218844 User submitted reviews online!!
Rancho Seco Recreational Area was rated 7 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (209) 748-2318
CGID352

Rancho Seco Recreational Area

Camp Information
Sites
18
Date of Stay
April 2011
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   9   8   5   6   4   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$40
This is a county park with RV sites rather than an RV park. The sites are fairly spacious. They offer water and electric but no sewer. There is, however, a dump station that is free for campers to use. Each site also has a picnic bench, fire pit and BBQ. The park itself is clean and well kept. Over the last few years they've done a lot of work on the park. It's a good, family place. I've been here a number of times for races. This is the second time I've camped here. I haven't been disappointed. Dogs are allowed around the park on leashes, but not on the trails or in the lake. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$12
Rancho Seco RV Park is starting to show it's age. While it is a nice well run campground it's needing some TLC. Found several used syringes within the site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$15
The park is situated next to a decommissioned nuclear power plant which is an amazing site to behold. Our reason for camping at this park was that we were participating in a sprint triathlon during that weekend. The park was clean, a nice beach at the lake and plenty of room for everyone. Imaging a real nice park that has water / electric camp sites. That is what this place is. I liked it a lot. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$15
We like how clean the grounds are kept. The staff is friendly. The fishing is the best, and they stock it frequently. It is open year round and offers group sites, swimming areas, shaded picnic areas with BBQ and fire pits. The tent area can get a little noisy at times in the summer, the RV sites are not located in the same area as the tents. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2007
$12
We had water and 30 amp electric site #18, site was a level, gravel back-in with no neighbor on the left side for our 30 ft class A. Not a bad park but lots and lots of noise from the day use area on Saturday from about noon to 7pm. Nice views and fun to see the exotic animals in the park. Nightly rate reflects the senior discount. Unlikely to return - too noisy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2006
$12
Lots of room between spaces 3, 4 and 5 though others closer together. There is a picnic table, fire ring and bbq grill at each site. Level where rig is parked though consists of crushed rock. There are 35-40 tent sites right on the lake shoreline and on a lawn. Flies make it virtually impossible to eat outside. At each end of park there is a lawn area for groups. Fishing seemingly is an attraction. Possible also to rent boats though gasoline driven boats not allowed. If one is interested in price alone, this certainly is a place to go. Restrooms not close to parking pads and I did not see any shower facilities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2006
$15
Although a quiet and secluded park, my husband and I were not expecting The Towers (what initially appeared to be two gigantic nuclear towers but are actually natural gas towers) so nearby. Upon driving to this isolated area, out in the middle of flat hills and farmers, we were startled by the looming concrete towers, huge warning alarm sirens, dozens of solar panels along the road, and high security surrounding area that resembled too much a military installation. It was a little spooky, to think that an explosion of the gas plant would obliterate us in an instant. We had pre-paid reservations to stay there later in the week but decided to skip it, also realizing that the cost of fuel to get there equaled the $15.00 per night fee. While this might be a good spot for boy scouts, we found it less than desirable. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2002
$17
This is a regional park operated by the local utility district. Only 18 RV sites and a bunch of tent sites. We found it to be a clean campground located in an attractive setting of rolling hills about 12 miles east of Hwy 99 & 35 miles south of Sacramento. RV sites were level, graveled back-ins. No sewer hook-ups but there is a dump station. There are plenty of trees, a small lake with picnic and fishing areas. It is popular with scouting groups, family week-enders and day-use fishermen (no gas boat motors allowed). It is a busy place in the summer and fall. During the off season, the entrance gate is locked at sundown so campers returning after dark must ring a bell for the night watchman to drive over from the adjacent power plant to open the gate. A couple of times it was a 30-minuite wait. We were there in March (off-season) so not all of the restroom/shower buildings were open - we had to drive from the rv site to the showers on the other side of the park. Overall, we enjoyed the park as an off-season, do-nothing getaway. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com