issue, first campground we've been to that charged high prices and additional fees for third adult and fee for tiny little dog. If I had realized this I might have made a different decision. The Wi-Fi is very slow and we are even right next to the office. This is not acceptable for a park that charges so much. Otherwise, this is a nice looking park. Didn't need the golf but if I had brought clubs it would have been fun, maybe. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$42
This is a very nice, clean park. Sites have a concrete pad and grass area between sites. We had a shady site on the golf course. There is a pool and other recreational opportunities are close by. I loved the bathrooms; this park has the most showers (6) I have ever seen! We would definitely stay here again. Highly recommended! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$49
We stayed here one night and enjoyed seeing the Redwoods (a great location for exploring them). The restrooms near us were closed. The sites were nice. The people in the office were unaware of the construction in the campground (a hole in the road, closed road, sites not accessible), so they put us on a site we could not get to. They upgraded us to a premium site for no extra charge. The laundry was quite expensive, but the doggy wash area was a nice touch. We would stay here again when exploring the Redwoods (one of the few parks in the area larger rigs can fit comfortably). The Wi-Fi was very good, but the AT&T signal was really poor. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$32
We have stayed here many times, it is an excellent one night stopover or longer term stay. We were here with a 24 rig group, the management treated us very nicely, allowing us the use of the meeting room. Golf course leaves a lot to be desired, close to cow pasture golf. A great place to stay to see the surrounding sights. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$34
I have seen it several times as we drove by and this trip it worked out. It was after hours, 5:30, when we pulled in and dark. Did the late register thing and got to our site. Ops, it's a bit tight and was exactly 55' long and the slab is about 9' wide.. Wound up with the rear end hanging over the grass. Stepped out of the "EX" and, squish into mud over my sandals. Seems they water every day, whether it needs it or not and it's really wet. That said, it is a really nice park and the golf course looks nice, even tho I don't golf. Didn't get a chance to get to the hotel tho. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$52
The park was in a very pretty setting. Very close to nearby sites. The park was not very full, yet we payed quite a bit. We were charged $6.00 extra for each of our young children (2) as well as $3.00 for our dog. Tried to use the laundry room but was not able to because it closed at 4pm and we were gone during the day exploring in the area. We stayed in an end pull through with our 38' fifth wheel. We did ask if we could park our truck in an empty spot, otherwise we would not have fit. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The park is dog friendly and was clean and quiet. We stayed here for 3 nights. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$40
Very tight spots for large rigs. In fact, if the place was even sort of full, we wouldn't have been able to attempt our site. It's not just that the sites are a bit narrow and short, but the access roads are really narrow leaving little maneuvering room. The premium sites on the ends of the rows are the only ones easy to get in and out of. The place is pricey especially this time of year as most of the facilities are locked tight (pool, spa) And it's $3 a day for the dog. We only stayed one night, and we probably won't be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$40
A nice park just off 101, could be a good spot for viewing the redwoods and southern Oregon. We spent one night: we have a 43' MH and had to unhook. Asked for an end site and was given a 'prime site' for the regular pull-through rate; the only difference was that the prime sites were on the ends of the rows and had additional outdoor furniture (picnic table plus loungers and round plastic dining table with chairs). Nice touch, but unfortunately it came across looking cluttered as the sites were narrow. Once we moved all the excess out of the way, it was ok. Water pressure seemed to be a little weak, cable TV was fuzzy. Only spent one night then moved on. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$54
We stayed here in a 45' motorcoach: the only site that would hold us was number 98. Unfortunately it's way over priced. The park is really more suited to those coaches under 38 feet and shorter. A little tight getting into the park and more than a little tight throughout the park. Some trees needed to be pruned up, others removed entirely for a longer length coach. Did have excellent Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$49
We camped here right before the 4th of July weekend and found it to be a beautiful campground. The golf course was great, even though it was a little pricey. The campsites were very easy to get into and very well kept up. The only problem we had was with the sewer connection but a very nice employee of the campground let us use one until we left. We would definitely stay here again. Next time we would like to stay in the back area where there seems to be more trees and shade. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$57
