220931 User submitted reviews online!!
Poche's Fish-N-Camp was rated 8 out of 10 based on 84 user reviews. Phone: (337) 332-0326
CGID3491

Poche's Fish-N-Camp

Camp Information
Sites
95
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   10   7   9   8   6   9   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$30
Great place to spend some time. Sites are spaced very well, staff is friendly and the fishing is good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$30
This is a nice campground with level pads and wide enough spaces to be comfortable sites and all are around the lake. There are 4 pull-throughs available. There is a pool available and the kids there had fun swimming and fishing. Wi-Fi was iffy but other than that no complaints except for no dog park. Good fishing. If you go try to get on the back side, as the sites which are in between both lakes catch a lot of dust from everyone driving past on the main roads which are all gravel. Also their meat market a couple of miles from the fish market is a place not to miss. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$20
One of our favorite parks anywhere. Every site is a waterfront site, since they have at least 3 lakes on the property. Very easy back-ins and a few pull-throughs as well. We love this park. We always end up staying longer than originally planned. We used our Passport America discount, which made it even better. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$32
We made reservations over 6 weeks ago. We were put in space 19 gravel and unable to have enough levelers. Only other space they offered was 21 and that was OK. We wanted around lake and close to the bathrooms, but not possible. Two showers in bathhouse next to pool with two toilets. All just with a shower curtain closure. Rustic cement floors, and they weren't very clean. No paper towels in men's toilet all weekend. We met the owner later and she seemed very nice. I didn't mention the site problems since it was too late. It's very quiet and pretty with the fishing lakes. We appreciated coming home in the evening after the hustle bustle and congestion in Breaux Bridge. The pool was very clean and nice, but cold. But the worse was that WiFi didn't work at all for the four days on our two I pads, but it was "OK" for my husbands computer. That has never happened before. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$20
Good place to get some rest, some fishing and some relaxation. Sites are on cement slabs, most sites are on the lakes. People are friendly. We would camp there anytime again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$35
A great place to stay, but very dusty when the wind blows due to the gravel road. Paved sites, with very good hook-ups. Very friendly and helpful staff, and if you like to fish from the bank for bass, brim, or catfish this is indeed a great place to spend your time. All sites are on the pond with good views fore and aft. It is off the beaten track and the road leading to the camp is narrow and winding. Note: Take exit 2 off of I-49, on to 98 to Sawmill road. If you try getting off I-10. which is shorter, you must go over a very small bridge that would be difficult to negotiate due to the turn you must take to pass into the town. However, this same road would be good for leaving the camp. We didn't get a chance to fish the five ponds, but had planned to before we had coach problems and had to arrange for repair in Hammond, La (Dixie RV). The only reason I gave this an 8 was the dust, everything else was great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2014
$20
Rate reflects PA discount. Most sites are gravel and were slightly rutted but we did not need to level. We had a back-in site on the lake. Sites are not huge but large enough. Best part is that it is far enough away from I-49 and I-10 to be quiet but not too inconvenient. We stayed one night. Person who checked us in was very kind, and nicely asked if we would take a back-in instead of the pull through we reserved. They had a motor home with toad coming in and they only have 2 pull-throughs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2014
$18
Price reflects PA rate. Some restrictions. Loved the park and Virdy your host will make you feel right at home. Nice and clean everywhere. Bathrooms great and nice laundry. Pool looked great but was too early in the year to be opened, too bad! Lots of fishing in the stocked ponds. Lots to do in area too!! Really enjoyed our stay!! Would definitely return!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$18
We stayed here overnight, it was quite a way off the I-10 and the roads to get there were a little rough. The pool was closed for the season, it was quiet because there were not many RV's in the park. We didn't get a warm fuzzy feeling from the office. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$36
Friendly management. Park was nicely laid out, you have a beautiful view of the lake. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$16
Friendly and very clean campground. A very nice country setting. About 5 miles from I-10. The center of Cajun Country. Website accurate. Pool is very clean. A lots of young trees planted. High on my list. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$18
