219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Meridian East / Toomsuba KOA was rated 5 out of 10 based on 31 user reviews. Phone: (800) 562-4202
CGID3464

Meridian East / Toomsuba KOA

Camp Information
Sites
49
Date of Stay
December 2013
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   8   4   8   3   5   5   2   1   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
December 2013
$42
This is the worst KOA we have ever been at. We stayed 30 minutes and left. Concrete sites are sloped and broken. We scraped the back bumper all the way out. Our guide who showed us our site had a beer in hand. There is a wrecking yard right on the corner. Stay away, and KOA should review this place. Beware!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$39
This is the only KOA Campground in Mississippi. We stayed here overnight twice. Going and returning from a trip to the Gulf Coast. Had a level pull-through site each time. We didn't even have to unhook the travel vehicle, just lowered the leveling jacks, hooked up water, sewer, and electric. Very quick in and out access. We had no cable, but the antennae picked up several local stations. The Wi-Fi was satellite derived and only one device could be used. The signal strength was weak the first night, and stronger the second stay and we were closer to the office. This is a nice friendly park. We were escorted to our site by the staff, which we greatly appreciated. There are tall pine trees though out the park which made for nice shading. The pull through sites were narrow, with a small picnic table. The first site we had was gravel and the 2nd was a concrete pad. There was no fire ring or grill, but we weren't concerned with having either just for an overnight stay. We would definitely stay here again for another one night stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2012
$40
This is a older KOA that has sites very close together. 50 amp power was weak, and the park is NOT big rig friendly. Tight access for my 45 foot unit. And the park is several miles from the interstate intersection. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$35
The campsite is pretty set among pine trees. It is on a quiet road. We had a 30 amp full hook up and it was a pull through. The site was level and long enough for our 33 foot trailer and our crew cab full bed truck. There were some monster rigs that were beside us. The camp's host live right across from the store and are available virtually anytime you need them. They were very helpful and when we had a breakdown 1/4 mile from the camp on leaving, they arranged with someone in the park to come and pull our fifth wheel back and took my husband and dog back while I waited for the wrecker. The restrooms are somewhat old but well kept and very, very clean. The official dog walk is pretty small but there are lots of places nearby that are not campsites that one can walk the dog. We were here in March so the pool and water slide was not open. We did not have any problem getting into or out of our site (twice!). If you get to this KOA from exit 165 you will have to go past a scrap metal junkyard which is right next door. However you cannot see the junkyard from the KOA at all. If you come from exit 160 you will miss this somewhat ugly site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2011
$35
Big Rig Pull-through sites were very muddy - inadequate turn around to stay hooked-up, although staff indicated otherwise. Extremely poor directions to not miss the turn-in off of main highway.I don't know about cable - staff member was in a big hurry to get me out the door! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$45
The front office staff was very friendly upon check-in. The park itself, though, need a great deal of TLC. We stopped there because we saw that they had a water slide and we were traveling with 2 children. What they fail to mention online is that the slide is only open on the weekends. We were there on a week day. There is no cable TV and only a very limited signal. Some of the sites were overgrown. The playground was not very nice. We did enjoy the pool. It was OK just for a one night stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
This was an overnight stop for us. Pulling in at 2:30am, it was an oasis. Some sites are paved, others are gravel. Although have visited much nicer KOA's, the park was just fine for an overnight stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2011
$35
We were tired and on our way to New Mexico. Seeing the KOA signs on the Interstate, we figured we would be okay. The actual campground was passable, but we literally had to drive through red clay mud and a junk yard in order to pull into the campground. There were actually wrecked and junk cars on both sides of the roadway all the way up to the edge. I told my wife this was disgusting, we paid for a night, but only stayed long enough to get 3 or 4 hours sleep and left. We will never stay here again. We have a 33' travel trailer and it was filthy when we left. (Mud slinging up the sides and back.) I can only imagine how someone with a $300K class A would feel, because once you go around the curve to get to the entrance, there is no place to turn around. You have to drive through the mud and the junk yard. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2010
$40
Could barely get into the place. Blew out a tire on my trailer getting in. Run down campground with not very friendly staff. Will never stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