Nice RV park, but pretty expensive ($5 per day extra for dogs). The pull through spots are wide enough, but short. The swimming pool, showers, and bathrooms are clean and well kept. This is a mature park with lots of trees. The golf course looked very nice, although we did not play. The old hotel is beautiful and well worth the short walk. The town of Garberville seemed to be filled with old hippies. The Avenue of the Giants is spectacular and a must see. Beware the 3" sewer connections. Probably won't be back because of the cost. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$52
This is an older, but well maintained park located adjacent to (and part of) a golf course. We are not golfers, but chose this location for its proximity to the Humboldt area redwoods. If we enjoyed golf, we likely would give this an “8.” As with many older parks, the sites are small; however, they are level and have a nice concrete patio pad with picnic table. There are moderately sized shade trees, which were welcome in the unusual heat we experienced. Although we did not use it, our daughter’s family enjoyed the pool and playground areas. Again, since it is an older park, the sewer connection is small and may require an adapter. We use the Sewer Solution, so this was not a problem for us. The Wi-Fi signal was fairly weak from the center of the park, but use able. The showers and laundry are clean and well maintained, and the staff is excellent – management was helpful and very responsive to a customer issue. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$39
Great location for exploring the Redwoods and surrounding area. The Park is flat and level sites and also include a concrete patio. Some sites also include patio furniture. The older 3" sewer connection does require an older connection, which is available at the store. I would have given this site a 10, but the internet connection did not work until I contacted the office for a router reset, then within about 30 minutes I could connect. I will be back when in the area! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$52
They are proud of this place and the price shows. Nothing mentioned about internet. Not worth the $52 a night that we were charged. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$39
Great location for road trip through the Redwoods - must see "Founders Grove". Nice clean well developed park, friendly and helpfull staff. Nice grassy area next to each site - plenty of room for our 4 slides. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$51
I gave this park a ten because of the personnel in the front office, they were very helpful and very professional. The restrooms and showers were extremely clean. It is a wonderland in the redwoods. They have a very well groomed Golf Course and the Hotel in its self is very beautiful the activities they have on the weekends were alot of fun. I would recommend this park to anyone traveling up the 101. FHU are offered along with WIFI and cable TV included in the price. It is an older park so the sewer connection is a 3" size, no problem the store has what you need. It's a very beautiful and well kept campground. I will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$45
The scenery surrounding this campground is beautiful; lush green trees, manicured golf course fairways and the bank of the Eel river. The paved part of the RV sites, not the sites, was too narrow for my taste forcing me to step onto soggy wet lawn (note Winters are wet) each time I entered and left the RV, otherwise the facilities are very nice. Included in the rate was free tea and scones each day between 3 PM and 5 PM at the near by (5 minute walk) historic (1929) Tudor style Benbow Inn. The town of Garberville is 3 miles North. I would have given them a 10, but have been spoiled by some brand new campgrounds. Bottom line I would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2008
$35
We have stayed at the lovely RV Park many times and have always loved the entire experience. We even ventured into the very elegant restaurant for a desert and were graciously welcomed (we were dressed for camping, not a 5 star restaurant) by a man who turned out to be the owner. Our last stay was disappointing in that the restrooms were not clean; usually they are very clean. However, we did show the manager our complaint and there was an amazing response- a coupon for a free stay with golf. The Benbow is well loved by many return guests for the European atmosphere, excellent food and service. We plan to always make this RV park our stopover on the 101. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2008
$37
Here's a nice find if you're looking for a beautiful location. It is surrounded by it's own great golf course and adjacent to the historic BenBow Inn (AAA Four Diamond hotel). The park has paved sites and roads with grass and concrete patios. The cable is great with over 70 channels. The sites are not long (about 50'), but wide giving you lots of breathing room. It's just a very pretty place to be, especially if you like to golf. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2008
$38
Have stayed at the park before, and find it a nice place to stop. They placed us in a VIP spot for no extra cost, and delivered a newspaper the next morning. We will stop here again when traveling Hwy 101, but probably not during the summer when the rates are higher. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2008
$52
This park is centrally located in California Redwood country. It is an older facility as other reviewers have noted but has been well-maintained. It has been a favorite of ours for many years. Sadly however rates have been increased aggressively over the past two years to the point that it is way over-priced. We will not be going back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2008
$65
