206553 User submitted reviews online!!
Chattanooga North / Cleveland KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 26 user reviews. Phone: (423) 472-8928
CGID3460

Chattanooga North / Cleveland KOA

Camp Information
Sites
91
Date of Stay
November 2013
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   4   10   7   5   10   6   3   9   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2013
$45
I really didn't know what to expect at this campground based on the varying reviews. We camped here to be closer to Cleveland. The last two times in the area we stayed in Chattanooga at another park. I knew this was going to be bad when we called the day before to ask if there was room to park an additional vehicle and small trailer. I didn't get a good answer and then inquired about the rate. As it was different than what the website was showing I inquired and was told additional fees would be in effect. I indicated I would finish the reservation on line since the price was less. The next day when we showed up the woman behind the desk immediately asked if I was the one who called the day before and made an on-line reservation. The conversation went rapidly downhill from there. To make a long story short, this woman should not be in customer service. When all was settled I politely thanked the woman and received no response or even the slightest acknowledgement; and no, I was not allowed to park my extra trailer there even though there was quite a bit of room to do so. Even though the above occurred, I tried to objectively rate this park. There are many permanent trailers on site. For the most part they were clean and orderly. However, the park is older and starting to show serious signs of being worn out. We did not use the restrooms so I can't comment on them. The sites were not paved and some had serious slopes. Mine was okay, but I had to laugh when I was told we were in a deluxe site. There was nothing deluxe about the site except that there was good Wi-Fi and cable. I do not plan to stay here again in the future. It isn't worth it. However, if you are looking for a quick on and off from the interstate for an overnight stay this park would probably work. I stayed here in a 42 ft fifth wheel with my wife, 4 of my children, and two dogs. If you choose to stay, don't mention my name or you may regret it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2013
$38
Stopped here for an overnight on our way back home from Florida, and would not stop at this park in the future. I had called the park in advance to arrange for a reservation and late arrival, and as promised the site map was taped to the office door for us when we arrive about 10:30 pm. Things went downhill from there. The map directed us to a turn we completely missed on the first pass through due to the fact that it wasn't marked and the road the map said to turn on was so narrow and lined with parked cars we thought it was a parking area! After circling in the dark we again arrived at the office, and I actually got out and walked down the road to make sure it was the right direction. Turns out the path is past approximately 9 sites of permanents, and at that time of night all their cars were parked up to the road. We barely made it though with our 5th wheel, then only to arrive at the last site on the road (#50), which was a wickedly sloped pull through. The gravel pad was narrow, but fit our 5th wheel after a couple attempts. However, the picnic table and fire pit, which thankfully we didn't need, were on a serious slope. I can't see the site being enjoyable to anyone staying more than a night. Walking around the next morning I did discover the other section of the campground did have some decent sites, and some that would easily fit larger RVs, so I imagine a nicer time could be had at this campground than we did. Why we were not given an available site over there, I can't know. Of note, there was some construction going on in the park so there was a large dumpster just down from our site, although I don't imagine that's always there. And several older campers and trucks seemed to be parked in the grass right at the entrance and across from the office on a permanent basis (maybe stored there?) making the place look a little rundown. We did not use any of the facilities so I cannot comment on those. Overall, I'd say the campground needs to clean some things up and mark their interior roads better. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2012
$35
We especially liked the large, open area for dog walking, and were pleased about our site's proximity to it. The laundry room was clean, spacious, and I was happy that they had a paperback book exchange system. The owners and clerks were helpful and friendly. We have stayed there twice in the last two months, the first time when we finally arrived from Alaska. We were car shopping and the second for a week, when we were house hunting in the area. We will stay there again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$33
Rustic, clean, and quiet with friendly staff. There were permanent campers, but their spots were well-kept. Nice area to walk the dog. Very wooded, but we were able to get satellite TV. We would return for an overnight though our site was not particularly level. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$45
The staff was very friendly. That's a big plus. The facilites were so-so. The pull-through site we had was not very level; we would have had to get the front wheels completely off the ground to get completely level. Wi-Fi was free, but was very slow. I used my cellular data card instead because it was so slow. Cable TV was included, but half (or more) of the channels were snowy. The drive in is tree-covered. More than once, our motorhome hit an overhanging branch. NOTE: this is not the campground's fault but it is important. If your GPS tells you to take Exit 16 off of I-75, don't do it. You will go through some country back roads that no RV, with the possible exception of a small popup (and I'm not sure even about that) has any business going down. Be sure you use Exit 20. If you have a trucker's GPS, it will tell you you can't go down Pleasant Grove Road, but from I-20 it's no problem (except for the aforementioned low tree branches). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$38
Beautiful deep woods campground, and very gracious hosts. We have an extremely long trailer, unusual for these campgrounds, and the access was good. Our site was at the back of the park. I don't know if the previous reviewer had a tent trailer or other light vehicle but we were not bothered by any noise in our trailer even though we were near the road. A very enjoyable experience, and our trailer does present a challenge for the hosts. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2012
$40
First, the good news?? Cable excellent,water ok, sewer ok,electric great, area nicely kept. Close to I-75 and easy to get to and into and to site. Good Campground to tour Chattanooga and area. Now, the bad news?? Had to drive through mud to get to site, needs a lot of gravel?? Road noise from I-75 not noticeable, but local road goes around campground and is used 24/7 by motorcycles and loud pickup trucks?? During the week the local landfill is very noisy with machinery running?? Some dead trees threaten some campsites. Wi-fi was intermittent in super sites?? Last nite we were treated to another campers drunken air rifle practice, which was soon interrupted by the campground patrolman, thanks?? Later (12:30am) we were treated to fireworks as a large store is not far away?? Also if you think that you will be able to sleep through all of the above, get ready for the constant 24hr arrival and departure of very inconsiderate (rude) travelers who have no idea that someone may be sleeping at 3am?? Stopped to visit a friend, probably will stop elsewhere next year a little farther from I-75?? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2011
