218844 User submitted reviews online!!
Cunningham Falls State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 23 user reviews. Phone: (301) 271-7574
CGID3470

Cunningham Falls State Park

Camp Information
Sites
184
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   5   8   7   8   7   8   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$34
The reason for the 5 rating is mainly because the trees in the park need to be trimmed and pruned back. There are too many low branches, and limbs sticking out into the road. Extensive problem in this park. They recently poured loose gravel alongside all the interior roads, blocking access to even the campsite driveways, had to shovel it away, just to get our RV into the site. Thirty amp power breaker switch was weak, tripped easily, even while using less than 30 amps, breaker switches on pedestals simply need to be replaced. Otherwise park is beautiful. Be careful and drive slow on 77 into park, windy road with many sharp curves and tree limbs. Do not arrive in the dark. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$23
In my 40 years of camping I have never felt so unwelcome as I did when entering this park today. Not only were we not permitted to access a perfectly open site until the 3 PM check-in time, but also we were directed to take our 30 foot motor and just go park it somewhere until it was time. We went to the lake, and the person there was seemingly unwilling to let us take our camper into the beach parking area, the only place there was decent parking anywhere around. Some training in public relations is in order. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$50
This is a great location with wooded sites. I had a tent site and a nearby cabin and it worked great for parents and kids. Water and historic places. Near the highway, but it feels remote. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$36
Very nice, level gravel sites, all pretty much shaded and for the most part nicely separated. The staff was very friendly, but the camp hosts not so much so. We were staying next to some friends and all gathered around the fire when, right at 10 pm, they came around and told us we had to quiet down, even though we were simply sitting talking to one another with no other campers anywhere near us. The actual park staff was excellent, however. The park itself is in a wonderful area with lots to do. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$33
Pros: some level sites, 30 amp electric, beautiful woods, lots of hiking trails, not too far from DC, clean, very dark at night, very quiet, shaded. Cons: some unlevel sites, no water or sewer hookups, zero AT&T cell service, zero Virgin Mobile data service, zero Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30
We stayed here for 5 days. We got there when it was summer and left when autumn temps started to take over. The cooler air was welcomed. The lake was already closed for the season which was a dissapointment. We stayed in the Houck area/Addison loop site 13. We had easy access to water and the bathroom was right behind our trailer through a short walk through the woods. The sites themselves were a little on the small side. I found it frustrating that the fire ring (which is immobile) was only a few paces from the door of our trailer. We had to make sure the door was shut in order to keep the smoke out. I was amazed at how many TV channels I was able to pick up with the digital converter box attached to my television. I believe it was more than 30 channels at any one time (some of them were the same network, but still...) The Catoctin mountains where the campground is located are lovely. They certainly don't break any records for height, but the beautiful green wild grasses and moss that grows through the woods makes the area look otherworldly. It's interesting to note that one of the placards on the way to the falls states that the mountains there were at one time taller than the Himalayas. We hiked to the falls (about 1/2 mile one way) and it began to rain when we were halfway there. By the time we got to the falls it was a torrential downpour. We headed back and of course when we got back to the car the sun broke through the clouds. We were all soaked to the skin. It was a funny situation that I'm sure will remain with my kids for years. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
We've been here a number of times and have enjoyed the majority of our time here. This time was not as enjoyable as others due to very noisy cabin campers. We were next to the camp host and were surprised that he didn't try to calm them down. We have found most sites to be mostly level and enjoy the separation between them. We really felt like we were out in the nature world during our stays here. There is plenty of hiking, and the falls are definitely worth a hike to visit. The bathrooms were aged, but well maintained. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$26
We stayed on site #20 (Addison Run Loop) where pets are allowed. Pretty much all the sties are the same here at Cunningham Falls, they are a a fine gravel and level, picnic table, fire ring with grill and lantern / light holder. There is a camp store there but they were closed every day we were there. Not every site has water. Site #20 was great for the fact we could use one section of water hose to have water hookup since the spigot was close by. All the loops have several water supply spigots. We had 30 Amp, I did not see 50 Amp. Site length said 30 feet, we easily put our 33' motorhome in this site with room to spare for a car. Bathrooms were clean and maintained, I'm sure during the busier season this could be different. A note about hiking around here. It is very mountainous, even the short hike to the falls or lake from the campground involved a hike, you can drive to the lake and hike to the falls, that would be much easier. No mountain biking on trails. Overall a great place to camp while visiting the area, Gettysburg is not far and Baltimore is 40+ miles away. There is NO / NONE cell service and satellite was very had to get from the tree cover. There was also no local over the air TV channels. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$36
This is a very nice state park with a great swimming lake, good hiking and large sites. We had no problem camping with our 30 footer. We were on the Addison loop which allows pets. My only complaint is that they don't allow dogs on the hiking trails. If I had known that I probably would have left my dog at home. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
Very nice State Park. Stayed here during the busy July 4th Holiday. Nice level wooded sites. Sites were nicely spaced apart. We will return. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$30
We chose to have electric hookups and the spot they gave us was literally on the paved walkway to the bathroom. Not much privacy as people were coming and going all hours of the morning and evening. The site was large enough for our rig as well as a tent. Very nice surrounding area although there is little to do in the park itself except hike. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
