220689 User submitted reviews online!!
Seminole Canyon State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 38 user reviews. Phone: (432) 292-4464
CGID3412

Seminole Canyon State Park

Camp Information
Sites
46
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   2   9   9   9   8   9   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$18
Traveling to Big Bend, we stopped at Seminole Canyon hoping to do some birding and hiking. The site we had was at the top of the hill with a great view tho it was a windy evening. We took the short bird hike near the rest room and then later that evening hiked down to the Presa Overlook. The following day we took the Windmill hike near the visitor center. Each hike we found several great birds and hike over 5 miles. It is a great campground with remote, quiet, large sites, and ours only had power and water. We would stay here again. 30 amp service was not adequate in 96 degree heat for our RV. If you prefer 50 amp you might want to reconsider unless it's somewhat chilly. We used the showers which were clean (would prefer curtains on individual showers and not entrance door). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$14
Rate reflects parking our RV in a non electric site (used solar). Very peaceful park and well spaced locations. The WiFi is only available in certain locations but worked fine. We took the guided tour into the canyon area. It was interesting, well done, and worth the money. I think that it was $5. Hiked down to Panther Cave, nice view. Would camp there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2013
$20
Best thing that I can say is that Seminole Canyon has a very nice visitor center. Campground sites level, gravel, well spaced, but lack privacy since it is low scrub brush between. They have a covered picnic table. Warning - The campground is in full sun - no shade anywhere. Very hot is summer months. We arrived around 2pm. Our A/C could not cool our RV it was so hot. Not a good campground for the warmer months. There were no guided tours of the canyon the day we were there. Check the schedule before you go as you can not go into the canyon without a guide. There was really nothing else to do. We actually left, forfeiting our $20 camping fee that I reserved online . We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$17
This is a great place, especially if you like to hike and are interested in the original people of the area. The tour to the paintings wasn't available when we were here in '11, but we took it yesterday and it was a very interesting. Our guide had lots of good information. The hike is somewhat strenuous, so bear that in mind. It's hot here already in April. The Rim Hike is a good one too. Lots of birds are passing through on their way north, like us. We hope to return in a couple of years. Very friendly staff too! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$17
If you are headed east or west on 90 in TX, this is a must stop for at least one night or more. The campground has 23 sites with electric and water and 8 with only water. There is also a primitive area with another 15 sites. Bath houses are clean and the shower water is hot. Each site sits among the cacti and brush with a covered picnic table and views looking out towards the canyon and even Mexico. Everyone was very friendly and there is an exhibit area at the Visitor Center and scheduled tours by the rangers at 10 and 3 Wednesday through Sunday, but one should check first. There is even a star walk some nights from the campground with a ranger. The tour into the canyon cost $5. It cost us $17 for the campsite, but that was with a Texas State Park Pass. The tour down into the canyon to view the historic pictographs was great, but we had only three other people on our tour. If we had come during spring break last week or the week before the number of people on the tour were in the high 60’s and even higher. The busy season is October through March. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$25
Nice state park. Well maintained park, wide spaces, good views up on the canyon rim. We would stay here again. Tours of the pictroglyphs and canyon was a bonus. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$23
This campground was very nice but small. It would be difficult for large Motorhomes as the corners into the loops is very tight. It also is up on a hill with a nice view of the sunsets. The restrooms with showers were clean and had hot water. One draw back is that Texas charges an entrance fee into their state parks and it is a daily fee. I suggest buying their year long pass for $70 that gets everyone in your vehicle into all Texas State Parks without the fee, which ranges from $3.00 - $5.00 per person, per day. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$23
We stayed here for a couple of days and really liked this park. It's doesn't have sewer connections but the dump site is easy to get to. The rinse water is in the wrong place but that is no big deal. The pull-through sites are level but some of the others are not. We had to move from one with a great view because of excess slope. The Wi-Fi works well but will stop at times. All electric sites are 30 amps. Big rigs are not a problem here, the roads are wide and the sites easy to get in and out. There are some nice hiking trails and even some geo-caches. The museum in the office area is a must see. The park rangers are very friendly and helpful. We felt very safe here. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$22
