214822 User submitted reviews online!!
Townsite Campground (Parks Canada) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 38 user reviews. Phone: (403) 859-5133
CGID3434

Townsite Campground (Parks Canada)

Camp Information
Sites
237
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   6   9   7   7   10   8   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
Pretty mountains all around and the nearby lake and town make this a lovely location. The campground is well laid out with nice green grass between sites, though no trees, shade, nor privacy. The water, electrical, and sewer hookups worked well, but they were a bit inconveniently placed at the center of the long site, with the sewer underneath the RV. There is no WiFi nor laundry. We found this to be a lovely spot for a few days in the mountains. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$38
We liked this park mainly because the full-hookup sites were well-spaced and it's close proximity to the town and lakes area. More trees would have been nice but, the staff was very friendly, responsive and helpful. One thing to note, is that the sewer drain is located directly in the middle of your site thus, you either have to drive far enough forward and then attach and back up, or you will need to park nearly on top of the site cement patio area in order not to have to crawl under your unit. There was only one shower stall in the bathroom building near our site, which was intended for a large section of the campground. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$40
We have made the trek to Waterton three times and previously rated the park highly. I have lowered the rating due to the poor supervision and responses to complaints. RV etiquette requiring people not to pass between occupied sites, is not mentioned in the campground rules. We were in section A that borders the village of Waterton. We had people constantly taking short cuts through our site. On one occasion a vehicle drove between our sites where toddlers were playing and another instant we had a large class A diesel pusher pulling a car drive right through two sites. Twice I complained to the kiosk to no avail. No response was forthcoming from park staff. It is still a spectacular place and we feel badly it is marred by this inattention. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
This a very nice large RV location. Plenty of space between vehicles with lots of grass. The only weird thing was that sewer dump for our and companion's RV was underneath the rig. Had to hook it up to the dump location and then back up over it. Pull the pipe back to the connection on the RV. This location is next to the town and very easy to walk to. Deer casually walked through the RV park several times. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$44
Spacious sites, electricity turned off and on. There were high winds for the last 2 days that made it uncomfortable blowing the trailer around. The area does not block the wind. Even still, the beauty of the area surpasses the wind. Odd hookups in that the sewer is in the middle of the drive. Walking distance to the pier, shops and the waterton cruise. Well worth the trip. Wieners of Waterton is a must do. Probably would not return, although glad we made the visit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$39
Location cannot be beat! Very close to all amenities in town either by walking or bike. Pull-through sites with full hook-ups (30amp). Always thought it was wierd having the sewer hook-up in the middle of the space under your trailer? Grass in between the sites. Staff is very nice/helpful. Will definitely stay here again in the future. Only downside is that the restrooms appeared as though they are only cleaned once per day. With how busy this CG is, a few times a day would make things nicer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
Wonderful! Quiet park. Located close to shops and a waterfall nearby. Great access to surrounding National park. Definitely would return to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$38
Very large park in the middle of town. Great location but a pretty sparse area with hardly a tree to be found and with it's famous constant winds it can be a bit tiring. The place is very well maintained and the parks people were great. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
The Townsite campground at Waterton is the best of the four parks we stayed at in Canada which includes Banff, Lake Louise and Jasper. The park service does a great job in maintaining this campground. The spaces between units are very good. You are within walking distance of the falls, the lake and the town of Waterton. The views of the mountains are beautiful and deer wonder through the campsite. Two caveats: nobody in town sells diesel fuel. The nearest supply is at Mountain View about ten miles outside the park. Also the receptacles for your sewer connection are right in the middle of your drive way. So as you pull in make sure to look for it and position your flexible pipe before you unhook. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$34
We stayed outside the park at Crooked Creek campground until we could get a site at this Townsite. With online reservation fee, came to $67 for 2 nights plus the national park entrance fees over that. Nice, convenient campground but noisy when the park is full. Very good for walking to restaurants,movie theater,shopping but you will still need a vehicle to get to most hiking areas. www.pccamping.ca for reservations Sites are Big-rig friendly. Cellphone reception in the park is awful. Normally very windy. Deer in the park but they can be aggressive with food and pets, don't feed them. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$37