Absolute DUMP! This is the perfect example why we do not stay at KOA's. To start the staff was very rude, the park is run down, the electric is old and worn. The wireless did not work, and when I contacted the staff they got upset, and told me to get a card. I explained to them I have one, but don't advertise it if you don't offer it! We could not get level and explained the problems with the electrical, the wireless, and the inability to get level. I asked for a refund so we could find another place to stay. They refused give us the money back. They explained that we have one hour to get the refund; it was 1 hour and 20 minutes. We spent that time trying to get set up. The staff became very rude and told us if we were so unhappy just leave. I did explain that we would be leaving a review on this site and contacting KOA office, and they stated they couldn't care less about reviews and even less about KOA. This so called park should just slide down to the junk yard that surrounds it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
Stayed here just for overnight and that was too long. We were on our way back to Louisiana from a trip all the way up the East Coast and this was the worst campground of the 10 we stayed at. And the junkyard right before the entrance is not too encouraging! Pull through sites had broken slabs making it hard to level the motorhome. While we were doing dishes the water cut off. They advertised a new laundry and when we got there they said it was out of order? Sorry--not a nice park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$28
Was great for an overnight stop. Had not opened all the facilities yet. Would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$33
Quiet park, host was friendly and helpful. If you like peace and quiet, this is a good place, in spite of a nearby junkyard, which one can neither see nor hear from the campground. As with many a KOA, the sites are close together, but if maneuvered carefully, are fairly easy to navigate. We have overnighted here more than once, and will do so again, simply for the quiet and actual darkness of the night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2009
$28
A few Big Rig sites. Staff was amazing. We had a breakdown problem and she could not have been more helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2009
$32
We have stayed here for overnights about four times over the past several years, mostly because it is relatively convenient to I-20 but far enough off not to be noisy. Sites are narrow and close together, but that is par for the course at most KOAs. The big problem is that the condition of the property is steadily deteriorating. There are a few paved pull thrus, but the pads are in ridiculously poor condition. The interior roads and most sites are thinly graveled, and just a little rain turns the place into a mess. On this last visit, someone had recently gotten stuck on an interior road, and instead of repairing the ruts they cleared some small pine trees so larger rigs could go off the road to negotiate around it. No cable or Wi-Fi, which for a park in the $30+ range should be provided. We are going to look elsewhere on our next trip through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2009
$28
Wish we had checked reviews prior to making a reservation. Maybe the clerk's repeating three times that the reservation was non-refundable should have been a clue! Drove through junkyard to get to campground. We requested 30 amp and wanted to use our stand-alone satellite dish. Clerk forced us to upgrade to 50 amp at additional cost. Campsite was impossible to negotiate, so we asked for reassignment to a different 30 amp site which worked for our TV. Clerk was rude, sites were not level, close together. We camped here because of the KOA affiliation. Not KOA quality at all. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
December 2008
$25
Extremely narrow roads from the I-20 to the campground while passing a junk yard that has junk out on the road. The manager of the campground, Pat, is not very friendly. Had cones blocking interior roads to the camp sites from the office . I had to move them. It does not take much rain to make this place a true mud hole. Very narrow turns, ruts in the roads that hold water. In my 38 years of having RVs this is one of the worst campgrounds I have ever stayed at. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2008
$32
This is a very nice park for an overnight. Our site was nice and somewhat level, but we did use leveling jacks for comfort. We were one of only a handful of guests this particular night. There is a small playground and a water slide (which was closed for the season). This would probably be a great place to bring the kids during the summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2008
$33
Camped here for one night..Down a very narrow road and passed a junk yard..Site not level and close..No cable or internet and $33? Will not stop here again..Not one of the better koa's.. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$28
Staff very friendly and helpful. They shuffled a few spaces to be sure we had one where we could remain hooked up to our tow vehicle and still make an easy, early departure. Pull through was gravel and well shaded. Not very level, but we managed. Good spot for an overnight. No cable and could only pull in one clean channel on bat wing antenna. No WIFI but Verizon Broad Band worked. All other utilities worked well. We'd stay again if we were passing through the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