This was a great area and a nice campground. We weren't expecting anything like this. The pool is fantastic, and although the bathrooms are old, they are immaculate. There aren't any shaded sites but there are plenty of shaded areas with tables. We came for one night and stayed three. There is a lot to do in town, and there are stocked lakes at the campground where fishing is free. The staff is friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
Clean awesome park. Fills up every weekend, but during the week it is peaceful! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$18
Staff was friendly and helpful. The sites had concrete pads and backed up to a small fishing lake, no charge. No shade. The only disadvantage is that it is quite a ways from I-10. We stayed 2 nights so wasn't a big deal. Wouldn't stay for just one night, even using Passport America. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$24
Very pretty park. Concrete pads on lake sites. We attended a rally here and this park was perfect for rally. Very nice clubhouse and the owners and staff were very courteous and helpful. Sites are close together, but enough room. The only thing I wished for were picnic tables at all sites. They are a few scattered throughout the park, but my site didn't have one. We will definitely camp here again. The Breaux Bridge area is amazing. The rates are an average of PA on week nights and Good Sam rates on weekend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$23
Great park. Great location. In the heart of crawfish country. Hosts were very friendly. Was recommended by friends. Will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$17
We really enjoyed our stay here. Lovely view of the lake from our site, though the sites are narrow. We had room for our slides and our awning but nothing else. The 'back yard' was great. Lots of large wading birds right in our back yard, and they were not afraid of people. Great blue herons walk, not fly, right by you! Nice people, neighbors and staff. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$35
We stayed here for an overnight and enjoyed the Cajun hospitality. The fishing lake in the center of the campground was scenic and the prime spots around the lake very nice. A few sites seemed to be reserved for short timers like us near the entrance and ours was level and just fine. Longer term, I would have liked one in the lake circle. The campground was full but very quiet. We were able to call same day and get a site so we were lucky. Showers and bathrooms were at pool area and older but very clean. Office staff was friendly. No negatives. There are several turns to get to the park, but signs at each intersection led the way. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$16
Rate is PassPort America. Built around several old crayfish ponds converted into fishing lakes. Nice lady runs it. Sites level and a good campground. A little hard to find, but they have good signage. They also own a market that serves a wonderful lunch a few miles away. The town is about 5 minutes away. We ended up staying an extra day. The Wi-Fi would not connect. Nobody around us could connect either. They need a pro to come in and fix it. Good signal, but no connect. Could be as easy as a reboot. It was clean and the fishing was free. We would return if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$34
We really loved this place. Most sites are right at the edge of the lake, with a few pull-throughs just off the water. There is a small fee to fish here, but no license required. We met a man who showed us two beautiful large mouth bass he had just caught. Lots of birds around for my wife to photograph, and several walking trails surround the lakes. Really good Cajun food is available about 2 miles down the road at Poche's Market. We stayed for only a week, but this is one of those parks where we would spend much more time when we are back in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$18
This park is peaceful and clean. Our back window looked out on the lake and we had a terrific view of the sunrises and sunsets. It is convenient to Lafayette and Breaux Bridge for Mardi Gras and they did not jack up their rates for the time period. The people are friendly and helpful for attractions in the are. We stayed here two weeks and would come back for sure. If you fish the ponds are all stocked. The weather was really good too!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2013
$18
Our second stay at this great RV park! Passport America rate. Sites 25 & 26 are great sites (pull through sites and on the lake), usually reserved for one-nighters. Office ladies so helpful. Wi-Fi service was excellent. Beautiful scenery everywhere. You'll have to drive a bit off the interstate to get to Sawmill Highway, but once you're here, you will decide like we did, that the extra miles are worth the drive. Will always stay here when we are in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2013
$16
Rate is with PA. This is a fishing camp that has RV hookups, best if you want to fish. An RV park is a stretch. Narrow gravel interior roads and sewer hookups that are way, way back. With an extension we still barely were able to connect. WiFi was great however, among the very best we've had. Great staff, very helpful. One thing to consider regardless of the rating is location and this one is out there, not close to anything.it's about 15 to 20 minutes from the interstate. Quiet though. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$19