Waterton Lakes Townsite campground set in a beautiful location. Well kept grounds, with clean amenities. "A" campground was quite noisy due to local traffic. Advise when booking to reserve a spot in "B" campground; more treed area and less noisy. Campground did not allow individual fire pits, nor communal ones either ( dissappointing!!!) We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
Staff very professional and helpful. Sites are unbelievable: right on the lake and close to town, quite stunning. Restroom facilities including bathroom and showers were the BEST we have ever used: a model for other campgrounds. BEWARE: This campground can be unbelievably windy so if the winds are up you might want to request a site away from the lake for both reduced wind and reduced humidity. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$43
We stayed in the G loop of the campground, which gave us a little more privacy than the (perhaps newer) B part of the campground. Unfortunately you cannot book a specific site, rather one is allocated when you arrive. This is a wonderful area to explore, with lots of outdoor trails and hikes. Deer are abundant in the campground, and there is black bear activity in the vicinity. Sites are small, but adequate, and with so much to do, you are not at your RV for very long. The wind picked up everyday, and I would not recommend leaving your awning open. Washrooms were very clean, with plenty of hot water in the showers, and staff were great. Best tasting water we've ever had! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
Wonderful campsite. It's close to everything in town and the view is amazing. Staff kept everything clean and the sites are actually fairly roomy. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
Pros: The location! If you like hiking or biking, there is enough in this international park to keep you going for days; great running (jogging), incredible scenery. Cons: It's really just a pad with a patch of grass but we really weren't here to sit in our camper. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$34
We enjoyed staying on the 'B' side of this park. It was very quiet at night considering how busy it was. The only concern is that you must pay to get into the Federal Park and then pay for the site as well. This makes a single nights stay expensive. There are hiking trails and lots to do at the Waterton town site. I highly recommend this location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$38
Yes, the campground itself is well taken care of, the bathrooms are clean, and it is close to a lot of nice hiking trails. My problem with this campsite is the number of gophers and aggressive deer all over the place. The gopher problem is so bad it looks as if the ground is moving with the number of gophers running around. You cannot leave anything outside of your RV that is not is a sealed container or the gophers will get into it. As for the deer, although they look cute grazing everywhere in the campground, they are extremely aggressive if you have a dog with you. Out for a walk on the first day, my dog and I were stalked by a deer until someone in a nearby camper came out with a bull whip and scared it away. After that early incident we started carriyng the only weapon we had which was a metal hot dog "stick". So on every walk we went on I carried my defense weapon with us, and I had to wave it at approximately 5 aggressive deer over 3 days. On the third day, our dog (a golden retriever) was on her leash at our campsite with me sitting in the sun. I did not see the deer approach from behind me, and before I knew it it was attacking my dog. The deer was pouncing down on her; my stick was close so I grabbed it and hit the deer around 3 solid times while others ran to our aid from other campsites. The deer finally ran off. My hot dog poker was a bent mess and more importantly my dog was whimpering, sore and scared but seems okay. Until Parks Canada does something about the gopher and deer problem I will never go back to this campsite. It is so bad that there is a new sign around the campground and townsite showing a deer pouncing on a person. So beware. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$38
This campsite's principal asset is location, location, location. From your campsite, you gaze on some of the continent's greatest mountain scenery, and yet you are a five minute walk to the village. The campsites are also clean, well-maintained, level and huge. The campsite is located next to the trailheads to a couple of the Park's more popular hikes. Speaking of hikes, there are lots of grizzly bears here. (Yes, I know this is a campsite review, but it seems relevant to point out that if you come here, you will be camping in prime grizzly habitat). On the down side, the family showers are often locked (?!?!), and the shower water temperature is volatile, alternating from lukewarm to scalding hot. (We have camped here 4 times and this is a persistent problem). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$35
This place is a gem if you are lucky enough to be here when the wind is not howling. It's right on the lake, you look up at the magnificent Prince of Wales hotel. It is spacious, clean, beautiful with wild deer walking all around. You are in the heart of town and can walk to anywhere and everywhere. There is a beautiful waterfall at the mountain side of the camp. It was 70 degrees with a slight breeze for the week we were here and it was heaven. The boat tour, the wildlife, the golf course, the drive to Red Rock Canyon, saw bear and moose, the drive to Lake Cameron are just a few of the highlights. This is the Northern Tip of Glacier National Park, but on the Canadian side of the border. If you go to Glacier Park, bring your passports, cross the border and don't miss Waterton Lakes National Park. You will never forget it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$38