We have stayed in this park before. It is an okay park. It is old, but people were friendly, except the guy at night when I called he said it was booked completely, but I could call in morning of which I did and there were plenty of spots. Maybe because of fires causing cancelations, but I really think the guy on nights did not have a clue. It is overpriced but probably because of 4th of July, which people came for and the fireworks were canceled. Undestand if you are golfer it is a neat golf course. Probably would stay again, but not for $65.00. Restrooms were okay altho very old. But everything there is old. A must is to walk to the Benbow Hotel and go inside. Very nice. But the lake is being drained, so will no longer be a draw, because the dam has been determined to be unsafe. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2008
$52
This is by no means a resort park. This is an old park that hasn't seen an upgrade this century. The spaces are narrow and short, but they are not jammed together. It is nicely landscaped, but the restrooms and showers were dirty the two days I checked to see if I would use them. The office staff was friendly, but the overnight guy should not be allowed to get close to the public. He was very rude and insulting. They had no Wi-Fi service, even though they claimed to. The extra charge for dogs was horrible since all of the permanents left their dogs tied up all day outside their RV. If they would have refunded my money I would have gone somewhere else, and I asked. This park may have been nice at one time, but it no longer is worth the exorbitant prices they charge, and it is more joke than resort. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$37
Sites are nicely spaced for an RV park with grass lawns, picnic tables and a lounge chair. It is situated in a scenic, bucolic valley that can heat up nicely compared to other areas of the Redwoods region. You can probably get satellite here because it is not amongst the big tree area. The 9-hole golf course is a great amenity; the starter's desk is the same as the RV park check-in, so you can walk from your site. It is a fun course. The Benbow Inn is along a trail that goes under Hwy 101. It has an upscale restaurant. For other choices you have to drive to Garberbille. There is some highway noise, but not terrible. It's a good, well-run operation, I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2007
$40
Pro's - It's a pretty spot, on Lake Benbow with a golf course. They seem to really be catering to golfers so if that's your thing you will probably like it. The wifi worked well, too. The staff was friendly and there is a nice store and laundry. Cons - Definitely OVERPRICED. They charged us $5 for an extra person. They also charge a daily rate for dogs, not for cats. Sites are narrow and with a 40 ft motorhome we had to jockey around to fit in the site and put out the slides. There are also some raggedy perms here too - you would not expect that at a resort park. The cable tv did not work at our site. We only stayed one night so I did not pursue it. I could not get our rooftop satellite dish to get a signal from our campsite so we had no tv here. Some of the facilities were closed due to off season. The utilities were adequate and we did get a 50 amp site but in mid November this is way off season and the park was only about 15% occupied. If I was traveling through here again I would not stay here - I would probably look for a free camp in an unoccupied parking lot in Garberville or Willits, or stay at the Redwood Empire fairgrounds in Ukiah. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2007
$49
This park is getting old as others have commented. We have stayed here several times and every time we ask why did we come back. The streets are too narrow with cars parked in the street. We saw several coaches having trouble getting into the spaces including us. The only 50 amp sites are on the ends and they are never available. So 30 amp are the only sites available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$49
This park is okay--nothing special unless you play golf. The guys in our group like it here because of the golf and that is the reason we stop here. In my opinion, it is very overpriced. The $49 is for a 30 amp site. We need 50 amp, but will just do with 1 air conditioner rather than pay the additional $20. You do get a continental breakfast and newspaper in the $20 fee. Sites are narrow. There is a pole at the back of each site--made it difficult to get parked so that the slide could be extended. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$45
Great golf course for reasonable fees. The park is well kept with a nice pool and various rec rooms. Spots are a little close, but I've seen worse. The surrounding area has a lot to see and do. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$43
I don't understand complaints about this park being "dated". Other than not having 50-amp hookups it has all of the amenities a good park should have including a WiFi system that actually works. It is pretty with lots of trees, and very clean. It is easily the best between Eureka and Santa Rosa and a good base for visiting the Redwoods. My only (minor) gripe is a new front office system that requires guests to return to the registration desk on the day of departure to settle the bill, rather than doing it at check-in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$24
Very clean park and very friendly staff. I will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$43
I agree with prior review. The park is very dated, but clean. The people were very nice. Pads could be pressured washed and detailed, but we would stay here again. Very convent and probably the best in the area. We are not golfers, but understand from another camper that this is a great little golf course and has some great history, but this person said that somehow the history has gotten lost. No one in the office knew of this. I forget the name of the designer, but these people were very impressed and loved the golf course. We would stay here again. It is easy on and off the freeway also. I do think the ad in Woodalls is a bit overkill but it is a good spot to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$39