This is our second stay at Poche's and we hope it will not be our last. We love it here. It is not fancy at all. But it is very quiet except on weekends when locals come here to fish and party. It's cheap entertainment for them, and fun entertainment for us to watch them. We found a spot we really enjoy. The sunsets are great. Nearby restaurants, including Poche's, provide incredibly delicious food. The only thing that bothered us, is that people can drive into the camp and drive around looking at RVs, then leave without telling anybody they are here. The people in the office are terrific to work with. WiFi was good. We recommend this as a great getaway off the beaten path. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2012
$16
Park is geared for summer fun and fishing, not over night stops. Roads are well graveled but the few gravel sites may get soupy if it rains. Bath and showers are not convenient to improved camp sites and are basic with concrete floors and open to the outside. Wi-Fi was good with a few slow periods. Signage from I-10 to the park is very well done. Host is congenial and helpful. Best part of this trip was our stop at Poche’s Market/Restaurant/Smokehouse. Fine Cajun foods and meats at low prices. It is on the route to the park from I-10. $16 PA rate shown. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$32
This campground was a wonderful experience! It was very peaceful and enjoyable. The view of the lake was gorgeous and we enjoyed sitting in the swing provided, watching the sunset. The grounds are lovely and very country. We are from CA and thought this was charming. The lady running the place...it is a family business and she is one family members, was a delight. She offered us Gumbo-laya (a combination of gumbo and jambalaya) and coconut cake. We had eaten, so we only took the cake, which was to die for. I highly recommend this place and I think when we are back this way we will stay here again but longer than the two nights that we stayed this time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$19
Lovely park in a very peaceful setting. All the sites are right on the fishing lakes with concrete pads and grassy areas for sitting and fishing. Just basic amenities, but very good Wi-Fi and friendly people. We stayed for a week and would definitely come here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$21
Without seeing the showers, I won't rate this park any higher, but everything else was great. Every site is on the water by a pond. The utilities all worked really well, and the Wi-Fi had a strong signal and was fast. Verizon air card also worked fine. Crank up antennae picked up lots of local stations, and all major networks. The owners are very helpful in giving you local information if you ask. You can even fish for free in the ponds. The park is a little off the beaten path and is out in the country, but you get the serenity that brings compared to traffic noise. Very busy on weekends as lots of locals come out to camp for Friday and Saturday nights, but they are all friendly and just enjoying themselves. It is south Louisiana, so there are mosquitoes and other flying insects at night. You will use bug spray if you sit outside after dark. We would camp here again when in the area. The rate shown combines PA and Good Sam discounts. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$16
The rate reflects Pass Port America. What a wonderful park. It is off the beaten path and is quiet and restful. Almost every site is waterfront and fishing is free. The club house is modern and large enough for a rally. We stay here often and would recommend it to everyone looking for peace and quiet. The management is awesome and very helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$16
This park is very clean, the office personnel and other workers are very friendly and helpful. We enjoy this park whenever we go through Cajun country. The spaces are large enough, and most have cement pads. This is the Passport America rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$22
This takes a little twisting and turning to locate but once you are here you will be so happy you made the effort. This is good for a one night stay but believe me, you will want to stay longer. We added a day to our travels just so we could enjoy a whole day here. The surroundings are beautiful, clean, the ladies in the office are so good and helpful. Just everything a park should be: and it doesn't break the bank to stay here. We will definitely come here anytime we are in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$13
Stayed here for 3 months while working on a temporary contract. Our level, 50-amp, full hook up site sat between two of the fishing ponds that gave us water views out of all of our windows. The campground manager was helpful, friendly, and accommodating. Although we didn't fish ourselves, we watched many sunsets as fisherman pulled in pretty large bass. We highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$25
Great view and nice people. Good fishing and walking for dogs and people. Cajun food nearby is great. Only bad things could be dust on the driveways and coming in and there could be mosquitos although there were very few for us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$35?