Beautiful state park. Sunsets are awesome & great for star gazing, very quiet & peaceful. Sites are level & have nice covered picnic tables. We felt safe here & will stay again when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$22
We loved this park. The campground is located on a knoll and there are no tall trees, so the view is outstanding. We experienced a beautiful sunset and a magnificent nighttime thunderstorm in the same evening. Wi-Fi was available in most of the campground. There are hiking trails, Native American pictographs, and a really nice museum in the visitor center. This is desert country so be prepared for heat. All the staff was friendly and helpful and there were lots of Border Patrol officers around. This park is on the Mexican border at the west end of Lake Amistad. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$18
So spacious and hot, blue skies and clouds. The campground for full utilities is on a plateau that overlooks Texas hill country for miles. We can only imagine that the sunset and night sky will be stupendous. The Native American pictographs can be accessed by tour only. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$20
The neatest thing about this park was that we had wi-fi. The restrooms were clean and the staff was friendly. There is a nice museum and group led hikes into the canyon. I enjoyed a short hike to the rim of the canyon. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$23
This park is very interesting. They offer a great hike into Seminole Canyon for $5.00 per person. It is led by volunteer naturalists and takes you into caves occupied by early aboriginal people. Lots of pictographs still in excellent shape. The visitor center is stunning, with displays of area wildlife, aboriginal and settlement information, and a large observation deck to look out over the canyon. The free Wi-Fi worked most of the time. It is close to Langtry , where we saw the Judge Roy Bean visitor center, an interesting piece of Texas history. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$17
This is what I remember most about Texas. This Park is located in the middle of Nowhere, but in a beautiful spot. One thing we learned too late: The Canyon can only be visited with a Guide. The guides only work from Wednesday to Sunday. We're here on a Monday through Tuesday. If you wish to see the petroglyphs, plan accordingly. No Verizon coverage here, but much to my surprise, when I started my Mac to work on the Blog, Wi-Fi showed up. I did get a few great photos of the Texas sunset. Best be quick, since it lasts only a few minutes. Quiet and desolation at it's best. Friendly folks work here, as well as friendly visitors. But that's what RVing is all about, isn't it? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2010
$17
We met friends here and stayed 2 nights, I wish we had stayed longer to do more hiking. Great guided hike into canyon to see caves and petrographic, friends did self-guided hike down to lake, said it was beautiful. High desert camp sites are up on hill with great views--fairly level sites. About 40 long miles outside of Del Rio. Very quiet, small park with good mix of RV and tent sites. This was great time of year..no shade so might be quite hot in summer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$17
This is a very nice campground with widely-separated, level sites. Some are narrow and there are only a few pull-throughs, but all have covered tables and fire pits. The 360 degree views are spectacular (partly because there are no tall trees to get in the way, thus little shade). The shower rooms are modern and clean, although the showers are only semi-private. There is no Verizon coverage, but the park's public Wi-Fi is adequate. Don't miss the Fate Bell guided tour and other available hiking! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$17
This park is typical of the high general quality of Texas State Park campgrounds. It made a nice overnight stop coming home from Big Bend National Park, although I have toured this park on a previous trip. Sites are spread out and quiet. Wi-Fi worked well, and I was able to get a good signal on my AT&T cell phone. Although I arrived late in the afternoon, camp host was very accommodating. Will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2009
$17
I gave this park a 10 even though there's no Verizon cell phone coverage and no TV either (unless you speak Spanish). But I didn't care. Our site was huge and each site had their own covered picnic table and fire ring. The views were incredible and the staff was very helpful. The showers and restroom were spotless - and wonderfully warm despite the chill wind outside. The Wi-Fi worked perfectly and provided a strong signal during my 2 day stay. The guided tour to the rock paintings is well worth your time. It's not too far or strenuous (okay the climb back up left me a bit breathless) and the caves are wonderful. I highly recommend this park and would definitely visit again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$17