I like this campground . . it is in a pretty setting and relaxing. I have the feeling that if it was full up it wouldn't be nearly as relaxing as some of the sites in the back where we were are pretty close together. We enjoy walking over to the Benbow Inn (same owners) for lunch or dinner. I don't play golf, but their course was quite busy. Older, dated restrooms and no hot water one morning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$63
A clean well run, older park. Definitely family friendly. WiFi worked great. Some facilities are odd - the sewer hookup requires a non-standard fitting that is available "for sale" - negative points assigned. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$40
Very old park, clean, but very dated. Focus is on the little 9 hole par 3, much more than RV park. Overpriced. Paved streets and sites, but old. Pull throughs are short. They did give us 2 sites so we could park our truck next door. Hot tub was clean, but the jets didn't work. No one was interested in fixing that problem. May be the nicest park in the neighborhood, but don't get real excited if you stay here. We stayed here 2 nights. Advertised 50 amps, but I think they have 5 or 6 sites in the back of the park with 50 amp. You can tell this WAS a nice park in it's day. OK for overnight stay. Laundry dated too. Looks good at first sight, but many machines are not working. Out of order signs were stained from age! $2.00 wash and dry. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$32
Very nice park especially if you golf. Very dog friendly, beautiful scenery and nice hosts. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2006
$48
Nice surroundings. Close to 101, so a lot of road noise. Sites are ancient, but paved and clean. Very tight for big-rigs! Sewer connections are old and require a 3" connection, an adapter I don't carry in my rig. So I had to go into the office and buy one for no less than $15 bucks! They also dinged us a $2 per pet fee which I feel is ridiculous. So with the pet fee, the overpriced initial rate of $48 per night, and the sewer adapter I'll never use again it costs us $67 for one night in the middle of no where! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2006
$47
Way overpriced. I was here on April 30 and paid $33. Price on May 1st is $47. I would have stayed longer but would not pay that for a 'basic' pad. Seems the Benlow Inn now manages the place. The owner plans to upgrade the park but at the expense of current RVers. He should put up the money then charge the RVers after the upgrades are completed. I have stayed here on a number of other occasions. I will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2005
$35
Beautiful spot right on a golf course and a river. Close to the freeway but quiet. Not many people in November. Very clean campsites. Leaves were picked up nearly every day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2005
$50
This rv resort is in a beautiful area. The golf course that the rv resort owns is fun, challenging and pretty cheap to play. The campground needs a little TLC but overall was clean. Your enjoyment will have alot to do with your specific site. Some are more private than others. Some sites have the golf course behind them and some have the river behind them. Those offer more privacy. The pool and sauna were clean. Staff was helpful. Garberville is two miles down the road. Be ready for deep pockets at the gas pumps there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$50
Great place for family golfers! Cheap great quality, challenging course. Plenty to do here with biking, golf, swimming, hot tubs, and the little town of Garberville two miles away (great burger joint). Most sites have shade. Some with small trees. Grounds pretty well maintanied. They offer alot of evening activities for the kids. This is the place to go for a father and son to "bond" with the golfing and camping. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2005
$43
This park is in a little valley on the Eel River. It is surrounded by mountains and large trees, but the park only has small trimmed trees that pose no problem for an RV. The park is very well maintained. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The sites are 30 ft. wide and level, but the paved area between the utility posts and the patio was barely wide enough to get the slides out. The streets were paved and narrow, making it a challenge to get into a site, but we managed to get in with our 39' motorhome. This park is not really big rig friendly, but big rigs do manage to get into sites. The park is very overpriced. They did have free WiFi that worked great. Cell phones did not get a good signal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$28
We stayed here for a week-end in the spring. I thought the facilities were very nice. I think they should add more dumpsters as some campers left trash at the site when they left because there were no trash cans visable. the bathrooms were very clean and the staff was friendly. If you Golf, the 9 hole course is right there. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$40
Very nice RV park and pleasant operators. We were frustrated, however, by the daily "pet fee" and by higher than would be expected prices. Also frustrating was the fact that entire sections of the park kept losing electricity because the park could not handle all the RVs parked there. Underpowered, with old, out-of-date wiring. Still, we would recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$40
Over priced. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com