We love this place because we love Breaux Bridge, but it actually ranks about a 7.5 due to a total lack of shade or privacy. It's a great one night stop off I-10. The area has many great eateries and plenty to do. Recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$32
Several miles from the interstate which makes for a very quiet campground. It's a great place for birdwatchers and fishermen. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$19
This is a unique park, or fish camp if you prefer. The size of the site was sufficient. The lady in the office warned us it was tricky to back into. It was indeed, but we made it. We were there on New Year's Eve, and all we can say is that the amount of money spent on fireworks was shocking! They really enjoyed celebrating, and we enjoyed watching. Rules are not enforced in this park in any way. Dogs ran loose, and not a single person picked up after them. That was bad. But the location was accessible to several excellent restaurants. We did have a huge problem with a pretty Cardinal who was determined to peck our mirrors until they cracked. We finally had to cover both car and coach mirrors. That's not the fault of the park. We would probably stay here again if we are in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$16
A pleasant quiet location during the off-season. The easily accessed, level sites are mostly without shade and back onto a fish ponds. No license is required for fishing on site; a small playground is available and a swimming pool is open in season. Wi-Fi is only available by the office but AT&T phone and data is available in the area. The rate reflects a Passport America discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$32
Peaceful, clean, safe, everything I expect from a RV park. Hope to come back someday, next time I will get out my fishing pole. Four miles from I -10; I wouldn't try it after dark. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$16
Very nice, uncrowded park. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Sites are roomy and each site backs up to a lake. Obviously designed for fishermen, it has it's regular clientele for weekends and winter stays. Loved the local restaurants and friendly people. Will return in December when again traveling through the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$32
Very nice and peaceful park. Sites surround man made lakes. We had a pull through with a concrete pad. Large angled spots so we had a good view of the lake outside the windows. They use Boingo internet and it is an additional $5.00. We used our card instead but the signal was not strong enough. It is a little far off I-10 for just an overnight stay but once we got there we really enjoyed the scenery and did a little fishing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$20
Nice campground on the man made lakes. We just spent the night on the way to OK. Good TV on the antenna. Wi-Fi was extra. Level cement pads. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$20
Relaxing campground with good amenities and great fishing. Excellent place to spend some time in southern Louisiana. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$20
This is really a great park and very close to a 10. The majority of the sites are around a large fishing pond (there are 5 ponds in the campground) each with a cement pad and excellent hook-ups. This park is great for the fisherman, families or someone just wishing to tour Cajun country. The only negatives are that the garbage disposal area is a long distance from the sites, there are no picnic tables and the traffic pattern requires you to go around the entire pond when you leave/arrive. The rate is based on the weekly rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$18
Surprisingly wonderful campground in Cajun country. We found this to be better than the picture show with pretty large sites surrounding two lakes. Most sites on concrete. Downside were limited and far away shower/bath facilities and no Wi-Fi. No tables. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$18
We have camped here two years in a row. The staff was friendlier and more efficient in 2010, but it was still OK. The sites are nice, grassy with cement pads right along the lakeside. The sunsets are fantastic and the lake is lovely. We will stay here any time we are in the area. We used out Passport America for the good rate. Poche's restaurant and store are a great place for wonderful Cajun food. We stocked our freezer with goodies. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$18
Great park especially if you are looking for someplace to fish. We caught lots of small crappie right behind our RV. Also caught a fair bass late one evening. FHU's were great and had a cement pad to park on. Rules state absolutely no fish cleaning in your camp spot, but all of the fish cleaning stations have the water off and no containers for carcasses. Rate shown is for 2 nights PA. Listing doesn't state it, but it is only good for 2 nights. Had some crawfish etouffee while here. It was great. I would stay again but not for full price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$20