This is a quiet place. Clean bathrooms. Lovely walks and trails. However it is a fairly long drive into Del Rio for food and shopping. Some of the sites are a bit on the tight side, we had to trim a bush to get into our site. We have stayed here twice, and will do so again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$17
The only down side is that they charge $3 per person park entrance fee in addition to camping fee of $17, this bring the site fee to $23 for a couple. Sites are level and AT&T wireless worked great, we made several calls. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2009
$18
Seminole Canyon SP. “Big sky” explains it all. Lots of quiet and dark sky. Weather was pleasant in the early spring. Park staff are friendly and helpful. Sites are large and spread out. The historical tour is typical and interesting for those who have not seen similar ones throughout the southwest. No Verizon coverage anywhere for 30 miles. Comstock is little more than a wide spot in the road with a good restaurant. Del Rio (40 miles away) has what you need but not much for the tourist. The recreation area lake is huge if boating is your thing. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$17
Our site was level enough that we didn't even use leveling jacks. Good wifi, poor cell service. Great views from the motorhome and after a thunderstorm during the night, the birding was excellent, just siiting in the front seat drinking coffee and checking out the birds. The blessing came when we didn't have to go through Reserve America to make reservations. Hopefully the state of Texas will soon realize the problems associated with RA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2009
$17
Spacious sites, all sites do not have electric and water, the sites that do are marked with an E in front of their #. Un-level sites required a lot of leveling. Very desert climate and surroundings, no trees, hot and windy. Closest store for ice/milk is 15 miles. Headquarters closes at 4:45, first come, first serve for site assignment. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$23
This is a real gem with large level sites, complete with picnic table and covered cabana. There are gorgeous views of the surrounding area and sunrise and sunset. We went on the guided tour of the canyon pictographs, excellent tour! For $5 we had very knowledgeable guide! The rest rooms were spotless and the sites as well. Friendly helpful staff, we phoned and they were so helpful to give us all the check in details as we arrived after office hours. Wonderful to have wifi at our site! We would definitely return here. There is also good mountain biking trail. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$17
When you are going east or west across I-10 across the southern park of Texas don’t overlook a little slower and very interesting drive on Hwy 90 from Van Horn to San Antonio. Along this route you will find Seminole State Park and Historic site about 40 miles west of Del Rio. This historic park is a combination of 4000 year old pictographic rock painting tours and recent (1880’s) railroad history. Go to the web site for more info on the history. On to the camping facilities, there are 31 sites; about 22 have water and elect, a dump station on site, with a nice bathhouse with hot water showers. There is good Wi-Fi from most of the campsites, but almost no cell phone coverage. There are good tent camp sites as well as sites for large RV. Generally you don’t need reservations. It will be very warm (hot?) here in May-Sept, but the rest of the year is nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$22
This is a beautiful state historical area with a campground. We are here during the off season, and we have the park to ourselves. Beautiful desert, wildlife,and stars, and it is quiet. Staff is very friendly. We would definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$14
This was our first "camping" in a Texas State Park. I was very pleased with the arrangement of sites and it was easy to back-into our site and the view was great. The 30 amp power had a little trouble keeping our 5th wheel warm when the temperature hit 97 degrees but later cooled into the 60's. Our best experience was taking the White Shaman Rock Art guided tour that starts about 1 mile west of the park entrance. We will return when the weather cools for more hiking tours to the rock art in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2008
$14