This is a terrific campground. I rarely rate a 10, and would have if there had been a little more privacy. The sewer hookup was a little funky: right in the middle of your site, so had to either crawl under the motor home or have a long enough hose to connect first and then back up or pull forward to your leveling blocks. Walkable to town and the boat tour to Goat Haunt in Montana. Don't forget passports if you're hiking to the lake: where we saw moose. We stayed three nights and would have stayed more if we had time. We were really lucky and had perfect weather! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$38
A wonderful campground and a wonderful little town (at least June through September). The place is clean, the sites are reasonably sized, the views are tremendous. The bathrooms are well maintained. Wi-Fi is available in walking distance in Waterton Township at Pearl's Coffee Shop. The only downside are that occasionally the winds coming off the lake are a real problem, in the range of 60 - 75 KPH on two nights during our stay. In a tent camper, that's a lot of rocking and rolling! We left a day early due to the winds and were offered a refund for the night we had paid for in advance. The park staff could not have been nicer during our 6 night stay. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$38
A big site in the heart of a small village. We camped here twice during the course of 2009 with full service hook up both times. The town is a 5 minute walk and there are a number of shops and restaurants that provide good meals and gifts. However, there is only one very small grocery shop so bring your provisions with you. The campground is frequented by deer which is nice to watch as they wander through. Not so nice are the over abundance of gophers. They can make walking across the grass very tricky, especially in the dark when it is quite easy to twist an ankle when tripping in their burrows. The staff are friendly and do their best to maintain the showers and toilets. The showers are irritating because you have to keep pressing the flow button to maintain the water flow. The strong winds that develop are a problem and can make for interesting times. Don't leave your rig unattended with the awning deployed, it could easily become damaged. We'll probably visit again in a year or so. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$40
We were not used to stay in a National Park in a village, complete with lots of houses, cars, shops, etc, but in Canada this appears to be normal. The camping ground was huge. Though we had a reservation made 5 months ago, we were treated like any arrival with no reservation and put in line like in an "ordinary" commercial RV park. We saw lots, lots of Colombian ground squirrels and that's really fantastic to watch; no need of any TV program. There were deer in the camp with little ones and they were rather aggressive to people and even more to dogs. We were warned by other campers not to approach them. One lady was attacked the other day, walking her dog, which was considered by the deer as a threat. For a National Park rather expensive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
Nice campground. We had a nice level, gravel pull-through with concrete patio. There is adequate grassy space between sites but with no trees there is a feeling of no privacy. Interior roads are in good shape and wide, easy in and out. Beautiful views of the surrounding mountains. Very convenient to walking to town. There are quite a few deer in the campground and around the residential houses nearby who have little or no fear of people but they were not a problem. It's very convenient also to driving to Waterton Park sights. Clean bathrooms and showers. Friendly staff. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$38
The signage to campground through the village needs improvement. When we visited it was self check-in. Access roads wide but could have done with a little more maintenance. The sites are level pull-through gravel with grass. Electricity and water hook-ups are in a good location for easy hook-up but sewer in center of site pad so not so easy to hook-up. It is an open aspect near to a lake with some trees. An excellent location from which to explore Waterton Lakes National Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$34
This park is consistently our best for wildlife viewing. Deer (bucks, does and fawns) roam the campground freely. Outside the campground we have seen bears, moose and elk on every visit. Good spacing between sites, but little tree or brush in the campground. Paved sites with lawn surrounding sites. Strangely, the sewer hookups are in the center of the site pad, which usually entails crawling under your unit to make the connection to the inlet. It is frequently windy in this campground. The drive up to Cameron Lake AND Red Rock Canyon are both HIGHLY recommended: both for the scenery and wildlife. Fires are NOT permitted in this park, except in fireplaces in the group shelters in the campground. A very enjoyable camping experience and we'll stay here again for sure. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$27