Very clean and well maintained park. They accepted our Passport American and GoodSam discount for a 1-week stay. Laundry facility was very clean with up to date machines and low cost to use. Owners very helpful, even helping me get RV service over the weekend for a defective transfer switch. Even let me send a fax at no charge for our insurance claim. That is unheard of in most parks. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$16
This is a wonderful park. There are level concrete pads in drive-through sites with good connections for electricity, water and sewer. The RV sites are arranged around the fishing ponds. We arrived just for an overnight stay, but would have stayed longer if we had not been pressed for time. Although this park is a bit off the beaten track (about 6 miles from I 10) the park is quiet in a rural setting. This is a Passport park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$12
My first thought when arriving was: oops maybe this isn't going to be a good park. With the $12 for PPA I figured it couldn't be that bad. Well I was wrong. This was a fun park, clean level concrete pads. We had 1 of the 2 pull through sites on the corner of the further lake. The roads are dirt and everyone speeds, which is dusty. It was very quiet. Spacing between rigs would be adequate, however when we stayed here, there were empty pads close to us. I did fish only for a few minutes: there are fish in the lake. Had many nice hard bites, but walked away empty handed. We used our Verizon phones and air cards here. Our site did have a fire ring. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$25
The best thing about this place was the friendliness of the staff. They were very easy-going, and seemed very willing to make their customers happy. Most of the sites are on concrete pads, but many are still grass/gravel. The trees are new and still small, so little to no shade. All the sites back up to a lake, so you can fish while sitting on your bumper. Spacing between sites is ok, and better than most others. There was no trash to be seen anywhere. The place is well off the highway, so no highway road noise. Overall, a perfectly adequate place to spend a few days while touring the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2010
$20
Pros: Nice rural setting around large shallow artificial ponds. Level concrete pads are available on the far side of the pond where I was, and this is a quieter area. My satellite dish and Verizon air card worked well. Cons: Dry and dusty access roads, somewhat muddy when wet, narrow sites, no privacy, facilities clustered around the office and not convenient to the rest of the park. Speed limits and dog waste cleanup apparently not well enforced. Very few sites had picnic tables and/or fire rings, and almost all are back-in. Can be noisy on weekends. Almost no fish observed to be caught when I was here. No cable TV or free wireless internet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2010
$15
While there are some concrete pads: it appears only the long term people get them. We were given a gravel site near the office. The most annoying thing is that even though there were only about 10 long term people in the back of the park, the amount of trucks flying by our RV every 3-4 minutes going way over the speed limit and blowing up dust and rocks was beyond annoying. I don't know where these people keeping coming and going from. The sewer connections are very far back and if you don't have an extension you may not be able to reach it. Lots of dog waste everywhere. People aren't picking up after their dogs and nobody working here bothers to clean it up either. Lots of very loud dogs barking from the farm next door and gunshots heard regularly. Roads in and around area are very bad and will shake your RV like crazy. Internet was at an additional cost (Tengo) and service was very poor. Cabins are quaint and nice and the views during sunrise and sunset are lovely. Didn't get to fish (too cold) so I can't comment on that. Rate was PPA. Probably would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$22
We were here first for a rally and then stayed on waiting for mail. The park is very nice and big rig friendly. The owners are more than helpful, they are outstanding. They helped us in getting some delayed mail and also in doing a 1 gig download of an update to my GPS program. They also have a very nice meeting room. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$22
