214909 User submitted reviews online!!
Wacky West Travel Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 27 user reviews. Phone: (402) 376-1771
CGID3421

Wacky West Travel Park

Camp Information
Sites
32
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$14



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   5   8   4   5   7   2   1   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$14
Don't be fooled by your first impression of this Park. Doesn't look as neat as perhaps one would expect of a RV Park but everything works and works well. The WiFi is among the very best we have ever experienced on the road. The people running this Park are awesome. Couldn't find nicer more hardworking folk. For that reason alone we will return here and recommend this Park highly. Plus, it is Passport America and price reflects that. $3 charge for a/c or heaters. Internet is free. People make the Park. We would not be in Valentine at this Park if it wasn't for PA. Glad we came. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$15
The owner was friendly and the showers were clean. The sites were gravel but nicely kept. I used PA discount for this stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$18
First glance, what have we got into?? The place looks like a junkyard. Junk all around. But the people are so nice. If the "looks" don't bother you, it offers all the amenities, at Passport rate of $18, including $3 for A/C. Most other campgrounds in the area don't even have electricity. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$18
Rate reflects Passport America rate, including $3 charge for using an electric heater. Unusual layout in this park - some of the sites you just drive up beside the hookups and park. The park has some sites that are full hookups even during the winter. Our site #24 was almost perfectly level. Sites in this area are side-by-side. Interior roads seem to be in pretty good condition - hard to tell with six inches of snow. All utilities work well, as do cable and wi-fi. There are some trees in the park - not sure about grass as it was snowing when we pulled in. It is my understanding that the bathrooms are not available during winter months. The person in the office was very friendly. We will certainly choose this park again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2012
$15
Price reflects PA price after tax. The owners are the friendliest people you could wish to meet. I just don't think their heart is into running this place anymore. They clean the restrooms and showers daily, but the rest is quite neglected. Flies are bad due to the cattle yard directly adjacent. All utilities/CATV work well. Wi-fi was slow. Movie theatre, Pizza Hut and grocery store are all next door neighbors. Regardless, the campground is quiet for a good night's rest. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2012
$18
We were hesitant to come to this park due to poor reviews. We are happy we stayed. This park has very nice friendly, on site owners. We stayed here 4 nights. The owner cleans showers and restrooms daily, laundry room is very clean with 2 washer/dryers. There is a very nice bike walking path called The Cowboy Trail, can walk or ride. Across the street is a grocery store and a small version of a Wal-Mart. Town has several restaurants. There is a movie theater and a vet next to the park. The park is safe and for the rate nice place to stop for the night or stay a day and explore the town. Casino located 9 miles away at the SD state line. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$18
We found this to be a nice spot for an overnight stop in our 40' motorhome towing a car. The sites are flat and long enough for us to leave the car hooked on. It is a small park but easy for us to maneuver in. The sites all seem to have 20, 30 and 50 amp power and full hookups. We did not use the cable TV which is included as the sites are open and we used our satellite dome. There is also free Wi-Fi which was weak at our site which was one of the ones further from the office; we did not persist as our Verizon card worked well for internet. This is an older park without much visual appeal but it worked well for us. I almost did not come due to a couple of bad reviews on this site. I am glad that we did as it met our needs well. The price noted is P.A. price including $3 additional for 2 a.c.'s on a 100 degree day. We would come here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
This "RV park" is all crushed rock and weeds. Sites were not level and were very close together. It has a junk yard in the center of it with a fence around it. Office staff was nice and that's the best to be said of it. Would dry camp in a parking lot before staying there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2012
$16
Only because we were able to get a $16 rate for 50amp during 100+ degree weather: that we decided to stay here. The park is very run down with a "junkyard" appearance. Upon our arrival on Friday afternoon, several "drinking buddies" came up to us and quizzed us about our 5th wheel. From there on out, my husband occupied me each time we walked our dogs. I assumed because this was a Passport America park that we'd experience something else. Boy, was I wrong! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$27
There are no frills about this park. No pool and you need a key for the restrooms and showers, but considering Nebraska hasn't many RV parks besides the state/city parks this was a nice place. There's a market right across the road for food and beverage stock up and a store similar to the family dollar/Walmart too. Very nice owners as they are helpful in trying to make your stay more enjoyable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2011
$15
It is obvious that nobody cares about this park. When we arrived at 2:00 pm there was a note on the door to pick our site and someone would be by later to collect money. That someone was the owners' grandson who decided to come to each site in his car that badly needed a muffler. He was nice and friendly, but pretty much without a clue. Sites are narrow, gravel, with little patches of grass on the sides. Grasshoppers and wasps are everywhere. Several permanent residents whose dogs run without leashes and bark constantly. Right next to a cattle auction and sale barn so the flies are also horrible. People wandering around the sites all night. The Wi-Fi is good, as is the cable TV. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$20
Nice RV park for overnight. Close to Highway 83, but no noise or traffic. A little tight for a 42 footer pulling a Jeep. Owner was very nice. Everything worked as advertised. Excellent steak house (Pepper Mill) a short walk away, (my 87 year old mother did the walk in 102 degree temps). Movie theater in front of park. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$21