This is a nice State Park to stop at if you are traveling I-90. It is just a few miles west of the small town of Comstock. The campground itself is very open, with no shade, which would make it very hot in warmer weather, but was nice in January. The sites are spacious, but because there is very sparse vegetation you have no visual privacy from your neighbor. The main draw here is the tours of the ancient rock art in Seminole Canyon which are led by knowledgable volunteers from the non-profit Rock Art Foundation. There is also a nice Visitor's Center with interpretive displays. There are hiking trails in the area. The price reflects the fact that we purchase a Texas State Park annual pass for $60, since we knew we would be staying at other Texas State Parks. Without the pass, the fee for a water/electric site would be $20. Texas parks charge a fee per person per day in addition to the camping fee. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2008
$14
We paid $14 per night plus $3 each for entry fees bringing a total of $20. The sites are generous with some big rig sites. Cell phone service is not available. The pay telephone was taken out. The restrooms were very clean. We would return to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2007
$14
Great State Park. Right off of HWY 90 west of Comstock as you travel along the Rio Grande. The park staff was extremely friendly. 30 amp power was good. Both back-ins and pull-thru sites. Beautiful views and deer visited the campground every night we were there. Several great hikes, especially to see the pictographs. We will definitely return again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$22
Nice small campground, quiet at night, friendly hosts. Paved roads and gravel sites. No services or stores in area. Not a destination park but good for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$20
This was a beautiful park in a desolate kind of way. Great scenery! Coming from the east on US90 the sign for the park is missing. If you come to the big bridge crossing the Pecos River, you went too far. Turn around and you will see the sign coming from the west. The staff was friendly and helpful. There are two sewer dump sites near the restroom/showers. No cell phone service of any kind. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$20
Great park in an out-of-the-way location. A good stop on the way to Big Bend. Sites on the outer sides of the loops are best for seeing the sunset. Sites are widely spaced, with a picnic table and fire ring. Rode our bikes down the edge of the canyon, it was an easy ride on the dirt track. Also took the tour of the canyon to see the ancient artwork in the canyon, very well done by a volunteer tour guide. Bath house was clean and well maintained. This is a great park to stay a few days, relax, and stargaze! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2007
$20
Good signage and access to campground. Office efficient and helpful. Sites are a mixture of water and electricity(30amp) or no services and are well spaced. Several sites large enough to take big rigs but some are not that level. Electricity was a bit suspect at times particularly one cold morning. Wonderful panoramic views and some good walking trails. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$17
This is an excellent stopover point on the way to or from the Big Bend area on US 90. It is a must if you are interested in Native American rock art. Be sure and take the guided tour into the canyon to view the paintings. Note that you will have to climb some pretty steep steps. The staff is friendly and the site is well maintained. Our tour group was small, so the guide took some extra time to show us some of the plant and animal life as well as geological and fossil features. We stayed in the second loop (sites 18-31) and pretty much had it to ourselves. This is a very remote site, though it is right off US 90. We could pull in only one TV station - a Spanish language station from Mexico. Judge Roy Bean's courthouse/saloon historical site is nearby as is the high bridge over the Pecos River canyon. The view of the confluence of Seminole Canyon and the Rio Grande on the upper reaches of Lake Amistad is worth the 6-mile round trip hike. The stars at night are amazing. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2006
$22
Campsites were preassigned instead of first come first served which is totally against TXPW policy. Park ranger is a clown. Campground has some nice sites with exceptional sunsets. Pictograph hike well worth the trip. Definitely not a "destination" campground but it was on our way to Big Bend. If you stay here and are thinking of taking a day trip to Ciudad Acuna Mexico save your time for something else. Tons of pottery and not much in the way of decent jewelry. Lots of cheap kid junk and of course the liquor and vanilla are very inexpensive. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2005
$17
Scrubby area (no shade), spacious sites for our 30 ft class A, decent showers. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2005
$13
Nice small park, 23 sites with electric, 8 without. The park is 9 miles north of Comstock on highway 90. The sites on the outside of the loops are the best. Hikes are scheduled into the canyon to visit indian rock art sites. The Presa canyon tour is scheduled several times a year and is very difficult. There is a 6 mile hiking trail which can be done without a guide, all trips into the canyon require a guide. Desert scenery and beautiful stars on clear nights. Great stop over place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com