Do not approach this RV park from I-49. If you’re coming from the west, drive a few extra miles and come in from the Breaux Bridge exit off I-10! Both routes are well marked with large signs at every turn, but the roads from I-49 are wretched: they are narrow, intensely bumpy, lined with low-hanging trees, and have little or no shoulder. From I-10, the only obstacle is one narrow bridge over Bayou Teche, but it’s short enough you can see on-coming traffic before crossing. The park has three pull-through sites, two concrete, and one gravel. All other sites are back-ins, with the concrete pad sites only at the very back of the park. The pool, playground, office, dumpster, and laundry/bath house are at the very front of the park. It’s quite a hike from the back to the front, especially if you need to take a bag of garbage or a doggy bag to the dumpster. Because we have a dog to walk each night, we chose a well-lit site, but some areas of this huge park can be pretty dark. The $22 per night rate is the 7-night average of 5 nights at PPA rate, 2 nights at Good Sam rate, plus the cost of one week of wifi. The Wi-Fi works fairly well, but not great. Hook-ups are at the very back of the sites, so we had to have all 20' of our sewer hose. The sunrises and sunsets over the large ponds, as well as the egrets and great blue herons, and the cool little town of Breaux Bridge make this park worth returning to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$26
This is a nice campground, very quiet, good fishing. Grounds are kept clean and staff is attentive and helpful. Only detractor for us was that some people refuse to do the speed limit. The roads are packed dirt and gravel, so when one of these types came through it raised the dust. Great area to walk and bike, golf carts are allowed. We didn't use the pool, but it looked clean. It is off the freeway, but only about 4 miles, great signage and roads are fine. We will definitely be visiting again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
We needed a place to stay overnight on our trip from FL to TX, and while Poche's was a bit of a drive from I-10, it was worth it. The owner was very helpful and friendly, and as others have mentioned, the sites are great. We were in site 26 at the corner of the lake, on a nice level concrete pad. The park is very quiet. The only detractor, as others have mentioned, is that the shower/restrooms could be a bit more private. We would gladly stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$15
Wonderful lake view site (barely long enough for us). Place was very clean, with dumpsters available by the gate. Problem is the roads approaching the park: they are terrible. Could only go 25 mph as they were so rough. No sure I want to go on them again. Camp site is fine when you get here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$27
Quiet, very clean and well kept park with the majority of the sites around a large lake. The showers and bath room were clean but basic, really little more than a shower and dressing room for the swimming pool. Very friendly staff that tried their best to help us with a problem with our camper. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
What a fantastic park. The hosts were quite friendly--even offered us coffee on the morning we left. Everything was clean--especially the showers and pool area. We will stay here again when we can. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
Great park and great folks managing it. We were there with our Winnebago group for over a week and we were treated like family. We will be going back again, for sure. Lots to do in the area or just pull up a chair to the lake behind your RV and wet a line. Also check out Poches Meat Market for excellent plate lunches and Cajun food. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$16
A lovely place with a Louisiana country feel. Our site faced the lake so we could watch the herons out the front window. We don't fish but appreciated the view. Gravel sites were relatively level with good separation. We considered extending our stay but the weather didn't cooperate. The rate reflects our Passport discount. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2009
$32
Nice campground, especially if staying several days or more. For an overnight stop, where you plan on using their showers and restrooms, these were barely adequate in the winter. They are NOT heated, and only have curtains instead of doors, so it's like showering outside. Very nice lady who manages it, and she is a wealth of information regarding nearby activities and restaurants. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$15
Excellent place to stay. All the sights are on the trout lakes, level and spotless. The bathrooms could use an update, though. The staff is friendly and helpful. We would stay there again. We used CCUSA for the fee discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
This is a very nice and clean campground. We stayed here with a camping club and we were able to use the club house. Very big club house and has all of the appliances that you need. We enjoyed the fishing and the breeze from the lakes. Quiet at night and no city lights. The route is well marked to get here, but can be tricky in the dark. The only draw back is we were separated from the other club members because we needed 50 amp service. Not all of the sites are cement and there are only 3 pull throughs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$20
Excellent park with 5 large fishing ponds for those so inclined. The site we had at the north end, had cement pads surrounded by grass with a large pond at our rear. The park is very clean and manicured with nice facilities for all activities. Would be a great place for not only the fisherman but the family. My only complaint would be that there are no picnic tables at the site and the garbage can be quite a trek for many, depending where you are parked. I will return to this CG. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$40