The rate is Passport America, includes charge for 2 A/C's. The campground Wi-Fi and Cable TV were very good. AT&T cell phone worked good. IGA Grocery Store was directly across the street. It was relatively quiet and the folks at the campground were very nice and accommodating. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$19
The rate is Passport America with the $3 additional charge for 2 A/C's. This is definitely for an overnight stay and not more, in my opinion. You do smell the cattle auction (but not with A/C on). The WiFi was pretty decent and there is cable TV hookup. We ate at the nearby Peppermill Steakhouse and it was just OK and overpriced, we thought. Cheapest liquor was at the Mule Barn in town and cheapest beer was at the store next to the IGA...at least when we were there. Verizon MiFI was slow, but ATT iphones worked fine. It was relatively quiet, though you can hear the auctioneer over the loudspeaker at times. Diesel was a solid $3.89 the second week of July. Probably wouldn't stay here again, though the lady at check in was super nice and friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$13
A passport campground with 50 amp power ($3 extra to run AC)& full hookups. Great for in coach laundry. Friendly couple is updating the park daily. Adding tile to office & gravel to sites. The nearby cattle auction does make for some odor if the wind is coming from that direction. With AC on no odor inside. We are self contained so did not inspect bath facilities. They are kept locked to maintain for campers due to closeness of rail trail. We found this to be a great stop enroute between Yankton, SD & Angustura, SD. We saw no full hookup sites taking the southern SD route, so followed 12 into Valentine. Very cute city. Rails to trails runs right next to the park. Easy exit to 20 heading west toward the Black Hills. Don't miss the Sand Cafe on route 20 west of Valentine! Great breakfast & huge pancakes. Lunch buffet looked like a winner as well. Plenty of room to park with rig & toad & reasonable diesel prices at station next door. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2011
$15
This is a Mom and Pop park. When we arrived, Mom and Pop were unavailable. The campground sites are dirt, arranged randomly, and were difficult to drive into. Once we settled in, we found that the CATV did not work. (It finally came on at 9:00PM). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2009
$14
Nice place to stop overnight as they accept the Passport America rate. Real nice folks who run it and have been there for years. But the place could be kept up better as some of the parking spaces are loose dirt and very dusty. They do offer some sites which have freeze proof water outlets so that is a plus if staying during cold weather. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$14
We are Passport America. Very easy to get to from US-20 (you can see it before you turn off the highway). An ALCO and IGA just across the street. A very nice couple runs it trying to make the campground better, they just added some 50 amp sites which are pull-through, more or less. Good for an overnight stay. We are self-contained so do not know anything about the toilets, etc. There were a very few permanent residents. A half dozen RV's stayed the night we were there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$13
Rate is Passport America. Very very friendly staff. A nice over night. Park is older and nothing fancy. Gravel roads and sites, fairly level. A little close. They are putting in 12 new sites. Cable TV with 64 channels. Wifi worked well. We would stay here again We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$13
Older campground, but well kept and run by a very nice older gentleman. We stayed on the Passport America discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$14
In Valentine to ride the Cowboy Trail, a Rail to Trail conversion. RV park is right on the trail. Owner very friendly and helpful. Site green and inviting. We did not feel at all crowded and we have three slides. Flies small and numerous, but this is Nebraska! Found we needed a new trailer tire and were quickly taken care of at Mr. Tire. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2008
$14
Sites are very close together and the grass was in need of cutting while I was there. This is an older park and within walking distance to a food store and downtown Valentine. Passport America rate is what I quoted. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$12
A no frills RV Park. Gravel roads and level gravel sites. Groceries across the street. Super friendly owners. We had good Wi-Fi, and cable TV, and FHU. All this for $12. with P.A., a great deal. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2007
$23
Nice park for an overnight or maybe a few days. The sites are gravel pads with grassed sides. Next to a movie theatre and across the street from an IGA and within walking distance to fast food. It is easy to pull in for an overnight stay and not have to unhook the tow vehicle. They are a member park for Passport America so are very affordable. There is an extra $2 a day charge for the use of air conditioners or electric heaters. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2007
$11
The park was mostly empty at this time of year. The office staff was friendly and helpful. The sites all appear to be with side-by-side hookups and are very narrow, particularly with slide-outs. There is a cattle auction down the street, which results in occasional smell and noise and the flies when we were here were nearly unbearable. It is convenient to the walking track and to the grocery store and makes a good base for exploring the area, but I would not want to be here when it is crowded. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2006
$15
Modest park with full service. Nice young man checked us in. We paid Passport Am rate + $2 for using A/C + extra person. Surprised to find free WiFi working in park. Best amenity is location right on the Cowboy Trail hiking/biking trail. It's a Rails to Trails endeavor that will eventually cross the whole state along an abandoned train route. You could ride your bike right to Main St. if you liked. Sites are level gravel with grass in between. Small trees. Movie theatre right out front. Very basic and functional. We would use them again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2004
$11
Very nice spot especially at Passport America prices. The water was very good and we filled our tank. The office staff were great. We used this as our base to see the sites within 50 miles. We will stop again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com