220584 User submitted reviews online!!
Pine Grove Campground and Waterfowl Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (757) 336-5200
CGID3440

Pine Grove Campground and Waterfowl Park

Camp Information
Sites
75
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$44



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   6   9   7   8   8   8   9   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2014
$44
Quiet. Good value. Wooded. Nice view of marsh grasses. Free hot showers. This campground needs a complete overhaul. The Wildlife Park doubles as a dump for trash and construction debris. It was disgusting. They sprayed for mosquitoes during dinner, exposing my family to chemicals. The free Wi-Fi doesn't work well at all. The paid Wi-Fi is $3/day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2014
$44
Plain wooded campground. Lots of seasonals but good services. Didn't use the pool but it looked usable Not very big to walk around in. Many people ate at the fish place next door. Wasn't really all that exciting to us. The families looked like they enjoyed. The office staff were not the nicest but OK. Would not go there again and really didn't like the area so even more reason not to go We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$48
A nice campground located near the Asseteague Preserve so you can see the wild ponies. The management had information on a boat trip and that was fun although we did not see ponies. We had a level campsite. It seems that many of the rigs are here permanently but it does not cause a problem. It is quiet and well maintained. They provide cable. Before the government shutdown we did drive in the Preserve and it was fun being on the Atlantic Ocean. We would stay here again and recommend it to others. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$39
Nice shady campground. Sand roads and grass and sand sites. There's a bunch of long term vacation RVs at this park but they don't detract from the area. They have Wi-Fi available for $3/day but Verizon MiFi works well here. No bugs in Oct and we'd probably stay here again. We were the only occupied RV in the CG when we stayed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$28
Nice family owned park. Rate reflects off season. The pull-throughs are pretty tight and the side to side are very close as well. Large portion of the park are seasonals. It was not very full when we were there, so none of that mattered, but can imagine it would be difficult to get in and out of when it was full. Very nice and helpful staff, easy to get to the NWR, nice seafood market next door. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$40
Nice campground, loved the animal park, owner very responsive in dealing with any park issues. Thank you for spraying for mosquitoes! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$39
Camped here Columbus Day weekend with our five children. Easy to bike to and from Assateague Island. Has a nice camp store. Bathrooms were pretty nice, showers small, but lots of space to keep clothes dry. Plenty of animals to feed, the kids loved it!! Only thing is some of the animals (not many) are located in back by a maintenance area with alot of equipment etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$42
I stayed at this park several times. It's central to everything in Chincoteague. We bring bicycles and use them. It's close enough to bike to everything including the beach. This is a very clean and friendly park. I don't usually stay anywhere more than once - this park is worth it! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2006
$30
We have stayed at Pine Grove many, many times. Heavily treed although the sites are not secluded, but they are large. Lots of animals and lots of quiet in the off-season. I hate to see them close for the 'winter'. Just in the process of opening a large new tent area. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2004
$32
This park is located on Chincoteague Island. We have stayed here twice and just love the place. It is very quiet and shady. The owner has created a private waterfowl and animal reserve which includes all kinds of ducks, swans, peacocks, ostriches (or something similar), ponies, llamas, and deer. There are two small ponds for the ducks and you can buy feed in the store. The ponds are full of barrumphhing bullfrogs which really get going at night, much to our amusement. The restrooms/showers are pretty basic but clean. If I owned the place I would paint the showers and improve the lighting; with all the shade they are somewhat dingy. They have a great well-maintained pool and of course Assateague Island beaches are just a short drive away. There are laundry facilities also. The owner is always out working in the park, so it is actively maintained. I gave this an "8" because I think the restrooms could use some work, but it is likely that the owner just hasn't gotten to them yet. We didn't use them as we had a sewer site and used the facilities in our trailer. Bring plenty of mosquito spray; the owner has the campground sprayed daily during the summer months, but this IS Chincoteague, where the 'skeeters will eat you alive if you're not prepared. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com