We have stayed at this park a couple of times. We have stayed in the winter and fall, and also in the summer months. The staff is really courteous and helpful. It is really crowded during the summer months but still a lot of fun. If I could suggest anything it would be to build another bath house away from the pool area, because the pool is all the way up front and the campground is really large. I will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$15
We came in on a Sunday after the crowd had left for the week. What a wonderful camp spot. We stayed in site 46 which was a little hard to back in to but we got in. We parked so our awning would be on the East side and would not get the afternoon sun. Real nice place to stay. Friendly staff and park is very clean. You can fish for free with no license. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$13
We spent 2 months in this location this year. The site pad paving project has been put on hold temporarily due some legal issues. as usual our stay was quite pleasant but we'll be much happier when the paving project is complete. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$17
Friendly and family owned campground, every site backs up to a lake. Sites are large, half cement and half gravel. Our site had depressions and flooded during rain storms. Nice pool. Excellent restaurant and meat market run by family a few miles away. We would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$15
Very nice passport park, passport rate not good for Friday or Sat. nights. Staff are very nice and helpful, we will come back, loved it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$20
This is a great place to put the jacks down and stay a few days. You are in the heart of cajun country and you will never meet more friendly folks. The Poches do whatever it takes to make your stay a fun one. We will be back, a lot.. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$32
Interesting place... really some fishing lakes with RV pads (some concrete, some dirt). Stayed for Mardi Gras parades, didn't use the facilities that much. We stayed on a gravel site, and be careful if it rains because the ground is unsettled and you will sink in, especially a big rig. But they do grade it regularly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$15
Very friendly staff. Several small lakes for fishing. No charge for fishing if you camp there. Fishing was fair, very windy the days I fished. The park was full for Mardi Gras. Rate is Passport America, for Sun to Thru, then its $30., but they did give us a Good Sam discount on those days. Wifi is thru Tango and is $5 a day. Verizon phone worked just ok, but our air card worked fairly well. We had a very level paved site. No shade. All but 3 sites are back ins. Most back up to one of the lakes. A little dusty as the roads are gravel. We would stay here again. No cable. Did receive several stations with the antenna. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$30
This was a very nice park. The staff were efficient and courteous, and park was very well maintained. There were a couple of cons--the roads were very narrow, and, according to the staff campers had to be "approved" to be able to stay there. We have no idea what that meant, but we obviously met the criteria;-). It was also pretty darned expensive at $30 per night for 2 people, plus $5 for each additional person. The laundromat was clean, and there is a pool, as well as an on site convenience store, plus another store and meat market down the road, which are owned by the same people. There are stocked ponds, a "Party Room", and several cabins for rent. We would certainly visit again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$15
This is a fish camp and popular during the weekends. For campers, there is no charge to fish. Non-campers pay $10.00 per person per day. In addition to RV sites, there are 6 cabins priced from $100-$200 per night. Most of the sites surround the large fishing pond. There are only a couple of pull-thru sites. Regular rates are $30/night. Good Sam and Passport America rates are available. There is a $5.00 per day charge if you bring your own golf cart. The road and most of the sites are gravel. If the winds are blowing, it can be dusty. Verizon connection is good. Site #73, with front and back water views, did not support our big rig so we moved to a paved site. One of the jacks sank so deep we had trouble raising it. The staff is friendly and supportive. The campground also owns a smokehouse restaurant (about 2.5 miles away) that serves great lunches. For fresh, hot beignets, go to Corner Bar Poor-Boys (337.332.0078), built in 1897. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2008
$15
Rate is for Passport America. As the sewer is located at the far rear of the campsites, you need a very long sewer hose. Sites have recently been paved. Had trouble with electrical box which was quickly repaired. This is no frills, but well located for visiting the area, and because of it's rural location, it is very quiet. Glad they had laundry. Follow directions in campground guides not GPS. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$12