We only stayed at this campground for a night, but our experience was good. The site was level, paved, and did not require excessive setup. The bathrooms were modern, well ventilated, and very clean with several toilet and shower stalls. The pool area looked very nice, as well, with a covered deck and clean water considering the amount of trees surrounding. They also have a slide outside of the pool area that looked like a lot of fun for the kids. We didn't have any interaction with the management because we pre-paid and left early the next morning. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2007
$35
Okay for an overnight stay. They seem a little overboard on rules, and extra fees. For instance, the sign on the door of the restroom next to the pool says "Do Not Enter With Wet Swimsuit." C'mon. People shower in there. There are fees for children, for using the slide, for having a birthday party at the picnic pavilion... But, I got the impression this park is also the recreation area for the locals. The fabulous water slide is only open on the weekends from noon-6pm, so we had to make do with the 90-degree swimming pool full of dead bees. Our concrete slab still required one plank for leveling side to side. Pull-thrus in front are very close to and exposed to the rural road outside the campground. This is a convenient overnight stop from I-20. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2007
$30
Probably just good for overnight stay. Didn't see much to do in cg. Lady at desk not very friendly. Sort of in the boonies with no security. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$31
The campground was staff were very nice. The campground is need of some improvements. The site was level. The sites had concrete slaps, but they were very narrow, if you didn't pull-in just perfect you were in a ditch or hit a tree. I believe all most all the sites where pull-thru. We overnight here. On top of the KOA extra charge for two children the pool had a very nice water slide, but it was $6 extra even for guests, which I thought was a little pricey since I was already paying that $3 for the extra child to sleep in my camper. The pool needed a good cleaning. Outside guests (day-visitors) are permitted to swim in the pool and use the slide until 6 p.m. daily too. It advertised as having won the Presidential award in 2006??? It wasn't for beautification and sites. Maybe water slide and friendly staff. I wouldn't go out of my way to stay here again, if passing through Mississippi, but it would be ok to spend the night if you needed to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$35
Have stayed here 2 times on a trip to North Carolina from Texas. Quiet park and friendly management. Would stay again when going thru Mississippi. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$31
This CG was very beautiful. Ignore the road in, and the scrap yard. They don't effect the CG at all. Was a very quiet CG. Large wooded sites. No fire rings. The stars and fireflies were breathtaking. There was a great water slide that was not open for the season yet. They sell some beer/wine in the CG store. We would love to go back to this CG. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2005
$30
Nice & Quiet park with open and wooded sites. Level gravel pads, large back-in and good pull thru sites. Good store and friendly staff that escorted us to our site and got us settled. Road to the park is somewhat narrow and twisty but if you take it slowly you have no problem. There were some low overhanging branches on the road due to the recent storms over that area. Park also had some damage from fallen trees that they were in the process of cleaning up. Park is located 1.5 mi. south of I-20. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2005
$29
We booked this campground to specifically use the water slide that was advertised in the KOA catalog. We got there in Mid June, and was told the slide would not open unless he had 10 customers willing to pay to use it. We felt like this was a bait-n-switch! Ended up leaving next day. Owner did refund our 2nd night, but the kids were very disappointed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2005
$33
Stayed here for the Memorial Day weekend just to get away from Jackson. All campgrounds near Jackson were full so we tried this one. Very friendly staff. They offer extras like ice cream in the evenings and a pancake breakfast in the mornings. We enjoyed the pool but the water slide was temporarily closed. Nice campground but not a good location. Salvage yard of some kind just before you turn into the campground. Overall a good stay and would visit here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2005
$28
We stayed almost a week here while sightseeing and waiting for mail & repair parts to catch up. Nice people; nice park; nice campers. Pool slide won't be open this summer ('05) because of Hurricane Ivan damage. Only the new section of sites (about 6 or 8 of them) are big rig compatible - nice & open so satellites work. Long enough for coach & toad. The 2 miles in from the highway (I-20) is nerve-racking - narrow, with log truck traffic, but we'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2002
$28
Stopped here for one night. Staff very friendly. Facilities excellant/new condition. We stayed in a new pull thru area, gravel pad and no shade. Shaded spots were up on the hill but were occupied. 2 miles from I-20. Fairly easy to get to, just look for signs for turns. Owners seem dedicated to the park. Drawbacks were the road that runs past the pull thru area seemed to be used by local kids for drag racing late at night. The facillities (swimming pool) is open to anyone willing to pay $2.00 to use it. So during the day many local kids come in and fill the pool. I hope it is a temporay trend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com