$44
Picked this as a quick midway stop on trip to Orlando. We arrived after the office was closed and found our way to the pull through site which was not level. I just wanted to park, hook up the electric & sleep after 11 hours on the road. Needed to unhitch to get rig level and to avoid blocking the road with trailer or truck (23' trailer with Expedition, not that long of a combo). Little noisy for people like us in a hybrid (or a pop up) since the campground is less than 300' from I-75. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$35
Escorted to deluxe site which was spacious and reasonably level. All services worked well. Laundry facilities neat and clean with good working machines. I-75 noise barely audible and thus had good nights sleep. Interior roads had some erosion due to heavy rains in recent weeks, but overall were in acceptable condition as were trees. We will stay again when next in area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2011
$36
Park needs gravel in the sites and leveling. There is mud around after a rain. Has good cable TV and internet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$39
Nice park. Sites level and clean around. About a mile off of the interstate so it was a bit quieter than others. We could only stay one night, but would have been happy to stay longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$34
This full featured KOA has become seedy, un-groomed - it's not bad, but it's just not appealing. We first stayed here in '99. Sites are small, good Wi-Fi and cable. Convenient to I-75, gas and shopping. We'd only stay here again to visit family in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$33
Excellent. We came in at 5 am were greeted when we got up. They were very polite and children friendly. It is nicely located nestled in mountain type area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$37
Park has easy access from I-75. Was an easy fuel stop at gas stations on exit. The gravel interior roads and sites are tight. Power and cable TV are good. Sites are not level. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$35
This is an older KOA in good repair. The roads are rock and narrow with some bumps. The sites are rock also with some patchy grass between and picnic tables. Price reflects VK discount. We were accommodated with a second site when we were unable to get a satellite signal. Verizon signal was okay but occasionally up and down. The owners are nice and we would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$35
Campground is behind a hill from the Interstate but highway noise is still present, but not bad. Has gravel interior roads and sites with grass between and a picnic table. Escorted to your site which is good as some turns are tight. Most sites are reasonably level and the pull throughs are long enough to leave the toad connected. Didn't use the WiFi but Verizon air card worked well. Limited cable TV, but some sites are open enough for satellite reception. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$45
This park is right off I-75 so makes for a good overnight spot. Fairly rustic setting. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Made for a good overnight spot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$29
It is a bit tight getting in. We were escorted to site which we really like. The site was large, we didn't have to unhook the toad. It was clean, no problems at all. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2010
$35
We stayed here on our way to Florida. We were escorted to our site which was long enough to accommodate our 42ft, towing a 20ft boat and a jeep. The sites were gravel and fairly level (-2), we were unable to get wifi (-1) from our site #104. When leaving the campground, the tree limbs needed a trim for those of us who have a higher vision level. We would stay here again when traveling through the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$50
Pretty quiet KOA. Our kids were pretty much the only kids at the campground that weekend. Seemed to have quite a few long term campers. We really enjoyed the quiet, private Kamping Village. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$29
I found this particular campground to be very pleasant. It was very quiet, and for most of our stay it felt like we had the place to ourselves. The sites were a little close together, but we managed to get in on the first try. It looked like there were improvements going on in some areas with new gravel. It is conveniently located off the interstate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2008
$32
Over all a nice park, just thought $32 a night was a little high.Could be since it is a koa park. Gravel roads,and sites. We didnt have a problem leveling. Host were very nice, and lead us to the site. Not a bad overnight, just not sure what would be in the area for an extended stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2007
$28
Positives: Easy to get to off the interstate, clean restrooms, friendly staff, lots of cable channels, free WiFi (not sure what the last reviewer paid for, it came right up for us). Negatives: Sites not very level, and could use another load of gravel. Interstate noise was noticeable when our windows were open. We used this park as an overnight stop on our way back home, and it works well for that purpose. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2007
$32
Average, outdated KOA park. Sites and roads all gravel with difficult turns and difficult in and out. Not real easy access from interstate. Internet expensive ($5.95 per day). Cleveland is a nice "large" small town with lots of nice restaurants and shopping. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$25
This is one of KOA's better rv parks. Decent sized sites, cable, free wifi, quiet, only a mile from -75 north of Chatanooga near Lookout Mtn. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2002
$25
Friendly staff. Appeared well kept except for a few old "trashy" full time occupancies. Road noise (trucks) from I-75 is audible but not overbearing. Interior roads were earth but in pretty good shape. Watch trees when getting into your space. My 28 foot 5'er had about 12" of clearance on one side entering the pull through site. No problems overhead. The concrete pad was short, my tires were on one end and my front jacks were on the other end. The rear stabilizers were not on the pad and I had to fully extend them. My rear bumper was about 4 1/2 feet above the ground. This is a nice park for a highway stop. Depending on your direction of travel, it's either just before or just after transit through Chattanooga. With easy access and well out of the city, it is a good place to stay to visit the sights in Chattanooga. Local road traffic is light. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com