We stayed overnight with Passport America, $12.50. The grounds were incredibly clean, grass mowed, quiet and peaceful, lots of wading birds. Pleasant folks in the office. Difficult route to park, but directions and map in Passport America book were concise and easily followed. Would love to stay again when we have more time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2007
$12
Good size park on a fishing pond. Roads from I-10 to park are not very good. All roads and sites are some what level and roads are good with some dust. Hookup's are set back to far and you need to back off gravel to get to them. Sites are more or less gravel with grass. WiFi worked OK at $4.00 per day. We were on Passport America at $12.50 per night. Free fishing in "10" or "11" acre lake, no fishing licence required. Some sites have only 50 amps on post and newer sites have 20/30/50 amps post. No tables only fire rings on grounds. Bathrooms and showers open from 9:00 am to 9:00 pm and only at the pool in front of park. Long walk from rear of park to the front for bathrooms. Play ground equipment for the kids. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2007
$15
We enjoyed our stay immensely! Yes, it rained, yes it was muddy, but what a fascinating and unique family-owned place! The 90 some-odd full-hookup sites are spaces surround two large (10 & 12 acres) well-stocked fishing ponds and the entire camp is surrounded by wooded areas, bayous and swamp. Fishing is free and no state license is required, three types of bait as well as a remarkable assortment of fishing gear is sold at the office. The well-spaced gravel sites and road are surrounded by lawn. We were parked in site #1 and in spite of the recent, heavy rain we were able to find enough level terra-firma to park on (with the help of flat wooden planks under our wheels). All of the sites back up to the ponds – there are wonderful views and occasional bird antics. This is a very rural locale – in the bayou country of Acadiana. The friendly owner and staff will happily direct you to the best of this and that in the area – as well as suggest the best site for your unit. The web sites directions are clear and accurate and there is nice signage along the way – keep going, it takes a while to get there. There is a wonderfully inviting large common-room complete with rock fireplace, wooden rockers, upholstered furnishings, tables & chairs, a large kitchen and a lakeside screened-in porch. There is a smaller community room on the far end of the park and a small chapel-like building between the two loops. The pool was closed during our visit (January). The laundry is clean with adequate facilities for the small park. There is no public phone, but the owner offered us her cell phone any time we needed. The park accepts mail for campers and the office-store is stocked with assorted basics & Cajun treats. There is varied nearby shopping; Walmart, Home Depot, Lowes and full retail mall are all within 20 miles. WiFi, provided by Tengo, is excellent and available for different rates. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$25
We were very happy with our overnight stay. Very friendly staff. One complaint is the restrooms were locked after the pool closed. Another restroom would be nice. Highly recommend, caught alot of fish. Overall a wonderful time.. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$25
We enjoyed our stay at Poche's. It is kind of out of the way when coming off of I-20 or I-49 with two lane access roads to the campground. The main campground road to and within the park is gravel. Lots of good places to eat in Breaux Bridge, Carrencro, and Lafayette. Will go back if in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2006
$20
We stayed here this past week for four days. The owners were very nice. It rained saturday but the water ran off and it was not sloppy. We caught a few fish. We will go back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2005
$20
The owners of this campground are extremely nice. We stayed here for Hurricane Katrina for 2 weeks. The owners made every effort to accommodate us in our time of need. They treated us like family. Overall the campground is extremely clean and the cabins are gorgeous. My parents stayed in a cabin while we were there. Cabins are very roomy and the way they are decorated makes you feel at home. We plan on camping there again soon, the only thing that stops us from camping more often is the drive. It is located 3 and a 1/2 hours from my house. This campground rates a 20 on my scale. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2005
$20
Real nice park situated oround a large fishing pond. Several other fishing ponds on the grounds. Fishing is free for campers and a state lisence isn't required. We came for a week and stayed for 2 1/2 weeks. Park is family operated and are on site 24/7. Real nice people. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com