214402 User submitted reviews online!!
Fort Toulouse-Fort Jackson State Historic Site was rated 9 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (334) 567-3002
CGID3410

Fort Toulouse-Fort Jackson State Historic Site

Camp Information
Sites
39
Date of Stay
January 2014
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   9   8   10   8   9   8   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$10
Rate above is at monthly w/senior or military discount. Very peaceful location w/good, level asphalt sites (back-in only) and roads. Good city water with slightly low pressure. Very good electric. Heavy leaf fall: a leaf blower is very handy here for clearing your site and also for clearing the slide tops before departing. (Very congenial camp host keeps vacant pads cleared, but we prefer more than just the pad cleared). Satellite TV is possible with careful site selection and/or a mobile dish. Good over-the-air TV reception. Good Verizon 4g signal. Central bathhouse is nothing fancy, but is clean and nicely heated. Squirrels and deer are seen almost daily. Tables, grills, and fire rings at sites. We will stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$15
What a beautiful little park. Very quiet, yet close to town. Probably the best voltage we have ever had. Ran very close to a full 30 amps and never dropped below 119V. While the park is on well water, the attendant informed us that they are switching to city water in the next few weeks, which would explain the hardware sitting in the woods. There are a couple of river-view sites, but water access is difficult due to being on a 30 ft bluff over the river. Sites are large and level and hosts are very nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$11
This is our home base park when not traveling. Most previous reviews are pretty accurate. You will need a good water filter here because it is well-water and can be muddy at times. We use an inline filter and a Brita pitcher inside for drinking water. Bathrooms could use a refresh, but are kept pretty clean. Staff and regulars are friendly and very helpful. Rate reflects the monthly long term rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$11
Rate reflects "long term" monthly rate. This is a very pleasant location with good tree cover. With some care in site selection, roof top satellite TV is possible. Electric connections are in good repair, and voltage is stable. Bathhouse/showers are OK: best thing there is the heat! Water is OK, but rust colored. No sewer at sites, but good dump station. Long-term sites are available with agreed on background check. Gate is locked 10pm-6am. We would return, but will have TWO sediment water filters next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$14
As mentioned, very peaceful, beautiful campground. We stayed 3 days and didn't want to leave. Camp caretaker was very friendly and accommodating. We'll be back when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$11
I basically agree with the last reviews, I just want to add that if at least one in your party is 62 or older the rate goes down to $11.44, very good value for the money. This rule applies also to out of state visitors. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$14
The Fort Toulouse campground is a very peaceful place to spend a weekend. Not very crowded the weekend that we were here, but that might be different during re-enactment weekends. It was a great place to let the kids run around. There is a big central grassy area that makes a good place to play. The campground and park roads were not busy, very conducive to undisturbed bike riding. My only complaint would be about the bathrooms. Only a few faucets on the sinks worked, and the toilets seemed to be a little leaky. The shower stalls were OK, but some of the shower curtains did not completely cover the door openings. Not a big thing, but makes taking a shower kind of a public event (if you go to the bathhouse during peak hours). I can't complain though, because the Alabama Historical Commission, which is in charge of the park, is not really in the lodging/campground business. The bathhouse needs to be adopted by someone from the "Friends of Fort Toulouse" group, so that it can be spiffied up a bit. Overall, our stay was really great and we plan to camp here again soon. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2006
$14
I like this park because it is scenic, peaceful and off the beaten path, about 16 miles from Interstate 65. It sits on the confluence of the Coosa and Tallapoosa rivers at the site of a historic fort. One-third of the sites have a view of the river from the bluff with great sunsets. The campground is a small loop encompassed by mature trees dripping with Spanish moss. There is a field in the middle for kids to run around. The historical area needs some care but the area is interesting with plenty of room to walk (approx 2 hours of strolling). We stayed Thanksgiving weekend, the campground had very few campers but had an abundance of birds of striking varieties. I heard that the park is very popular when re-enactors occupy the fort. The staff (1 person) was very accommodating but the bathrooms are dirty, lack hot water, and need repairs. There is a Walmart, grocery stores, strip malls and fast food 3 miles away. We saw a nice Italian restaurant about 3 miles south on 231. The park seems very safe, someone was patrolling at night. The park is very suitable for kids to ride their bikes, low traffic and flat trails cut through the meadows. A great bike trail for the big kids is only 9 miles north at the ‘Swayback’ trail. It has 12 miles of twisting turning singletrack. The Shakespeare Festival park/theatre is 25 minutes away in Montgomery. It is a gorgeous complex with theatre, gardens, art museum, lakes and walking trail. The productions are professional and reasonably priced. I would imagine that the park would be hot, muggy and buggy in the summer and unfortunately I didn’t see any access to the rivers where you could cool off. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2005
$14
Park was very quiet. Spanish moss on big oak trees. Walking through the historical buildings was very interesting. Walmart is about 4 miles from the campground. The park could use some updating and cleaning in the buildings and the sites. All in all, it was just okay. Would return for a couple of days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2004
$13
My husband and I camped here with our 5 year old son. It is very quiet and the spaces are big. There is room to roam and walk about to see the historical park. There are a few geocaches in the park as well, if you are in to geocaching. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com