There are two campgrounds in Waterton Lakes: the Townsite Campground and Crandall Campground. The Townsite Campground is right in the town, which is nice because you can walk or bike right to the town. They do take reservations, which we recommend because we couldn’t stay as long as we had wanted. There are some fully-serviced sites as well. One nice thing about the Canadian National Parks is free hot showers!! There are bathrooms of course, and outdoor shelters with wood stoves and picnic tables to use – free to anyone who wants to use. There are deer roaming in the campground as well, and tons and tons of ground squirrels. It’s a very open campground and can be quite windy. We stayed at Crandall Campground when we visited in 2007, and it’s away from the town, but much more treed and cooler since it’s at a higher elevation. There is a lot of opportunity to see wildlife, although no hot showers and space is somewhat limited for larger rigs. It’s good if you want to be more secluded. There are no reservations here; it’s first come-first served. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$28
A nice enough park right in the town and on the lake. Sites without hookups are closer to the lake, and nicer. We had deer walking through the sites. Can be quite windy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$38
This is a great location, and close to the village and everything one needs to enjoy a week of hiking, biking, boating, and anything else you might like to do. The sites are large and well spaced out. However, the lack of trees make it feel closer than it really is. The facilities are being renovated right now and the construction noise was an issue for us so we asked for another site. They were accommodating. Plan ahead or you will be disappointed. The campgrounds were full every night. Watch out for the wind! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
We didn't reserve early enough to get hookups, but we certainly enjoyed boon docking here. Perfect location - only a block from town, where there are several decent restaurants and great coffee houses. Quiet and beautiful. We had deer on our doorstep nearly every day! We'd definitely go back (but try to reserve in time to get hookups). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$36
Great place to stay!! A close bike ride or walk to all amenities/ shops in town. Deer casually stroll through CG and right into the sites. Beautiful views from the CG itself. Grass between the sites, concrete pad next to pull through space and table. Will stay here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$38
Beautiful place as a National Park should be. Cost per night is high in my opinion and $10.50 charge to make a reservation on-line is stupid. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$36
A really great RV Park in a beautiful spot, surrounded by rocky mountains, mirrored in a lake on the edge of the campground. Wild deer grazing by your trailer, small full-service town on the other side of the campground. Terrific mountain views along the park roads. Highly recommended and don't forget to get reservations early. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$38
Really lovely, albeit open-area campground. Deer freely roaming the campground and great hiking/walking trails. River through campground and lake at lower edge of campground. Sweet little town with some good eats. Internet cafe in town just 5-minute walk from campground. Drive a little and find some stunning views, wildlife (Black Bear) and interesting history. Will return to stay here again and again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$25
We enjoyed camping in Waterton. It is a very popular destination, therefore I recommend reserving your spot ahead of time. If you are only planning on spending a couple of nights, the un-serviced sites are just as big and spacious as the serviced sites. Because of the lack of rain and extreme heat this summer, the campsites are very dry and almost a dessert like setting. This being said, the lake is close and beautiful, biking, hiking, canoeing, all at your doorstep. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$33
This park is a delight. Sites are nice size and in good condition. There is the small town of Waterton inside the National Park within walking distance of the campground that has restaurants, motels and other shops. In Canadian National Parks there is a daily admittance charge of about $12 Can for two seniors in addition to the campground fee. A short walk will take one to the beautiful lake shore. Deer roam through the campground eating the grass. There are trails that begin close to the campground. Even though the campground was full it didn't seem like there were too many people around. Another plus is that the campground is a comfortable drive to Banff, if you are heading that way. We can't wait to return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2004
$30
This campground is located in the scenic small town of Waterton surrounded by mountain peaks. The Waterton lakes are very beautiful and closeby. It is a short walk to shops and restaurants from the park. You can drive up the hill to visit the Prince of Wales Hotel and take pictures of the townsite, lakes and mountains on the grounds behind the hotel. The grand hotel does close earlier in the fall so keep that in mind. The weather was quite cold and windy during the Thanksgiving weekend in October so we had to dress warmly. Overall the RV park met all our expectations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2003
$30
This is a beautiful campground within walking distance from hiking trails, waterfall, and Waterton Lake. In addition, the campground is adjacent to the town of Waterton, which offers dining, shopping, coffee, ice cream, etc. Deer, foxes, and owls roam the campground, as well as bears, though I have been there 3 times and never seen or heard of any in the campground. This campground is a gem. It gives off the feel of a European town in the Alps. A true escape from it all! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com