We camped in the Manor area which allows pets. While the sites were relatively close to the road - short driveways - they were nice and fairly level with stone dust pads, fire rings, picnic table and lantern posts. I easily fit my Roo 23SS on the site and oitched a tent for my son and still had plenty of room. It was a short drive up to the Falls and lake area. Park people were friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$30
We stayed at the Houck area in the Addison Run Loop at an electric site. We were right next to a water spigot which was very convenient, there appeared to be plenty of them spaced out for group use. The restrooms were very nice and clean, there were paths from every inside loop campsite to the restroom area which was nice. All the campsites appeared to be level and were fairly easy to back into. Security patrolled regularly but we never saw anything questionable: the campground is in a gated area of the state park. We saw signs warning of black bear and rattle snakes but the only wild animals we saw were chipmunks, and maybe the kids we had bought with us. We hiked the campground & cliff trails to the falls, a little more difficult than we were expecting them to be since we hadn’t read the trail descriptions before heading out but definitely do-able even with small children. We can’t wait to return here to camp again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$25
Since our visit last year, there has been a significant expansion in the number and range of family-oriented planned activities on weekends (guided hikes, craft workshops, "scales and tails" evening programs, lifeguarding demos, etc.). These programs, combined with the picturesque hiking trails, climbs to the falls, lake swimming, boat rentals, excellent camp store, and well maintained bathroom facilities, make Cunningham Falls a wonderful weekend destination for families. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$30
This was my second visit (camped here in October 2006). This time the showers where piping hot! Nice campground with wooded sites, hiking trails, lake with beach. Also Catoctin Zoo And Wildlife Refuge nearby (a must see). The only thing that I didn't like was seeing a mother wash out her baby's diaper in the lake. Yuck! Other than that, my niece and I had fun swimming. Nice shower houses near the lake too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2007
$15
Great state park, very clean. Sites are very level and wide. Some are deeper than others. Rate is senior rate, not sure of full rate. Water hookup is shared, not for full time use. You hookup, add water and disconnect. These are positioned so that multiple sites can use one. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$30
We originally planned to visit Greenbrier State Park but were turned off by the fact that it bordered a large hunting area. So we choose Cunningham Falls instead. Our visit was timed to catch the peak fall colors - and we hit the nail right on the head by using The Weather Channel's online foliage map. Prior to arriving at the campground, we stopped at the Catoctin Zoo And Wildlife Preserve (across the main highway). We spent most of the afternoon there. It is now my wife's favorite zoo - rivaling even the Baltimore and Washington zoos. From the reviews that we read, we can agree that the facilities were modern and clean. The hot shower, however, wasn't exactly hot - but acceptably warm. The shower house itself was not heated. Fortunately for us the temperatures the two nights we were at the park were warmer that normal. We camped in the William Houck Area, Deer Spring Branch Loop. The first night (Thursday) we were the only ones in the loop except for a small group occupying one of the small cottages. My wife was not comfortable because of the lack of lighting and other people. The bathhouse area was lit, but the loop itself was unlit and quite dark at night. The second night (Friday) brought in lots of other campers for the weekend. The campsite was clean, quiet at night, and remote. During the day we hiked a few trails and seldom saw other people. It was definitely off season. The colors were beautiful and we returned home with lots of photographs. If you're looking for a remote, quiet getaway in the woods, this is the place for you. This state park is adjacent to the national park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$25
Hiking was great: a variety of well-marked hiking trails of varying difficulty, all venturing through very scenic terrain. A hike to the falls was a hit with our kids, and culminated in a swim in, and boating on, the lake. Campground sites were adequate, generally level and well-described on the internet reservation site, if a bit close together. While the bathrooms were updated (including private (locking) showers, a rarity at a Maryland state campground) and regularly cleaned, the bathroom facilities were inadequate for a campground this size (on our Bear Branch loop, which was full, there were only 3 women's toilets and two showers), and resulted in frequent waits. Security was good, quiet hours were actually quiet, and the campground store was well equipped. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$25
This is a wonderful state park. Very clean! Walking trails are nice. Great pool. Nice shady sites. We stayed in a loop with only 1 electric hook up. They offered a dump station with easy pull up. The kids loved it. No pets here though. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$30
We stayed in the Addison Loop mainly due to the availability of electric hook up. The other loops have very limited sites with e-hook-up. The sites are very level and clean; didn't need any blocks at all. All of the campground loops have camp hosts that clean up the sites and offer assistance. The restrooms and showers are spotless and roomy, one of the best facilities we have seen. The area is close to Camp David, so expect some helicopter noise when the President is in town. Overall, this is a wonderful place to spend a week! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$30
Very good area for hiking. Easy walk to the falls. Sites are nice, although a bit tight. Our site was adequate for a 30 footer. We stayed in the Addison loop and we were a little surprised to be one of only two motorhomes there. We plan to go back this fall. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$50
The hiking trails and falls were awesome, the lakeside beach was clean, security was excellent and apparent, and the cabin in which we stayed was well-maintained. The only negatives were an insufficient supply of hot water in the showers (Brrrr!!!) and non-posted and somewhat erratic hours for the campground and lakeside stores. We camped here in a .

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2004
$20
This campground includes two camping areas, the Houck area and the (smaller) Manor area, with sites arranged in loops in both areas and the Houck area being most convenient to a variety of lake activities (swimming, boat rentals, "catch-and-release" trout fishing) and to the 78 foot high cascading waterfall which gives the park its name and is accessible to climbing. There are planned activities on weekends, playgrounds, cabins available for rental, and a superb variety of (9) hiking trails which venture through both Cunningham Falls State Park and Catoctin Mountain National Park (across the street). We camped here in a Tent.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com